User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 4653 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 25, 2011
    10
    I won't bore you with what everyone is already saying about how amazing this game is. But if you're on the fence about whether to give this classic a try, go read IGN's review.
  2. Jun 12, 2011
    10
    Everything in OoT is so near at perfection, its really no wonder that this game has such a huge fanbase and is so highly rated among players and critics.
  3. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    Anyone who gives the masterpiece below a 7 or an 8 is either just here to hate on the astounding zelda franchise, doesn't know a DAMN good game or is insane. The dungeons are interesting and unique, the characters are interesting and have personality, the story is highly engaging, the combat is varied, fluid, and fun, the items are amazing, there are a plethora of interesting side questsAnyone who gives the masterpiece below a 7 or an 8 is either just here to hate on the astounding zelda franchise, doesn't know a DAMN good game or is insane. The dungeons are interesting and unique, the characters are interesting and have personality, the story is highly engaging, the combat is varied, fluid, and fun, the items are amazing, there are a plethora of interesting side quests and collectibles, and considering the fact that this game was made in 1998 the graphics are amazing. The only real downside is that the game is somewhat linear and you can't continue on after beating the final boss, but that doesn't detract from the huge amount of fun I had playing this game. This has to be one of if not the best games ever made just as the others have said. Expand
  4. Jun 9, 2011
    10
    I'm one of those people who think that this is the greatest game of all time, no matter what quality games are out now or will be out ever. This is just plain the best game I've ever played. Why? Partly because it was the first good game I've actually played. When I first got a Nintendo 64 I was considerably young, and yet every game I played I thought was absolutely horrible. All I hadI'm one of those people who think that this is the greatest game of all time, no matter what quality games are out now or will be out ever. This is just plain the best game I've ever played. Why? Partly because it was the first good game I've actually played. When I first got a Nintendo 64 I was considerably young, and yet every game I played I thought was absolutely horrible. All I had were simple objective games, and as a child I thought they were hard and pointless. Then one day Ocarina of Time was brought home and I at first refused to play it. So I watched my father play it for a while, and straight away it was something entirely new and different. Also at the time, it was the most real (to me at least). What brought me in was the ability to actually explore and get to know people, even if the people you talked to all repeated the same things over and over no matter how many times you talked to them, but it didn't matter. This game was something new and exciting to me, and to this day I get this good old nostalgic feeling whenever I play it. It has one of the greatest stories of all time for a video game and was one of the first to create its own sort of universe and it was one of the first 3D environment game where you can see in all 360 degrees (after Mario 64 that is). Plus to this day people are still discovering new secrets to the game and so many in-depth theories arise from this title alone based upon this game that keep it interesting. The characters feel like characters and the visuals are some of the most cinematic of its time. The gameplay is also very fun, which of course is one of the most important things and there are very involving puzzles that are simple enough in appears but very complex when you get down to it. There is so much that I could say about this game, but sometimes even looking back, I'm at a loss of words at how awesome this game is. Expand
  5. StevenA
    Mar 21, 2010
    10
    This game is the highest rated game on Metacritic and for good reasons. It takes elements from every other game that existed before it and multiplied it several times over. Almost 12 years later, I can play Ocarina of Time and STILL see things that it does, that games of this 2010 decade cannot d. It stands the test of time and will forever be in my heart as the greatest game of all time This game is the highest rated game on Metacritic and for good reasons. It takes elements from every other game that existed before it and multiplied it several times over. Almost 12 years later, I can play Ocarina of Time and STILL see things that it does, that games of this 2010 decade cannot d. It stands the test of time and will forever be in my heart as the greatest game of all time ever in the world. Many games have tried to conquer that title. All have failed. I'm more than happy to say that. Expand
  6. JordanI.
    Jul 1, 2008
    10
    The best game of it's time, virtually as perfect as the N64 can take.
  7. brentl
    Oct 9, 2009
    10
    Amazing game in every aspect, i just want to point out, Lev, what do you mean it has a weak storyline. It has one of the best storylines of all time, the reason it seems generic is because its an old story, many, many stories copied off of this. Now thats not to say that zelda didn't take inspiration from other stories, but obviously made it their own. There has never been a story in Amazing game in every aspect, i just want to point out, Lev, what do you mean it has a weak storyline. It has one of the best storylines of all time, the reason it seems generic is because its an old story, many, many stories copied off of this. Now thats not to say that zelda didn't take inspiration from other stories, but obviously made it their own. There has never been a story in any other game that got me more involved then this one. Expand
  8. Jun 28, 2012
    10
    The highest scoring game on Metacritic and every other review site/magazine/etc, and it's no lie. The story, gameplay, pace and every other factor cohere in a way that makes OoT an amazing adventure that will never be forgotten. Screwed into the golden side of gaming history through unbreakable forces, The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time is a masterpiece to be respected by gamers andThe highest scoring game on Metacritic and every other review site/magazine/etc, and it's no lie. The story, gameplay, pace and every other factor cohere in a way that makes OoT an amazing adventure that will never be forgotten. Screwed into the golden side of gaming history through unbreakable forces, The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time is a masterpiece to be respected by gamers and non-gamers as art. Expand
  9. Sep 6, 2012
    10
    The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time is definitely the greatest game of all time, even to this day, no one has told a story as well as Nintendo has, and defined gameplay in a way that still stands above everything else all these years
  10. Mar 6, 2017
    10
    This game is the best rated game of all time: its metascore is 99, and if that's not enough to convince you that this game is amazing, you must really hate video games.
