Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
Buy Now
Stream On
  1. Apr 7, 2021
    100
    Fantasian is a classic RPG at its core, with plenty of new tricks and a fresh art style to keep it relatable in the age of AAA cinematic experiences. The unique characters are delightful and full of intrigue, the story is engaging, and the visuals speak for themselves. Having multiple options for controls and a unique way of handling random enemy encounters makes this a game suitable for anyone looking to get lost in a fantasy adventure. While it’s not currently complete, if the game’s second half matches even a sliver of its first half in quality, the game will continue to be an absolute must-play title on Apple Arcade.
  2. May 3, 2021
    92
    Fantasian was something of an impulse play for me. I hadn’t considered getting an Apple Arcade subscription before I found out about the game, but so far, I’m glad I did. Of course, I’m pretty immersed in the Apple ecosystem, so it was an easier adjustment for me than it might be for others. I’d like to hope that Fantasian may one day make its way to other systems — it felt like it would be right at home on console and PC when I played it on my Apple TV — but for now, it’s Apple or bust. I absolutely think the game is worth it. It’s such a delightful and nostalgic adventure, especially if you’re like me and your first Final Fantasy was on the original PlayStation.
  3. Aug 31, 2021
    90
    Fantasian is a fantastic RPG, and will probably be a strong contender for GOTY deliberations later this year. Though it might not hurt to wait for a few patches for lingering issues to be resolved, and to consider if you’re up for the challenge that the game will provide.
  4. Apr 11, 2021
    90
    Fantasian is a declaration of love for both the JRPG genre and the community of RPG fans. The fantasy epic, available exclusively on Apple Arcade, is an absolute jewel that has nothing to envy to the great works of the past: an exciting and magical, long-lived and rewarding adventure, born from the same skilled hands that forged Final Fantasy. For our part, after more than twenty hours spent in the wonderful world of Fantasian, we cannot help but await, with trepidation, the second part of this extraordinary journey which, perhaps, will represent the heartfelt farewell to the career of a visionary author like Sakaguchi.
  5. 90
    The world is beautiful to explore, and apparently, it was created by building actual dioramas of the various environments and then scanning them into digital data. It's the perfect way to capture the isometric perspective of those PlayStation 1-era Final Fantasies, while also ensuring that it looks modern and a deliberate homage to those classic games of yesteryear. On every level, Fantasian is aware of itself, and also confident that there are still people out there that love the classic qualities of older JRPGs in such a way that they can deliver. It's a confidence that I certainly believe that the team behind this game has every right to hold.
  6. Apr 5, 2021
    90
    Blending refreshing systems like aiming and the ability to stock enemy encounters to fight them all at once when you feel like it, Fantasian’s turn-based battles are simple yet revolutionary. By implementing real-life dioramas as the main visuals, the locations have a sense of place few games can match. From story to music, everything in this game has been crafted with love and attention to detail, resulting in a game of superb quality overall.
  7. Apr 8, 2021
    88
    Fantasian is a love letter to the classic JRPG genre and one of its best evolutions ever. Mistwalker succeeds in injecting new life in an (apparently) old shell and makes this game shine both in aesthetics and gameplay.
  8. Apr 16, 2021
    86
    Fantasian is an atmospheric roleplaying game - the best of its kind in Apple Arcade. A stylish as well as placid experience unfolds, even with the story taking quite some time and the battles being too easy.
  9. Apr 9, 2021
    85
    Fantasian is an excellent J-RPG that we can't recommend enough if you are nostalgic for the old episodes of Final Fantasy.
  10. Aug 31, 2021
    80
    Fantasian is a very demanding experience, and you really have to be in love with its mechanics to put up with it all. Heaven knows the narrative isn’t going to keep you motivated. Fantasian is an absolute masterpiece in most regards, and yet I find myself struggling to recommend it.
  11. May 19, 2021
    80
    Fantasian is a love letter to old-school RPGs, with clear ties to classic systems that fans love but with added accessibility for newcomers. Its story could use a bit more creative twist to differentiate itself, but as this colorful cast remembers their past, longtime fans of the genre might recall adventures long since forgotten. In its turn-based nature, the battle system manages to feel fresh through unique abilities, which make this a must-play for anyone craving a classic JRPG experience. longtime fans will recall adventure long since forgotten.
  12. Apr 20, 2021
    80
    This standard plot isn’t enough to take away from everything Fantasian does well, though. In fact, it is because the game follows such a classic JRPG format that you likely won’t even notice you’ve been playing it for 20+ hours when all is said and done, which is quite the accomplishment for a mobile title.
  13. Fantasian draws clear inspiration from mid-numbered Final Fantasy games. From its orthodox structure — players are put in control of a party of heroes who explore towns, dungeons, and an overworld map, with turn-based battle occurring at random intervals — to its sci-fi-cum-fantasy vibe, which includes grand airships, imaginative monsters, and even glowing save crystals, anyone who played a turn-of-the-century Japanese role-playing game is going to experience some welcome nostalgia here — especially when Uematsu’s signature battle music and themes kick in.
  14. Apr 9, 2021
    80
    Fantasian was designed by legendary RPG king Hironobu Sakaguchi as a love letter to games like Final Fantasy 6. It doesn’t really reinvent the wheel as it more adheres some pretty stickers to a wheel we’ve already watched spin for years. But for those looking to take that old wheel for a spin, you’re in for a smooth ride.
  15. Apr 8, 2021
    80
    I've played a few of the RPGs available on Apple Arcade and I don't think a single one has come close to matching Fantasian's vision and execution. This is a wonderful game with an outstanding battle system that is brought to life with what could be the best art direction of 2021.
  16. Apr 15, 2021
    70
    Despite the generic plot, Fantasian is a completely serviceable JRPG that checks all the boxes, plays with some interesting new ideas, and has a gorgeous diorama world for players to explore. It doesn't feel like the proper last big hoorah for legendary game developer Hironobu Sakaguchi or composer Nobuo Uematsu (who does a tremendous job with the soundtrack), but it's still a decent, familiar JRPG experience and one of the more interesting games currently available on Apple Arcade.
  17. Apr 12, 2021
    70
    The unique art style belies a game that is, for the most part, ruthlessly old fashioned, but in a way that will please old school Final Fantasy fans and maybe even make some new ones.
  18. Apr 8, 2021
    70
    A brilliant Apple Arcade exclusive with a killer battle system, let down by hit-and-miss visuals and a slightly naff plot.
  19. Apr 14, 2021
    60
    Much as our heroes are caught between two worlds, Fantasian has one foot in design dogma while the other paddles around cautiously in new ideas. The result is a lengthy and sumptuous genre piece, the equivalent of a good Netflix movie that you probably wouldn’t watch at the cinema. These days, that’s more of a compliment than it used to be.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Apr 14, 2021
    It’s not particularly original, hewing very closely to the Final Fantasy games that Sakaguchi built his career on. But it also takes those ideas and mechanics and changes them just enough to feel fresh, while also making some notable quality-of-life changes. Fantasian isn’t just an adorable handcrafted game from the creator of Final Fantasy; it’s the most approachable Japanese RPG I’ve ever played.
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 63 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 63
  2. Negative: 8 out of 63
  1. Apr 21, 2021
    6
    The Good:
    Fantasia has some strengths and its clear that its made with love and passion but sadly it has many problems that drags it down
    The Good:
    Fantasia has some strengths and its clear that its made with love and passion but sadly it has many problems that drags it down from greatness to mediocrity.

