Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Jan 17, 2020
    90
    The laid-back nature of the simple but fun exploratory gameplay coupled with the soothing music and lush scenery make A Short Hike a relaxing adventure filled with not only humor but the tenderness of personal connections.
  2. Dec 6, 2019
    90
    Quotation forthcoming.
  3. Edge Magazine
    Sep 12, 2019
    80
    It is about delighting in the journey. [Issue#337, p.122]
  4. Aug 12, 2019
    80
    A Short Hike is indeed short, but it’s also beautiful and charming. If you enjoy this sort of wholesome experiences, we think it’s worth your time.
  5. Jul 29, 2019
    75
    A Short Hike is far from perfect, but it absolutely is unique and worth your time. It's also super fucking rad, and I love it. Warts and all. If you’re looking for something different, and you don’t mind the price of admission, I think this is more than worth the price of entry. It may not be perfect, but life never is, and that’s fine and beautiful in its own way.
  6. Sep 18, 2019
    70
    A Short Hike is a small jewel that has already conquered the hearts of dozens of players who, like Claire and Adam Robinson-Yu himself, felt the need to detach themselves from the daily routine of their their life, with a little break without commitments or deadlines.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Aug 12, 2019
    A quest to find phone signal leads to a glorious game of exploration and reconnection. [Eurogamer Essential]
  2. Aug 19, 2019
    A Short Hike feels like what you would get if you turned Animal Crossing into an adventure game like The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild. Yes, it’s an experience full of cute cartoon animal people, but more importantly A Short Hike has a similar sensibility to those two Nintendo games.
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. Aug 3, 2019
    10
    I had a great evening playing "a short hike". Just a few hours where I enjoyed the dialogs, the music, the pixel graphics... It was a calm,I had a great evening playing "a short hike". Just a few hours where I enjoyed the dialogs, the music, the pixel graphics... It was a calm, fun and relaxing experience, like a short hike :) Full Review »
  2. Jan 4, 2020
    10
    I was hesitant for a long time but am glad that I finally tried it. It's actually not as short as the title or some people may claim - in myI was hesitant for a long time but am glad that I finally tried it. It's actually not as short as the title or some people may claim - in my opinion. At least not if you're a completionist. And with this game, you really should be because more feathers than necessary and special items that you will probably get after doing the "primary objective" make the way the game feels shift quite a bit.
    You do have to enjoy games that are mostly about exploration though. There are some optional races, a mini game and some puzzles that actually require some skill but otherwise, it's exploration, straightforward quests and steady progression.
    Sure, it's still "just" a few hours of fun but hey - it's a cheap indie game. Just enjoy. :)
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 25, 2019
    9
    This game takes the best of Mario Odyssey and Zelda: BOTW and puts it in an Animal Crossing-like world. A very cute, visually pleasing,This game takes the best of Mario Odyssey and Zelda: BOTW and puts it in an Animal Crossing-like world. A very cute, visually pleasing, well-written experience that makes you feel loved; a very great game. Full Review »