User Score
3.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 124 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 124
  2. Negative: 79 out of 124

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 26, 2019
    0
    The worst in Nintendo's line up of mobile app offerings, Mario Kart tour preys on a younger audience, using aggressive monetization practices to make revenue from gaming whales. The app itself is a shambles and here’s why:

    • The game is free to play, yet on launch day was plagued by multiple users running into server connectivity issues, unable to play the game. •‘Mario Kart Tour’
    The worst in Nintendo's line up of mobile app offerings, Mario Kart tour preys on a younger audience, using aggressive monetization practices to make revenue from gaming whales. The app itself is a shambles and here’s why:

    • The game is free to play, yet on launch day was plagued by multiple users running into server connectivity issues, unable to play the game.

    •‘Mario Kart Tour’ tries to trick you into thinking there is a multiplayer component by including a ‘multiplayer’ option in the home screen menu of the app when in fact you are playing against CPU opponents exclusively. This is made worse by the use of player usernames in-game to trick the user into thinking they are playing against real people around the world.

    • Rarity rates for characters are ridiculous, with chances of obtaining certain characters being as low as 1%. Furthermore, some of these rare rate characters are also locked behind timed events, prompting players to try to obtain them before they disappear forever. This will cause players to spend more time and money in game and is a monetization model that has been made famous by ‘Fortnite’ introducing scarcity to drum up revenue.

    • 10 minutes before the game was released, a ‘gold pass’ subscription was announced costing $4.99 a month. This pass paywalls certain modes in the game such as a 200cc mode, and will allow users to unlock specific characters, carts and cosmetics. This amounts to $60/year which is a lot of money for a free to play game. Nintendo have not been upfront about this ongoing charge through the adverts for the game, as they know how egregious this is. How can anyone justify the price of content offerings from a Mario Kart Tour Gold Pass when it costs more that an annual Switch Online subscription? Or apple arcade for that matter!

    • The app utilises ‘Gacha’ mechanics introducing loot boxes, in game currency and gambling type systems to keep users engaged, and spending more money.

    • The game is 100% pay to win. When the user first launches the game often win races and place high in rankings. As time progresses users will need certain cars, characters or items that make the player faster or increase player rewards. This means free to play players are at a disadvantage. Remember, all of these take place in a single player experience.

    • This one is subjective but the gameplay is as casual as it can get, and honestly is quite boring. Exceptions can be made for this being a mobile experience, but there is no skill to driving and every track ends up feeling the same because of the lack of control the player has.

    It’s worth mentioning that this project was outsourced to Chinese app firm, yet Nintendo would still have approved every decision made. This sets a worrying trend for the future of gaming and the future of Mario Kart on Nintendo consoles. If you enjoy Mario Kart, you could buy both MK8D and a Nintendo Switch and still end up paying less than this app could cost you in the long run.
    Expand
  2. Sep 26, 2019
    1
    Esta cosa no es digna de llevar el nolbre de Mario kart... Todo en él está mal... Desde el sistema de desbloqueo de personajes, karts, etc hasta la asquerosa jugabilidad... Sin mencionar que esta plagado de micro transacciones y tiene su propio sistema de cajas de botín al azar... Un asco de juego y una vergüenza para lo que es Mario kart.
  3. Sep 27, 2019
    0
    ..........................do you guys not have phones.......................
  4. Sep 26, 2019
    0
    Yesterday I looked in the shop, the rubies that you need for opening the tubes, from which you can get the drivers and cart parts, just cost 7 € for 10 pieces (if you decide for the second cheapest offer) , for information: One tube opening costs 5 rubies, that is, one tube opening costs 3.5 € wtf

    By the way, you can get the same item out of the tubes several times (it was the case for
    Yesterday I looked in the shop, the rubies that you need for opening the tubes, from which you can get the drivers and cart parts, just cost 7 € for 10 pieces (if you decide for the second cheapest offer) , for information: One tube opening costs 5 rubies, that is, one tube opening costs 3.5 € wtf