  11. Shane95
    Jan 2, 2010
    10
    This game is the definition of GREATNESS. This is the 2nd best game ever. Story is awesome, the graphics for the 90s makes you feel in the game. The Gameplay is... do i have to say it? really? This game deserves a 99999999 out of 10, but since i can't do that, it gets a 10.
  12. WinterC
    Jan 3, 2010
    10
    This game is one of the best games ever created. It just disappoints me that so many people who play games on the Xbox360 or PS3 find this game as crap because of the graphics. They don't realize that this game came out in 1998.
  13. Dec 2, 2011
    10
    ¿El mejor videojuego de la historia? Eso es imposible para cualquier videojuego pero... ¿El considerado mejor videojuego de la historia? Si, y se lo ha ganado a pulso. Un clasico atemporal que no puede faltar en tu coleccion junto a otros juegos de su quinta como Meta Gear Solid, FFVII, Super Mario 64, etc...
  14. Jul 28, 2012
    10
    This is the single best no not only game but entertainment package. Ever. In my opinion and in many others. For many many many reasons. This game invented targeting systems which has been used my many many many games since. I think it has the best and easiest to grasp and relate too stories in a game ever. Its so simple yet if you want to get into it enough you will notice that nintendoThis is the single best no not only game but entertainment package. Ever. In my opinion and in many others. For many many many reasons. This game invented targeting systems which has been used my many many many games since. I think it has the best and easiest to grasp and relate too stories in a game ever. Its so simple yet if you want to get into it enough you will notice that nintendo has given you so much depth to read about and explore in the game. IT IS AN EPIC MY FRIENDS. Expand
  15. Aug 29, 2012
    10
    What can I say that hasn't been said?Nothing.It's almost if not completely perfect! Gameplay is pure,Zelda awesomeness.Oh yeah and if you said it was boring,it's because you suck at it and you only like fps games where all you do is run in and go,"I'M RAMBO!!!!BAMBLAMCHIGGABOOM!". These people are what I call "fraggots" fps nerds who hate anything without guns and judge everything byWhat can I say that hasn't been said?Nothing.It's almost if not completely perfect! Gameplay is pure,Zelda awesomeness.Oh yeah and if you said it was boring,it's because you suck at it and you only like fps games where all you do is run in and go,"I'M RAMBO!!!!BAMBLAMCHIGGABOOM!". These people are what I call "fraggots" fps nerds who hate anything without guns and judge everything by graphics.Hence the word "frag" coming from "frag grenade",often used in fps games.Though Nintendo geeks can get annoying,too.But,I've gotten sidetracked.The controls,story,graphics (for it's time),gameplay,characters, and overall nostalgia are amazing.A 10 out of 10.An almost (if not completely) perfect game! Expand
  16. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    This game is over all amazing. It is by far the best game i have ever played. There is never a dull moment in the game. The controls are great and temples/dudgeon are all memorable. The soundtrack is amazing, not to mention songs on the Ocarina. Truly one of the best games of all time.
  17. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    If you watch the negative scores... it's only haters and people who never played the game... some even say Bad graphics... it was 1998 ffs and some say no story... lol, just lol, play the game before doing the review.
    I love this game for the simple fact that it makes you get in front of your tv and makes you want not to stop playing it. It's so good. my favourite game ever
  18. Oct 6, 2014
    10
    The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time was one of the first games in which i picked up for the Nintendo 64 and continue to have it to this day, is an essential to the collection as it is, simply put, a masterpiece and really the centerpiece of excellence in the gaming industry at the time, Zelda really started my love for the Action-Adventure genre as it immersed the user in a world ofThe Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time was one of the first games in which i picked up for the Nintendo 64 and continue to have it to this day, is an essential to the collection as it is, simply put, a masterpiece and really the centerpiece of excellence in the gaming industry at the time, Zelda really started my love for the Action-Adventure genre as it immersed the user in a world of fantasy, the one thing i truly love and appreciate about this game was the soundtrack and sound effects, for example there was nothing more satisfying than collecting jems and breaking jars, as well as fighting scenes when music picked up a notch. This game was one of the first games in which i actually experienced the use of music to submerge the user into the fantasy world. Really just a beautiful story and really truely a masterpiece at the time. Expand
  19. Nov 26, 2016
    10
    С чего бы начать... Это лучшая игра на свете, она волшебна. Саундтрек великолепен. Геймплей шикарен. Сюжет простой но очаровательный 12/10
  20. Mar 7, 2017
    10
    I played it when I was a kid... good times... but in so much time, there's only one game that can fight with it for the place of the best gamer ever... and it's Zelda Breath of the Wild ;D
    This is one of the BEST **** GAMES EVER!
  21. Mar 8, 2017
    10
    Quien no le de un 10 a este juego es un niño rata
    ocarina of time es el mejor juego de la historia.................................................................................
  22. Y.Y.
    Apr 15, 2003
    10
    Cat F., if they changed the plot and characters and towns and such... well, look at what crap Majora's Mask was. I can't argue with you on your level of entertainment. That's YOUR opionion. I can't change it. But I think OoT is a true Zelda game.
  23. LinaL.
    Apr 20, 2002
    10
    The most addictive game I ever played! Can't wait to get my hands on Majora's Mask.
  24. BurtQ.
    Jan 10, 2003
    10
    As far as I'm concerned this is one of the best, if not thee best games ever made. Even when i defeated the game i just erased my file and started over. Its so big that you can do just that and still have fun.
