Final Fantasy Crystal Chronicles Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 221 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Final Fantasy series explodes onto the GameCube with action-packed multiplayer gameplay and an epic storyline seeped in Final Fantasy style and lore. Final Fantasy: Crystal Chronicles tells the tale of a land covered in poisonous miasma where people depend on precious crystals to stayThe Final Fantasy series explodes onto the GameCube with action-packed multiplayer gameplay and an epic storyline seeped in Final Fantasy style and lore. Final Fantasy: Crystal Chronicles tells the tale of a land covered in poisonous miasma where people depend on precious crystals to stay alive. By using Game Boy Advance systems as controllers, four players can team up to solve puzzles, defeat enemies, and survive in a land teeming with danger. While much of the gameplay involves hacking and slashing through colorful monsters, Crystal Chronicles is all about teamwork. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Final Fantasy: Crystal Chronicles Gameplay Movie 4
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. Play Magazine
    100
    The combination of the action, high adventure, quaint bustling towns and villages, Moogle wisdom (like the Yodas they are) and the best Square soundtrack since the SNES days add up to the most immersive overall universe I've experienced on the GameCube, if not on any next-gen console. [Feb 2004, p.38]
  2. Everything from the vivid backgrounds down to the little things like the water effects, the shadows, and even the way the myrrh moves in your chalice has been done so beautifully, it really takes your breath away.
  3. netjak
    90
    Like in any game requiring human co-operation, it’s only as good as the people you play it with, but for those who put the time and effort into getting the crew together on, say, a weekly basis, you’ll find a game worthy of the Final Fantasy name.
  4. 80
    Soloing is a bit repetitious and slow, but gather some friends - and a whole lot of hardware - and you're in for one of the smartest, weirdest, and most magical four-player adventures you're likely to play. [Mar 2004, p.85]
  5. Cheat Code Central
    80
    It will appeal to "Diablo" and "Zelda" fans alike. It's pace is well-balanced and the action-oriented nature of the gameplay will ensure that it appeals to a wide audience.
  6. 75
    The single-player game is too easy and the multiplayer game is too impractical. If Square had found a way to balance the multiplayer gaming, this would have been a fantastic title.
  7. games(TM)
    60
    Unfortunately, though the multiplayer game is certainly better than the experience offered by playing alone, it has its own flaws that turn what could have been great fun into something lacklustre. Perhaps if Square Enix had tried something a bit more traditional rather than being blinded by Nintendo's claim that connectivity is the way forward, this wouldn't have been the case. [Mar 2004, p.102]

See all 55 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Mar 22, 2015
    10
    Final Fantasy Crystal Chronicles is a different approach to the famous RPG series of final fantasy. Letting the player decide your attributesFinal Fantasy Crystal Chronicles is a different approach to the famous RPG series of final fantasy. Letting the player decide your attributes and slowly build up your strengths throughout the game. Keeping the player constantly on their toes, fighting new, giant creatures and bosses. Hinting you about up coming things through several other crystal caravans. Expand
  2. KyleB.
    Mar 8, 2004
    10
    This game is AWESOME!!!!!!!
  3. DarianB.
    Sep 5, 2005
    10
    Its incredible how the critics dont like this game. they must be trolls or something. this game rocks, and unless youre a trool too and have Its incredible how the critics dont like this game. they must be trolls or something. this game rocks, and unless youre a trool too and have no friends, buy it... the multiplayer doesnt get much better. Expand
  4. MarkM.
    Mar 15, 2004
    9
    Although i've only played it in single player - I'm hooked! In comparison to the PS FF games, this isn't too similar, but a Although i've only played it in single player - I'm hooked! In comparison to the PS FF games, this isn't too similar, but a great game in its' own right! I would have liked a deeper story-line, but this is the best game i've played since Metroid Prime. Expand
  5. XV_
    Sep 23, 2020
    9
    Crystal Chronicles is a testament oh how creativity and limitations led me to one of the most immersive experiences of my life yet and alsoCrystal Chronicles is a testament oh how creativity and limitations led me to one of the most immersive experiences of my life yet and also gave me some of my best memories playing with other people.