    By the way, you can get the same item out of the tubes several times (it was the case for me with the free rubies you get), they go up in the level or something, so you have to put in more money, if you really want to get everything
    Expand
  5. Sep 27, 2019
    6
    this game was pretty disappointing, i really hate the fact you have to buy Mario just to play him, this is pretty much a cash grabber by Nintendo i think the only really good games they have for phone is either Super Mario Run, (which i really like) and animal crossing pocket camp, and maybe fire emblem, (i don't know if it's good or not.)
  6. Sep 27, 2019
    3
    So, I have to pay around $20 bucks to get Mario, Luigi who is in the cover in the game is not a playable character. They locked 200cc into the $6 dollars monthly paywall. $6 dollars per month ok so $6 times 12 = $72 per year, plus all the other micro and macro transactions. Wow Nintendo, wow.
  7. Sep 27, 2019
    2
    Without a multiplayer this game becomes pretty tedious after a short while, so many power ups, challenges, points, rubies etc give an empty experience where you feel like you're chasing the next character level rather than enjoying the fun of the racing. Controls are pretty bad, finger constantly comes off the screen when sliding. Racing with friends may save the game but I can't imagineWithout a multiplayer this game becomes pretty tedious after a short while, so many power ups, challenges, points, rubies etc give an empty experience where you feel like you're chasing the next character level rather than enjoying the fun of the racing. Controls are pretty bad, finger constantly comes off the screen when sliding. Racing with friends may save the game but I can't imagine that being a slick experience on mobile. Expand
  8. Oct 14, 2019
    0
    Casino online with a subscription model on top. The people that pay more on this gambling lootbox called gacha will be the ones that emerge victorious in the ranking and the ones collecting all stars.
    The more high end drivers and items you manage to pull and the more dupes you get the stronger you get. You cannot outweigh this even if you are a skilled player. You need frenzies to get
    Casino online with a subscription model on top. The people that pay more on this gambling lootbox called gacha will be the ones that emerge victorious in the ranking and the ones collecting all stars.
    The more high end drivers and items you manage to pull and the more dupes you get the stronger you get. You cannot outweigh this even if you are a skilled player. You need frenzies to get the highest score which consist on getting 3 of the same item.. CASINO STYLE. You can be replaying the same course over and over again till you get these frenzies and get a high score. And of course the whales will be the ones with a higher chance of activating this while a lot of you free to play will eat the dirt of frustration. This is shameful P2W and it's destroying the Mario Kart IP and Nintendo's image. Sad. Stay away from gacha.

    I also find hilarious the amount of errors this game has related to connection. Its like they restrict IPs on peak hours. You can switch from data to WiFi to circumvent this. It only shows how cheap Nintendo has become. This is a company that charges for online on the Switch without putting dedicated servers.
    Expand
  9. Oct 6, 2019
    4
    Fun gameplay and great graphics for a mobile game. However, there are problems:

    *Luigi, Wario, Waluigi, and Rosalina are not playable, yet three baby characters, Peachette, and Mario in a musician outfit (yes, really) are? The absence of Luigi especially (at least at launch) is unacceptable. *Microtransactions are in this game, as are loot boxes. This has the makings of an
    Fun gameplay and great graphics for a mobile game. However, there are problems:

    *Luigi, Wario, Waluigi, and Rosalina are not playable, yet three baby characters, Peachette, and Mario in a musician outfit (yes, really) are? The absence of Luigi especially (at least at launch) is unacceptable.

    *Microtransactions are in this game, as are loot boxes.

    This has the makings of an entertaining game, but the issues listed really put a damper on the fun.
    Expand
  10. Sep 27, 2019
    4
    Another microtransaction laden, pay-to-win, mobile trash game... and its a Mario Kart game of all things. Truly a disgrace of the Mario Kart name, Nintendo has managed to outdo T2 Interactive in borderline greed for 2019.
  11. Oct 5, 2019
    4
    The only positive thing about Mario Kart Tour is the gameplay. That's all. The rest of the features is badly unacceptable and taking microtransactions to the next level, and it's a very greedy move for Nintendo to promote microtransactions and gambling to younger audiences.

    Unlocking characters, karts, gliders, and other stuff requires gems and you can get a few of them per day by
    The only positive thing about Mario Kart Tour is the gameplay. That's all. The rest of the features is badly unacceptable and taking microtransactions to the next level, and it's a very greedy move for Nintendo to promote microtransactions and gambling to younger audiences.

