Breath of Fire

Game Boy Advance
  • Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Dec 13, 2001
Breath of Fire Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 16 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Long ago in the days of darkness and magic, a young wanderer comes face to face with his destiny. You control the fate of Ryu, a young warrior and descendant of the Light Dragon Clan. Together, with your mystical friend, Nina, you must search for magic spells and mysterious secrets. AlongLong ago in the days of darkness and magic, a young wanderer comes face to face with his destiny. You control the fate of Ryu, a young warrior and descendant of the Light Dragon Clan. Together, with your mystical friend, Nina, you must search for magic spells and mysterious secrets. Along the way, gain experience and skill as you battle against strange monsters. Uncover valuable secrets that will help you on your adventure and unlock the secrets of the Dragon Clan. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. One of the finest RPGs to appear on any format. Though bettered by latter incarnations of the series, the original remains both innovative and a pure joy to play.
  2. It's a well-polished RPG that plays out well on the GBA and is none too frustrating.
  3. Game Informer
    80
    You got GBA? You dig RPGs? Breath of Fire is your hook-up. [Nov 2001, p.130]
  4. While it's not the best-looking or most technically impressive RPG out for the system, Breath of Fire is still a rock-solid game.
  5. I've been playing for over ten hours and the end doesn't seem to be anywhere in sight yet, so there also seems to be a good amount of depth to the title.
  6. 75
    A solidly entertaining and charmingly classic role-playing game sure to delight anyone looking for hours of adventure.
  7. The title feels a bit dated and offers standard RPG fare that’s as basic as it gets.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 6
  2. Negative: 2 out of 6
  1. Sep 27, 2018
    10
    Breath of Fire 1 was on my 4th favourite Breath of Fire game. It was also one of the best rpg games to this time. Just wish to play it againBreath of Fire 1 was on my 4th favourite Breath of Fire game. It was also one of the best rpg games to this time. Just wish to play it again as an HD Remastered version on PS4 or PC Expand
  2. KennyC.
    Jan 17, 2003
    9
    Great game, but there arent any tutorials, so you need to learn quick.
  3. ConaxR.
    Sep 27, 2003
    9
    The game is pretty cool but it needs a less aggressive text.
  4. Aug 16, 2013
    6
    Summary: The game is massive, and the sprites are actually pretty to look at, but the gameplay itself can get extremely tedious. I enjoyed theSummary: The game is massive, and the sprites are actually pretty to look at, but the gameplay itself can get extremely tedious. I enjoyed the world, and tried imagining the character interactions because they were all well drawn out, but the dialogue itself is laughably bad. Use extreme discretion before deciding to play this game, because the nostalgia of it can be better than the experience.
    ------

    I should say that I recently beat this game, but not on the GBA. I remembered playing it when I was a child of around 7 or 8, so I came back to the game on an emulator for the SNES. Let me tell you right now: do not play this game on the GBA.

    The game is far too slow, and far too bad at conveyance, for you to waste your hours trying to figure out what to do and to slog through the innumerable random encounters that the game tosses out in your way. I love the artwork, the feeling of empowerment in transforming characters into beasts and dragons, but this game takes some hard, pressing work to really beat. If you're going to try to get through this whole monstrosity, then I sincerely suggest using an emulator, because at least with an emulator you can fast forward on the gameplay.

    I should mention, though, that the music is some of my favorite in any game. Perhaps that's just nostalgia speaking again, though. Take from it what you want.

    I dock one point for the game being very poor at the conveyance of directions and objectives, and one more point for the bad dialogue. I dock a third point for the slog made from the random encounters, and the last point is for the rather contrived storyline. Use your discretion.
    Expand
  5. Nov 1, 2017
    4
    People you meet in towns offer zero dialogue to the adventure. "How's the weather?" There's just nothing interesting that ever happens.People you meet in towns offer zero dialogue to the adventure. "How's the weather?" There's just nothing interesting that ever happens. Writing in this game is seriously poor, and the pacing and balance is also whacked.

    A rocky start for my favorite RPG series.
    Expand
  6. Oct 11, 2018
    3
    The game starts off very good I thought but about half-way it gets confusing and boring with stupid characters and a guessing game on what toThe game starts off very good I thought but about half-way it gets confusing and boring with stupid characters and a guessing game on what to do next, not recommended. Expand

Awards & Rankings

23
11
#11 Most Discussed Game Boy Advance Game of 2001
5
#5 Most Shared Game Boy Advance Game of 2001