Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. 89
    It reminds me a lot of Zelda, actually, which is a great thing... A shining example of how licenses should be realized in videogame form.
  2. One of the best things about Chamber of Secrets is how close the developers stayed to the story purported in the book and movie without resorting to simple fetch quests and lame puzzles in order to integrate all the popular elements from the original plot.
  3. Nintendo Power
    88
    Drawing strongly from the look and feel of the movie, Chamber of Secrets is a richly designed, wonderfully immersive experience. [Dec 2002, p.211]
  4. There's absolutely nothing here to disturb or upset younger gamers so if you're a parent searching for a GameCube recommendation then this could be just what you're looking for.
  5. Entertainment Weekly
    83
    For Quidditch fans, there's a thrilling version of the aerial sport. [15 Nov 2002, p.144]
  6. 80
    For Potter fans of all ages, Chamber of Secrets is a must-have.
  7. Play Magazine
    80
    Of all three games, the Xbox version is the clear winner, with perfect frame rates, the lowest load times, the best resolution and the best textures, but the 'Cube game runs a close second, a refreshing turn of events. [Jan 2003, p.76]
  8. Eurocom have almost done the impossible: They have made a movie/novel based game actually good. The game exudes effort and it really shows.
  9. The rich gameplay and engaging story give the game an appeal that very nearly rises above the rough visuals, and they definitely capture the spirit of the books.
  10. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    73
    Obviously Potter-ignorant muggles need not apply, but would-be wizards (or witches) looking for a lil' magic this year should give Secrets a try. [Dec 2002, p.228]
  11. The intelligent imagery used in the novels gave them a universal appeal, whereas the relative simplicity of the videogame would suggest that the target audience is far narrower.
  12. 70
    The gorgeous GameCube version delivers the best graphical pop in the slew of Chamber of Secrets games.
  13. netjak
    65
    The graphics are good and the sound/voices are good, but the gameplay is sorely lacking. Between not knowing I could wall sneak because of the wonky activation of the A button and constantly losing my beans, I became increasingly frustrated with the game.
  14. GameNow
    58
    At the very least, speeding on a broomstick at 250 miles per hour will give you a new level of respect for Harry's skills as a Seeker. [Dec 2002, p.75]

Awards & Rankings

44
21
#21 Most Discussed GameCube Game of 2002
41
#41 Most Shared GameCube Game of 2002
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 36
  2. Negative: 4 out of 36
  1. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    While a lot of the gameplay is uninspired, there are a lot of missions and levels that are not boring. The game has a lot of surprises andWhile a lot of the gameplay is uninspired, there are a lot of missions and levels that are not boring. The game has a lot of surprises and secrets that make it addicting to play. Full Review »
  2. Jul 21, 2014
    7
    Este fue el único juego de HP que jugué y la verdad es que me gustó. A veces era algo repetitivo pero en general era adictivo y cada vez masEste fue el único juego de HP que jugué y la verdad es que me gustó. A veces era algo repetitivo pero en general era adictivo y cada vez mas interesante. Lo malo era cuando te lo pasabas, que estaba un poco vacío. Aun así, no es mal juego. Full Review »
  3. BaileyE.
    Aug 4, 2003
    10
    Its simply awesome. Im playing it right now, and the similarity between the game and the books/movies is surreal. Ive always wished I could Its simply awesome. Im playing it right now, and the similarity between the game and the books/movies is surreal. Ive always wished I could go and explore Hogwarts, and the rest of Harry's world, and now I can!! = ) Full Review »