    Unlocking characters, karts, gliders, and other stuff requires gems and you can get a few of them per day by logging in daily and doing certain daily tasks. The rest is getting gems by microtransactions. And there's a gold pass where you can get exclusive stuff for gold members only, but you have to pay a membership fee of $5.99 per month. Why would Nintendo think it's okay, I don't know. For a F2P game, Mario Kart Tour's microtransactions is way greedier than Wario. I bet Wario is behind all this...
    Expand
  12. Oct 7, 2019
    3
    This game had the chance to be great and arguably the best Nintendo mobile game to date, but it's the exact opposite of that. From being cheated out of 5 stars even if you did great in a race just for not having the right character or kart, flat out lying to players that they are playing with real people when they are just bots with player's usernames attached to them, wonky controls thatThis game had the chance to be great and arguably the best Nintendo mobile game to date, but it's the exact opposite of that. From being cheated out of 5 stars even if you did great in a race just for not having the right character or kart, flat out lying to players that they are playing with real people when they are just bots with player's usernames attached to them, wonky controls that do take some getting used to, not even having multiplayer at launch (and as of now still doesn't have it) and having items and features locked behind a paywall, this is by far the worst Mario Kart released thus far. While it was fun the first few days it was out, the more time goes on the more it just feels like playing to get rewards and not for actual enjoyment or fun. Expand
  13. Sep 25, 2019
    2
    A shallow excuse for Mario Kart, even by mobile standards. Mario Kart Tour has insultingly aggressive monetization, which serves to severely sour the experience. The rates to get specific characters (especially good ones) isn't even above 1%, made even worse with the fact that certain characters (such as Pauline) and karts are exclusive to timed events. One may argue that this is justA shallow excuse for Mario Kart, even by mobile standards. Mario Kart Tour has insultingly aggressive monetization, which serves to severely sour the experience. The rates to get specific characters (especially good ones) isn't even above 1%, made even worse with the fact that certain characters (such as Pauline) and karts are exclusive to timed events. One may argue that this is just standard mobile fare, and that this game shouldn't be called out for this because so many others game do it too, but I feel that that's not an excuse. The "Gold Pass" is the most insulting though. For $4.99 USD a month the game gives you access to better rewards and the 200cc mode. I feel like this would be relatively fine if it was just a one time payment, but the fact that it's a subscription is inexcusable. Also, doing the math, if you pay for this service for a year (rounding the price up to $5) you would be paying $60 a year, which is three times the amount of a year subscription to Nintendo Switch Online. Also for the same price, you could subscribe to Apple Arcade, which offers a multitude of different games and, most importantly, is an actual service, which the Gold Pass really isn't. Even ignoring the monetization, the game itself isn't great either. The controls feel unwieldy, constantly causing you to slam into walls. The "manual" drift, which is the control scheme the game recommends to you, is easily the worst if the two. You are either doing a full turn, or you're not turning at all, there is no in-between. Turning off manual drift puts an arrow in front of your kart and allows you to make more precise turns. While it is significantly better, it's still not great, as it still feels wonky and you'll still drunkenly slam into walls. In addition, tricks are now done automatically, which can make the game feel like it's playing itself, not to mention it completely defeats the purpose of tricks. At first because of the unwieldy controls I picked 100cc, but when I wanted to switch to 150cc the option completely absent. If it is there then there is no reason for it to be so hidden. While it can be somewhat fun, the controls and lack input make the game not the most engaging. I was initially exited for the idea of racing in courses based on real world locations, but that excitement was immediately trounced after I played the New York track, currently the only new track available, as it feels very uninspired. I like the visuals, but the track design is extremely lacking, being just a figure 8 with a few ramps. While this could have just been this track specifically, it doesn't make the future tracks very exciting. All the other tracks are just returning from previous games, mostly MK7. While newcomers to the series mostly likely wont't mind this, it's disappointing to a long time fan such as myself. Also the fact that this is a Mario Kart game without multiplayer at launch is baffling. With the characters, certain ones have advantages on certain tracks, making the game even more "pay to win." Combined with the slim character odds, the game is clearly trying to get as much much money out of you as possible. All in all, Mario Kart Tour is a very shallow game. It's most likely something you'll pull out only when you have nothing better to do. It's ludicrous monetization is what really takes it down. This game is a perfect example of many of the problems with mobile games, and I hope that future Nintendo mobile games don't bludgeon you over the head with micro-transactions. Expand
  14. Sep 26, 2019
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I want this game to be amazing, I really do. This game in it's current state is really bad. The controls are horrendous, and the over monetization, especially the gambling in a game marketed towards children. A whole kart class (200cc) is locked behind a 5$ a month paywall. This game is 100% pay to win, or even progress. The predatory monetization and poor controls make is a game to be avoided until nintendo does some major changes and fixes. Expand
  15. Sep 25, 2019
    0
    Nintendo is becoming the king of mobile micro transactions, 20$ for mario character, new york track ?? WTF ?? plus in game currencies that cost more than 70$ just to have a dozens random karts, glides, or characters, + a suscription of 5$ per month to be able to play 200cc...
    this game sucks , i would have pay 20$ for it but not this, it's twice or 3 times the price of the switch mario
    Nintendo is becoming the king of mobile micro transactions, 20$ for mario character, new york track ?? WTF ?? plus in game currencies that cost more than 70$ just to have a dozens random karts, glides, or characters, + a suscription of 5$ per month to be able to play 200cc...
    this game sucks , i would have pay 20$ for it but not this, it's twice or 3 times the price of the switch mario kart.. that's insane.... ( all of this apply to the android version of course )
    Expand
  16. Sep 25, 2019
    0
    El juego móvil de Nintendo con la monetizacion mas abusiva y molesta que haya visto, llegando al nivel de cualquier freemium barato de los que saturan el mercado, carece por completo de juego offline a pesar de que uno juega contra bots (mismo error que comete Dr. Mario Wolrd), el lag intenso y la lentitud de las carreras, y el hecho de que el control sea tan incomodo hacen que laEl juego móvil de Nintendo con la monetizacion mas abusiva y molesta que haya visto, llegando al nivel de cualquier freemium barato de los que saturan el mercado, carece por completo de juego offline a pesar de que uno juega contra bots (mismo error que comete Dr. Mario Wolrd), el lag intenso y la lentitud de las carreras, y el hecho de que el control sea tan incomodo hacen que la experiencia sea insatisfactoria por lo menos en el lanzamiento, hacer un juego de carreras que se controla con un solo dedo realmente fue una mala idea, esta muy mal implementado. Expand
  17. Sep 26, 2019
    4
    Mario Kart Tour is a shockingly flat mobile game. If the frustrating controls and shortened, overly simplified, tracks weren't enough, you will be sure to roll your eyes at the oddly overpriced gems and gacha mechanics. I would stick to Dr. Mario World
  18. Sep 26, 2019
    5
    If Mario Kart Tour was exclusive to the Nintendo Switch, it probably would have been one of the best, if not the best, Mario Kart games Nintendo had to offer. Unfortunately though, Nintendo should probably avoid releasing games based on their IPs on smartphone devices even if it means removing the ability to somehow attract the casuals' attention. With terrible controls that make you swipeIf Mario Kart Tour was exclusive to the Nintendo Switch, it probably would have been one of the best, if not the best, Mario Kart games Nintendo had to offer. Unfortunately though, Nintendo should probably avoid releasing games based on their IPs on smartphone devices even if it means removing the ability to somehow attract the casuals' attention. With terrible controls that make you swipe your phone so much like a common freak (and to think the gyroscope seen here actually plays a role for once), microtransactions that make you question the way how this game handles them, and an overall barebones experience of a Mario Kart game (hell, even Mario Kart: Super Circuit is considered to be top-quality in the series and that was released on the Game Boy Advance), it's probably best to play a Mario Kart game that actually feels like a Mario Kart game or buy one in case you didn't do so with Mario Kart 8 Deluxe on the Nintendo Switch. Expand
  19. Sep 26, 2019
    2
    micro transacciones, pésimos controles, no se puede jugar en horizontal, una decepción.
  20. Sep 27, 2019
    1
    A 1% chance to unlock your favorite character hidden behind a paid randomized lootbox? What would Iwata think? This game is an insult to Nintendo's own philosophy. The amount of anti consumer mechanics in this game is baffling, I want you to remember that a lot of kids are going to play this game.
  21. Sep 25, 2019
    3
    Mario Kart Tour is nostalgic (albeit derivative), but IOS Mario games never scale too lofty a peak.
  22. Oct 13, 2019
    8
    Pretty solid toadette game.it Also got Mario as an invited character which is pretty great
  23. Sep 27, 2019
    2
    Nice graphics, but that’s probably where it ends! Clunky controls...no multi player...changing settings to manual control barely change anything. I still don’t go off the edge as the game moves me back on track. I felt I was an observer rather than a player.
  24. Oct 1, 2019
    10
    best gaME, I GOT the opportunity to play as Mario and **** in the ass the princess, she is hot as **** bro
  25. Sep 29, 2019
    0
    Worst mobile game I’ve every played with horrific and disgusting greedy monetization.