  25. JoeB.
    Nov 5, 2005
    10
    Certainly the best 1 player game of all time. It mixes fantasy, role playing, and action into a game that has a premise of a young boy with serious overtones. Themes include maturing quickly, accepting who one is, and the eternal questions of the effects of time travel (I mean, come on, the whole thing with the Shadow Temple is mind-bending). Very few games can boast a premise this rich, Certainly the best 1 player game of all time. It mixes fantasy, role playing, and action into a game that has a premise of a young boy with serious overtones. Themes include maturing quickly, accepting who one is, and the eternal questions of the effects of time travel (I mean, come on, the whole thing with the Shadow Temple is mind-bending). Very few games can boast a premise this rich, smart, and well-thought out. Anyone who has problems with this game simply doesn't know what the word 'superb' means. Expand
  26. MitchellE.
    Mar 22, 2006
    10
    Excellent game......just flawless, great story line, great gameplay, perfect interactivity, really sucks you into a world with no limitations
  27. ThomasR.
    Mar 6, 2007
    10
    This is the single greatest game of all time. The first time I played this game I did it purely out of curiosity. I had never played a Zelda game in my life. Within the first 20 minutes of playing this game I knew that I had not played a more enjoyable and engrossing game before in my entire life. This game (along with Super Mario 64, Banjo Kazooie, Goldeneye, Mario Kart 64 and Diddy Kong This is the single greatest game of all time. The first time I played this game I did it purely out of curiosity. I had never played a Zelda game in my life. Within the first 20 minutes of playing this game I knew that I had not played a more enjoyable and engrossing game before in my entire life. This game (along with Super Mario 64, Banjo Kazooie, Goldeneye, Mario Kart 64 and Diddy Kong Racing) truly made the N64 the greatest gaming console in existence. Expand
  28. Zach
    Jul 2, 2007
    10
    Once in a while, you get those games that everybody talks about, and you fall into the lure of your peers, so you buy it. Zelda 64 is one of the games you buy yourself. This is the best game to ever be released on any platform. And no, don't tell me GTA is better than this because no, it just isn't. So go out and buy an N64 if you haven't already(if you can find them) and Once in a while, you get those games that everybody talks about, and you fall into the lure of your peers, so you buy it. Zelda 64 is one of the games you buy yourself. This is the best game to ever be released on any platform. And no, don't tell me GTA is better than this because no, it just isn't. So go out and buy an N64 if you haven't already(if you can find them) and get this game. Lock yourself into a room and play it 'till you can say wow for the fifth hundredth time. Or until you finish the game. Expand
  29. QuiqueC.
    Sep 29, 2007
    10
    This is the best game ever. You can either complete the temples or play every once in a while in all the other side missions and mini games. It is incredible.
  30. JakeM.
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    Quite simply, the best video game I've ever played. Everything, the game play, story, graphics... is perfect.
  31. ShaneK.
    Jan 3, 2008
    10
    Truly, not a single Adventure/RPG can compare to this game. It may look dated now but graphics do not add or subtract anything from gameplay. Possibly the best game of the last century. If you hate this game, you hate gaming.
  32. CarlosS.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    The best game ever made, is perfect in any aspect of the game, music, graphics , story , the way that you target an enemy , this should be taken in consideration in games like GTA, where this is a huge flaw. The history of the game is amazing everything in the game is amazing. For younger people that maybe didn
  33. Jun 23, 2011
    10
    An amazing game for the N64. I am having trouble understanding all of the negative reviews. But (if they could think straight) the authors of the negatives would see that know one gives a crap about their reviews and 1 in 50 agree with them. I first played this game at my friends house and played it a little too long (judging by my bloodshot eyes and red face). After that, I purchased theAn amazing game for the N64. I am having trouble understanding all of the negative reviews. But (if they could think straight) the authors of the negatives would see that know one gives a crap about their reviews and 1 in 50 agree with them. I first played this game at my friends house and played it a little too long (judging by my bloodshot eyes and red face). After that, I purchased the GameCube remake and had just as much fun. Expand
  34. Jun 26, 2011
    10
    It's simply a win. There is nothing else to it. Read whaT EVERYBODY ELSE SAID! They have covered it all. But if you don't get this game, i'll find you.
  35. Dec 30, 2012
    10
    This is the Sgt. Peppers of gaming. It's perfect in length, the storyline is incredible, the characters are deep and likeable, the dungeons have some of deepest puzzles the Nintendo 64 can offer. Its a masterpiece beyond belief.
  36. May 30, 2013
    10
    If I had to choose one game to play in my lifetime, this is it, no contest.
    This is a landmark in not just gaming, but art as a whole, and deserves recognition as such.
  37. Aug 7, 2013
    10
    One of the greatest of all time, nearly perfect in every way: graphics, sound, story and gameplay. It still retains its value years later with every replay.
  38. Sep 16, 2013
    10
    aahhh my child hood, brings back memories. this game may not be impressive in terms of today but back then it was a masterpiece and took gaming to whole other level
  39. Sep 20, 2013
    10
    the best game of zelda¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡
  40. Apr 3, 2017
    10
    Just came here to pay my tribute to the best game ever made. This game is so ahead of its time, the title alone is genius. The music is easily the best soundtrack you can find in a video game.
  41. BrennanL.
    Jun 30, 2003
    10
    #1 Zelda game EVER!Buy it NOW!The game is PERFECT!!!!
