Super Mario Sunshine Image
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 61 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 585 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: When Mario, Peach, and an entourage of Peach's loyal Toad friends set out for a tropical vacation on lovely Isle Delfino, they're in store for much more than a relaxing holiday. A mustachioed maniac has mucked up the entire island, and Mario is accused of committing the crime. Armed with aWhen Mario, Peach, and an entourage of Peach's loyal Toad friends set out for a tropical vacation on lovely Isle Delfino, they're in store for much more than a relaxing holiday. A mustachioed maniac has mucked up the entire island, and Mario is accused of committing the crime. Armed with a hi-tech water cannon called FLUDD (Flash Liquidizer Ultra Dousing Device), Mario sets out to clean the island, clear his name, and solve the mystery of the villainous vandal. With new enemies, moves, and surprises, Super Mario Sunshine offers plenty of challenges. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 61
  2. Negative: 0 out of 61
  1. 100
    A masterpiece of superior game design, infinite gameplay variety, creativity, and life-and it's got a water cannon…and a damn brilliant one at that.
  2. Combine the wonderfully fluid control system, level designs that ooze the 'one more go' appeal and the fact that it's Mario, and you've got one of the best games in a long time and certainly the GameCube's finest hour to date. [Import]
  3. An excellent title, and almost certainly the very best GameCube title to date.
  4. Sunshine isn't the leap forward from Mario 64 that Mario 64 was from the previous Marios. But of all the titles that are available right now, on viable platforms, this is as good as videogaming gets. [Import]
  5. Even three and a half years later, there hasn't been a more complete, entertaining, lovingly wrought platformer made for the GameCube.
  6. Although not quite the revolution in game play or visual aesthetics that "Super Mario 64" was in its heyday, Super Mario Sunshine still stands as one of the premier platform games of this console generation.
  7. To say that the camera in this game is atrocious is like saying being kicked in the teeth kinda hurts-it gives the person an idea about how bad it is, but it doesn't even begin to describe the agony in detail.

See all 61 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 158
  1. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    Super Mario Sunshine was my first and one of my favorite games growing up. I worked through it and always enjoyed the great look and feel.Super Mario Sunshine was my first and one of my favorite games growing up. I worked through it and always enjoyed the great look and feel. Unfortunately my memory card went corrupt and I had to start over, which I put off until recently. The game is just as good if not better then I remember and I just wish Nintendo had gone back to Isle Delfino in another main title and not just as cameos in sports games. The closest thing to it are some of the planets from Super Mario Galaxy, and there my favorite planets in the game. The game is just is full of charm. Go out and find a copy right now, then buy it and don't ever stop playing. Expand
  2. Jan 16, 2015
    10
    This game is the best mario for gameplay. The controls are EXTREMELY tight. Every move is very fluid. There are so many different ways toThis game is the best mario for gameplay. The controls are EXTREMELY tight. Every move is very fluid. There are so many different ways to jump. The parkour tricks you can pull off are limitless. FLUDD was an amazing addition to the game. It let them make harder levels while still making it doable. By far my favorite Mario of all time. Only downside is the voice acting is bad, but who cares about that when the gameplay is SO GOOD. My favorite videogame of all time. It is so free and open world. It is a great example of almost perfect gameplay. Also, the some people complain about the camera, but this game has one of the best camera systems because not only does it automatically change view, the c-stick can be used to manipulate the camera manually. This is very useful in this game because the levels are so complex. Im going to say it one more time because I can't emphasize this enough, the jump and movement mechanics in this game are LEGENDARY, fluid, innovative. Mario 64 used a lot of rigid jumps like the tuck backflip and the long jump. They didnt feel natural. Sunshine's backflip doesnt need a tuck beforehand. There are single, double and triple jumps, spin jumps, spin triple jumps, spin wall jumps, slides, dives. The dives can be performed in tandem with jumps that basically can substitute long jumps. The learning curve is decently quick, but it extends for a long time. Watch a speedrun of this game and you will see what I mean. This game is fun. Really fun. It is not perfect, but no game has given me more joy than this one. Expand
  3. CoryS.
    Oct 30, 2002
    10
    Wow, this is a great game. I spent maybe 8 hours playing the first day I bought it -- and eight hours the next day -- and the next. I still Wow, this is a great game. I spent maybe 8 hours playing the first day I bought it -- and eight hours the next day -- and the next. I still havn't gotten every shine either, I have 117 though. Its a great game, If I didn't have it, I would get it. Expand
  4. MikeD.
    Aug 15, 2003
    9
    The plot is odd but the graphics are great. The game is fun, but like i said, the plot is a little childish. but theres lots to be done, soThe plot is odd but the graphics are great. The game is fun, but like i said, the plot is a little childish. but theres lots to be done, so you'll be plaing for a while. Expand
  5. Jul 10, 2016
    9
    I used to love how Nintendo wasn't afraid of innovating and this was possibly one of the best examples of how a Mario game can be innovative.I used to love how Nintendo wasn't afraid of innovating and this was possibly one of the best examples of how a Mario game can be innovative. This game has hours of fun packed in and a lot of collectibles (120 sprites and hundreds of blue coins). This is how a real 3D platformer should be! Expand
  6. Apr 28, 2016
    8
    Super Mario Sunshine is to this day my only Gamecube game and one of my favorite games as a child. Now before i start i need to stress theSuper Mario Sunshine is to this day my only Gamecube game and one of my favorite games as a child. Now before i start i need to stress the fact that i have a bit of a nostalgia bias for Mario Sunshine, i'll try to be as objective as i can, but don't think that this review is going to be 100%...well...objective.

