Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Aug 31, 2020
    90
    Many games often aspire to deliver more, sometimes bartering in dizzying excesses--be it in high-octane action or through big, sweeping narratives that thrust you into a heroic position. But it's the diminutive tales and everyday experiences of A Short Hike that give the game its comforting, even pastoral allure. It's about seeking quiet communion with nature even as you make your umpteenth hike towards the peak, or finding contentment in stumbling upon tinier, quaint scenes. It proposes that even the smallest and most mundane of vignettes can be as enthralling as grandiose universes and narratives of more ambitious games. As I embark on yet another leisurely trek after ascending the summit of Hawk Peak, I can't help but heartily agree.
  2. Jan 17, 2020
    90
    The laid-back nature of the simple but fun exploratory gameplay coupled with the soothing music and lush scenery make A Short Hike a relaxing adventure filled with not only humor but the tenderness of personal connections.
  3. Dec 6, 2019
    90
    A Short Hike delivers a short but true exploration experience quite similar to Breath of the Wild, on a smaller scale.
  4. Edge Magazine
    Sep 12, 2019
    80
    It is about delighting in the journey. [Issue#337, p.122]
  5. Aug 12, 2019
    80
    A Short Hike is indeed short, but it’s also beautiful and charming. If you enjoy this sort of wholesome experiences, we think it’s worth your time.
  6. Jul 29, 2019
    75
    A Short Hike is far from perfect, but it absolutely is unique and worth your time. It's also super fucking rad, and I love it. Warts and all. If you’re looking for something different, and you don’t mind the price of admission, I think this is more than worth the price of entry. It may not be perfect, but life never is, and that’s fine and beautiful in its own way.
  7. Jan 21, 2020
    70
    Twee as it is, it’s an achievement that shows how a familiar video game form can be made into something more quiet and unhurried than one might be used to; personally, I’m all for that.
  8. Sep 18, 2019
    70
    A Short Hike is a small jewel that has already conquered the hearts of dozens of players who, like Claire and Adam Robinson-Yu himself, felt the need to detach themselves from the daily routine of their their life, with a little break without commitments or deadlines.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Aug 12, 2019
    A quest to find phone signal leads to a glorious game of exploration and reconnection. [Eurogamer Essential]
  2. Aug 19, 2019
    A Short Hike feels like what you would get if you turned Animal Crossing into an adventure game like The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild. Yes, it’s an experience full of cute cartoon animal people, but more importantly A Short Hike has a similar sensibility to those two Nintendo games.
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 111 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 91 out of 111
  2. Negative: 3 out of 111
  1. Aug 3, 2019
    10
    I had a great evening playing "a short hike". Just a few hours where I enjoyed the dialogs, the music, the pixel graphics... It was a calm,I had a great evening playing "a short hike". Just a few hours where I enjoyed the dialogs, the music, the pixel graphics... It was a calm, fun and relaxing experience, like a short hike :) Full Review »
  2. Apr 4, 2020
    7
    Nice little game, good for a couple of hours of fun, although I wouldn't necessarily replay the game. Even better as it was a freebie.
  3. Feb 15, 2020
    10
    One of the more charming games I have played in a long time
    The gameplay is fun, cozy and the character intuitive and good to control.
    The
    One of the more charming games I have played in a long time
    The gameplay is fun, cozy and the character intuitive and good to control.
    The setting is also very cozy and it's such a pleasant experience to just explore the little world and interact with everyone and find all the hidden stuff.
    The length is also really fitting. Not overstaying it's welcome in any way. If anything, I would have loved for it to go on for just a little longer but that just means I was entertained the whole time.

    This game absolutely gets my highest recommendations.
    Full Review »