• Publisher: Psyonix
  • Release Date: Nov 29, 2021
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 0 out of 10
Buy Now
Stream On
  1. Dec 7, 2021
    100
    This streamlined version of Rocket League is both fun in its own right and completely free of cynical monetization schemes.
  2. Jan 6, 2022
    90
    It's a downsized version of Rocket League that streamlines and shrinks the experience, without sacrificing its fundamental nature. It also brilliantly takes advantage of the mobile medium with super-quick games, easy-to-understand mechanics, and excellent controls. Sideswipe is a smaller, quicker, lighter-weight version of Rocket League that still captures why the original is so endearing, and it's absolutely a game you should make space for on your phone.
  3. Dec 2, 2021
    90
    It might not be the direct port of Rocket League that some were hoping for, but Rocket League: Sideswipe captures and distils what made the home version of the game so great. And in doing so creates one of the finest mobile multiplayer experiences we’ve seen for a while.
  4. Dec 9, 2021
    85
    Rocket League Sideswipe is a fantastic translation of a console and PC game into a mobile game. The controls are so intuitive that anyone can pick up the game, yet challenging to really excel at it. It looks clean, offers a full and accessible experience and is a nice extension of the Rocket League brand. Unfortunately, the amount of content is still on the meager side and the lack of statistics is a big loss.
  5. Dec 2, 2021
    84
    This is a great adaptation of the series to work flawlessly on mobile devices. Obviously, it needs more content that we’re sure it will come eventually, and there are also some issues when playing with controller that we would like to see fixed.
  6. Jan 11, 2022
    80
    It's different and it plays differently, but at the end, you have the same smile on your face and the same desire to play another match. Rocket League Sideswipe is a great example that to port something into mobile devices is not only to copy and paste the original game for android or iOS. It’s to understand the game's soul and put it inside a distinct and truly portable experience. Great.
  7. Dec 22, 2021
    80
    It won’t replace the real deal, but Rocket League Sideswipe turns the brilliant arcade sports game into an entertaining mobile companion.
  8. Dec 6, 2021
    80
    Rocket League Sideswipe isn’t a perfect game, but it fundamentally captures what players love about Rocket League. That’s no small thing when we’re talking about a 2D mobile adaptation of a 3D multiplayer hit. With quick matches that are perfect for the platform, this is how I want to play Rocket League on my phone. A few more modes, and perhaps even one where you can directly interact with other cars, would be the cherry on top of this sundae, but fans of the series should definitely check out Sideswipe.
  9. Dec 6, 2021
    80
    Rocket League Sideswipe is a fun, frantic and spectacular arcade game that doesn't deliver the full Rocket League experience since it's limited to two-dimensional challenges, but it's a blast nonetheless.
  10. Dec 1, 2021
    80
    As it is, and for free, it's hard to sulk your pleasure in this pretty way of extending the basic experience, now playable everywhere and almost all the time.
User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 5 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Dec 30, 2021
    10
    Only the second-ever mobile game I would consider one of my favourites of the year. It's a blast.
  2. Dec 14, 2021
    9
    Rocket league sideswipe is a 2.5d port of rocket league over to mobile devices. The core gameplay mechanics haven't been changed much but theRocket league sideswipe is a 2.5d port of rocket league over to mobile devices. The core gameplay mechanics haven't been changed much but the execution makes it feel like a brand-new experience. When playing sideswipe at first it feels odd compared to the tactile rocket league as you feel less in control, but you soon learn that your move set is far more capable than you first thought. Your car is faster to turn and can leave the ground without jumping if you move correctly. You learn tricks like positioning your car in the air to hit the ball in different directions and to boost and jump to move lightning fast into the ball. It's refreshing to see 0 ads upon loading the game compared to some lesser quality mobile games from modern companies. I'll admit, when i first saw the ads for the game, I thought it would be a horrible port of rocket league that wasn't fun and was easy, but i was wrong. I would recommend anyone with a mobile device to download this game and at the very least, try it. Full Review »