User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 19, 2019
    7
    My personal rating for "Wave Race: Blue Storm" (GC): 7,4/10 - Good
    Gameplay: 8
    Video: 8
    Audio: 7
    Scope: 5
    Balance: 6,5
    Story: -
  2. Jul 25, 2016
    9
    This game is super fun and the controls and gameplay is amazing. This game is nostalgic and entertaining as well as enjoyable. This game is great still.
  3. May 27, 2014
    8
    Graphics: 8.5 Sound: 8.5 Gameplay: 8 Fun/Story: 8

    A very good launch game. Some tracks look really nice with amazing water reflections and well designed. It was a good way so start on GameCube.
  4. May 28, 2012
    6
    Game was fun with friends.
  5. May 27, 2011
    10
    i just wanted to drop a quick review for this game cos i'm missing it sooooo much right now and i think next payday i'm gonna run off and grab myself a gamecube and a copy of waverace and have a full nostalgasem because i genuinly think even with the quality of arcade racers available today that this is still one of my all time fav' racers and if you own a wii or a gamecube than itsi just wanted to drop a quick review for this game cos i'm missing it sooooo much right now and i think next payday i'm gonna run off and grab myself a gamecube and a copy of waverace and have a full nostalgasem because i genuinly think even with the quality of arcade racers available today that this is still one of my all time fav' racers and if you own a wii or a gamecube than its totally worth tracking down a copy but remember if its your first time playing blue storm try to stick with ricky cos he's the easiest character to learn the controles with :D Expand
  6. RyotaH.
    Oct 3, 2006
    9
    This is an awesome game and still 5 years on from its release, it still has one of the best looking water environments found in games. It is however VERY difficult (expert mode) and you will find yourself ripping your hair out and wanting to punch someone in the face due to the mere frustration of losing by 1 point; therefore having to start all over again. A lot of the time you will This is an awesome game and still 5 years on from its release, it still has one of the best looking water environments found in games. It is however VERY difficult (expert mode) and you will find yourself ripping your hair out and wanting to punch someone in the face due to the mere frustration of losing by 1 point; therefore having to start all over again. A lot of the time you will think to yourself that some of the courses are literally impossible, but they can be completed....you just got to spend a lot of time at it! La Razza Canal will take A LOT of time getting familiar with. Once you finish the game though it is extremely satisfying. Expand
  7. JoshK.
    Jul 26, 2006
    9
    What's this? A GameCube launch title AND a great game? Fantastic weather and water effects, this game still looks and feels stunning. The controls are good and the rumble feature is used to great effect as you bounce over the waves.
  8. MatthewS.
    Apr 20, 2003
    9
    Pretty good game. I cant give it a 10 but a 9 I can do.
  9. Mike
    Dec 19, 2002
    5
    When I first started it up I was amazed by the graphics and the game play. But there is something missing. Maybe its because there isn't enough tracks or the stunts mood is very shallow but after a while, even before I beat the game, I didn't feel like playing it anymore. Plus, the crafts take to long to learn how to control. This really hurts it in multiplayer mode because no When I first started it up I was amazed by the graphics and the game play. But there is something missing. Maybe its because there isn't enough tracks or the stunts mood is very shallow but after a while, even before I beat the game, I didn't feel like playing it anymore. Plus, the crafts take to long to learn how to control. This really hurts it in multiplayer mode because no one else wants to play a game that they suck at. I wouldn't recommend this game. A good effort, but single player comes up short and multiplayer fails to redeem this game. Expand
  10. ZiggyStardust
    Aug 13, 2002
    8
    PROS: - awesome water & waves!! it's the best yet in a video game for sure. - no real loading required - 4 player split screen - 8 courses, 3 different layouts in each, 5 different types of weather. so basically that's 120 different tracks. CONS: - only 8 settings - the crafts take a while to get used to (i've noticed friends who come over have a lot of problems - but it PROS: - awesome water & waves!! it's the best yet in a video game for sure. - no real loading required - 4 player split screen - 8 courses, 3 different layouts in each, 5 different types of weather. so basically that's 120 different tracks. CONS: - only 8 settings - the crafts take a while to get used to (i've noticed friends who come over have a lot of problems - but it shouldn't be much of an adjustment for wave race 64 fans). - if you hit the edge of a track the craft leans towards the edge more. so basically if you make a mistake it's compounded. Expand
  11. JctK.
    Aug 12, 2002
    9
    This game is AWESOME!!!!!
  12. C
    Jul 28, 2002
    5
    Boring.
  13. BruceC.
    Mar 8, 2002
    8
    Good gameplay, great graphics. Only 8 short tracks - a few more tracks would have been nice!
  14. Jul 25, 2016
    9
    This game is super fun and the controls and gameplay is amazing. This game is nostalgic and entertaining as well as enjoyable. This game is great still.

Awards & Rankings

10
6
#6 Most Discussed GameCube Game of 2001
8
#8 Most Shared GameCube Game of 2001
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. 92
    Its airtight control, breathtaking weather effects, and stunning wave complexity combine for an irresistible racing experience.
  2. It’s a great laugh in 4-player and the 1-player Championship mode is well tough to beat.
  3. Not only is it the most beautiful racing game we’ve seen since SEGA’s "Ferrari F355 Challenge," but it’s also more playable—amazingly—than "WaveRace 64."