Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
Stream On
  1. Nov 27, 2017
    95
    Animal Crossing: Pocket Camp is a great mobile version of the popular simulation game. I was afraid that Nintendo may ruin Animal Crossing on iOS (Super Mario Run didn't do that great after the initial launch), but Pocket Camp is fantastic for what it is — a mobile version of a fun simulation game. It may be a watered down version of previous games, but there's still plenty to do and collect in Pocket Camp.
  2. Nov 27, 2017
    90
    Assuming Nintendo adds new animal campers, furniture, and clothing; allows for more expansions to your RV and (hopefully) the Campsite; opens up additional islands; and introduces holiday events to go along with the changing seasons, Pocket Camp will be a fantastic Animal Crossing game for years to come. The current iteration is already an exceptional transition of the series to mobile, complete with a large cast of animals with tons of adorable interactions and charming dialogue options (these animals are unapologetic coffee snobs); plenty of things to do, collect, and decorate; and the relaxing, open-ended gameplay we know and love coupled with more specific goals to work toward. The opportunity for regular future updates could make Pocket Camp the best Animal Crossing entry yet, but like every other real-time event in this series: we’ll have to wait and see.
  3. Nov 21, 2017
    90
    Reviewing Animal Crossing: Pocket Camp feels like a necessary formality more than anything else. It's a game with over a year of hype behind it, the Nintendo seal of quality stamped on it, and it's from an IP that couldn't be more beloved. I'd recommend everyone giving it a shot, as you can play for quite a long time before hitting any kind of free to play limitations... And who knows, maybe you'll fall in love with the Animal Crossing universe and be one of those people to pick up a 3DS just to play New Leaf.
  4. Dec 1, 2017
    89
    What I feel is lacking though is the kudos system would be more compatible if it had actual influence beyond the occasional quest. I’d really like to reward those who give me kudos often.
  5. Nov 26, 2017
    82
    Animal Crossing: Pocket Camp is a great app for every fan of the series, but also for those who never really appreciated this peculiar Japanese title. Despite keeping the general feeling of a classic Animal Crossing, it still lacks of some elements that make you experience that nice sensation of having your personal little peaceful and quiet world. The game is also penalised by slow loading times. I particularly appreciated the way microtransactions are managed, also because the game doesn't really make you wanna buy anything: waiting for things to reload is definitely not a big deal.
  6. Nov 26, 2017
    81
    Some might think Animal Crossing: Pocket Camp is a predatory app for iOS and Android devices, but if you have the patience to keep coming back, you won't have to invest real money in the game. Besides, it's a charming and beautiful adventure for you to take anywhere.
  7. Nov 30, 2017
    80
    It's an Animal Crossing faithful to the essence of the saga.
  8. Nov 27, 2017
    80
    No, it’s not a full-blown Animal Crossing game, but who could expect it to be? If you need something charming, addictive and inexpensive to distract you, Pocket Camp is the perfect handheld vacation.
  9. Nov 26, 2017
    80
    Animal Crossing Pocket Camp is a very good free-to play. Less complex than its relatives on 3DS and home consoles, it features relaxed gameplay, things to craft and NPC to interact.
  10. Nov 24, 2017
    80
    One of the best features of the canonical chapters lies in the ability of the game to adapt to the times of real life: the shift from day to night, the scandal of seasons, the commemorated parties and all the little attentions that have made millions fall in love.
  11. Nov 22, 2017
    80
    Animal Crossing Pocket Camp is the most faithful, complete and up-to-date Animal Crossing you can expect on smartphones.
  12. Nov 22, 2017
    80
    The new Nintendo mobile game is an installment of the Animal Crossing series. Pocket Camp is funny, engaging and faithful to the franchise. Crafting system simply works and microtransactions are not an issue. If you loved the old ones, maybe the beloved GameCube chapter, you will still love it.
  13. Nov 19, 2017
    80
    Nintendo has once again worked its magic to release a smartphone title that is vastly superior to the average game release on Google Play and iOS platforms.
