Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Aug 18, 2014
    70
    Considering all the flitting around, the entertainment is sometimes teetering on the edge of frustration, but otherwise a search for the lost uncle is a sweet treat for a weekend, which lacks only deeper depictions of the world "on the other side" along with a stronger dramatic arc.
  2. Jun 25, 2014
    70
    In A Story About My Uncle, you will cross a hostile and fragmented world to find your adventurer uncle. The game is easy and short, but pleasant, and its story is really moving in the end.
  3. Jun 12, 2014
    70
    A Story About My Uncle is a first-person platformer with some good ideas and beautiful environments. The indie game uses a Portal-/BioShock Infinite-like layout and seems to become a fantastic experience, but then suddenly is out of levels. Because of the strongly varying difficulty and a story focuses on kids, we wonder what age the game is actually meant for.
  4. Jun 5, 2014
    70
    For $13, players looking for a unique experience will find it here. Keep in mind, there is some trial and error platforming awaiting would-be players that can get nerve-racking after a while, and some of the dialog delivery is off, but the world itself is colorful and interesting and while it may be delivered slightly off at times, the story is rather interesting.
  5. Aug 11, 2014
    65
    When the game lets its main character race through the world, bounding across chasms and flinging himself here and there with the grapple, it is really wonderful. That happens all too rarely, however, and instead the game breeds repeated frustration brought on by the difficulty of figuring out where the protagonist should grapple, why he can't, or what to do about it.
  6. Games Master UK
    Jul 29, 2014
    61
    Despite jarring control issues there's still much to admire here in the tone and beautiful locations. [Sept 2014, p.71]
  7. Sep 4, 2014
    60
    A good start for the Swedish software house, but the game lacks personality and the central part of the story isn't interesting as the incipit.
  8. Jun 26, 2014
    60
    The best thing about A Story About My Uncle is its scenery design, which will often leave you with your mouth open, but the rest of the game is not that great.
  9. Jun 11, 2014
    60
    A Story About My Uncle is a game with big intentions. It’s fun to jump around and the mechanics often works pretty well, but the difficulty is unbalanced, which leads to a lot of frustration. Together with a story that never reaches its full potential A Story About My Uncle is a bit disappointing.
  10. CD-Action
    Aug 25, 2014
    50
    After every moment of enjoyable flight or other dynamic event comes a segment that requires patience and counting seconds to time the next jump right. It’s a pity that instead of A Story About Jumping Around Like A Maniac we got such a drag. [8/2014, p.71]
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 158 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 158
  2. Negative: 18 out of 158
  1. Jun 15, 2014
    10
    An amazing idea for a game! Although more serious then Goat simulator, the magic is still there, and I absolutely love it! Great graphics,An amazing idea for a game! Although more serious then Goat simulator, the magic is still there, and I absolutely love it! Great graphics, story, and gameplay! 10/10 Full Review »
  2. May 31, 2014
    9
    This is a beautiful idea for a game - myst (adventure) meets dreamfall (RPG) meets Journey (nonviolent exploration) meets an FPS withoutThis is a beautiful idea for a game - myst (adventure) meets dreamfall (RPG) meets Journey (nonviolent exploration) meets an FPS without weapons. I loved it and highly encourage trying it. This is a novel, gorgeous play experience that is as simple as it is captivating. It is somewhat short, but I prefer quality to quantity. In the future, moar like this please! Let the creation of this new genre develop further! Full Review »
  3. Jun 22, 2020
    8
    beautiful game. not extraordinary, but worth playing. kinda forgettable, at least for me.