Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Nov 6, 2019
    100
    Overall, Sayonara Wild Hearts isn’t just one of the best Apple Arcade games available today, it is one of the best games of 2019 for me and easily Simogo’s best yet. The soundtrack is killer and I haven’t played a game that felt this cohesive visually since Atlus’ Persona 5 on PS4. I know Apple Arcade has a lot of great games right now with multiple getting added each week but nothing has come close to the experience I got with Sayonara Wild Hearts. I’ve made some bad gaming purchases in 2019 but buying Sayonara Wild Hearts three times across three different platforms was definitely not one of them.
  2. Oct 13, 2019
    100
    It also just oozes a sense of cool that is easy to get lost in. You aren’t always on the back of a motorbike, dodging obstacles and chasing your foes: things can get surreal, absurd and often incredibly moody as you swing swords, play on a head-mounted-devices and ride waves of puke to wrap up Sayonara’s exciting missions. Don’t sleep on this one, it’s a trip.
  3. Oct 29, 2019
    90
    Developed by Simogo, whose spine-tingling Year Walk, and expectation subverting Device 6 have rightly become landmarks in mobile gaming, this is another one. It’s a shame it will be denied to Android users, but for Arcade subscribers it’s possibly the first unequivocally essential download.
  4. Sep 26, 2019
    85
    It's always suspicious when you read the expression "it's an experience, more than a game" but you can't really divert from that phrase when talking about Sayonara Wild Hearts.
  5. Oct 3, 2019
    80
    Like every other Simogo production, Sayonara Wild Heart is a very special game and not everybody will like it. It’s both video game, music and cinema at the same time.
  6. Sep 30, 2019
    80
    Sayonara Wild Hearts is what you'd get if Robyn ran the Grid from Tron. A stunning collection of music, action, heart, and radiant setpieces, it's easily one of the most inventive and unpredictable games of 2019. And it could have been one of the best too if only the developers had made the decision to present this album as a whole upfront rather than take players through it track by track.
  7. Sep 23, 2019
    80
    Sayonara Wild Hearts is a fantastic little game that will blow your socks off from the first minute of playing. From start to finish, it’ll take you on a wild ride that is simply unforgettable.
  8. Sep 20, 2019
    80
    Put on some headphones, get yourself comfortable and let the game’s audio and visuals wash over you. By all means, try to get a good score while you’re at it, but the true beauty of Sayonara Wild Hearts is simply enjoying the exceptional music and getting lost in the visuals. Mistaking this for a simple rhythm game is to do it a disservice. It may be less than that in terms of gameplay, but it’s a hell of a lot more in terms of audiovisual accomplishment.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Oct 22, 2019
    Your only choice is to retry and improve, and the game makes these re-treads worthwhile by accompanying the action with a pop soundtrack that’s an absolute pleasure. Stream it on Spotify if you don’t believe me.
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. Sep 21, 2019
    10
    Amazing Game!
    Perfect Art-Desing.
    Very Beautiful Music.
    One of the Best Games i Ever Played.
  2. Apr 16, 2021
    7
    Played it on a Macbook, not ios but still great experience. Not much to say about this game since it's so short and simple. Starting with thePlayed it on a Macbook, not ios but still great experience. Not much to say about this game since it's so short and simple. Starting with the negatives, the VR levels were by far the least fun. I won't say they were bad but not as good as the other ones. The first half of the game is by far the better half but you did get a strong final level. As for the stages themselves, the game had me wishing the levels were longer. So many times I thought "wow this level and music is great" but then it would abruptly end. For example, Transonic Gravity to me had the best music+gameplay but it was 2 minutes long at most.

    As for what I liked, just the whole style of it all. The art, music, and movement were all so great. The game does enough to switch up the mechanics to keep the simplistic gameplay fresh. Even the enemies are oozing with style. I just love the way they interact with each other. I'd definitely recommend this game, I played it on Apple Arcade but I'll probably buy it on another platform at some point.
    Full Review »
  3. Jul 5, 2020
    9
    One of the best mobile games. Insane action sequences with crazy camera angles, superb visuals and music. The main story and the idea areOne of the best mobile games. Insane action sequences with crazy camera angles, superb visuals and music. The main story and the idea are super strong as well. Full Review »