    Deserves -100 scores. A zero is too generous.
  26. Sep 28, 2019
    0
    Absolutely disgusting what Nintendo has done. Getting their money before governments start outlawing this crap. This game has all of it.

    Loot boxes (in the form of pipes). All sorts of premium currency and gems. Paywall timers (once you get to a certain point, you have to wait to progress. Multiple days in some cases). A ridiculously delusional subscription model. Absolute trash. The game
    Absolutely disgusting what Nintendo has done. Getting their money before governments start outlawing this crap. This game has all of it.

    Loot boxes (in the form of pipes). All sorts of premium currency and gems. Paywall timers (once you get to a certain point, you have to wait to progress. Multiple days in some cases). A ridiculously delusional subscription model. Absolute trash. The game itself is so dumbed down from the main series. You can’t fall off tracks. There’s extremely generous steer assist. Running into walls doesn’t slow you down. Etc

    This is garbage. Do not download. And if you do, please don’t spend one penny on this abortion m.
    Expand
  27. Sep 26, 2019
    10
    I really can't understand all the hate with this game. The same thing that happened in a different way with Mario run. The currency system is irrelevant if you play the game because you earn good rewards as well by playing the Cups.
    And the gameplay is really amazing for a mobile game. I'll only subscribe in some months after I'm sure that I'v already beaten every cups.
  28. Oct 1, 2019
    7
    It's not as bad as people say, they complaint about the gameplay and the subscription + free to play (Blind box) model but if you don't want to there's no need to spend a dime on it, just use it in your free time and that's it... if you want to play a real Mario Kart game with great mechanics and no micro transactions, there's a Switch and Mario Kart 8 Deluxe where you could experience that
  29. Sep 27, 2019
    8
    Not sure what everyone is yelling about; I've been enjoying this game. Sure it's not as indepth as console Mario Kart games, but I don't think anyone expected it to be. There's still a ton of joy to be had here.

    So many are griping about monetization, but I have yet to spend a dime and I've unlocked 9 characters, a majority of the cars, and almost all the gliders. I have played every
    Not sure what everyone is yelling about; I've been enjoying this game. Sure it's not as indepth as console Mario Kart games, but I don't think anyone expected it to be. There's still a ton of joy to be had here.

