Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 59 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 59
  2. Negative: 1 out of 59
Buy Now
Stream On
  1. Dec 16, 2016
    100
    We had our eyebrow ready to raise at how the D-pad-focused plumber would translate to smartphone taps, but we needn't have – this oozes that classic Nintendo charm, the soundtrack is familiarly strong and the visuals are slick with tonnes of variety.
  2. Dec 15, 2016
    100
    If you’re able to make peace with the game’s online requirement (and to be fair, I was most of the time), the experience is mostly fantastic. Super Mario Run impresses in ways I wasn’t convinced this approach to the character could. This, let’s not forget, is Nintendo on someone else’s hardware making good. Who else can stroll this assuredly into a stranger’s house, size up the joint lickety-split, then remind us of how much we have yet to see?
  3. Jan 18, 2017
    90
    If you’re a huge Nintendo and Mario fan, then it’s needless to say that this is a no-brainer.
  4. Dec 19, 2016
    90
    Proof that these brands should have been on mobile all along. Took you long enough, Nintendo, but here’s hoping you stick around for a while.
  5. Dec 15, 2016
    90
    Super Mario Run is the perfect implementation of Nintendo’s biggest star in mobile form. While it’s hard to deny the success of Pokémon Go, Niantic’s mobile offering doesn’t truly capture the heart and soul of the franchise it belongs to. Super Mario Run excels in that department, offering a title that’ll have you constantly coming back for more.
  6. Dec 15, 2016
    90
    A thrilling celebration of Mario's jump, packed with imagination and sharp level layouts. One of the best auto runners around.
  7. Dec 15, 2016
    90
    A brilliant and addictive Mario entry in the mobile world which will engage us for hours despite its expensive price and optimization problems.
  8. Dec 15, 2016
    90
    Super Mario Run is not only a great game but accessible, innovative and original in the Super Mario series; providing a lot of levels, secrets, multiplayer and a good taste for designing.
  9. Dec 18, 2016
    89
    Super Mario Run is a different Mario game, but a great one. Fast and furious and full of coins.
  10. Dec 15, 2016
    88
    Nintendo is successful in maintaining the charm and quality of Mario games in this jump to smartphones and tablets. Super Mario Run won't stand out for its originality, but for its quality. The simplified game mechanics make the game even more accessible, but the excellent level design guarantees challenges to every kind of gamer.
  11. Dec 15, 2016
    85
    After all this time we’re treated to a Mario game on our Apple devices, and boy is it a load of fun; easy controls, great game modes and hours of addictive gameplay to sink your teeth into.
  12. Dec 18, 2016
    82
    Super Mario Run is a different take on the classic Mario formula, that manages to deliver a satisfying experience perfectly adapted on the mobile devices.
  13. Apr 8, 2017
    80
    Super Mario Run is a Mario game on your phone, get over it already. Because if you don't you're missing out on a great Mario experience. Like any other Mario game, practise and precision is key; just because you use one hand to play it doesn't make it any less skillful. The game feels like a Mario game but at the same time it also feels like a more modern title on a phone. World Tour rewards you for grinding and Toad Rally is the pay off, Nintendo's managed to make the entire game balanced no matter how you like to play. Nothing takes longer than it has to, it's a game on your phone and Nintendo's fully managed that. Super Mario Run is addictive, charming and fun and well worth the full price. You like fun right?
  14. Games.cz
    Feb 14, 2017
    80
    Stylish and addictive runner game. Super Mario Run is not completely error-free, but those few imperfections are washed away with geyser of perfect ideas, pure joy of movement, and especially the top level design.
  15. Jan 30, 2017
    80
    Super Mario Run isn’t breaking the mold for App Store games, but it does have a certain Nintendo quality, charm and polish that is frankly unmistakable. A unique twist on the Mario formula, Nintendo has been able to substantively add to the genre in a meaningful way. Everyone with an iPhone should go ahead and try the title – even if they don’t end up investing in the $10 entry fee.
  16. Nintendo Force Magazine
    Jan 4, 2017
    80
    Super Mario Run represents a smart way to translate sidescrolling Mario gameplay to buttonless mobile devices. [Issue #25 – January/February 2017, p.22]
  17. 80
    It’s a cute little non-stop runner that showed me why the genre was worth the time of day thanks to its superbly layered level and gameplay design. I found myself putting countless hours into working through its selection of content. I easily got £7.99 of enjoyment out of it, and would love to see more Nintendo games like it on Mobile. Just don’t force me to be online to play single player content.
  18. Dec 23, 2016
    80
    There always seems to be a caveat with Nintendo, but for me the quality of the game outweighs the concerns. In play, this is Super Mario making himself at home on mobile, and few can match our favourite plumber when he gets into the groove.