  42. LacyM.
    Jun 3, 2003
    10
    Well Shlim N. and Bob....I think you need to take my special therapy treatment. First, read "The Hobbit" and "Lord of the Rings". Then, watch the movie version of "Lord of the Rings" and then watch Miyazaki's "Princess Mononoke" and "Spirited Away". After that, read 13 books on mythology, study about the Medieval Times (NOT just Europe. Read about other countries too!) then play this Well Shlim N. and Bob....I think you need to take my special therapy treatment. First, read "The Hobbit" and "Lord of the Rings". Then, watch the movie version of "Lord of the Rings" and then watch Miyazaki's "Princess Mononoke" and "Spirited Away". After that, read 13 books on mythology, study about the Medieval Times (NOT just Europe. Read about other countries too!) then play this game and maybe you'll regret your nasty comments about this video game masterpiece. This is easily the most entertaining game of all time. I mean, it entertained my 7-year-old cousin along with her 5-year-old friends and they're impossible to entertain! Expand
  43. Jackie
    Jul 6, 2002
    10
    This game rules! Even though I couldn't finish it because I had a faulty one, I still really enjoyed it, it also has a great storyline to go with it.
  44. JohnM.
    Mar 1, 2002
    10
    Without a doubt, this is the greatest game ever created.
  45. JohnO.
    Jan 12, 2004
    10
    I lack words for this game. Every single aspect of this masterwork screams of utter perfection and grace. Believe it or not, but this game is exactly as vital to your N64 as the heart and lungs are to your body.
  46. JigganisZig
    Nov 8, 2004
    10
    I like this game too. VERY much. but i also think that crash bandicoot is VERY good. I think that the people who dont like zelda are probably younger and cant really comprehend zelda. but not all are that way.
  47. RobetC.
    Dec 20, 2004
    10
    The BEST game ever, I just kept on playing!!!
  48. Cory
    Jul 12, 2005
    10
    Nothing else comes close to being as good as Ocarina of Time. This is and will always be the best game of all time. Sorry Mario.
  49. CasssandraB.
    Jul 25, 2005
    10
    The best game ever!!!!!! Those who don't like it can kiss my a**.
  50. SeanE.
    Oct 10, 2005
    10
    The Legend of Zelda series is the best series ever.
  51. SamD.
    Oct 12, 2005
    10
    Nothing will ever touch this game's greatness. no matter how great the graphic get, no matter what happens in the future, this game will still destroy them all. best game....ever.
  52. JasonM.
    Nov 2, 2005
    10
    There is absolutely nothing one can say to describe this game except perfect. Just perfect. Find me a game that changed the world more, and I'll GIVE you my copy (not gonna happen)
  53. KyleN.
    Nov 3, 2005
    10
    Blows everything right out of the water. I actually miss this game when I'm not playing it.......I wish some games would be as revolutionary as this one. The use of the Elements as temples adds to the great wonder of this game.
  54. TylerA.
    Nov 17, 2005
    10
    This is my favourite game of all time, I have the N64 and GameCube Master Quest versions. This game can never be beaten. We are up to the second generation of games now and I still can't find a better game. Perfect!
  55. JonnyW.
    Nov 21, 2005
    10
    Greatest game ever. A completely immersive world, great story, charming people to meet. When I beat it for the first tiem, I was genuinely sad that I would never see any of these people again. Of course I got to see them again on my second, third, fourth, and fifth times through, but you know what I mean. Oh yes, I am still finding new secrets and areas, seven years and about about 100 Greatest game ever. A completely immersive world, great story, charming people to meet. When I beat it for the first tiem, I was genuinely sad that I would never see any of these people again. Of course I got to see them again on my second, third, fourth, and fifth times through, but you know what I mean. Oh yes, I am still finding new secrets and areas, seven years and about about 100 hours later. Expand
  56. MattD.
    Dec 3, 2005
    10
    THE single game I could honestly say I think deserves the title best game ever. And no, I am not part of the hype, when I first played this I was pretty much isolated from any gamer culture, having no internet, no magazines and no proliferous gamer culture in my immediate area. This game is gaming taken to an art form.
  57. OlduvaiJ.
    Dec 29, 2005
    10
    Best game ever, it made me feel as if I was actually in hyrule, something that not that many games make me feel. Quirky memorable characters, an amazing plot, a difficulty level honed to perfection, this is my only perfect 10.
  58. BogdanN.
    Dec 30, 2005
    10
    This is one of the best games of all time. The gameplay is great, the stroyline is fun and entertaining, and an impresivly long game for the N64. The single "dissappointing" thing about this game is that the graphics arent too great, but considering its for the N64, they are not bad at all.
  59. Dan
    Jan 1, 2006
    10
    One of the few things that manage to live up to to, and even outdo, the massive hype surrounding it. Easily the best game I have ever played.
  60. BillH.
    Feb 13, 2007
    10
    I've never been so impacted by a video game before. When it came out, I must've beat it 4 or 5 times, looking for every secret. Now, as I watch my sister play it for the first time, almost 10 years later, the game still looks beautiful and the game play still holds up. Absolute nostalgia watching link travel through time again. Deserves to be the Best video game of all time.
  61. Mr.EnigmaticDude
    Mar 20, 2007
    10
    When the n64 released Zelda oot was one of its most anticipated games ever. It was so anticipated because the game play and the visuals looked absolutely amazing for its time. Still to this day Zelda oot is in my opinion better than Zelda tp.
  62. MichaelB.
    Jul 19, 2007
    10
    This is an incredible gaming expierence. Never have i played a game so excellent so perfect, and i might never play a game of this hype and calibure ever again. I thank God every day that this game was invented. Without this game the games today might not exsist. The controls, Story, Characters, and looks in this game are amazing. You can play this game over and over and you wont get This is an incredible gaming expierence. Never have i played a game so excellent so perfect, and i might never play a game of this hype and calibure ever again. I thank God every day that this game was invented. Without this game the games today might not exsist. The controls, Story, Characters, and looks in this game are amazing. You can play this game over and over and you wont get bored. If you have not played this game. GO OUT AND PLAY IT!! borrow it, download with your Wii jus play it. The most amazing gaming experience of your life might be waiting. Expand
  63. JosephN.
    Jul 22, 2007
    10
    By far the best game you'll ever play. Hands down.
