Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 13
  2. Negative: 3 out of 13
  1. Nov 26, 2018
    75
    The monsters are creepy, the combat is great, and the setting is endlessly explorable – Achtung! Cthulhu Tactics has plenty going for it, and yet it still feels underdeveloped. The RPG elements are thin, and the story is little more than a skeletal justification for the next skirmish. There’s plenty of stellar design here, but it feels like a preview of a more robust experience. It’s a fantastic use of the Cthulhu Mythos and a solid game, but I’m guessing the franchise will have more to offer next time.
  2. Oct 12, 2018
    74
    Achtung! Cthulhu Tactics is competently built, attractive to look at in some areas, but rather bland in others. The gameplay was approachable and the difficulty curve was shallow, so players experienced in the genre may find it to be too easy to provide a meaningful challenge. Conversely, players new to the genre, or those that aren’t especially good at it, will likely find it to be more engaging.
  3. Oct 18, 2018
    65
    Achtung! Cthulhu Tactics does some things right, but falls short to what it wants to be. The game is shallow and repetitive to the point that it becomes totally uninteresting in the later stages. Without no meaningful story and no deep, complex tactical decisions, Achtung! Cthulhu Tactics is a missed opportunity and a disappointment for fans of the Call of Cthulhu universe.
  4. Dec 22, 2018
    60
    An underutilized setting plays host to some interesting gameplay mechanics, but the entire experience is hindered by repetitive map design, a lack of variety in enemies, and some suspect AI choices.
  5. Dec 18, 2018
    60
    Achtung! Cthulhu Tactics is a barely sufficient tactical experience that brings few novelties to the table while severely limiting both the depth and the longevity of its own gameplay.
  6. Nov 7, 2018
    60
    A competent tactical combat game with an interesting setting that promises more but never realises it.
  7. Nov 5, 2018
    60
    I think Achtung! will probably bring you some slight joy if you are both a fan of Lovecraft and Isometric tactics games, but it’s hard to feel it fulfils the original IP when it’s so lacking in narrative.
  8. Oct 15, 2018
    60
    Achtung! Cthulhu Tactics has a solid gameplay, partially wasted by lack of variety and dumb enemies.
  9. Oct 8, 2018
    60
    Achtung! Cthulhu Tactics is, honestly, a bit of a disappointment. It’s a perfectly competent tactics game, and there is a solid 10 hours of narrative here for you to explore. However, it’s mostly upsetting because of the flecks of brilliance that don’t quite fit together, and the good ideas that aren’t explored enough.
  10. Oct 5, 2018
    60
    There are some positives. The missions and map environments can be repetitive, but the layout is acceptable — although I would have preferred it if the developers added more collectibles or items in nooks and crannies. These would be a lot better than just interacting with some inactive servitor or flipping a switch. A few tweaks to the skill trees, additional characters, more enemy types from Lovecraft’s universe, and perhaps even a level/map editor would be welcome inclusions to the game as well.
  11. Nov 8, 2018
    48
    I enjoy the idea, the concept, it’s all right on the money. I can’t stand the final product though. They had the near perfect game and they let it slip away. You may still find this game fun! You could enjoy it despite the flaws, take it at face value. There are people excited for this game, and I urge them to play it. Even if I didn’t like it at all on a technical level I wouldn’t bar someone from it. I would caution those who play. I had a horrible experience, the game was unstable, so I warn you. Otherwise, enjoy yourself. It’s not awful to like the local brands.
  12. Oct 13, 2018
    35
    Quotation forthcoming.
  13. Dec 30, 2018
    34
    Achtung! Cthulhu Tactics has the most primitive levels I have ever seen in a turn-based strategy game, coupled with an equally primitive AI. Combat system has quite a few fine ideas, though, but they're not worth it to suffer through 10 hours of identical gameplay situations.
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 4 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 4
  2. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. Mar 27, 2019
    3
    Wow they missed the boat with this game. Looks like the guy who built the engine did his job but then the person who designed the levels wasWow they missed the boat with this game. Looks like the guy who built the engine did his job but then the person who designed the levels was asleep at the wheel. You have no meaningful decision or exploration and you are 100% straightjacketed so you have no choices. The game might as well just play each level without your input. I usually love games like this but this is the worse level designs I have every see in a tactics game. Full Review »