  19. Dec 23, 2016
    80
    Super Mario Run brings on mobile the same formula previously seen on Nintendo devices, imbued with a run system that perfectly fits on touch screen.
  20. Dec 21, 2016
    80
    Super Mario Run looks and feels like a solid 2D Mario game, but it offers a new way of taking control of Mario. At first it is frustrating, but eventually the game offers surprisingly deep gameplay.
  21. Dec 20, 2016
    80
    I feel like I'm getting my money's worth and I enjoy the tight and polished yet simple gameplay.
  22. Dec 20, 2016
    80
    Super Mario Run is a very good mobile game without microtransactions or annoying ads, which turns out to be short. Is it worth a fairly large amout of money for just a few hours of fun? If you like platformers, the answer is simple: yes! And I'm thrilled about it.
  23. Dec 19, 2016
    80
    Any doubts that could still be lingering about Nintendo's first production for the mobile segment have been dissipated: Super Mario Run is a marvelous 2D platformer which Nintendo adapted to the guise of an endless runner, in order to make it more playable in a mobile device. Its beautiful graphics, overall fluidity and loyalty to the Mario universe make this one memorable 2D platformer that no fan should go without, provided they can always be connected to the internet when playing, that is.
  24. Dec 19, 2016
    80
    Super Mario Run is unlike any other Mario game out there, and it's cool to see Nintendo exploring mobile by trying new and different ideas. I'm not sure that Super Mario Run will fully satisfy people who were hoping for a console-style platformer from Nintendo on mobile. That said, Super Mario Run is a really well made runner that combines some new score-chasing ideas with a bit of nostalgia.
  25. Dec 18, 2016
    80
    Super Mario Run is absolutely worth playing. Just don’t expect it to replace a 3DS for a good portable experience.
  26. This seeming brevity will undoubtedly miff some customers. The question you’ll need to ask yourself before making the spend is this: What do I want from a Mario game? If it’s simply to jam through courses, Super Mario Run‘s value proposition probably won’t make sense. You’d be better off with the virtually limitless array of courses available in a Super Mario Maker game, even though it costs five times as much. But if you’re looking to play the way kids did back in the day – repeating courses again and again until thoroughly mastered, every secret found and every trick jump carved into your grey matter like grooves on a record – then Super Mario Run becomes infinitely more appealing....It is, in fact, designed to make players want to play this way.
  27. Dec 16, 2016
    80
    Super Mario Run is a simple way to have fun with a runner with the special touch of Nintendo. With a great level design and challenging gameplay to complete all the objectives on each stage, Super Mario Run will give you a lot of hours of addictive fun.
  28. Dec 16, 2016
    80
    Super Mario Run is not an endless run game: it’s a great platform game which can be played on a touch screen.
  29. Dec 16, 2016
    80
    Simple but complex, Super Mario Run has been freed of the restrictions that usually have the autorunner games to adapt the classic gameplay of Mario to a one-hand control.
  30. Dec 16, 2016
    80
    Super Mario Run is an excellent Runner, and the Mario universe is of course adding a lot to the formula. But with its huge qualities comes a big flaw: a permanent connection is required to play, which can be a shame for a mobile game.
  31. Dec 16, 2016
    80
    Super Mario Run is a great iPhone game that sticks to the expected formula but makes that formula extremely fun. And there’s nothing wrong with that.
  32. Dec 16, 2016
    80
    Super Mario Run is a really promising start of Nintendo on mobile gaming.
  33. Dec 15, 2016
    80
    A real Super Mario game on smartphone might have seemed impossible at one time, but this has all the polish and charm you’d expect of a top flight Nintendo game.
  34. Dec 15, 2016
    80
    Super Mario Run is thankfully miles away from being the simplified disaster that many nay-sayers had feared; in fact, what's striking about this mobile release is how similar it is to traditional Mario titles in terms of gameplay and challenge. Despite having limited control over Mario there's still a strong focus on skill, especially if you want to grab all of those pink, purple and black coins. The brevity of the experience is an issue however – an average player should be able to finish an initial no-frills World Tour run in around an hour – and as a result Super Mario Run's social element becomes its long-term focus. Challenging pals via the elegant in-game friends system is addictive, and the Toad Rally mode – which underpins the kingdom-building meta game – is sure to soak up plenty of play time.
  35. Dec 15, 2016
    80
    Super Mario Run's lack of offline play is a bummer, but otherwise it's an engaging experience that demonstrates Nintendo understands what makes for a good mobile game. Even if you're not a fan of mobile titles, it's worth a try: The initial download is free, and you can pay for the additional levels if you like what you see.