  64. JavierS.
    Aug 30, 2007
    10
    This game is truly magical, the atmosphere, the story, the land, the hero, the princess, the puzzles... everything makes it a masterpiece. The best game ever. You can't say you're a videogame fan if you haven't played it.
  65. Fraser
    Oct 22, 2007
    10
    The Greatest Game Ever TM. Nothing can compare to the depth, enjoyment, replay value, superb score etc etc. So ridiculously good it should be illegal and I still play it to this day. OOT=Much, much win.
  66. Starfire
    Oct 23, 2007
    10
    Progress? There has been relatively none since this game, as it is most probably the best one ever. The combination of a vast and realistic world to explore and the amount of things to do in it, along with the challenging dungeons is what does it. You really feel like you are there and the sunny fantasy world is one you want to explore. It never tries to be like another game- but many do Progress? There has been relatively none since this game, as it is most probably the best one ever. The combination of a vast and realistic world to explore and the amount of things to do in it, along with the challenging dungeons is what does it. You really feel like you are there and the sunny fantasy world is one you want to explore. It never tries to be like another game- but many do (or should) try to make something more like this greatness. It can be childish- but that is part of the fun. Expand
  67. 1mmortal1ty
    Nov 12, 2007
    10
    Legend of Zelda OoT is the single greatest single player video gaming experience for the nintendo 64. Anyone who says it is boring is obviously not a serious gamer. The graphics were amazing for the 64, the music score was amazing. the story was riveting. The gameplay was fun although some of the puzzles were a bit repetitive and boring the rest of the game was extremely fun.
  68. DonaldB.
    Nov 25, 2007
    10
    This game deserves to be eternally recognized and honored for how amazingly fun and addictive it was and still is. No wonder they had to wait 2 years to release it on the good old 64, Nintendo was trying to figure out how to make cartridges out of crack.
  69. PhillipM.
    Jan 4, 2008
    10
    I am playing OoT even nearly ten years after it released. Graphics don't matter (ten years ago it was the best graphic I've ever seen). But today the atmosphere is the same and I love playing this game through the tenth time (one time each year^^). It is really the best game of all times, no game is better today. Every gamer should have played it (If not your not a gamer!). A I am playing OoT even nearly ten years after it released. Graphics don't matter (ten years ago it was the best graphic I've ever seen). But today the atmosphere is the same and I love playing this game through the tenth time (one time each year^^). It is really the best game of all times, no game is better today. Every gamer should have played it (If not your not a gamer!). A terrific game, a perfect game. P.S. Those ones who gave 0 points are stupid anti-Nintendo bashers. Expand
  70. JasonK.
    Jan 14, 2008
    10
    This is the first Zelda game I ever played when I first played it I fell in love with it. Even after ten years I still consider it the best game of all time. I remmber how intimidated I was when I first fought Ganon I thought'Theres no way I can beat that!'.I truly did not want this game to end. It revolutionized gaming and without it gaming would'nt be like it is now.The This is the first Zelda game I ever played when I first played it I fell in love with it. Even after ten years I still consider it the best game of all time. I remmber how intimidated I was when I first fought Ganon I thought'Theres no way I can beat that!'.I truly did not want this game to end. It revolutionized gaming and without it gaming would'nt be like it is now.The Legend Of Zelda Ocarina Of Time is truly a master piece. Expand
  71. JohnE.
    Jan 27, 2008
    10
    If I could give this game a 12, that wouldn't be high enough. One of the very first games I played on an actual console, this game is the epitome of creative design, story, and overall gameplay excellence. I continue to play this after all these years and I don't plan on getting rid of it anytime soon. Anyone who has any kind of remote interest in games should buy this and play If I could give this game a 12, that wouldn't be high enough. One of the very first games I played on an actual console, this game is the epitome of creative design, story, and overall gameplay excellence. I continue to play this after all these years and I don't plan on getting rid of it anytime soon. Anyone who has any kind of remote interest in games should buy this and play it, it is the cornerstone of Action/RPG gaming and deserves nothing more than to be the highest rated game on Metacritic still today. Expand
  72. ErikG
    Feb 9, 2008
    10
    Though Half-Life 2 came near to making me question what the best game I've ever played was, Legend of Zelda: OoT is quite definitely still on top. This was the very first game I'd ever played when I was growing, yet I remember every moment of playing it, even ten years later. This game took me with two hands, gently nudged me into the world of video games, and immediately made Though Half-Life 2 came near to making me question what the best game I've ever played was, Legend of Zelda: OoT is quite definitely still on top. This was the very first game I'd ever played when I was growing, yet I remember every moment of playing it, even ten years later. This game took me with two hands, gently nudged me into the world of video games, and immediately made me a believer. I would, without any hesitation at all, recommend this game to anyone, even if they're not a gamer. Expand
