Gunstar Super Heroes

Game Boy Advance
  • Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Oct 25, 2005
Gunstar Super Heroes Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 17 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Gunstar Super Heroes is the sequel to the classic Genesis game Gunstar Heroes. You can play as Red or Blue as you battle through six levels, employing one of three different weapon types. Each character has a slightly different story and balance, adding variety to the 2D platformer gameplay.Gunstar Super Heroes is the sequel to the classic Genesis game Gunstar Heroes. You can play as Red or Blue as you battle through six levels, employing one of three different weapon types. Each character has a slightly different story and balance, adding variety to the 2D platformer gameplay. Gunstar Super Heroes features large bosses and pseudo-3D effects that maximize the graphics capabilities of the Game Boy Advance. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Gunstar Super Heroes Gameplay Movie 3
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Nintendo Power
    95
    It's the work of masters at the height of their craft. [Dec 2005, p.118]
  2. This game is just a blast to play – it's too bad there's no 2-player or cooperative mode via a link, but it's easily the best Game Boy Advance game I've played in quite some time.
  3. The graphics will probably have a few of you dumbfounded wondering just how powerful GameBoy Advance really is.
  4. 85
    Gunstar Super Heroes is a superpowered orgy of 2D effects like you haven't seen since the golden age of video games, primarily on the Sega Genesis.
  5. If you were a fan of the original you need to find this game; if you're not a GBA owner it's worth picking up a new Game Boy Micro just for this game.
  6. 80
    An amazing shooter, reviving the 2D gameplay. It's disappointing to see co-op multiplayer missing and a few more levels really would've been nice, but Super Heroes will still save the day for just about anyone with a GBA or DS.
  7. It seems a shame that this inferior sequel makes us all take turns.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. TonyG.
    Oct 26, 2005
    10
    the must buy game for the advance this year!! amazing everything. WOW is all I can really say. move over mega man, we have a winner! run and the must buy game for the advance this year!! amazing everything. WOW is all I can really say. move over mega man, we have a winner! run and gun out to the local store and buy this today! Truly SUPER. Expand
  2. AlanA.
    Oct 28, 2005
    10
    A great sequel to one of the best games of all time, Gunstar Heroes for the Genesis. This game, without a doubt, is the best side-scrolling A great sequel to one of the best games of all time, Gunstar Heroes for the Genesis. This game, without a doubt, is the best side-scrolling shooter of all time, the best action game this year on any platform, and truly one of the best games ever. The control scheme is simply brilliant, more innovative and intuitive than any game I have ever played. The graphics are probably the best the GBA has to offer, making it one of the best looking 2D games of all time. If you like Metal Slug, Contra, Megaman, or any of those games, I promise that this game is 10 times better. If you like any games that are popular right now on consoles, I promise that this is much better and much more fun. Sadly though, this landmark game will probably go unnoticed like its predecessor and barely sell a fraction of whatever crappy Pokemon game is coming out this week (don't people get that it's the same game over and over and over and over...). 2D games are dying out, especially will portables and mobile phones going to 3D graphics now, so this may very well be the last great 2D game. Go out and buy this game, and remember that games are about fun, they're not homework like all of those boring, ridiculously long unfulfilling games feel like. Who needs some complex, convoluted story when you have a much more creative story being told visually with new humorous and creative touches every couple of seconds. I could go on forever... just buy this game... it will make your wildest dreams come true. Expand
  3. Theknife
    Nov 10, 2005
    10
    Sick. can't wait until some developer uses the DS like this too. I hope treasure reads this.
  4. TheSplash
    Jul 5, 2006
    9
    Great old school shooting (and brawling) coupled with amazing variety throughout that keeps the gameplay feeling fresh. The game is quite Great old school shooting (and brawling) coupled with amazing variety throughout that keeps the gameplay feeling fresh. The game is quite short and designed to be played in short bursts, and although it is played best this way the core action is so satisfying that it will keep you coming back and re-playing the game even after you beat it. However the lack of multiplayer and some lacklustre flying levels as well as the overall short gameplay experience do prevent this game from being truly great. With that said this the best side scrolling shooter available for the GBA and is fun while it lasts. Iif you are into this sort of game, you should definitely check this out. Expand
  5. J.L.
    Nov 5, 2005
    8
    One of the best action games on gameboy. Graphics at a 10, fantastic for a gameboy. But I miss the spacious enviroment of the Sega Mega One of the best action games on gameboy. Graphics at a 10, fantastic for a gameboy. But I miss the spacious enviroment of the Sega Mega Drive/Genesis Version. The Gameboy version has kinda of a cramp feeling. Music brings back memories. Though this type of game is aging, its still an enjoyable game (for a short while anyways, ...road trip anyone). Expand
  6. Feb 28, 2011
    6
    The game would have gotten an 8 if the game made itself different to the original Gunstar Heroes. This is just a remake which, although a goodThe game would have gotten an 8 if the game made itself different to the original Gunstar Heroes. This is just a remake which, although a good thing for those who missed out on the original, for many of the returners, this game is a waste of time to play. Another negative is the lack of multiplayer (I know about linking up with another player if they have the same game but that isn't good enough), the original was a blast to play because the multiplayer was from the get go...

    The game itself is great, don't think I gave it a 6 due to the game being bad, it's far from that...I marked it down due to being essentially a remake and a lack of multiplayer (the development's fault for the system decision). People didn't buy this game simply because they've played it before...I regret buying this game as I was lead to believe this game was original/sequel to the original.

    Overall, if you haven't played it before and you don't care for MP, buy it...if you are a Treasure Fan or you want to play it with a friend, stick to the Virtual Console/Mega Drive version instead.
    Expand
  7. Aug 22, 2019
    3
    Repetitious gameplay, very small environments that exasperate the massive character hitboxes, levels that are 1/4 of original design lengths,Repetitious gameplay, very small environments that exasperate the massive character hitboxes, levels that are 1/4 of original design lengths, over-simplification of bosses that were once complex, a game over that sends you back to the original load up splash screen after saving your score, system limitations mean multiple simultaneous button presses do not function correctly despite the game design requiring it, 1 player only. This is not how the game was meant to be played.
    I finally get this game after 10 years and I was completely devastated by how terribly this game was made. It's like playing a bite-size version of original if someone had only heard about somebody telling the story of this game. The only way I can recommend this game is if water drops on the forehead or those slow swinging blades that cut you in half aren't cutting it (no pun intended). It's super bad and frustrating. I have absolutely no idea what game these reviewers were playing but it certainly wasn't this game. Either that or Metacritic is where they send lobotomy patients to recover.
    Expand

See all 8 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

6
15
#15 Most Discussed Game Boy Advance Game of 2005
4
#4 Most Shared Game Boy Advance Game of 2005