• Publisher: Atlus
  • Release Date: Jun 23, 2009
Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
4.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 242 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Tokyo is in full lockdown, the government's swift, coldblooded response to a surprise demon invasion. Trapped within the sprawling metropolis is the city's helpless populace, forced to turn on each other in order to survive. A mysterious piece of technology, the COMP, falls into the handsTokyo is in full lockdown, the government's swift, coldblooded response to a surprise demon invasion. Trapped within the sprawling metropolis is the city's helpless populace, forced to turn on each other in order to survive. A mysterious piece of technology, the COMP, falls into the hands of you and your peers. This device allows you to form contracts, forcing demons to serve you in battle against the otherworldly creatures. There are others with COMPs, so-called demon tamers, who seek to use the demons to satisfy their own whims-be they for justice, peace, or power-in the chaos that was once downtown Tokyo. Where did the demons come from? Why did they appear? Who created the COMPs, and what is their purpose? These questions must soon be answered, for if you fail to solve the mystery, much more is at stake than your own lives. [Atlus USA] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor is easily one of the best strategy-RPGs on the Nintendo DS and may even be one of the better strategy RPGs ever made.
  2. It’s vintage Shin Megami Tensei, and that’s all anybody can ask for with the series’ debut on Nintendo’s handheld powerhouse.
  3. With its quick battles and focus and short conversations to tell the story, Devil Survivor works great for the DS. On top of that it is so refreshing to play an RPG on the system that isn’t steeped in fantasy and/or is a remake.
  4. 85
    Negatives aside, Devil Survivor is a great success.
  5. Nintendo Gamer
    84
    A deep, dark role-playing title with an unusually excellent story. [Oct 2009, p.65]
  6. A solid blend of RPG and tactics combined with the series’ trademark atmosphere and bizarre story elements, Devil Survivor should not disappoint hardcore fans of the franchise.
  7. 70
    Still, aficionados of the Megami Tensei universe will undoubtedly get a kick out of the game's intriguing story and colorful cast while fans of turn-based combat might just find an addicting and innovative adventure - just don't expect an RPG that'll re-invent the wheel.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Mar 2, 2012
    10
    If you like Atlus RPG games of the Shin Megami Tensei serie, you will love this one. The game mechanics are a DS-tactical adaptation of theIf you like Atlus RPG games of the Shin Megami Tensei serie, you will love this one. The game mechanics are a DS-tactical adaptation of the old SMT PS2 games, but what really shines is the story: very deep, with the typical japanese style. You can finish the game in a wide variety of ways (i.e. different endings) and you'll have quite a bit of hard battles in the end, depending on your choices. Definitely a 10 for me, and now I just ordered the sequel, Devil Survivor 2, which looks to be even BETTER than this one! Expand
  2. patrickcrosby
    Sep 1, 2009
    10
    Man what can i say about this game. This is my first inition into Shin Megami Tensei and all i can say is where has my life gone without anMan what can i say about this game. This is my first inition into Shin Megami Tensei and all i can say is where has my life gone without an RPG thats challenging with a well laid plot. The only flaws that i can conjure is the lack of a world map similar to TWEWY and some anime character archetypes but all in all, each character is unique. If you're sceptical about buying this game, all i can say is ignore reviewers that labeled this game with an 8 . sumthin, if you're a legit RPGist, this game is a beautiful concoction of fire emblem and dragon quest that sheds its familiarity with these games and births an epic of its own. Expand
  3. Dec 31, 2012
    10
    Amazing story, gameplay, and characters. Multiple endings add a ton of replay value and this game truly does the series justice. I highlyAmazing story, gameplay, and characters. Multiple endings add a ton of replay value and this game truly does the series justice. I highly recommend this to anyone who enjoys a great SRPG. Expand
  4. BoyMcBoy
    Sep 10, 2009
    9
    The story is quite compelling and unique, and, while the majority of the story is fixed, your choices can affect the survival of your allies, The story is quite compelling and unique, and, while the majority of the story is fixed, your choices can affect the survival of your allies, and the final outcome. The core of the game is the combat system, which is a combination of tactical grid based movement, and old school 3 on 3 attack/magic/defend combat. I was worried the grid based part of combat would be extraneous, but it turns out to be important in some battles, and in no way detracts from the gameplay. The 3 on 3 combat is solid. Your choice of parties and equipped magic can be very important (although usually pretty obvious). In the few cases where the combat starts to seem a bit monotonous, the ridiculously lively music/graphics/fast paced combat keep things going. You have a good amount of control over the parties you bring into combat, but there is some room for improvement in this regard - i.e. a better skill / leveling system. Expand
  5. Nov 18, 2012
    9
    The story is absolutely amazing and the characters are great. This was the first game of this calibur I played on the DS, and I'm still struckThe story is absolutely amazing and the characters are great. This was the first game of this calibur I played on the DS, and I'm still struck by it a couple years later. This was my first game in the SMT world, and it opened them up to me. The demon system is really fun, and the combat system is pretty smooth and refined. The only complaint I have is that it can be pretty rage and grind inducing at times - when you don't have the right demons and right strength for a certain boss, for example, and lose several times before you go and grind for an hour. I'm not a fan of grinding, but I can tolerate it and this game certainly pushed that at times. Regardless of any frustration on that front, it was all worth it with how great of a story and cast of characters this game had. Hands down this easily competes to be the best DS game, and is definitely the best DS RPG, on the market. Expand
  6. Sep 23, 2010
    6
    What little this game offers for innovation (and the truly fascinating story) is stifled by enemies who rely less on tactics and more on cheapWhat little this game offers for innovation (and the truly fascinating story) is stifled by enemies who rely less on tactics and more on cheap abilities to win. What could have been a handheld tour de force is instead just another dime-a-dozen JRPG. Expand
  7. EdwardL
    Jul 7, 2009
    5
    Clunky combat system makes what would otherwise be a very fun tactical battle game into a bit of a time consuming, dull mess. The poorly Clunky combat system makes what would otherwise be a very fun tactical battle game into a bit of a time consuming, dull mess. The poorly designed skill selection system also removes much of the RPG side of the game, as does the lack of control over NPC stat increases. Characters and art are of decent quality, although the dialogue is generally poor and unnecessarily verbose, with many completely pointless dialogue options and frequent choices that lead to the same result. Sadly, had all the makings of a distinctly above average game, but is let down in too many areas by too many flaws. Expand

See all 12 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

7
19
#19 Most Discussed DS Game of 2009
15
#15 Most Shared DS Game of 2009