User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 308 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 308

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 9, 2022
    0
    Пишу рецензию т.к. подгорело от политики майков. Блокировать игру обычным работягам за то, чего они не делали равносильно грабежу т.к. за игру уплачено. Позиция компании о том, что это будет мотивировать людей менять политическую ситуацию ущербна, по их логике я причастен к данной ситуации только потому, что я родился в определенной стране.Пишу рецензию т.к. подгорело от политики майков. Блокировать игру обычным работягам за то, чего они не делали равносильно грабежу т.к. за игру уплачено. Позиция компании о том, что это будет мотивировать людей менять политическую ситуацию ущербна, по их логике я причастен к данной ситуации только потому, что я родился в определенной стране. И я прекрасно понимаю что не сделав то, что делают все остальные компании сейчас на майкрософт полились бы помои, но я также понимаю что они делают это отнюдь не из-за своих убеждений, а только исходя из коммерческой выгоды. И это совершенно нормально для такой корпорации, но как быть заплатившим за данный продукт уже не их дело.
    Хочу добавить что сама игра шедевральна (не зря я отыграл около около 240 часов) и поиграть в нее рекомендую, но людей оставили без денег и без возможности играть. ВЕРНИТЕ ЛЮДЯМ ИГРУ!!!
    Expand
  2. Mar 9, 2022
    0
    В связи с сложившейся ситуацией на Украине, для жителей Российской Федерации Майкрософт ввели санкции на игру, у меня вопрос к здравомыслящим людям, при чем тут обычные жители, которые хотят провести свободное время за любимой игрой. Сама игра хорошая, но политика компании оставляет желать лучшего.В связи с сложившейся ситуацией на Украине, для жителей Российской Федерации Майкрософт ввели санкции на игру, у меня вопрос к здравомыслящим людям, при чем тут обычные жители, которые хотят провести свободное время за любимой игрой. Сама игра хорошая, но политика компании оставляет желать лучшего.
  3. Nov 15, 2019
    4
    Sorry but: Bad performance, censorship with corpse and audio (especially women), glitches and bugs, campaigns deleted because some minorities believe is "bad" for this era, very bad online at the moment, extremely disk usage when game is opened with lot of freezing.
  4. Jan 9, 2020
    3
    I have been playing Age of Empires 2 since 1999. I loved the original game. I moved on to the HD edition. And wanted to love the definite edition.

    While the game in 1998 was perfectly finished without mayor bugs. This changed with 2013 and is even worse in the definite Edition. They have adopted a model of rush out the game and fix it later - if ever. You can expect a multiplayer,
    I have been playing Age of Empires 2 since 1999. I loved the original game. I moved on to the HD edition. And wanted to love the definite edition.

    While the game in 1998 was perfectly finished without mayor bugs. This changed with 2013 and is even worse in the definite Edition. They have adopted a model of rush out the game and fix it later - if ever.

    You can expect a multiplayer, where constantly player are going to drop out. For serious fans the multiplayer is what counts. I have played multiplayer for a couple of thousand hours in the different versions and a bugged multiplayer is an absolute NoNo....

    The grafic and sound is redone. Most veteran players do not like it at all. I really hated it. It is made for 13yo kidds who like it blurry and candylike. The animations may be more detailed and better, but a good game needs solid mechanics and to be bugfree.

    I will check in four years if the game has been fixed. But I do not expect too much as Microsoft has not fixed all bugs in the 2013 editon after 7 years! And it does not look like, that they take any efford in doing so as long as people buy crap anyway.

    Get the original one and play on voobly or the HD editon. The new one is not worth it for now.

    The game mechanics of Age of Empires as such are some of the best ever made and timeless. And thus the game of course has potential to became a good one. But I can not give a good mark for an unfinished buggy product rushed out by some sale people with a lot PR (Propaganda, payed reviewed, pushing influencers) and the usual stuff.

    By the way it is very telling that companies like Microsoft sell basically the same game for the third time instead of make somewhat innovative and new. Greed has killed creativity.

    The game engine has not been reworked and made fit for the modern multicore CPU but runs on one core as in 1998 and delivers very bad performance taking into account, what hardware is actually needed to run the same game in the original version.

