• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Nov 16, 2010
Sonic Colors Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 82 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: An extraordinary amusement park has been seen orbiting around the home planet of Sonic the Hedgehog, and rumors are spreading that an alien race of Wisps, who have a unique colorful energy, are being held captive there by the evil Dr. Eggman. Soon after arriving at the amusement park, SonicAn extraordinary amusement park has been seen orbiting around the home planet of Sonic the Hedgehog, and rumors are spreading that an alien race of Wisps, who have a unique colorful energy, are being held captive there by the evil Dr. Eggman. Soon after arriving at the amusement park, Sonic discovers he is able to use these mysterious alien forces to help the Wisps escape! Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Sonic Colors Gameplay Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Dec 19, 2010
    90
    Sonic Colors worth the play and only adds to the great library of DS.
  2. Nov 15, 2010
    85
    Sonic Colors DS is the best Sonic game released this year. Easily.
  3. Jan 9, 2011
    85
    A great leap forward for the Sonic experience on DS, funny and long lasting.
  4. Dec 19, 2010
    80
    The quality of the platforming is hard to fault, however.
  5. Nov 9, 2010
    79
    Overall, the DS version of Sonic Colors is certainly better executed than its counterpart on the Wii. If you're looking for a portable platformer, you could certainly do a lot worse.
  6. Nintendo Power
    Oct 22, 2010
    75
    Offers sharply diminishing returns after the first day or two of play. At least you'll enjoy the heck out of it while it lasts. [Dec 2010, p.81]
  7. Nov 14, 2010
    60
    Its entertainment is short-lived, but only because the game itself is short. Although there is replay value in exploring the levels to their entirety, and completing the missions and multiplayer offer a few more hours entertainment, Sonic Colours is ultimately unsatisfying.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 30
  2. Negative: 6 out of 30
  1. Feb 24, 2014
    10
    FORGET E CRITICS AND LISTEN CAREFULLY. The dark age of Sonic The Hedgehog has been very long sadly. With Shadow The Hedgehog, 06, Labyrinth,FORGET E CRITICS AND LISTEN CAREFULLY. The dark age of Sonic The Hedgehog has been very long sadly. With Shadow The Hedgehog, 06, Labyrinth, Chronicles which at best was half decent, but then they released unleashed which kind of brought the series, but critics nitpicked at the "Boring" wolf sections. That game KIND OF saved the series, but in 2010, I saw the trailer, and since I don't have a Wii, which got very positive ratings, I got the DS version, and I loved every Sonic-Second of it. EVERYTHING from the beautiful intro, the gameplay, story, speed, humor, audio, it's AMAZING! This game is so good that it brought the Sonic series back! And Sonic hasn't had a bad game since! Except for the 3ds version of lost world, which at WORST, was pretty, mixed. I just didn't like frozen factory, and Sonic 4 I actually liked. Don't listen to the bad reviews on here and buy the game. And if there's ever a day when your feeling bored, depressed, or just overall down in the dumps, get your Wii or DS, plug in this game, and reach for the stars. :) Expand
  2. Sep 16, 2017
    10
    The best Sonic game on DS! (Of course, other than Sonic Rush Adventure.) The boost, the speed, the everything! Just EVERYTHING in the game!The best Sonic game on DS! (Of course, other than Sonic Rush Adventure.) The boost, the speed, the everything! Just EVERYTHING in the game! The (second) BEST FREAKING SONIC GAME! Expand
  3. Mar 6, 2011
    10
    Its official...Sonic Team was abducted by aliens for the past 10 years... Because I do not, NAY REFUSE to believe that the same SonicIts official...Sonic Team was abducted by aliens for the past 10 years... Because I do not, NAY REFUSE to believe that the same Sonic Team...is RESPONSIBLE for this utter MASTERPIECE...

    The music is classic enchanting Sonic fare, and you will be humming the tunes for months if not years. The atrocious 4Kids voice actors have been replaced (except Robotnik) with a far superior cast, that truly befits the nature of the Sonic series. The graphics....BEST ON THE WII...nothing even comes remotely CLOSE... The environmental made me gaze in awestuck wonder, oftentimes I forget its all IN GAME!!!

    No **** HUBWORLDS ANYMORE!!! Just straight up classic gameplay. Not to mention the new Wisps mechanic is awesome, and provides tons of replayability throughout.

    DID I MENTION 2 PLAYER CO-OP?!?!? Yep its in there.

    This is not only the best Sonic game of the DECADE (considering how **** the series games have been over the recent years) but my favorite Wii game of 2011!!! It may even be my favorite GAME of the YEAR!!!

    You think I'm kidding don't you? NO. Stop reading if you've ever been a fan of Sonic... This is the game...the one, the one that brings a LEGEND back. BUY NOW! BUY NOW! BUY NOW! BUY NOW!!!
    Expand
  4. May 3, 2019
    8
    Music: 5/5
    Game Play: 4/5
    Graphics: 4/5
    Story: ???/5
    Time-Value: 4/5
    Overall:4/5
  5. Sep 29, 2016
    8
    this sonic game is great the wisps offer a new perspective and the special stages are fun also red star rings are fun to collect as theythis sonic game is great the wisps offer a new perspective and the special stages are fun also red star rings are fun to collect as they unlock special items Expand
  6. Aug 4, 2013
    6
    It lacks the real "Sonic Feel" from his days of glory, but is nevertheless a solid platformer.

    If you like Sonic games, this one is fun and
    It lacks the real "Sonic Feel" from his days of glory, but is nevertheless a solid platformer.

    If you like Sonic games, this one is fun and atleast lets you play with our favorite blue hedgehog.

    But the flaws are simply the feel of the game, and its more of a "speed runner" rather than platformer, which was the biggest strength of the original Sonic games for the SEGA Genesis.

    6 out of 10 however.
    Expand
  7. Nov 8, 2013
    0
    I hate this game so much, it should die in a fire. I mean..yeah, you can rip-off your WII counterpart, but the graphics are crap, the controlsI hate this game so much, it should die in a fire. I mean..yeah, you can rip-off your WII counterpart, but the graphics are crap, the controls are like a Rush Adventure thing and the story alike is stupid. In my defense, I haven't played this stupid game. The only chance was on Generations for the 3DS and that sucked even more. I just hate how they made the boss look like crap mixed together with Eggman's moustache. It's basically a bad game and Sega did a horrible job on this version. Expand

See all 30 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

15
5
#5 Most Discussed DS Game of 2010
24
#24 Most Shared DS Game of 2010