    STORY: After Mario finishes his adventure in Super Mario 64, the Princess, the Uncle Toad and Mario go on vacation, but when they arrive a strange liquid is in the middle of the landing track so Mario goes to investigate and he founds F.L.U.D.D a water-spraying-talking-jetpack-rocket-turbo-backpack that helps Mario to clean the ugly liquid, but then he gets arrested by the police, this happens because a "Shadow Mario" has been painting the entire island with "Dark Paint" and now Mario has to go clean the island and find his evil doppelganger.

    Something that bothers me about the plot is that the isle defino residents are complete idiots when making this decision, because for 1 Mario JUST ARRIVED from an airplane, so how can he be the one responsible?. And 2, Shadow Mario is clearly black while the real Mario is in full color. But nah, it's just an excuse to set-up the adventure is no big deal. Plus it makes a lot more sense than a character not being able to open a door even tho he has a ******* bazooka.

    PRESENTATION: Super Mario Sunshine looks and sounds very good by today's standards and for a Gamecube game for that matter. The character models are really well done with lots of details within them and beautiful/vibrant colors. Same goes for the animations, they are responsive, they look good and in the cutscenes (yeah this time we have cutscenes for some reason) they shine...though is not always great. The game runs at 30fps and the resolution is around 360p-480p, but c'mon it's a Gamecube game cut it some slack.

    In terms of music...i mean it's Mario game of course it's gonna have amazing music. The game now has a beach theme to it and the music really reflects that, with catchy songs and melodies that fit perfectly with the environments.

    GAMEPLAY: Super Mario Sunshine is your standard 3D connectathon platforming game. You have different worlds to explore with creative, fun levels thrown about...for the most part.

    In each level you will have a certain objective to achieve like get from point A to point B or beat a boss, find this, get this, spray Shadow Mario a few times, collect a 100 coins, push a stupid watermelon that explodes at the slightest of wrong moves or collision, OR GET RED COINS ON A ******* PACHINKO MACHINE THAT CONTROLS LIKE **** or on a stupid lily-pad with poisonous water below you or...ok you get the picture. Not every level is great, some of them are pretty fun and easy, while others are unfair and hard. This content zig-zag of challenge is a bit frustrating, but with enough trial and error you will beat the stage. Each time you clear these objectives you will get a shine sprite, which are these game's power stars and there's 120 in total.

    The big feature of the game is F.L.U.D.D, you know the water-spraying-talking-jetpack-rocket-turbo-backpack that accompanies Mario throughout the whole adventure. F.L.U.D.D has 4 different modes that can be switched by pressing X:

    Spaying mode: You spray water to clean the environment or defeat the enemy. It's used pretty creatively the more you play, but it's the less interesting of the 4.

    Jetpack mode: The name says it all, F.L.U.D.D becomes a jetpack and it allows Mario to hover which in a platforming game is completely BROKEN.

    Rocket mode: This is an upgrade that you get from a box later on the game and...do i even need to explain it?, F.L.U.D.D becomes a rocket and with enough charge you get blasted to the sky!!. Really fun to use.

    Turbo-Splash-Water-Speed-Accelerator Mode: Mario gets a huge boots of speed both on the ground and the most useful and fun site to use it: water.

    F.L.U.D.D can only hold 2 upgrades at a time, but the spray mode is locked, so in order to switch from one to another you will have to open certain boxes, which can get a bit tedious, but it's no big deal. To use any of these you will need to have a certain level of water, without water F.L.U.D.D is useless.

    However in some levels not using F.L.U.D.D is the name of the game, because Shadow Mario will take it and you will have to complete an entire platforming based level in order to get it back. These levels are really fun for the most part and they show of the incredible control this game has with or without F.L.U.D.D.

    The last 2 things i have to say is that: Yoshi is in the game and he controls really well with his classic flutter jump and...spray juice ability...ugh. And **** the blue coins!!, there's 240 of them and many are hidden in very cryptic places and they're just a waste of time, but they are required to complete the game 100%.

    Overall Super Mario Sunshine is a must own for a Gamecube owner and i'll give it an 8/10.
    Expand
  7. May 6, 2018
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I can't believe this like the game is not even 2D Nintendo has betrayed me, with the big hit of the acclaimed Super Mario Bros 2 for the NES not to mention 30 YEARS WINNER IN A ROW of game of the year award you would think Nintendo wouldn't risk it and continue with the so awaited Super Mario Bros 2 31 but they did risk it and they fu**** it up BIG and instead we got this abomination of a game, like Super Mario Sunshine what kind of name for a video game even is that? It doesn't even have the number 2 in it.

    0/10 WORST MARIO GAME EVER.
    Expand

See all 158 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Every Super Mario Bros. Game, Ranked

    Every Super Mario Bros. Game, Ranked Image
    Published: October 10, 2017
    We rank every Super Mario game by score from worst to best.
  2. Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games

    Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games Image
    Published: May 20, 2010
    This weekend, Nintendo releases Mario's latest adventure, "Super Mario Galaxy 2" (Wii). It seems like the perfect time to explore the history of the Mario series, and rank the previous titles from best to worst.

Awards & Rankings

5
2
#2 Most Discussed GameCube Game of 2002
2
#2 Most Shared GameCube Game of 2002