  14. Nov 15, 2017
    80
    Animal Crossing: Pocket Camp delivers on the brief, daily getaway I hoped it would, while also making some welcome changes to the franchise’s formula. Limitations like an always-online connection and frequent loads can make the on-the-go experience occasionally frustrating, but I continually found reward — both literally in-game and metaphorically — in working toward building a better campsite. And just making sure my animal friends really, really like me. With the potential to continue introducing new items, seasonal events, and other camp upgrades, I expect to be taking this vacation for weeks, if not months to come.
  15. Nov 2, 2017
    80
    Animal Crossing: Pocket Camp catches the essence of the franchise though it lacks some depth. It is a great game for new players and a tasteful dose for those looking for new entries in the saga.
  16. Nov 29, 2017
    78
    This new entry does certainly offer a good Animal Crossing experience despite its limitations. The main issue is that the relationships have not much interest as they all say almost the same things everyday. Buy the craft methods and leveling system are pretty interesting for the future of the franchise.
  17. Dec 4, 2017
    75
    Animal Crossing: Pocket Camp is a high-quality mobile title that lives up to its console counterparts, and is certainly better than most of what you'll find available in the free-to-play market today. Unfortunately its confusion over the value of its content and barely-there social features make me question its long-term staying power.
  18. Nov 30, 2017
    75
    Pocket Camp isn’t a traditional Animal Crossing, but it works quite well as a mobile game. Considering how well received it’s been, we hope for quite a lot of support from Nintendo.
  19. Nov 24, 2017
    75
    Animal Crossing: Pocket Camp isn’t the perfect mobile iteration of the series that we wanted, but it’s great for a smile throughout the day.
  20. Nov 22, 2017
    75
    It may not hook me the way a standard entry in the series does – or even that wonderful home makeover spin-off – but it absolutely feels right as a free-to-play game on my phone.
  21. Nov 29, 2017
    70
    There's not a whole lot about Animal Crossing: Pocket Camp that is surprising. It's a pretty run-of-the-mill, freemium crafting game, but it just so happens to be made by Nintendo, which means it has pretty amazing production values. You'd probably be pretty hard-pressed to find a more pleasant-looking game like this on the App Store, but it shouldn't be too hard to find something a bit more interesting.
  22. Nov 22, 2017
    70
    Animal Crossing: Pocket Camp is a simple and effective time-killer that doesn't push its free to play elements in your face.
  23. Nov 22, 2017
    70
    Animal Crossing Pocket Camp is definitely Animal Crossing, but it’s also definitely a mobile game. Not bad for twenty or thirty minutes a day, but it won’t keep you plugged in for hours like a proper Animal Crossing game would. Then again, for the low-low price of free-to-start, it’s really hard to complain about the investment.
  24. Mar 26, 2018
    60
    Animal Crossing: Pocket Camp has a lot going for it and does a lot right. It has some elements that looks really promising and can take the whole franchise in exciting new directions in the future. However, a lot of the soul of the franchise has been removed by becoming too punctual and predictable. The player knows exactly everything that is going to happen at exactly every time of the day.
  25. CD-Action
    Feb 8, 2018
    55
    Pocket Camp is worse than main renditions of Animal Crossing in every aspect. Nintendo took a great franchise and taught it nasty mobile habits. [01/2018, p.51]
  26. NF Magazine
    Jan 7, 2018
    55
    Is it something I can see myself playing for a long time? In all honesty, no. [Issue #31 – January/February 2018, p. 21M]
  27. games(TM)
    Dec 31, 2017
    50
    Lacks the part, but doesn't have the soul. [Issue#195, p.75]
  28. Edge Magazine
    Dec 10, 2017
    50
    Somewhere, Animal Crossing has mislaid its soul. [Issue#314, p.116]
  29. Nov 26, 2017
    50
    The Animal Crossing formula is pared down almost to the point of inanity on smartphones, as the cynically-contrived microtransactions leave a bitter taste.
  30. Nov 22, 2017
    50
    This is not the relaxed, goalless Animal Crossing you know, this mobile version is just about money making. Very disappointing.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Nov 23, 2017
    This isn't Animal Crossing. This is a scam. Nintendo should be ashamed for attaching such predatory practices to one of its most family-friendly properties, and nothing short of a full-scale redesign will fix the FarmVille-level rot within this shiny-looking game.