  36. Dec 15, 2016
    80
    There are a few oddities, like the online play requirement, and it would be nice to know if and when Nintendo plan to add more levels to the game, but Super Mario Run is a fantastic mobile debut for Nintendo’s most enduring and best known character.
  37. Dec 15, 2016
    80
    Super Mario Run is an excellent and smart step into mobile gaming for Nintendo, but difficulty spikes might frustrate casual players.
  38. Dec 15, 2016
    80
    Super Mario Run is an elegantly designed platformer with strong hooks that kept me coming back. Once I wrapped up the main campaign, the addictive, replayable stages urged me to perfect my coin runs. Kingdom Builder and Toad Rally provided further motivation to keep dashing for the finish line, so I could invest the spoils in my own Mushroom Kingdom. While this isn’t the best-looking Super Mario game by a longshot, it successfully distills the core fun and charm of the Mario franchise into a smart, one-handed experience.
  39. Games Master UK
    Feb 18, 2017
    77
    An accomplished transition to mobile that should appeal to novices and mario veterans alike. [Feb 2017, p.74]
  40. Dec 19, 2016
    75
    Instant, perfect for mobile and sizzling. But Super Mario Run is also very short and the kingdom mode has little depth: the challenges, however, regain longevity.
  41. 75
    Overall I’m very pleased with what Super Mario Run offers. The price may come off as steep to many players and arguably it is if all you want to do is play through the levels. However for those willing to master the game and embrace it for what it is, it’s well worth the investment. Nintendo has shown that they are masters in game design regardless of platform. They’ve proven to me that they understand the unique aspect of mobile gaming and have delivered a great Nintendo experience for phones and tablets. I eagerly await their next mobile titles hoping their other franchises will see the same smooth transition into a mobile gaming format.
  42. Dec 15, 2016
    72
    A great Mario port and one that's very playable, but the always online requirement is annoying.
  43. Edge Magazine
    Feb 15, 2017
    70
    It's not quite vintage Mario, but this long-awaited mobile debut demonstrates an ingenuity and a keen appreciation of format that is quintessentially Nintendo. [Feb 2017, p.123]
  44. Dec 27, 2016
    70
    Super Mario Run is great in its own right, but the high price and lack of offline play options are not to be overlooked. The game is mainly recommended for Mario fans and casual gamers, but don't expect to play it for days on end.
  45. Dec 21, 2016
    70
    Super Mario Run is fun, entertaining and blessed by an amazing level design. The always online structure of the game can be painful for a huge number of players, though. How to suggest a mobile game you can’t play everywhere?
  46. Dec 19, 2016
    70
    A brief but eminently enjoyable Mario game stretched out in all sorts of less than successful ways. A perfect port of Mario gameplay to a new platform but a deeply problematic port of mobile structure onto classic Mario.
  47. Dec 19, 2016
    70
    A couple of hours of fun with only coin-hunting to keep you busy afterwards isn't substantial enough. If you want Mario on your iPhone, Super Mario Run does its best to approximate the trappings. On the other hand, if you're looking for a top-shelf auto-runner to play, it's-a not him.
  48. Dec 15, 2016
    70
    Super Mario Run is an enjoyable but imperfect adaptation of the Mario games for touchscreen devices. Nintendo's unmatched craft in creating platformers is evident during the best moments of Super Mario Run, but the experience is sometimes hamstrung by the game's limited control. The all-too-brief World Tour is its strongest pillar, but I wish there were more to the game beyond playing the same levels again and again.
  49. Dec 15, 2016
    70
    Yes, I wish it had more levels and less town-building, but Super Mario Run manages to feel like real Mario game even with only one button. It’s great to see that Nintendo is able to do so much with such a simple idea that most iOS users can easily pick up and enjoy...I just wish there was more of it.
  50. Dec 15, 2016
    70
    Super Mario Run hits its stride when you’re making your way through new levels. The platforming is great, and the level design surprised me on multiple occasions. In these moments, I forgot I was playing a mobile translation of Mario. That fades fast, unfortunately, as Princess Peach was kissing me on the cheek thanking me for my service just as I felt I was getting started. Rewards exist for replaying those levels repeatedly, but they simply aren’t enough for me.
  51. Dec 15, 2016
    70
    Simple controls be damned, Run offers great platforming and that distinct Mario charm that Nintendo's perfected over the years. It's a shame to find that it's on the easy side and bereft of a long-lasting platforming adventure, but it's the sort of game that you'll be happy to have in your pocket. Even if you don't play it to unlock every character and special course, finishing the game once will inspire you to dust off New Super Mario Bros. and revisit Run's quality roots on other platforms--a testament to the series' refined DNA than lives on in Run.