    So many are griping about monetization, but I have yet to spend a dime and I've unlocked 9 characters, a majority of the cars, and almost all the gliders. I have played every cup available until the next ones launch tomorrow. Sure, we had hoped for multiplayer right off the bat, as all of my family doesn't have Mario Kart 8 on the switch, but it is coming if you look at the menu, so maybe it won't take long.

    Overall, it's a fun time waster that's getting way too much hate.
    Expand
  30. Sep 29, 2019
    10
    It's a F2P and mobile game, i don't know what the people expected about this, it's a good game and not p2w
  31. Sep 30, 2019
    9
    Free to play game, I've been enjoying this game so much and in my opinion is the best mobile racing game I have ever experienced.
  32. Oct 14, 2019
    0
    This is one of the worst things I've ever seen couldn't believe this was real I never expected nintendo to do a gatch game I hate this so much
  33. Sep 29, 2019
    0
    Why didn't they just make a Wii Mario Kart game with the motion controls???
  34. Oct 2, 2019
    0
    One of the worst Nintendo games I've ever played. The microtransactions are overpriced, the Lootbox pipe shoots out way too many duplicates, I've lost weekly prizes due to errors, and there is no multiplayer.

    This is EA levels of greed.
  35. Oct 18, 2019
    10
    I DONT know why the bad reviews. Game its awsome!!! Nintendo teaching How to makes a game thats Fun even with fake real time multiplayer. And yes its a bit expensive. But its **** Nintendo
  36. Sep 30, 2019
    1
    Этот кусок кала требует аккаунт даже чтобы просто заценить её! Какого хрена Nintendo?! В ней даже нет мультиплеера. Ну и да, это очередное нинтендо-говно для дрочеров. Играть в эту парашу невозможно
  37. Sep 30, 2019
    0
    This is how you showcase a game built by greedy developers. For Nintendo to fall this low, and let their company name get dragged down the mud, is really surprising. The game itself is like an empty shell. No soul, no joy that make Nintendo games so unique. Just plain greediness and frustration. Do not download this game. You will regret the time you wasted.
  38. Oct 5, 2019
    3
    Bad controls, ok graphics, boring and filled with the worst kind of microtransactions and a monthly subscription of way too much. Not worth it at all, seems NIntendo wants to use the mobile games as an easy income.

    Most people who don't game on consoles or pc will think this is all fine, but they don't know any better and Nintendo is using that knowledge to it's own advantage.

    Steer away.
  39. Sep 27, 2019
    3
    Just stick with Mario Kart 8: Deluxe. At least in that, you can really progress through by simply playing the game.
  40. Oct 3, 2019
    2
    I'd probably like the gsme is the controls weren't so bad. It's really hard to steer
  41. Oct 2, 2019
    1
    A whole lot of mt for a mediorce game. Stay away from this obvious cash grab. Gtfo Nintendo.
  42. Oct 1, 2019
    7
    Mario Kart Tour was the perfect dream... playing on the go (if you don't own a Nintendo mobile system).
    The graphics are good for a mobile game, well detailed and optimized to run without a problem... but.
    The game suffers from terrible controls, you either move your phone to guide the car or use your finger, but they are terrible implemented that feels like if you were driving a real
    Mario Kart Tour was the perfect dream... playing on the go (if you don't own a Nintendo mobile system).
    The graphics are good for a mobile game, well detailed and optimized to run without a problem... but.
    The game suffers from terrible controls, you either move your phone to guide the car or use your finger, but they are terrible implemented that feels like if you were driving a real car you can easily crash or kill someone, part of this is cause by the way it's played... playing it vertically.
    The tracks are way to small and only have 2 laps... i think that the race is no loner than 5 min or so.
    Finally... the monetization practice for a game aimed for kids who stay on their phones or ipads for hours playing games it's terrible... like... pay real money to play as Mario? really?
    Expand
  43. Sep 28, 2019
    2
    Everyone knows that mobile devices have limitations, but choosing between 'always drifiting' or not is just disappointing. Battlegrounds managed to put a lot of controls and options in a complex shooter game, so that's not an excuse for the limitations Nintendo.
  44. Sep 30, 2019
    0
    Mario Kart is dead. Slain by the all-consuming greed that has claimed so much of the games industry. The Nintendo that made fun games is buried with Iwata. An avaricious predator sits in his office, conjuring digital stores and dressing them up in coats of once beloved imagery.
  45. Sep 28, 2019
    5
    In my opinion, this game is a Mario Kart 7-like game but it lacks content. Like Super Mario Run, it is only playable via internet. The new Gold Pass subscription is ruining the whole game. Especially who wants to play in 200cc. To sum up, this game needs to be improved.
  46. Oct 1, 2019
    6
    The game itself is not bad, though, but there are things that I hate. One of them is loot box system where you pull the pipe down to obtain gliders, karts or even drivers. Another thing that I get triggered is lack of certain drivers (such as Luigi, Wario, Waluigi and so on) and multiplayer mode (those things could be added in the future, but they won't, that game could be worse than MarioThe game itself is not bad, though, but there are things that I hate. One of them is loot box system where you pull the pipe down to obtain gliders, karts or even drivers. Another thing that I get triggered is lack of certain drivers (such as Luigi, Wario, Waluigi and so on) and multiplayer mode (those things could be added in the future, but they won't, that game could be worse than Mario Kart Wii). Also you can't pause the game.