  73. PaulM.
    Feb 18, 2008
    10
    THE GREATEST GAME TO EVER GRACE HUMANITY. This is FLAWLESS, MASTERFUL, EPIC, MAJESTIC and LEGENDARY.Make absolutely no mistake about it, this masterpiece will go down in history as the best game ever made and will under no circumstances be surpassed. The mere mention of it's title invites wonderful memories that no amount of Halo's, Half Life's or GTA's will ever bring THE GREATEST GAME TO EVER GRACE HUMANITY. This is FLAWLESS, MASTERFUL, EPIC, MAJESTIC and LEGENDARY.Make absolutely no mistake about it, this masterpiece will go down in history as the best game ever made and will under no circumstances be surpassed. The mere mention of it's title invites wonderful memories that no amount of Halo's, Half Life's or GTA's will ever bring back.If you have not played this magical adventure you have surely missed out on gaming's finest hour. The 1 and only 100% game. Expand
  74. DanielP
    Mar 3, 2008
    10
    This is the bast game I have played yet. I was surprised to see that it only got a 9.2 on the user votes, but I see why. A ton of people think that this game is a 10, but others try to mess up the score by putting a 0. Even if you did not like this game at all, you have to admit that it is better than the majority of other games. A zero is way too harsh. The worst game of all time on this This is the bast game I have played yet. I was surprised to see that it only got a 9.2 on the user votes, but I see why. A ton of people think that this game is a 10, but others try to mess up the score by putting a 0. Even if you did not like this game at all, you have to admit that it is better than the majority of other games. A zero is way too harsh. The worst game of all time on this site only got a 3.1 rating by users. So loosen up! Expand
  75. TomP.
    Mar 20, 2008
    10
    One of the only reasons somebody can have a complaint is because they simply weren't there when this came out, experiencing it for the first time, when it was at it's prime. For somebody it playing now it seems outdated and unplayable, just like any other early 3D game from that time. I've played through great games such as Halo, Meroid Prime, and Resident Evil 4 and have One of the only reasons somebody can have a complaint is because they simply weren't there when this came out, experiencing it for the first time, when it was at it's prime. For somebody it playing now it seems outdated and unplayable, just like any other early 3D game from that time. I've played through great games such as Halo, Meroid Prime, and Resident Evil 4 and have still afterwards been able to be drawn back to Hyrule and recreate the same memories from when I was younger. It's games like that this that are hard to come by now, theres still near perfect games today, but not as many that people of all ages, and all preferences, can enjoy as well as this game. I'm not going to say it's flawless. But for it's time, and even for today, it's one of the best damn games ever created. No question. Expand
  76. JoeyM.
    Mar 23, 2008
    10
    This is the best game ever made. The graphics were amazing for that time, the music was amazing and went well with the dungeons or situations you constantly face. Also the gameplay is so smooth, Link does exactly what you want him to do all the time. Seriously he stops perfectly when you let go of the joystick. Amazing game. Also the story is very ammirsing. It creates a world with This is the best game ever made. The graphics were amazing for that time, the music was amazing and went well with the dungeons or situations you constantly face. Also the gameplay is so smooth, Link does exactly what you want him to do all the time. Seriously he stops perfectly when you let go of the joystick. Amazing game. Also the story is very ammirsing. It creates a world with creatures and there habitats and stuff like that. I would give it 100/10 but that is impossible. Expand
  77. MattM
    Apr 23, 2008
    10
    Personally the best game ever made and will never be beaten.
  78. ScottW.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    Even after finishing this game on N64 15 times, i still bought it on the Wii Virtual Console and have finished it twice since. This IS the greatest game ever made and does not deserve to be knocked off the top by the likes of GTAIV.
  79. AnonymousC.
    May 24, 2008
    10
    People who say this is overrated, they obviously are one of two things; an Xbox fanboy or a moron. This game is ingenious.
  80. JayP.
    May 28, 2008
    10
    Best Game ever, hands down.
  81. SebastianB.
    Jun 1, 2008
    10
    It is possibly the greatest piece of entertainment ever in the history of the universe.
  82. totlmstr
    Oct 11, 2008
    10
    Honestly, I'm not one of those guys who love to put up 10s for all of my favorites. In this current day and age, it still is a masterpiece, compared to all of the other games that have huge spaces in their hard drive. If you're wondering how big this game is, it's around 256 megabits. It still is amazing. If you wanted to compress that large of a game, with the music, Honestly, I'm not one of those guys who love to put up 10s for all of my favorites. In this current day and age, it still is a masterpiece, compared to all of the other games that have huge spaces in their hard drive. If you're wondering how big this game is, it's around 256 megabits. It still is amazing. If you wanted to compress that large of a game, with the music, dungeons, all of the sidequests, the main storyline, and everything else in that small space, you get this game. It's incredible they fit it into that size. Of course, the game still has it's downsides, but minor, as that the major complaint is the storyline. You can see beyond the storyline that it's still the "save the princess" scenario, but I found myself lost when I was exploring that game. Expand
  83. ThomasPshyk
    Dec 20, 2008
    10