  52. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Feb 6, 2017
    60
    Very good and well-designed non-standard platformer that relies on its name and your patience more than it would be appropriate. [Issue #271]
  53. Jan 31, 2017
    60
    Although Nintendo has introduced a few new features since release, Super Mario Run still feels like it’s missing something. It looks and feels like a proper Mario game, but it can quickly become so tiresome that we no longer play. It’s all too easy to exhaust Tour Mode and the Kingdom has no staying power. The free tier will be plenty for most Super Mario Runners, and for the full investors, you’ll soon be reduced to a few daily Rally runs.
  54. Dec 20, 2016
    60
    The level design is amateur, the boss battles, save for the final confrontation with Bowser, are too simple, and the build mode left me indifferent to the whole shebang. The controls are there, but everything else feels like Mario b-sides, and that really shouldn't be the case with this grand entrance into the mobile market.
  55. Dec 16, 2016
    60
    Super Mario Run does a nice job of capturing the feel of a classic Mario game. The fact that it needs to always be online in order to play deters me from grinding through its collectible driven-gameplay, however, since it limits when and where I can actually play the game—defeating one of the primary purposes of playing a mobile game in the first place.
  56. Dec 16, 2016
    60
    Quotation forthcoming.
  57. Jan 11, 2017
    58
    Overall, this is a solid debut for Mario away from the Nintendo ecosystem of consoles, but it’s nowhere near the heights of gameplay that the plumber is known for. Longtime fans might balk at playing a Mario game on iOS (and soon Android, too), but as of now there isn’t much to be worried about. Nintendo wanted to make a mobile Mario title that would offer just enough for players to have fun and want to buy a proper series installment, and I think that the company has succeeded in doing just that.
  58. Dec 19, 2016
    50
    Super Mario Run would have been better if it had committed to a single idea. Instead, we’ve got a lacking runner game melded to a half-baked city builder that relies on repetition and artificial setbacks in order to pad itself out. With a premium cost – as well as a data-hogging always-online requirement – this is a game that’s worth neither the time nor the money it’s demanding.
  59. CD-Action
    Feb 13, 2017
    40
    Super Mario Run looks and sounds like New Super Mario Bros., but unfortunately it does not play like it. It’s a runner that constantly annoyed me with its lack of precise controls I enjoyed so much in real Mario games. [02/2017, p.36]
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Dec 15, 2016
    Super Mario Run never amounts to much more than a conveyor belt coin hunt, without the kind of exploration-based depth that characterizes the best of the Mario series.
  2. Mar 7, 2017
    Super Mario Run? This is Mario, for the first time in an age, running on hardware that was not designed by Mario's people. And you know what's frightening? When Mario's people are involved, they make the hardware feel like they designed it anyway. Super Mario Run's not just ingenious and demanding and infuriating and delightful. It's a game born of a deep understanding of its platform.
  3. Jan 12, 2017
    Far from being a chore, there's something genuinely satisfying about the way Super Mario Run rewards skillful play and practice. If you're predisposed to this kind of immensely satisfying, repetition-based play, this is a game that is going to consume a huge chunk of your time and a significant amount of your phone's battery life.
  4. Dec 15, 2016
    With Miitomo being a social app and Pokémon GO a licensed Niantic creation, Super Mario Run is Nintendo’s first real foray into mobile gaming. They’ve fumbled the execution somewhat, but these first stumbling steps bring with them a game that’s worth playing.
  5. Super Mario Run is fun and it seems to be perfectly representative of Nintendo’s mobile plans: provide a taste that potentially leads players to their consoles. This isn’t a grand, deep experience, but it has enough inventive twists on Mario platforming to remain fun for a few hours. We’ll check in next week and land on a score.
User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 324 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Dec 15, 2016
    10
    Fun game for all ages! Everyone should check out this game - Nintendo has done it again! Starts out easy, but the challenge ramps up nearFun game for all ages! Everyone should check out this game - Nintendo has done it again! Starts out easy, but the challenge ramps up near the end. Keep the mobile games coming, Nintendo! 10/10 Full Review »
  2. Dec 15, 2016
    2
    A runner that costs 10 dollars.
    For that price, you actually pay the Mario Intellectual Property for a mediocre game.
    Shame on both
    A runner that costs 10 dollars.
    For that price, you actually pay the Mario Intellectual Property for a mediocre game.

    Shame on both Nintendo and Apple.
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 15, 2016
    0
    I sincerely expected more from the game, I was disappointed, bored and the same as always, $ 10 in the trash. Nintendo can contribute moreI sincerely expected more from the game, I was disappointed, bored and the same as always, $ 10 in the trash. Nintendo can contribute more things than this **** Full Review »