    So, for me, the game does not look bad, but it still needs improvements.
    Expand
  47. Sep 29, 2019
    0
    Oh yay a casino by Nintendo marketed towards children nice work dudes gotta hook them while young
  48. Oct 16, 2019
    4
    To be honest, this is a game that has a lot of potential. While it is not bad for a mobile game, the pay to win aspect of this game just ruins this game's gameplay.

    However, here's what this game exceeds at: There are a variety of control options the player can utilize to make their gaming experience more enjoyable. The graphics for this game aren't bad, especially when this is the
    To be honest, this is a game that has a lot of potential. While it is not bad for a mobile game, the pay to win aspect of this game just ruins this game's gameplay.

    However, here's what this game exceeds at:
    There are a variety of control options the player can utilize to make their gaming experience more enjoyable.
    The graphics for this game aren't bad, especially when this is the first Mario Kart mobile game to be released.
    50cc, 100cc, and 150cc serve as the game's "difficulty", which is a good indicator of the player's skill level.

    Here's what this game struggles at:
    Like many other games and apps, this game has a HUGE paywall. Pay more money, have better chances to get the characters you want, earn more points from races. Simply put.
    The gold pass should be a one time purchase, not a monthly purchase. The cost simply outweighs the benefits- I wouldn't want to be paying 4.99 PER MONTH for just three features, with one of the features being a harder difficulty mode.
    Half of the rewards earned for completing tours required a gold pass- another reason for why this game has a huge paywall.

    As you can probably see, many of the negatives has to do with the game's ridiculous paywall, which is a big problem, especially with a Mario Kart game. Many of the game's characters are unlocked with the game's premium currency, which can mostly be "earned" with real money to get the characters you want (for a chance). So basically, you'll have a hard time progressing this game quickly if a. You don't have the gold pass or b. If you don't spend real money. since each cup requires a certain number of stars that you earn, which is earned from getting points from races, which in turn most of the biggest scores is earned from having the best racers, karts, and gliders... yeah, you get the drill.

    CONCLUSION: This game has lots of potential that is drained down by a huge paywall.
    Expand
  49. Sep 29, 2019
    10
    You can't compare Mario kart tour with Mario kart 8 deluxe. In my experience with the game is the best mobile racing game I have ever experienced......
  50. Oct 2, 2019
    3
    This is one of Nintendo's first mobile games and honestly, I thought this would be the next pokemon go. But honestly, this is a shallow excuse for a Mario kart game. With a point system that prohibits getting to new levels, absolutely horrible roster, that starts with peachette and Pauline. But not LUIGI. That's just sad at that point. Speaking of Pauline, she has a counterpart characterThis is one of Nintendo's first mobile games and honestly, I thought this would be the next pokemon go. But honestly, this is a shallow excuse for a Mario kart game. With a point system that prohibits getting to new levels, absolutely horrible roster, that starts with peachette and Pauline. But not LUIGI. That's just sad at that point. Speaking of Pauline, she has a counterpart character for the New York event being Musician Mario. I'm surprised that it wasn't a skin. They could have peachette for peach and musician Mario as a skin for Mario. The game's controls are horrid as well, being only able to control by holding it horizontally. Finally, my biggest gripe with this game is the Gachha mechanics. The RNG you need to get the best characters for the best track is so bad. Did I mention that some characters are better on some courses? This game is just the church of RNGeus. This game and its horrible RNG makes mario kart tour the worst game in the series yet. Expand
  51. Oct 2, 2019
    0
    Só micro transacções, nas pistas mais difíceis quase nem vale apena tentar.
  52. Sep 27, 2019
    4
    Mario Kart Tour is for me a dissapointment I expected more. First of all L O O T B O X E S. Second, it's so easy to accidentally use your item because you just wanted to turn around. Third, why the f*ck is there a grind limit?? Why can't I grind as much as I want?? And there is a useless subscription that is MORE EXPENSIVE THEN SWITCH ONLINE. It doesn't even give you interesting items.Mario Kart Tour is for me a dissapointment I expected more. First of all L O O T B O X E S. Second, it's so easy to accidentally use your item because you just wanted to turn around. Third, why the f*ck is there a grind limit?? Why can't I grind as much as I want?? And there is a useless subscription that is MORE EXPENSIVE THEN SWITCH ONLINE. It doesn't even give you interesting items. Fourth, why can't we play as Mario from the begginig? In Sonic Dash, Dash 2 and Speed Battle Sonic was available from the beginnig. I think the worst part is: there will be new tracks every 2 weeks, why? What's the point of this? Why can't I just have all the tracks available from the very beginning? Or why can't I just unlock them by grinding?