    There is nothing that can be said about this game that has not been said already, perfection is what it is. From the second you see Link waking up and you begin to explore the village, to when you get to the start screen and see the clouded world map and all the slots for more weapons and items, to when you get to your first dungeon, you don't know what to say, its just such a good There is nothing that can be said about this game that has not been said already, perfection is what it is. From the second you see Link waking up and you begin to explore the village, to when you get to the start screen and see the clouded world map and all the slots for more weapons and items, to when you get to your first dungeon, you don't know what to say, its just such a good game I don't know how there is nothing that comes close to this game yet (sure score wise there are games that come close but game play wise good luck). This game should be pulled apart bit by bit (pun intended =P) to discover how perfection is achieved. Those who rate this game lower than a 9 at the absolute minimum missed something in the game, and those of you giving 0-2, do you have any taste at all? I still remember when I first got the 3 gems together at the temple of time and went rocketing into the future and step into the town square surrounded by zombies, I called up all my friends telling them of my achievement, you could almost say I was way to happy for what I had accomplished. I have so many fond memories of this game that I will definitely pass this down to my kids. Long live The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time, for you have earned your spot in the halls of time. Expand
  84. ZakR
    Aug 10, 2009
    10
    Every time I see the intro screen to this game, I'm instantly hit with a pure feeling of nostalgia. All though today the graphics are easily beaten by modern day game console, at the time these graphics were fantastic. The controls are so fluid, the items were fun to use and the dungeons although something being absolute hell (Water temple, ugh), they were always fun and would keep Every time I see the intro screen to this game, I'm instantly hit with a pure feeling of nostalgia. All though today the graphics are easily beaten by modern day game console, at the time these graphics were fantastic. The controls are so fluid, the items were fun to use and the dungeons although something being absolute hell (Water temple, ugh), they were always fun and would keep you staring at the screen for hours. The characters always made you laugh or smile, and you felt the need to talk to everyone in sight. Cutting this short, I personally consider this to be the greatest game in history. Expand
  85. Elmo3000
    Aug 16, 2009
    10
    I really think this game deserves a 10. To be honest, it's not completely perfect, but it's as perfect as a game can be. It's not like there's ever going to be a game loved by everyone, so this is basically your best bet. The gameplay is timeless, the controls are perfect, and the dungeons are challenging, but not too hard. I know that some people find Navi annoying, I really think this game deserves a 10. To be honest, it's not completely perfect, but it's as perfect as a game can be. It's not like there's ever going to be a game loved by everyone, so this is basically your best bet. The gameplay is timeless, the controls are perfect, and the dungeons are challenging, but not too hard. I know that some people find Navi annoying, but I never did. She doesn't talk too much as long as you don't ignore her. Anyway, the length of the game, the storyline, the cutscenes, and the interesting characters all join together to make this one of my favourite games. Expand
  86. PriM
    Nov 22, 2009
    10
    I'm playing this game for nearly 5 years now and i have completed this game nearly 50-60 times, still i cant resist playing it. Its unique characters and a marvelous storyline meets all the requirements to be a perfect game.
  87. Harry
    Dec 14, 2009
    10
    Gaming perfection. This stands among an elite selection of games against which all other games should be judged.
  88. PhilMad
    Jan 11, 2010
    10
    Simply the greatest game of all time, with engaging story, enemies and puzzles this game will have you being nostalgic fr the rest of your life.
  89. Jul 18, 2011
    10
    This game is really perfection. I played it when I was still just a little girl, and now more than 10 years later I play it again... and still love it. All the ones that gave the game a negative score are just here to rage at the popularity of this game. Because it's the best one ever made. And it deserves a worthwhile remake.
  90. Jul 18, 2011
    10
    What Is there to say other than AMAZING! Ladies, Gentlemen and all Members Of the Gaming World, If you have a Nintendo 64, but don't have this game, you are a total n00b. Ocarina Of Time is my absolute favorite game on the Nintendo 64. Hell, it's so good it actually made me flip out my 64 and start playing it again. This game right here is the reason most gamers get their Nintendo 64 outWhat Is there to say other than AMAZING! Ladies, Gentlemen and all Members Of the Gaming World, If you have a Nintendo 64, but don't have this game, you are a total n00b. Ocarina Of Time is my absolute favorite game on the Nintendo 64. Hell, it's so good it actually made me flip out my 64 and start playing it again. This game right here is the reason most gamers get their Nintendo 64 out again, and its not hard to understand why. Without a doubt, the back story, plot and setting of the whole game is definitely well made to fit with the story of Hyrule, and the legend that is the Legend Of Zelda series that started on the NES. The battles and triumphs and the twist that splits the series in two, none of it would be possible without Shigeru Myamoto's brilliant mind and logic. The game flourishes in a brilliant Open-world setting, as we gamers agree, the best type of game there is (Grand Theft Auto and LA Noire are examples of Open World Games). Brilliant gameplay, especially being the first 3D Zelda game in which all others based off of, and I think people can have continuous fun hours on end just messing around with the Ocarina lol. Expand
  91. Jul 21, 2011
    10
    anybody who doesnt give this game a 10 or 9 shouldnt be on this website and doesnt no wat gaming is.its one thing if u dont like rpg. but if thats the case that just dont rate the game
  92. Jul 23, 2011
    10
    @bob and JamesF are you serious?????? stop hating you retards. this game is arguably the best zelda game ever created and zelda is one of the best series of games ever created. you can't just give it a 0!!!!!!!!!!
  93. Sep 12, 2011
    10
    The greatest game ever made. Simple as that. Playing it again, 13 years after first play, and may not feel as fresh and original but the levels are still as brilliantly fun to play through and the redoing of the puzzles still feels a joy, never a chore. There is nothing to fault this game over.