    -Turn based Battle system is very fun especially when you fight multiple opponents when you use Dimengeon.
    -its insane what they managed to achieve with the environments by using diorama it really shows that even with a limited budget and a limited hardware you can still make fantastic environments ,which is something that has been lacking in many Jrpgs released in the past decade.
    -its very approachable ,even if you have not played any Jrpg in the past its very easy to get into.
    -Cities are beautiful and are unique.
    -it works damn flawlessly without any buggs or frame drops even on my awful iphone.

    The Bad:
    and this is the part where it pains me to write mainly because the game has so much potential that are dragged down because of outdated design decisions and annoying flaws.
    -Random encounters is simply outdated and the fact that some Jrpgs still insist on adding it is simply beyond me ,even Dragon quest got rid of the damn thing for some reason they just HAD to include it ,Dimengeon thankfully does make it less annoying but still there are sometimes where you forced to fight when its a new enemy type for the first time.

    -The insane amount of concentrated boss fights in the second half was simply ridiculous and exhausting in a very bad way ,there are some cool boss fights but most of them are BS and tedious to fight.

    -Side quests are nothing but **** fetch quests with 0 effort put into them.

    -Ez gameplay gimmick is dreadful instead of using MP he uses items and once you are out of the items that he needs to do the skills he is pretty much useless and can only do normal attacks which wont do much.

    -The Writing is beyond bad and this is my main gripe with the game ,the fact that some people think its remotely good just shows how low bar the writing is for Jrpgs ,jumping from Disco Elysium to this is like jumping from Mount Everest to the depth of Mariana Trench ,where do i begin? you want to make a game that takes place in a generic setting ,with generic plot and characters? thats more than fine but ATLEAST execute properly ,its very hard to believe with all the experience the development team have they failed miserably at the writing department ,it felt like they are writing a story for a game that is supposed to release in the early 90s they failed to realize that gaming as a medium has moved far beyond the generic writing that this game has and the dialogues is probably one of the worst i have ever seen ,from the interactions between the main cast to the NPCs it really pains me to see a well designed city that is plagued with **** content and awful NPC dialogues and a lackluster worldbuilding ,its just plain bad and its such a shame because this is the part that is supposed to focus on the story.
    -a very forgettable cast of characters that has little to no chemistry.
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 20, 2021
    0
    I didn't like it much. I was expecting more, but sadly this whole game was letdown.
  3. Jan 8, 2022
    6
    + First half is great.
    + Music is excellent.
    + Simple but fun combat system. + Great progression system. + Genius way of handling ‘random
    + First half is great.
    + Music is excellent.
    + Simple but fun combat system.
    + Great progression system.
    + Genius way of handling ‘random battles’

    - Serious controller issues when using a controller.
    - Exclusive to a platform that most probably won’t bother with.
    - Story is a little weak, not Sakaguichi’s best work. Lost Odyssey has a better story.
    - Second half becomes a monotonous grind fest that will most likely make you want to drop it half way through. The bosses have way too much HP and everything feels like a super boss instead of an actual legitimate challenge.

    The first half was great and is pretty much a 9/10 and I recommend anyone to atleast play that much. The second half has serious pacing and requires hours of grinding just to get anywhere. The second half tries too hard to be too hard for its own good and it shows. Right now, if you own any apple device it’s probably worth picking up, just be aware of what happens in the second half will probably turn you off unless you’re that much into hard RPG’s that you don’t care. Some may like the challenge but I felt it was too off putting and a shame considering how good the first half was.

    If you don’t own an Apple device, is it really worth investing in one just to play this game? No. Maybe wait, see if it ever comes to PC or another platform, though it probably won’t but it’s just not worth the price of admission. Don’t look at my score and think it’s a garbage game, the first half is really fantastic but the second half sinks it. I have to review it as a package since there is no section for ‘part 2’ and it’s all one game now.
    Full Review »