• Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Jan 11, 2005
  • Also On: PC
Resident Evil 4 Image
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 82 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 1593 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Resident Evil 4 marks a new chapter in the Resident Evil series. You'll rejoin Leon S. Kennedy six years after his first mission as a rookie cop from Resident Evil 2. Now a US agent, Leon is on a top secret mission to investigate the disappearance of the president's daughter. As Leon, youResident Evil 4 marks a new chapter in the Resident Evil series. You'll rejoin Leon S. Kennedy six years after his first mission as a rookie cop from Resident Evil 2. Now a US agent, Leon is on a top secret mission to investigate the disappearance of the president's daughter. As Leon, you must make your way to a mysterious location in Europe, where new enemies await. Take them down by using enhanced aim-and-shoot features and a new action button. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Resident Evil 4 - Nintendo Switch Launch Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 82
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 82
  3. Negative: 0 out of 82
  1. Be afraid. The intelligent, fast-moving fiends who stalk special agent Leon Kennedy will almost make you yearn for the embrace of old-fashioned brain-hungry cadavers.
  2. The best looking console game of all time. It is its franchise's redeemer. It is a masterpiece of video game storytelling. It is genuinely tense and occasionally even scary. It is one of the best action games ever released.
  3. Simply put, Resident Evil 4 is the tightest, most accessible game in the series and one of the best games out there.
  4. netjak
    97
    This game has officially spoiled me. Literally everything about Resident Evil 4 is oozing with style and meticulous attention to detail.
  5. The atmosphere still feels tense, but you no longer feel like a helpless victim that has no hope of survival; rather, you feel like an action hero with all the right moves for a Hollywood summer blockbuster, big guns and all.
  6. Few words can explain the sheer joy of playing it, because it's constantly throwing up new things to marvel at. And it just feels so affirming to play a game this confident, this well-crafted, this, well, fun.
  7. As good as it is though, it isn't perfect, which shows that the whole concept of a wholly linear 3rd person "horror" shooter wasn't all that great to begin with. I put horror in quotes because the game never actually scared me once, but if you're a squeamish pre-teen who can't watch Jurassic Park without wetting the bed this might not be an experience you'll enjoy.

See all 82 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 396
  1. TheDUDE
    Feb 14, 2005
    10
    Without a shadow of a doubt, this is one of the finest pieces of artwork ever created. It has a unique feel, is fun to play, and will most Without a shadow of a doubt, this is one of the finest pieces of artwork ever created. It has a unique feel, is fun to play, and will most likely never see an equal. This is why the hell we play games in the first place. Nice work CAPCOM! Expand
  2. ChristianH.
    Jan 18, 2005
    10
    There is nothing wrong with it. Everything is right.
  3. 4DI
    Nov 13, 2012
    10
    an atmospheric and revolutionary game that surpasses every other game within the survival horror genre ti'll this day.
    My only complaint
    an atmospheric and revolutionary game that surpasses every other game within the survival horror genre ti'll this day.
    My only complaint about RE4 is the lack of a quick select for weapons and items.(instead of pausing for the inventory)
    but it's all because of the gamecube controller's limitations.
    so
    Expand
  4. S.Yorganci
    Apr 6, 2005
    10
    Resident evil 4 takes playing video games to another level just about flawless in every department. By far the best game of the year!
  5. Zack
    Nov 21, 2006
    10
    Truly spectacular. Blows away all other Resident Evil games. Easily the best game on PS2 or Gamecube. Just a few years ago I was convinced Truly spectacular. Blows away all other Resident Evil games. Easily the best game on PS2 or Gamecube. Just a few years ago I was convinced that my favorite game was and always would be Kingdom Hearts, and that nothing could be better. Then four years later...I played RE4. I couldn't deny the fact that this simply is the best game I've ever played. The Krauser fight alone was worth my money. The only flaw, or the closest thing to a flaw anyway, is that they sacrificed the whole element of fear (except for the regenerators, which are at least creepy) that RE used to have. The thing that took its place however is a new style of gaming that will easily be influencing games for years to come. It's already influenced the gameplay of MGS4, and it will be the first of many. I don't think any game will stand up to it until RE5. If you own a PS2 or GC and you don't buy this, you are a fool, plain and simple. Even if you aren't a fan of RE games, buy it anyway. It's won't be anything you expected. You can be sure of that. Expand
  6. Apr 10, 2017
    10
    One of the best games ever made.
    I loved this game 12 years ago, loved it to death, and at the time i hated every horror or shooting game.
    One of the best games ever made.
    I loved this game 12 years ago, loved it to death, and at the time i hated every horror or shooting game.
    Few games gave me a single player experience as good as this, Dark Souls 3, The Witcher 3, The Last of Us and a couple of Zelda games.
    Expand
  7. Jul 28, 2013
    0
    This is a really fun game..........This is a really fun game.......... ..............................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

    NOT
    Expand

See all 396 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.
  2. Ranked: Best and Worst Horror Videogames

    Ranked: Best and Worst Horror Videogames Image
    Published: October 25, 2010
    Our Horror Week continues with a look at some of the best and worst horror videogames ever released, from "BioShock" to "Left 4 Dead." Plus, vote on your all-time favorite horror game series.

Awards & Rankings

1
1
#1 Most Discussed GameCube Game of 2005
1
#1 Most Shared GameCube Game of 2005