• Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Dec 8, 2004
Metascore
48

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 30 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 30
  2. Negative: 16 out of 30
Buy On
  1. For what it is, Sprung dishes out a worthwhile and memorable experience that is both entertaining as well as quite funny. I only wish I had known some of these lines when I was dating.
  2. Only someone who hates comedy could dislike this game. Seriously. If you delight in the absurd and can take a good sassing from the sassiest game to ever sass a sassee, then buy it.
  3. The game takes extremely adult themes and moulds them into a light hearted, thoroughly fantastic mess. Presuming you can ignore the contrived and, on occasion, confusing choice of comments, Sprung can offer some of the best conversation on a handheld game.
  4. Nintendo Power
    76
    Since reactions are often unpredictable, you'll have to play through missions several times to reach your goals. [Feb 2005, p.114]
  5. netjak
    75
    Here’s the thing, to be honest: the fun does not lie in trying to get your characters through the story. No, the fun lies in trying to screw up the lives of Brett, Becky, and everyone around them.
  6. It is a game probably aimed at the female market but despite its dating simulation style, offers a fairly decent adventure game and can be hard to put down.
  7. Play Magazine
    62
    While each conversation is well-written, there's no real flowing narrative backing it up. [Feb 2005, p.80]
  8. There isn’t much of a game here, merely a set of choices, where by trial and error you eventually reach the end and win. The same concept has survived for nearly 20 years in a little game called "Dragon’s Lair," and it works just as well with the text-only Sprung. As long as you know what to expect you shouldn’t be disappointed.
  9. Game Informer
    60
    There's good humor and writing to be had here, but it's not so much a game as an interactive comic book with a backlight. [Jan 2005, p.149]
  10. Despite some pretty good writing, catchy music, and nicely drawn 2D art, the experience suffers because of repetitive and oft-frustrating gameplay.
  11. The lack of animation leaves the game high and dry at times.
  12. Cheat Code Central
    50
    You need to do everything exactly right; blow one answer and you will need to restart the scene and the biggest problem is the fact the story is pretty boring. Its also a long game and one you won't be able to sit through at one time and this can cause some problems later on in the other scenes.
  13. The linearity is a shame given the dearth of quality games for girls and the potential of more free-form interactive novels.
  14. When you're trying to sell a game to a non-hardcore crowd, don't make it frustratingly hard for no reason.
  15. If you can get into the whole sexual suggestiveness of the title, you might have some fun, otherwise, invest your money somewhere else for some actual gameplay.
  16. Yet at the bottom of it all it doesn't flash the most impressive gameplay, and certain missions can become tedious and so out of the norm they can become extremely frustrating.
  17. If you ignore the fact that the responses you are able to give often don't seem to be what you really want to say; if you ignore that there are only about 10 people total on the mountain and everyone becomes the town "bike;" and if ignore there is practically no continuity between the "missions," the game does what it claims to do.
  18. 40
    Sprung has a "fun" style throughout its production, but the entire experience is absolutely, dreadfully dull and unfulfilling. Break down the game to its parts and it's nothing more than a rigid algorithm tree.
  19. It's extremely frustrating because the game's unbalanced, and repeatedly having to read the same dialogue over and over puts a damper on the overall experience.
  20. GMR Magazine
    40
    It's far too contrived and boring to titillate. [Feb 2005, p.112]
  21. Pelaaja (Finland)
    40
    Sprung has the entertainment value of a soulless, digitalized version of Beverly Hills 90210. [May 2005, p.83]
  22. 40
    Sprung is a missed opportunity. Who knew dating could be so boring?
  23. The trial and error form of play becomes tedious, and the game only uses the D-pad or stylus to make selections. Boring is the best and only word to describe this game.
  24. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    33
    The dirty language and innuendo rules out kids. Grown-ups will despise its complete lack of gameplay (at least Japanese dating sims offer minigames). That just leaves inmates. But forcing them to play this crap would be cruel and inhuman punishment. [Jan 2005, p.140]
  25. 30
    Unfortunately, the story and pretty pictures aren't enough to wade through the random guessing that makes up the game itself. Selecting phrases until you pick the "right" one doesn't make for a good game.
  26. 30
    But given the quality of the game, the title could also denote a certain level of unpleasant surprise. (Example: "Please avoid this horrible wreck of a game that Ubisoft has Sprung upon unsuspecting DS owners.")
  27. Shallow and void of any kind of challenge, if you like games, steer well clear of Sprung - it's one date that you definitely want to stand up.
  28. Sprung: The Dating Game has a bit of a cheek to include the word “game” in its title. The guys behind it could have at least been honest and included at least one of the words “awful”, “pointless” or “tedious” too.
  29. There is no skill required to get through the game, only time, memorization, and enough patience to not hurl the thing into the fireplace.

Awards & Rankings

10
7
#7 Most Discussed DS Game of 2004
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 3 out of 10
  1. gOoFyNeSsYEAHRIGHT!
    Jan 22, 2010
    5
    I have never played this game. Can anyone tell me awhat you do on it, what you CAN do, and some annoying glitches? Please be honest! I'm I have never played this game. Can anyone tell me awhat you do on it, what you CAN do, and some annoying glitches? Please be honest! I'm doing lots of research on it, but they all say the same thing! Help me! Full Review »
  2. AriaR.
    Jan 20, 2007
    10
    This game's great! If you use a different line you sometimes have a completely different and new mission, and even though I've This game's great! If you use a different line you sometimes have a completely different and new mission, and even though I've completed both stories I still havnt got all the items etc. anyway. a fabby game! Full Review »
  3. TonyD.
    Jan 17, 2005
    8
    I have to admit, the gameplay is simple and many times repetetive, but some of the writing had me rolling on the floor laughing, if you like I have to admit, the gameplay is simple and many times repetetive, but some of the writing had me rolling on the floor laughing, if you like quirky sassy games with some strangely interesting charater development, and/or maybe like to read books, or are interested in interation between people, Sprung will be the weirdest wonderful game you ever played. Full Review »