    So Mario Kart Tour is in my opinion a more boring and worse Mariokart, I don't know if I should recommend it to someone. But hey that's just my opinion.
    Expand
  53. Sep 27, 2019
    4
    This game is a pretty decent when not accounting for the hideous micro-transactions here. The gameplay consists of swiping your finger across the screen to turn and drift, while good on paper, it kinda sucks in execution. I personally have found it very difficult to turn and just rely on walls to keep me on course. That definitely needs improvement. Gameplay issues aside, the game looksThis game is a pretty decent when not accounting for the hideous micro-transactions here. The gameplay consists of swiping your finger across the screen to turn and drift, while good on paper, it kinda sucks in execution. I personally have found it very difficult to turn and just rely on walls to keep me on course. That definitely needs improvement. Gameplay issues aside, the game looks really good for what is essentially a slightly upgraded Mario Kart 7. Music is also pretty good, about what I expect out of a mobile Nintendo game. The micro-transactions are just atrocious. 200cc and some other unlockables are locked behind a $5 month paywall and the chances of unlocking specific characters are both randomized and almost impossible. Nintendo should really reconsider how they do their micro-transactions and focus on improving the game. This is not the Nintendo I know. Expand
  54. Sep 29, 2019
    5
    This game can be fun IF MULTIPLAYER WAS A THING ! For now this is just a little solo game where you complete the same stage over and over, with poor controls the game is very short even if it’s free, I just hope the multiplayer will save the game because it can be really fun to play with friends that don’t have a switch or mk8
  55. Sep 29, 2019
    2
    It is a fun game, as a little sibling to the console game Mario kart, but there are too little pros than cons.

    Pros: -It’s a Mario kart game free to play on iOS and Android -The graphics are amazing Cons: -Difficult controls -There is a subscription for 5 dollars a month, it’s more than Nintendo switch online a month and that has more to offer than this game has to offer -When the game is
    It is a fun game, as a little sibling to the console game Mario kart, but there are too little pros than cons.

    Pros: -It’s a Mario kart game free to play on iOS and Android -The graphics are amazing
    Cons:
    -Difficult controls
    -There is a subscription for 5 dollars a month, it’s more than Nintendo switch online a month and that has more to offer than this game has to offer
    -When the game is released it doesn’t come with the option to play online multiplayer - you are required to input your Nintendo account (which will discourage new users from playing)
    Expand
  56. Oct 1, 2019
    0
    pesimo juego ni los mismos nintenfermos cartoneros lo desean, un juego mediocre y absurdo
  57. Oct 1, 2019
    5
    Not as expected and it is vertical which is not what we wanted. We wnatwd to have something more like the ds versions
  58. Oct 4, 2019
    5
    Oh well, Mario Kart Tour... where to begin?

    First of i have to say that Mario Kart Tour itself is actually fun to play. Your goal in this game is to get as much points per race as possible, to unluck the next cups. You gain points based on your position in the race, by hitting items, collecting coins, turbos of drifting, performing stunts in the air, etc... The characters you have
    Oh well, Mario Kart Tour... where to begin?

    First of i have to say that Mario Kart Tour itself is actually fun to play. Your goal in this game is to get as much points per race as possible, to unluck the next cups. You gain points based on your position in the race, by hitting items, collecting coins, turbos of drifting, performing stunts in the air, etc...

    The characters you have right at the beginning is... none? Okay you get one character right at the beginning and it seems like the first character you get is a rare one. (In my case it was Toad, but i have seen people getting Toadette or Bowser)

    You can buy boxes with crytsals in order to unluck more characters... or you eventually get more karts/gliders... Yes... gliders. Oh btw these boxes are tubes and as mentioned buyable with crytals... which you can pay money for if you want to. But you actually get SOME crytsals in the game itself. Not much... but a few.

    Now let's get back to the gameplay itself. So you race on some new courses and also on some retro ones mostly against NPC controlled players... at least it seems like it. You can literally turn of your internet during the race and still be able to drive it until the end. The game is designed to be playable with one hand so you direct your car by swiping your finger either to the left or the right, and you throe or lay items by swiping either up or down. For directing you get to choose in between of... well drifting or no-drifting. I went with drifting and it is manageable... if you activate that you can't fall of the course. All in all the controlls are wishywashy but it is still okay... just don't use a mushroom.

    Next point.. missing characters. Yes you have beloved mario characters to play as! We have Mario in two variations! Normal Mario and musician Mario (Funfact: Mario is rare), Yoshi, Bowser, Dry Bones, Toad, Peach, Daisy, Baby Mario, DK, Diddy Kong, Pauline, Dry Bowser... am i missing someone? Oh right... how was Green Mario called again? And the Fat Yellow Mario? And the long Purple Green Mario? Well idk... i can't look up their names because they aren't in it! But instead we got Dry Bowser... (no offense, i like Dry Bowser, but i think Green Mario would have been a better choice there.) Okay we know that we get more characters within the comming updates but it is a weak "roster" for the release of the game.

