Mario Party 7 Image
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 71 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: You can play more than 80 new minigames in the most recent Mario-themed party game, Mario Party 7. Mario and pals needed some time off, but they forgot to invite Bowser on their cruise. You can battle against an angry Bowser or up to seven of your friends on a single GameCube system. MarioYou can play more than 80 new minigames in the most recent Mario-themed party game, Mario Party 7. Mario and pals needed some time off, but they forgot to invite Bowser on their cruise. You can battle against an angry Bowser or up to seven of your friends on a single GameCube system. Mario Party 7 includes a few new characters and brings back microphone support from Mario Party 6. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. The game is very challenging, and trying to collect all of the mini-games is rewarding. I will be playing this one even on my Revolution next year.
  2. Nintendo Power
    75
    Adds some nice new features to the tried-and-true formula. [Jan 2006, p.110]
  3. The seventh iteration crams even more mini-games than you care to count, but sadly shies away from offering something truly innovative for loyal Mario fans.
  4. It's not dramatically different from Mario Party 6 or, frankly, any of the other Mario Party games, but as a cheery collection of simple pick-up-and-play minigames that's well suited for younger and more-casual players, it still works.
  5. Basically Mario Party 6, but with less fun and [fewer] new ideas.
  6. 60
    Doesn't offer up anything different here, with the exception of some new minigames and a freshly themed game board.
  7. It's such a shame that Nintendo - the creator of Mario Kart, which is arguably the most fun you can have with platonic friends - just can't seem to sort Mario Party's problems out, even for the seventh instalment in the series. Roll on number eight, eh.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Dec 3, 2016
    10
    The best mario Party the best, I don't care what people say that, "Oh 2 is better" and 2 is great but not good enough its just mario party 1The best mario Party the best, I don't care what people say that, "Oh 2 is better" and 2 is great but not good enough its just mario party 1 but not much this Mario Party was fresh and original. Expand
  2. Jan 11, 2019
    10
    Este fue el primer Mario Party que llegue a jugar, en lo particular siento que es un Mario party bastante completo, con un gran numero deEste fue el primer Mario Party que llegue a jugar, en lo particular siento que es un Mario party bastante completo, con un gran numero de minijuegos, tableros y el poder ir en equipos de dos con 8 personajes en el tablero hace que sea más divertido de jugar.

    Obviamente este Mario Party no es el mejor (aunque para mi si ajjaj) pero creo que desde este juego todos los que le siguieron fueron decayendo... esperemos vuelvan a sacar un buen Mario Party como este titulo.
    Expand
  3. May 20, 2014
    10
    This game is awesome! The graphics are great for the game's time period, the minigames are very original, and the game board integration isThis game is awesome! The graphics are great for the game's time period, the minigames are very original, and the game board integration is well planes. I also love the 4-team party mode. This is my favorite of all of the Mario Party games! Expand
  4. Sep 1, 2018
    9
    AWESOME minigame: yes!
    Awesome boards: yes!
    This game is fun!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  5. Nov 28, 2018
    8
    Mario Party 7 is a good game, very entertaining, and keeps the mechanics of MP6 and 5 ongoing and fresh while all those things are good thereMario Party 7 is a good game, very entertaining, and keeps the mechanics of MP6 and 5 ongoing and fresh while all those things are good there is no denying this game goes at a snail pace, sorry but a 10 turn game of MP7 feels like 50 turn round, but still the game isn't bad. But I do have to say the new Bowser Time mechanic is very bad its just a b=Bowser space but 10 times longer, but anyways still good game but takes so long to finish while playing. Expand
  6. Jan 5, 2018
    8
    This game is pretty fun, but it does have it's flaws. Some of the minigames take way too long, Bowser time....enough said, the 1% chance youThis game is pretty fun, but it does have it's flaws. Some of the minigames take way too long, Bowser time....enough said, the 1% chance you actually play 8 player with actual friends...cause the controls suckkkk, the mic minigames are terrible, and the story is just way too rushed for a mario party game...yea idk how they could screw up the story. But, the boards are one of the best in the series, most of the minigames are pretty fun, the graphics are pretty and smooth, and the extra modes are pretty decent. Expand
  7. JackH
    May 24, 2008
    3
    Unfortunately, this is a sad repeat of a tiresome series. It probably would have been best if Nintendo had stopped with the third Mario Unfortunately, this is a sad repeat of a tiresome series. It probably would have been best if Nintendo had stopped with the third Mario Party. But as long as there are new gamers, there will be a new Mario Party, so there will probably be more Mario Party games than Super Bowls by 2030. You know, I'm not even sure why I bought this game in the first place. Why did I expect there to be anything new or interesting about this version? This is truly Mario's low point. Even Mario himself would be baffled as to why there are 7 (SEVEN!!!) games in this series. Don't get me wrong, I like Nintendo, but I think that they need to put an end to this. To those who gave this game a 10, this is your first Mario Party game, isn't it? I for one know that this game is a repeat of an OK game. Even back when I actually liked this series (Mario Party 4), I most certainly would not have given it a 10. An 8, maybe, but not a 10. What's wrong with you all? This whole game is based on LUCK. Basically, that means that the single player is pointless. The only reason to play this game is for the mini games, and 1) you need to play single player to even get the mini games, and 2) not even half of the mini games are any good anyway. The only reason that I would bring out Mario Party 7 now is if I were desperate to entertain company, and I have much better games for that. That is, unless I have an ignorant 4 year old over, which has like a 1 in 1,999,999,999 chance of happening. Plus, what makes this game worse is that there is no final boss battle! The boss battle against Bowser in Mario Party 4 was awesome. It took me a while to finally beat that guy on his evil cube of death. Heck, even Mario Party 5 wasn't that bad. 6 and 7 have been awful, though, and they make me have nightmares at night about a possible Mario Party 50. Man, that gives me the shivers. Expand

See all 16 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games

    Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games Image
    Published: May 20, 2010
    This weekend, Nintendo releases Mario's latest adventure, "Super Mario Galaxy 2" (Wii). It seems like the perfect time to explore the history of the Mario series, and rank the previous titles from best to worst.

Awards & Rankings

56
11
#11 Most Discussed GameCube Game of 2005