A Hat in Time Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 307 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A Hat in Time is a 3D collect-a-thon platformer featuring a little girl with a lot of heart! Travel the universe with Hat Kid as you rival the evil Mustache Girl in order to save the world! Unlock new platforming abilities, more combat moves and spice up your attacks with badges attached toA Hat in Time is a 3D collect-a-thon platformer featuring a little girl with a lot of heart! Travel the universe with Hat Kid as you rival the evil Mustache Girl in order to save the world! Unlock new platforming abilities, more combat moves and spice up your attacks with badges attached to your hat! Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
First 9 Minutes Of A Hat In Time Gameplay
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
  1. Dec 20, 2017
    100
    Suffice to say, A Hat in Time won’t waste your time. It has put you in the paint program for the same reason it does everything else: because whereas most games are content to occupy your time, A Hat in Time has something it wants to show you. Now get busy with the virtual crayons. It’ll be worth it.
  2. Nov 8, 2017
    90
    A Hat in Time is that rare Kickstarted game that had a lofty goal and succeeded. Not only does the game live up to the 64-bit collectathon nostalgia that so many of us have been craving, but it also revamps the standard formula. Every level feels completely different from the last, and a diverse mission structure keeps the adventure from growing stale. It’s a wholly charming experience that made me smile silly. Hat Kid controls like a dream and is also a ridiculously cute mascot whom I’d like to see more of, along with more adorable hats. Anyone who has fond memories of the 3D platforming genre would do well to check out A Hat in Time.
  3. Jan 24, 2018
    85
    In the end, A Hat In Time features enough charm to overcome its shortcomings. If you can live with the unreliable camera, then you'll find a game that offers a pleasant platforming experience, tons of secrets to uncover, and a good amount of abilities to experiment with. The variety of environments and activities is appreciated, as are some of the breaks from platforming norms. The characters may be the main reason for playing the gamefrom beginning to end, just to see what they'll say or do next. For fans of platformers, A Hat In Time is well worth your time.
  4. 80
    This is a game with undeniable soul and an incredible amount of shine considering its budget. There’s very little that A Hat in Time can’t do as a classic platformer, and it really throws itself into creating a cute and cohesive universe for you to explore.
  5. Nov 17, 2017
    80
    A Hat in Time has certainly been well worth the wait, and is easily recommended to platformer fans across all formats. It sits nicely alongside Yooka-Laylee and offers a different take on the N64 nostalgia that both titles share. It’s unlikely to knock Mario off his perch as king of the 3D platformers, but it is a more than acceptable pretender to the crown. It also has a central antagonist called Moustache Girl who is a girl with a bushy moustache. A Hat in Time opens up to be a real standout in the recent renaissance of the 3D platform game.
  6. Oct 13, 2017
    80
    A Hat in Time is more interested in looking around than staring backward. This is a challenging exercise for a 3D platformer, and yet A Hat in Time keeps its perspective balanced between careful devotion and sensible progression. Being responsive to your environment, as it turns out, makes it easier to see where you should be going.
  7. Oct 27, 2017
    44
    The origins as a hobby project are too visible from the get-go. Clumsy controls and problematic camera are not up to par - but unfortunately these are the cornerstone of any decent platformer.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 79
  2. Negative: 5 out of 79
  1. Oct 7, 2017
    10
    Mithaldu is an idiot... now that that is out of the way,
    I don't generally review steam games... but I felt I had to do my part in getting
    Mithaldu is an idiot... now that that is out of the way,
    I don't generally review steam games... but I felt I had to do my part in getting the word out. This game is a love letter to the GameCube era and all of the unique games that came with it.
    Paper Mario? It's got some of that!
    Super Mario Sunshine? It's got a lot of that!
    Windwaker? It looks good enough to be it's twin!
    If you're like me and you grew up on super Mario sunshine and other GameCube classics, this game is a STEAL for $30.
    Expand
  2. Oct 14, 2017
    10
    This game is adorably amazing and fulfills the gap in my heart for 3D platformers. This genre does not get enough love and even when mostThis game is adorably amazing and fulfills the gap in my heart for 3D platformers. This genre does not get enough love and even when most people do try, they ultimately do not succeed. Regardless, this game happens to break that pattern and create an experience that reminisces on previous successful titles while doing it in a new, creative, and enjoyable way that makes you love it more and more. The game is not perfect but the controls are a solid 9.9/10 and the charm of all the characters easily makes up for any small, insignificant shortcomings you may find. If you're still reading reviews, I recommend you stop and just play the game already! Expand
  3. Oct 13, 2017
    10
    Hard to put this game down, I use to play Mario 64 all the time as a kid and it reminds me how good a platfomer can be. If you like marioHard to put this game down, I use to play Mario 64 all the time as a kid and it reminds me how good a platfomer can be. If you like mario your'll probably enjoy this game :) P.S. the time rift music is magic Expand
  4. Nov 7, 2017
    9
    A Hat in Time makes running around a level fun, and that requirement alone is perfectly fine in a 3D platformer. Luckily, the game hasA Hat in Time makes running around a level fun, and that requirement alone is perfectly fine in a 3D platformer. Luckily, the game has interesting, lighthearted, and comedy-filled writing to supplement the gameplay. The music pairs well and faithfully runs with the gamecube-era-inspired aesthetics. The game isn't overly challenging, but it respects the player and allows them to use the various hats and upgrades (the scooter especially) to go over an obstacle at their own pace and with their own plan. It's simple and lacks a lot of substance, but the smooth gameplay and aesthetics mean it doesn't need to be very heavy on story or coherence. It's a short, delicious burst of passion and platforming elegance, and is worth the pricetag, especially to reward Gears For Breakfast for their dedication. Expand
  5. Nov 8, 2017
    9
    A KICKSTARTER GAME THAT IS CUTE AS HECK AND IT DOESNT SUCK AT ALL!!!

    you dont see this kind of games everyday, and especially as good as A
    A KICKSTARTER GAME THAT IS CUTE AS HECK AND IT DOESNT SUCK AT ALL!!!

    you dont see this kind of games everyday, and especially as good as A Hat In Time!

    Its amazing, the charming characters, the nice voice acting, the cute as heck hat kid, the colorful and pretty stages and the bosses are good as HECK!

    Only problem is that it has this tiny glitches with the eyes that clip in some cutscenes, and some animations that can be polished.

    BUT THIS GAME IS ONE OF THE BEST GAMES 2017 COULD HAVE!
    Expand
  6. Nov 15, 2018
    8
    Fun game to kick back and relax. My only disappointment was how short it was but then again for the price I couldn't complain. Looking forwardFun game to kick back and relax. My only disappointment was how short it was but then again for the price I couldn't complain. Looking forward to a sequel or additional DLC to expand the game. Expand
  7. Oct 10, 2017
    0
    Since my review of this keeps getting removed, despite being based 100% in fact, here's my new review:

    It is a boring game and i don't like
    Since my review of this keeps getting removed, despite being based 100% in fact, here's my new review:

    It is a boring game and i don't like it. Psychonauts did it better.

    Also jontron shouldn't be publically in it. You'll have to google why.
    Expand

See all 79 User Reviews