    The next thing to critizise about this game, is that you aren't able to play with your friends (yet). You are able to use your friendlist to make a small competition, who makes the most points but thats it (for now)

    Lastly the different CCM. Right at the beginning you have the 50CCM mode unlocked. After a few races the 100CCM and after another few races 150CCM. You are also able to obtain the 200CCM + Metal Mario for a monthly subscription for 5,99 € (Yes i am from Germany). In the subscription, which is called the gold-pass you get some rewards like... Metal Mario and the 200 CCM Mode. You also get some more rewards in the game... but to be honest.. it is definetly not worth buying the pass.

    All in all we have a hated by the audience MArio Kart Mobile Game. But i have to say the game has still potential to be a good game. And hey the graphics are pretty good for a mobile game and it is OKAY for what it is. A free 2 play Mario Kart Mobile game you can play on the get-go. So... if you really want to play Mario Kart on your mobile phone it is still free. You might just only to be able to race as Toad. Or Toadette. Oh you CAN actually buy a character for coins you earn in the races. You can earn up to 300 coins with racing per day and you get some coins as rewards for doing things (Daily Log-in, Winning Challenges etc...) One common character costs 800 Coins and are in the Category of Bowsers Minions and Babies.

    The game is not as bad as everyone says but it isn't good either. It has some nice graphics and it is fun sometimes. But you can't deny the fact, that the nintendo might be a bit greedy with Matio Kart Tour
    Expand
  59. Oct 5, 2019
    0
    It's mediocre at fiirst,just being a less fun Mario Kart.You can't even choose between drifting and driving slow without changing the mode,and the game is slow and doesn't capture Mario Kart's feel of needing to go fast.But other than that,it's actually not too bad for mobile Mario Kart.But then,I realized something...where was Mario?Well,you have to,and it hurts me to say this,PAY to playIt's mediocre at fiirst,just being a less fun Mario Kart.You can't even choose between drifting and driving slow without changing the mode,and the game is slow and doesn't capture Mario Kart's feel of needing to go fast.But other than that,it's actually not too bad for mobile Mario Kart.But then,I realized something...where was Mario?Well,you have to,and it hurts me to say this,PAY to play as Mario.The chances of you getting Mario free are so low,it's really sad.Oh,and you know how I said it's slow? Well,you can get 200cc.How? MONEY. In fact,the so called "Gold pass" just gives you more currency and speed.That's it other than some "GOLD MEDALLLLL!!",which just lets people know you bought something that costs $5 a month,compared to Switch Online which is only $20 a YEAR.That's over half the price of paying for the pass.Oh,and nobody will even KNOW you got the pass,because they're BOTS.This is really sad,because I only play Nintendo,so seeing them this greedy makes me really disappointed.My first ever video game was Mario Kart Wii thanks to only being a late middle schooler.Yes,even people as young as me are aware how sad it is.MKWii is still one of my most beloved games,and knowing now Nintendo has fallen this low...

    But thankfully,Nintendo isn't actually doing bad.They have been doing a lot of great stuff recently,and I'm still a huge follower.I just wish they could've made this game in a better way.I'd rather spend over $60 dollars on a game that has heart than a free one that has no soul and only wants you to pay for cosmetics(Looks at Fortnite).
    Expand
  60. Oct 10, 2019
    3
    The game is vertical, which is a bad start.
    Its heavily pay to win, needing to open essentially loot boxes to get characters you need. The only good part about the game is the tracks and stages. Also how could they have 4 Mario's but no luigi? If you haven't already, check out the price of the diddy long pack; its 28.99, the same price as mario kart 8 deluxe on amazon! How could nintendo
    The game is vertical, which is a bad start.
    Its heavily pay to win, needing to open essentially loot boxes to get characters you need. The only good part about the game is the tracks and stages. Also how could they have 4 Mario's but no luigi? If you haven't already, check out the price of the diddy long pack; its 28.99, the same price as mario kart 8 deluxe on amazon! How could nintendo give us this shocking scam of a game
    Expand
  61. Oct 10, 2019
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. 75/5000 it is amazing! Enjoy it very much and the customer service is great as well! Thank you so much for providing the services you provide as a consumer we could not ask for more it is very well appreciated thanks again Expand
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 21
  2. Negative: 4 out of 21
  1. Oct 21, 2019
    65
    Mario Kart Tour is the best exploration of the franchise in the worst-case scenario. Nintendo has bet for a vibrant and appealing experience both in playability and in visual terms, but they are telling the payers that they are destined to pay if they want to get the best score in every single track; unless you are lucky enough to get that 1% chance pilot. Bad «game as a service» design, but they are still on time to reverse the situation by being less aggressive with the in game payments.
  2. Oct 8, 2019
    75
    Mario Kart Tour has an imprecise control, difficult to master, but if you manage to cope with it you will find an addictive video game
  3. Oct 6, 2019
    60
    We’ve had some fun with Mario Kart Tour but, overall, is a disappointing game. Poor control and a omnipresent free-to-play system are simply not good enough for this franchise.