    [This is a multiplayer review]

    FFCC it is set in a world covered in Miasma (a poisonous and lethal gas) and Villages across this Medieval fantasy world send Caravans to venture in dungeons, forests, paths, etc. in search of Myrrh Trees, when a Caravan collect three drops of Myrrh from these trees they can restore the power of their village's main crystal so it can repel the Miasma from that zone for a year till its power vanishes and the process need to be repeated every year; this is the basic premise of the game. Contrary to almost any other Final Fantasy game which as a general rule they have a linear narrative, Crystal Chronicles goes with an open narrative, and it's focused on world-building rather than character building, but if you're open to this premise you'll not be disappointed by its simple but charming tone.

    Same with the narrative, its gameplay could be described as simple and maybe rudimentary at times, although I could say that its brilliance resides in its simplicity when playing multiplayer with the rather unused GBA connectivity of the Game Cube. In dungeons, every player have a radar that shows different things like enemies, treasures or to equip and unequip items, it also shows every player the objective of each player to complete, this could stuff like: kill your enemies with spells, pick up items, avoid physical damage, etc. At the end of each dungeon, every player sums their points to see who did their role the best and they're ranked accordingly, the winner gets to choose first from different artifacts that will increase their stats permanently so playing well while trying to keep the other players for making rack up their points is key to victory.

    The combat consists of three main actions: attack, defend, and casting spells, while spamming the attack combo (which has a certain rhythm for it to be executed) could be the easiest most of the time, the fun of playing multiplayer is to combine spells or charge attacks with the other players, these fusions can be tricky to pull off since they require perfect timing and positioning. When charging a spell your character will summon a magic ring and when releasing the button the spell will be triggered, to fuse a spell you need to have two to four rings positioned just right and be released at the same time, this mechanic is easily the most enjoyable aspect of the gameplay and if it's executed right it can make a Caravan almost invincible, at first is almost like a gamble but in time it can be a super useful and satisfying tool of destruction.

    Normally repeating dungeons to grind items or exp would be such a chore but FFCC gets away with it with its art direction and music. First and foremost the art direction is amazing, it has aged amazingly well, every location, dungeon, or character speaks volumes with just a glimpse of them, it has a lot of variety and it makes this world truly alive, not only they're flawlessly designed they are unique, the variety of levels is staggering, every place feels so detailed like a stage play.

    But...

    What truly steals the show to me, is the music, from the very beginning where you start your file and "Morning Star" kicks in (composed by Kumi Tanioka and sung by Donna Burke) you know that you're up to something special, Kumi Tanioka did an outstanding work with the music that is no short of a masterpiece, every song feels rich and crafted with the most care and detail that I can't think of someone disliking it, overall the game has this a little sad and nostalgic feeling or as one of the characters said: "You need rain for your crops to grow, so hopefully you'll have some rain in your journey" and the music captures this tone greatly, same as with the art direction, the soundtrack range is incredibly wide. As a little note, whenever you start a dungeon a brief narration kicks in that gives you some lore of the dungeon or the world, these narrations are also by Donna Burk which did a great work capturing a dreamy-fairy tale theme within them, they also become more personal till the very last one which is simply beautiful, so please don't skip them or at least heard them once.

    Of course, FFCC is not perfect by any means, certainly, it's two games at the same time, one for single player and the other for multiplayer. In single-player the experience is passable but all of the shortcomings from multiplayer become at times a chore and even a little hollow, but if you somehow manage to acquire 4 GBA with 4 link cables, you're going to have one of a kind journey with your companions, or at least to me I couldn't think of any other time (gaming or not) that I was more connected with my siblings than the adventures and adversities we have while playing Final Fantasy Crystal Chronicles.
    Expand
  6. EricL.
    Apr 29, 2004
    9
    I don't like ff games but i liked this one, they're on the right track, finally.
  7. Averyalfonzo
    Feb 20, 2004
    5
    Not bad not bad CRAP!!! well the multiplayer version is actually pretty good other wise noted HORRIBLE!!!!

See all 35 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Data Tracker: How Does "Final Fantasy XIII" Compare?

    Data Tracker: How Does
    Published: March 9, 2010
    The newest installment in the 23-year-old Final Fantasy franchise arrives in stores this week. How does it compare to past titles in the series?

Awards & Rankings

21
9
#9 Most Discussed GameCube Game of 2004
9
#9 Most Shared GameCube Game of 2004