  94. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    So many of this games negative reviews are about poor graphics or boring gameplay, which is a problem because they're reviewing this game through the eyes of today, which is impossible to do so seeing as it was released in 1998. This game is THE blueprint, not on for Zelda games but any Zelda-inspired game since. The reasons this game is cited as "The Best Game of All Time" are many, allSo many of this games negative reviews are about poor graphics or boring gameplay, which is a problem because they're reviewing this game through the eyes of today, which is impossible to do so seeing as it was released in 1998. This game is THE blueprint, not on for Zelda games but any Zelda-inspired game since. The reasons this game is cited as "The Best Game of All Time" are many, all of which are accurate. It was really the first game evr to break through what is known as the "polygon ceiling". Franchises just couldn't make the jump to 3D correctly, either failing miserably like Bubsy or having to sacrifice something to make the grade meaning those games lost exactly what made the series good (Castlevania is the one that springs to mind here). OoT, however, not only showed everyone how 3D should be done, but how games should be done in general by having a great, fun story with plenty of twists and turns along the way, great controls that were simple to pick up and play and a massive amount of innovations with Z-Targeting being the most prevalent. Enjoyiing that lock-on in any game ever? You have Ocarina to thank for that. The puzzles were brilliant because they showcased the 3D perfectly, making you have to utilise spacial awareness by, for example, standing at a vantage point to fire an arrow through a lit torch so it sets on fire and ignites an extinguished torch at the other end of the room. No 3D game did that, which is why it was the pinnacle of the new revolution. The game is enormous even today, with in-depth side-quests that can easily detract you from the story for hours. Puzzles aren't out of reach for anyone so you don't have to be a genius to carry on with the story. Yes, sometimes the puzzles are more of the same, but that is really all they could do at the time with technology and memory constraints. This game was so big, a GamePak with increased memory was made just for this game, that later on became the standard memory allowance. The music is instantly recognisable and most of the well-known Zelda tracks are from this game, the only main song missing is the Zelda theme at the start instead opting for original music which, while an excellent piece is a little disappointing. Even after a decade, it's still the highest scored game ever on this site and there is a reason for that. This is not just a great Zelda game, but the greatest game of all time. If you haven't played this game in any of it's forms, you can't call yourself a gamer. Expand
  95. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    This is by far the best game i have played. Anyone who is giving this negative results go back to your generic shooter x franchise. This game really is the godfather, the dark knight, or lord of the rings of the game world.
    I don't like the godfather, but would still rate it nearly perfect as it is just so well made and executed, just like this game. It feels like everything in the game
    This is by far the best game i have played. Anyone who is giving this negative results go back to your generic shooter x franchise. This game really is the godfather, the dark knight, or lord of the rings of the game world.
    I don't like the godfather, but would still rate it nearly perfect as it is just so well made and executed, just like this game. It feels like everything in the game has been thought about, perfect pacing, exquisite level design, intriguing story, and just that x factor any perfect form of media has without the need for modern day effects or graphics.
    This shows if a game, film, book or album can be just as good now than.it was when released even if visually it might be dated.
    By the way this comes from some who does appreciate modern day visuals and owns a top end pc which maxes any title thrown at it.
    Expand
  96. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    Among the best games of all time simply for being the most innovative game. Masterful gameplay, amazing sound track, a nice story, and the land of Hyrule to explore. A definite must have for any gamer.
  97. Feb 2, 2012
    10
    THE BEST GAME EVER MAID!!!! the best game of nintendo 64.Incredible history,its impossible not love this amazing game! And come others Legends of Zelda, but only Ocarina of Time, is in the heart of all gamers in the world!
  98. Apr 1, 2012
    10
    Best game ever. Best story, best sound track... Already forgotten how many times finished it.... And I continue playing... Ocarina Of Time is the best Legend Of Zelda game, and worth anybody's time whom intends to play
  99. Apr 1, 2012
    10
    This game was and is a masterpiece. Top 3 of all-time, maybe #1 for me (at least tied). The brilliance of this game will endure for the history of gaming. Absolutely spectacular....13 years later I'm giving this game the review it deserves.
  100. May 14, 2012
    10
    It's sad that until today there hasn't been anything that grasps the sense of magic that OoT brought forth upon playing. However that is simply the game being so vastly superior at what it does. To this day Koji Kondo's soundtrack for this is the one that strikes at an emotional level, where it never gets old. Characters are so well-made they stick with you and feel alive even long afterIt's sad that until today there hasn't been anything that grasps the sense of magic that OoT brought forth upon playing. However that is simply the game being so vastly superior at what it does. To this day Koji Kondo's soundtrack for this is the one that strikes at an emotional level, where it never gets old. Characters are so well-made they stick with you and feel alive even long after you played through once again. Graphically it's still really pleasing, because the aesthetics are so good. Pretty famous for it's story that keeps you involved at all times, never getting less climactic and leading to a huge pay-off and closure. Dungeon and level design is top notch and so clever they can be learned from even now. So much excellent extra content in exploring, secrets, mini-games and collectables that actually matter and improve your character and enhance the gameplay and is fun to do. Combat has alot of puzzle elements imbedded as well, especially the bosses require finding a solution whilst in the heat of the battle. It's all controlled rather intuitive with the Z-targetting being used for the first time and the handy hotkey buttons for sidegrade weapons and items. The HUD was also non intrusive and nicely designed for the time. Navigating through the expansive open world and dungeon is made user friendly by the clear map system, has no problems with mulitple floors and levels. The array of gadgets and weapons to your disposal is astounding and let's you find several ways to reach your goal. Still playing it when I need to be reminded what games should strife to be like and I can't help myself but going for all the side content every time getting lost in the world of Hyrule. Expand

Awards & Rankings

1
1
#1 Most Discussed N64 Game of 1998
1
#1 Most Shared N64 Game of 1998
Metascore
99

Universal acclaim - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 22
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 22
  3. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Mar 24, 2016
    94
    The player will be drawn into the Zelda fantasy world from the moment the opening sequence bursts onto the screen, and the game won't let go-not even after finishing the quest.
  2. Happy Puppy
    Mar 24, 2016
    90
    Realism is one of the major reasons this title is so amazing. After playing for a while it feels as though you have actually been to Hyrule.
  3. Mar 24, 2016
    95
    Featuring unparalleled 3D environments, a deep and involved quest, brilliant and intuitive play controls, and a well-developed cinematic quality that enhances rather than overwhelms the whole game experience, Miyamoto's latest soon-to-be-classic title deserves to be played by each and every person who might deign to consider themselves a fan of great games.