Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
Buy Now
Stream On
  1. Mar 9, 2012
    70
    Hero Academy wants a piece of the emerging asynchronous market, and offers a compelling turn based strategy game. After some matches you begin to discover patterns and strategies, and before you know it you're completely hooked.
  2. Jan 31, 2012
    70
    Hero Academy is a fun little game which will keep you entertained for a few hours as you plan strategies and eventually conquer enemies, but there is little available to keep players enticed beyond that. At present the game is somewhat light on features but the gameplay's emphasis on defensive strategy will keep fans of the turn-based game coming back for more.
  3. Jan 25, 2012
    70
    Hero Academy offers a new concept of multiplayer gaming on iOS devices: an asynchronous system using push notification, suitable for quick session you can resume whenever you want, even the following day. Robot Entertainment's IP is funny and immediate, suitable for all player – even the less skilled with RTS. But be careful: playing without a strategy against a human opponent could be an authentic suicide.
  4. Jan 23, 2012
    70
    In its present form, Hero Academy is a fairly lightweight confection, but it digs its nails in until you find yourself impatiently anticipating the notification alert, and then starting a fresh battle with a random opponent to shorten the wait.
  5. Jan 17, 2012
    70
    This is a nice game that may well turn into a great game: if the players continue to stick around, if the developer doesn't let the micro-transactions take over, and if the design team keeps its eye out for bugs and exploits that emerge as people start to get really serious.
  6. Jan 16, 2012
    70
    Hero Academy is light on strategy, but provides smooth pick-up-and-play fun.
  7. Jan 11, 2012
    70
    Hero Academy feels like the start of something special that's only half-finished right now. The gameplay is great, as are the graphics, but it still needs some additional content before it's something to recommend to all gamers (like a single-player campaign and a real training mode). Still, if you're patient and can get past these quirks, you're in for a great strategy experience.
  8. Jan 13, 2012
    60
    Part card game, part turn-based strategy, players pit themselves against opponents from around the world in asynchronous matches.
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 5 out of 21
  1. Apr 20, 2013
    0
    Android version promised. Never delivered. If you do not attend to your examination, you fail the test.
  2. Sep 8, 2012
    9
    This is a game that seems too straightforward at first glance, but the hidden depth is enormous. People who stick with this game are typicallyThis is a game that seems too straightforward at first glance, but the hidden depth is enormous. People who stick with this game are typically those who enjoy chess or RTS games. The developer has some serious denial issues about who their game really appeals to. They wouldn't want to hear this, but Hero Academy is a niche game. It'll immensely satisfy people within that niche, but everyone else will pass. Full Review »
  3. Jan 22, 2014
    10
    This is a cross between starcraft and scrabble. Its the best version of a modern day chess I've ever seen. I tried every other title whichThis is a cross between starcraft and scrabble. Its the best version of a modern day chess I've ever seen. I tried every other title which claimed to be the "ultimate turned based strategy game"and continue to buy many games to experiment. But i don't think I will ever stop playing this game, I enjoy it so much and I have so many of my friends loving this game too I can't abandon them. Its a classic like chess but even better. Very well balanced with its array of 6 teams: the teams are very diverse with a very original theme that really distinguishes itself from the other teams, each with beautifully animated and unique powers and abilities yet, the winning ratio for the teams is the same. If you have some competitive friends who like turn based strategy, it does not get better than this. Introduced this game to about 30 of my friends throughout 2012 and 2013, and we've all been playing ever since (this is a 2014 update). Challenge me if your interested or interested in learning the ropes: sevenstyx. Prevents me from getting any work done for almost two and a half years lol come to think of it this game is awful. Full Review »