Florence Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 70 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Florence is an interactive storybook from the award-winning lead designer of Monument Valley about the heart-racing highs and heartbreaking lows of a young woman's very first love. Florence Yeoh feels a little... stuck. Her life is an endless routine of work, sleep, and spending too muchFlorence is an interactive storybook from the award-winning lead designer of Monument Valley about the heart-racing highs and heartbreaking lows of a young woman's very first love. Florence Yeoh feels a little... stuck. Her life is an endless routine of work, sleep, and spending too much time on social media. Then one day, she meets a cello player named Krish who changes everything about how she sees the world and herself. Expand
Buy Now
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Mar 22, 2018
    100
    Florence doesn’t last long but when it's finished, I was left with an overwhelming series of emotions. I don’t want to sound hyperbolic, but I found the simplicity of this game to be profound. Florence right now retails for $2.99 on the App Store and although it doesn't have any replayability, I think it’s worth every penny. I hope that Florence inspires more games of this kind that captured an hour of my day and transformed it into an intrinsic adventure that I’m not soon to forget.
  2. games(TM)
    Apr 20, 2018
    90
    A stunning work of interactive art. [Issue#199, p.83]
  3. Apr 4, 2019
    90
    For less than an hour of your time, Florence is one of the most beautiful coming-of-age stories you can experience.
  4. 80
    In a medium so fixated on hurting others, it's refreshing to enjoy a slice of life story about the complexities of love, romance and life itself.
  5. Feb 27, 2018
    80
    Florence is an imaginative, breathtaking, heartbreaking tale of two artists trying a love they’re not quite ready for. It’s as honest a look at the subject matter as you’ll find in a game -- or so I've been told by others who've been writing about it incessantly since its release. But as much as Florence focuses on love, I’m not quite sure it’s a fan of it.
  6. Feb 20, 2018
    80
    Florence's costumbrist love story touched us and surprised us. Its proposal is direct and effective. Its realization, in mechanics, drawing and sound, doesn't have objections. And each hint of colour, each musical note, helped us to see the credits with tears in our eyes.
  7. Feb 28, 2018
    70
    Although not a game in any conventional sense, more a work of interactive fiction, Florence is about falling in love, its protagonist drifting through the tedium of adult existence before meeting the love of her life. From the mild awkwardness of their first date, to moving in, daily routine, arguments and beyond, your part in each scene sometimes amounting to no more than scrolling through its practically wordless pages, but making you feel a part of its story in a way that graphic novels and films can’t. At only 30 minutes long and with little replay value, this is not for everyone, but its unique emotional journey is an experience that stays with you.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 25
  2. Negative: 4 out of 25
  1. Mar 1, 2020
    10
    Really beautiful and touching game, I love how this medium was used to tell this story. In many ways, this isn't that original of a story, butReally beautiful and touching game, I love how this medium was used to tell this story. In many ways, this isn't that original of a story, but the new way in which its presented makes the experience very novel. My only problem is that I wish the game were longer! I initially gave this an 8/10 because of the length, but two years later I still can't stop thinking about it so I'm upgrading it to a 10/10. Expand
  2. Feb 17, 2020
    10
    Simple, profound and touching, Florence is a new kind of experience that is hopefully the first in a new genre. It's an interactive comic thatSimple, profound and touching, Florence is a new kind of experience that is hopefully the first in a new genre. It's an interactive comic that captures the breakthroughs in interactive storytelling of the past decade and boils them down to something so beautifully simple that it makes you go, "Why haven't anyone done this before!" It proves how little it takes of just the right kind of interaction to make you feel a part of a story.

    The story itself is nothing new. It's a love story. It's the way the story is told that makes the experience completely novel. It takes about half an hour to complete, and is well worth the price.

    The scene where Florence meets her love for the first time is like seeing a comic book literally come to life before your eyes, in a way I've never seen before. Just beautiful. Here's hoping we get more of this kind of experience.
    Expand
  3. Nov 22, 2020
    9
    I think that this is truly a unique game and I would recommend that if you are a fan of this type of genre then I think you should give thisI think that this is truly a unique game and I would recommend that if you are a fan of this type of genre then I think you should give this game a try. Expand
  4. Dec 29, 2018
    8
    Beautiful game and story.

    The unique visuals alongside the methodical pacing really help the game stand out. It tells the story of a
    Beautiful game and story.

    The unique visuals alongside the methodical pacing really help the game stand out. It tells the story of a relationship, but the best part is how it tells is through mechanics and very, very, little dialogue. Special standouts are the word-less conversations, which depending on the moment of their relationship can be extremely simple or a bit more complicated, and another section which I won't spoil but in which you don't have to touch anything to complete.

    The music also really helps set the mood and speak for the characters. From the strings representing him or the piano representing her, it captured always the feeling of their relationship and elevated the story. Also it was really well looped, never feeling like you're hearing the same tune over and over.

    Another thing is that the game felt very precise. Never did any chapter feel like filler. Every section spoke about either Florence or their relationship, and how it resolves everything in the end was so profoundly touching and beautiful that I hope everyone plays it.

    Another creative, beautiful and daring game from Annapurna Interactive.
    Expand
  5. Aug 11, 2018
    7
    Really neat little mobile game with excellent music and visuals. The game has a couple of very special moments that I won't spoil that areReally neat little mobile game with excellent music and visuals. The game has a couple of very special moments that I won't spoil that are actually pretty moving to experience. If you've ever went through the trials and tribulations of being in a relationship, this game will definitely resonate with you. Florence tells a very simple story with little to no dialogue and very minimal game play, but it's absolutely worth the small investment of your money/time that it asks for. Expand
  6. Oct 15, 2021
    7
    ‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍
  7. Feb 1, 2022
    2
    The only good thing I can say about the game Art Design Story Classic Gameplay Might Be Fun to Some But Boring to Me An Indie Game Doesn'tThe only good thing I can say about the game Art Design Story Classic Gameplay Might Be Fun to Some But Boring to Me An Indie Game Doesn't Have To Judge Too Much But It's Not A Factor That Will Affect My Score It Would Have Been Played If It Was Free But Over $3 For An Hour Of Simple Gameplay Expand

See all 25 User Reviews