  2. Nov 28, 2017
    Animal Crossing has previously shined as a portable game, but this stripped-back mobile spin-off provides none of the same charm.
  3. Nov 30, 2017
    The Nintendo mobile game feels like an Animal Crossing game and an extension of the franchise, but like my hometown, it’s changed—and that’s not always for the better.
  4. Dec 3, 2017
    Pocket Camp doesn’t feel like it’s about those quiet, simple moments. It’s about my time and my money, and the way the game keeps asking me to spend more of each. It’s manipulation and materialism. I’m being drawn into this just to accumulate stuff, and to optimize the ways I can earn in-game money to pay for more stuff. Maybe at it’s heart, Animal Crossing was always about that, and in this stripped down state I’m seeing it clearly for the first time. I liked pretending that it wasn’t.
  5. Dec 1, 2017
    Animal Crossing: Pocket Camp never gives me a clear reason to keep building my campsite or paying off loans to get a marginally bigger camper (the game’s other, slightly smaller, customizable space). The only concrete goal is inviting more villagers over after they ungratefully ask you have specific items in your campsite. Even for a series that revels in simple pleasures, this is a bit much.
  6. Nov 22, 2017
    Pocket Camp changes things, and ultimately shrinks the experience, but it also keeps just enough of Animal Crossing’s essence to make it work. And the shift to mobile adds something important. Animal Crossing is a game best enjoyed as a daily habit, and there’s no better place for that than on your phone.
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 68 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 68
  2. Negative: 13 out of 68
  1. Nov 22, 2017
    10
    This is a great mobile game!
    It's charming, addictive and just adorable.
    The customization system has improved alot! It's super easy to edit
    This is a great mobile game!
    It's charming, addictive and just adorable.
    The customization system has improved alot! It's super easy to edit your camp.
    If you have played an animal crossing game before, you know that it's kind of difficult to edit your house. Here they have fixed everything.
    Full Review »
  2. May 31, 2018
    3
    The differences are subtle and sinister in nature, but this isn't the Animal Crossing you know and love -- it's FarmVille wearing a cuddlyThe differences are subtle and sinister in nature, but this isn't the Animal Crossing you know and love -- it's FarmVille wearing a cuddly animal friend skin to mask its avaricious intents. There's no world generation, no actual player interaction, no unique animal populations, no creative outlets for town tunes or clothing; instead there are a series of resource harvesting zones with regenerative timers to deliver things to animals (for which you have limited storage space; expandable with premium currency) to earn materials to craft furniture (and wait for that to be built, or remove the wait with premium currency) to impress other animals and get them to move in. Your one and only creative outlet is furniture arrangement. You can trade resources with friends, but only by offloading things you don't want into market stalls; you can't post or field specific resource requests. K.K. Slider makes his appearance as a limited-availability talking prop obtained for $12.50 of premium currency, with all of 3 lines of dialogue and no music to play for you. There's even the classic "pester 5 friends to access the premium zone" system (or just pay premium currency for every visit).

    Animal Crossing was never about powergaming so it's hard to look at all the wait timers and say they ruin everything on their own, but once you strip out the random generation, exploration, and creativity aspects and constantly needle players about how their lives can be improved by just paying more money (even in the incidental dialogue of the animal characters), you've corrupted what was once an enjoyable unwinding activity into something far more hypocritical and transparently capitalistic in nature.

    TL;DR: It's literally FarmVille with an Animal Crossing skin. AND NOW LOOTBOXES!
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 26, 2017
    5
    It's Animal Crossing, so it's fun. However, this is very watered down. It's fun, don't get me wrong. However, it's too simple and feelsIt's Animal Crossing, so it's fun. However, this is very watered down. It's fun, don't get me wrong. However, it's too simple and feels repetitive. I do like it, but I can see why people wouldn't. If you're a super-fan of Animal Crossing like me, I'd say check it out for a day but just go back to New Leaf or Gamecube. Full Review »