    We can be glad, that there are no microtransaction or pay to win content, yet.
    Expand
  5. Jan 9, 2020
    4
    The game disconnects constantly in all online matches. It is frustrating not being able to play. The team does not solve the problem.
  6. Nov 19, 2019
    0
    Bad performance, too much bugs and crushes and Windows 10 (which is worst IMO) only.
  7. Nov 25, 2019
    0
    It's the same Age of Empires 2 game that have been released numerous times but with some real nice visuals and somehow worse UI. It's the same game that was already released few times. Wanted to give it a 5/10 but can't even finish campaign because of crashes.
  8. Jan 31, 2020
    0
    Buggy mess, terrible pathfinding, game design and multiplayer. Just a nostalgia cash grab.
  9. Nov 24, 2019
    1
    i wannat de pews but the pews where non existance in dis here game. call of dookie is muntch bester
  10. Jan 30, 2020
    2
    Una gran decepción el juego, dividió la comunidad, está lleno de bugs, y Microsoft se lavó las manos. No puede ser que una compañia tan grande entregue un juego tan mierda, nadie opina sinceramente por el esfuerzo que realizaron, pero realmente el producto final es un aporqueria habiéndolo jugado desde que salió.
  11. Jun 11, 2021
    0
    I honestly wonder how can people play this game today. I mean: it’s a trip in the early 2000, so i get that many players would love the nostalgia. But it is unplayable today. Super old: no great graphic improvements, animations are still very dated, battle mechanics are simply from another millenium.
  12. Mar 21, 2020
    3
    Stunning variety of game crashing bugs, unreliable servers and somehow even worse pathfinding than in HD makes for a spectacular experience.
  13. May 28, 2020
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. At first this game looks good but when you bought this game via Windowsstore and you're a veteran AOE II user, modder or campaign/scenario-designer there is not much for you. The game is completly locked, new AI's don't install, the game crashes permanently.
    I think Microsoft used the success of the original AOEII, gave it a bit of a facelift, made some quick money and didn't really care for the rest.
    Expand
  14. Dec 22, 2020
    2
    What started out as a welcome re-release, with updated graphics and a well performing engine (even at the largest of scenarios /skirmish maps), quickly snowballed into just another game that has been ruined with forced online content and constant updates that at best are just ADD candy, and at worst make changes that ruin the experience all together.

    Most recently these rolling updates
    What started out as a welcome re-release, with updated graphics and a well performing engine (even at the largest of scenarios /skirmish maps), quickly snowballed into just another game that has been ruined with forced online content and constant updates that at best are just ADD candy, and at worst make changes that ruin the experience all together.

    Most recently these rolling updates have not only changed the menu system without warning or option to revert, but it also has rendered the game engine very sluggish (and nearly catatonic) in the largest of scenarios /skirmishes, with the worst AI control and pathing I have seen yet.

    Where my own rating on this title started with a solid 10+, the update trend had it rapidly sliding down to a 2, and as of now am not likely to revisit it many more times (if ever again).
    Expand
  15. Nov 12, 2021
    0
    This game was created by Ensemble Studios, not the current developer. The current developer has essentially taken credit for everything ensemble built and has tried to erase history of ensemble. Do not trust the reviews on steam, they are fake. Age of empires 2, definitive edition doesnt deserve your money.

    We must fight the fake reviews on steam. Unfortunately you have to buy the game
    This game was created by Ensemble Studios, not the current developer. The current developer has essentially taken credit for everything ensemble built and has tried to erase history of ensemble. Do not trust the reviews on steam, they are fake. Age of empires 2, definitive edition doesnt deserve your money.

    We must fight the fake reviews on steam. Unfortunately you have to buy the game on steam to review on steam which doesnt make sense if you dont support the current developer.
    Expand
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Mar 5, 2020
    85
    At the end of the day, I'm not sure what else you could expect from a remaster of Age of Empires II: Definitive Edition. It was a great game in 1999, and it's aged better than most in its class. If you're looking for some solid RTS gameplay, single-player or multiplayer, look no further than Age of Empires II: Definitive Edition.
  2. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Feb 28, 2020
    100
    Only few creators can show off with such a good remaster as the creators of Age of Empires. The second instalment almost didn’t age, and its already great gameplay was perfected. [Issue#301]
  3. CD-Action
    Jan 10, 2020
    90
    As a person who was raised on Age of Empires I was satisfied with every aspect of the remake. Small missteps didn’t spoil the fun and the addition of new nations only deepened my love for the series. [01/2020, p.82]