The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker Image
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 80 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1239 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In this ninth entry in the Legend of Zelda series, Link debuts on GameCube with a fun new cel-shaded look, but the game stays true to the respected heritage of the series. The classic mix of sword-swinging action, perplexing puzzles and stirring story lines remains intact, but the stunningIn this ninth entry in the Legend of Zelda series, Link debuts on GameCube with a fun new cel-shaded look, but the game stays true to the respected heritage of the series. The classic mix of sword-swinging action, perplexing puzzles and stirring story lines remains intact, but the stunning cel-shaded graphics give the people and places of Link's watery world a wildly artistic new look. And for the very first time, Link sails freely on the high seas. Join Link on his most epic and scenic adventure yet. Face unimaginable monsters, explore puzzling dungeons, and meet a cast of unforgettable characters as he searches for his kidnapped sister, Aryll. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
The Legend of Zelda (working title) Movie 22
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 80
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 80
  3. Negative: 0 out of 80
  1. Nothing can prepare you for the greatness that is The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker... Mark my words: there will be no finer gaming experience this year. [Mar 2003, p.24]
  2. It's only March, and The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker is destined to be the best game of the year on any platform.
  3. Weekly Famitsu
    100
    10 / 10 / 10/ 10 - 40 platinum
  4. 96
    It's Zelda's unrivaled design, balanced and varied, and its polished play mechanics and control that ultimately set the game apart from just about every other competitor on the market.
  5. Tingle does make the game a touch easier, but at the same time it makes the story aspects of the Wind Waker a great deal more communal, leading to fewer arguments over whose turn it is. It's also the first game we've seen to really justify the cost of the link cable.
  6. While the game has some minor pacing and audio problems, the brave new art style, tightly evolved gameplay and humorous story takes the famous series in a bright, new direction.
  7. An entertaining, albeit unoriginal Zelda title that fails to be revolutionary yet still has the classic gameplay elements that make the series so great.

See all 80 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 25 out of 353
  1. JonS
    Jun 24, 2009
    10
    Okay, so maybe it doesn't deserve a perfect score. Sure there's like two bits where i got stuck or kind of bored but the sheer wall Okay, so maybe it doesn't deserve a perfect score. Sure there's like two bits where i got stuck or kind of bored but the sheer wall of content that is enjoyable and intriguing to the very end is just exceptional, if i could 9.8. Expand
  2. Jul 31, 2014
    10
    Much controversy still revolves around this title due to it's cutesy art style. Nonetheless, this has turned out to be an amazing title in theMuch controversy still revolves around this title due to it's cutesy art style. Nonetheless, this has turned out to be an amazing title in the series. Clever dungeons, awesome art style (You know you like it), and memorable characters make it this one of the best Zelda adventures ever. 10/10 (I also reviewed the Wii U version) Expand
  3. JonathanL.
    Apr 18, 2003
    10
    This game completely kicks *insert words here*. However it is very different but nonetheless it is amazing. The graphics are amazing the This game completely kicks *insert words here*. However it is very different but nonetheless it is amazing. The graphics are amazing the sound is also amazing and the battle style(much like the other zelda games but better)is awesome. If the rating could go higher I would rate it an amazing 1000. This has to be the greatest Zelda game ever. Those who claim the graphics are kiddy are just plain stupid and probably haven't played it. Expand
  4. MattR.
    May 9, 2003
    10
    This game is the best game on the GameCube, and is only rivalled by such titles as Final Fantasy on the PS2 and Halo on the Xbox. Every This game is the best game on the GameCube, and is only rivalled by such titles as Final Fantasy on the PS2 and Halo on the Xbox. Every GameCube owner should buy this game because it boasts perfect gameplay, a huge storyline and graphics that (although many would consider them cartoony and a downside) grow on you until you wish all your other games looked like this. It looks like Zelda has done it again. Expand
  5. DougM.
    Apr 27, 2003
    9
    People who won't play this game because of the cel-shading are going to miss out on one great game. An awesome story and an incredibly People who won't play this game because of the cel-shading are going to miss out on one great game. An awesome story and an incredibly huge world will have you playing for a while. Expand
  6. Nov 23, 2018
    9
    Un excelente juego de la saga, la grafica cartoon no me agrada, música excelente, la historia inicia bien y luego se estanca, aun así laUn excelente juego de la saga, la grafica cartoon no me agrada, música excelente, la historia inicia bien y luego se estanca, aun así la exploración de las islas es un llamado al explorador que todos llevamos dentro. Esta historia me a gustado mucho y ganon se lleva mi respeto para siempre. Expand
  7. JayB.
    Sep 28, 2003
    0
    Even if this game had the best graphics in the world, this would probably be one of the most overrated, poorly designed games I have ever Even if this game had the best graphics in the world, this would probably be one of the most overrated, poorly designed games I have ever bought in my life, being made only as a result of the publicity and money made from Ocarina of Time. Stop giving this sorry game pity votes! Expand

See all 353 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Every Legend of Zelda Game, Ranked

    Every Legend of Zelda Game, Ranked Image
    Published: March 7, 2017
    The new Breath of the Wild is great, but how does it compare to past Zelda releases? We rank all 18 Legend of Zelda games from worst to best.
  2. This Week in Metacritic: Not So Lovely Bones

    This Week in Metacritic: Not So Lovely Bones Image
    Published: December 10, 2009
    Our quick roundup of the newest releases in movies, music, games and TV found at Metacritic.com for the week of 12/7 - 12/11.

Awards & Rankings

1
1
#1 Most Discussed GameCube Game of 2003
4
#4 Most Shared GameCube Game of 2003