Age of Wonders: Planetfall Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 62 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Age of Wonders: Planetfall is the new strategy game from Triumph Studios, creators of the critically acclaimed Age of Wonders series, bringing all the exciting tactical turn-based combat and in-depth empire building of its predecessors to space in an all-new, sci-fi setting.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Sep 13, 2019
    90
    You will hardly find a more elaborate sci-fi 4X turn-based strategy. Functional diplomacy, solid AI and brilliant battles are further supported by a highly modular approach to hero and unit customization.
  2. Aug 5, 2019
    90
    Initially unwieldy but eventually engrossing, Age of Wonders' latest entry translates its Civ-meets-XCOM formula brilliantly to a new sci-fi setting. Even if the elements of that sci-fi are a bit rote.
  3. Aug 5, 2019
    88
    Age of Wonders Planetfall takes on a new coat of paint for the franchise and does it well. The six factions are unique, the tactical combat is amazing and there are loads of choices to make. The perfect game to put hundreds of hours in.
  4. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Oct 11, 2019
    81
    Departure from fantasy setting didn’t turn Age of Wonders into a must-have game, neither did it break some truly new ground for the genre. Nevertheless, it’s a very nice strategy/tactics mix. [Issue#240, p.28]
  5. Aug 9, 2019
    80
    Age of Wonders: Planetfall takes several turns to get moving, and newcomers might feel overwhelmed until they gain their bearings, but Triumph Studios’ newest strategy offering is full of fun, creative ideas and each faction is worth taking for a spin at least once. Building a sustainable empire and managing a happy populous takes some grunt work, but they are really just stepping stones to Age of Wonders: Planetfall’s epic firefights.
  6. Aug 5, 2019
    80
    A number of flaws such as a disappointing campaign, a rigid tech tree, and a couple of bugs hamper Age of Wonders: Planetfall. However, it more than makes up for these flaws with its refreshing charm, tactical battles, and customization choices for the avid 4X player.
  7. Aug 19, 2019
    60
    a satisfying strategy experience with a ton of replayability, and factions that feel truly distinct. Its randomly generated maps can feel so organic you might think they were hand-crafted. It has a bevy of minor issues, however, like a cumbersome UI and stilted animations, and its lack of tactical depth on the battle map leaves it feeling like a game from a decade ago.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 24
  2. Negative: 7 out of 24
  1. Oct 4, 2019
    10
    Story mode is not just 4 missions, I have played it for over 100 hours, several scenarios/missions (I think I am in my eighth scenario or so),Story mode is not just 4 missions, I have played it for over 100 hours, several scenarios/missions (I think I am in my eighth scenario or so), and i am still in story mode. The more you play the more engrossing the game gets. Expand
  2. Aug 13, 2019
    10
    Thumbs up! Sleek, well-tested 4x strategy game with an added layer of deep tactical combat. Lots of variety, tactics, and content. The AI willThumbs up! Sleek, well-tested 4x strategy game with an added layer of deep tactical combat. Lots of variety, tactics, and content. The AI will give you a run for your money. Expand
  3. Aug 6, 2019
    10
    Deep systems, great sound and graphics, interesting factions and units, lots of customization options, and engaging combat. If you enjoy theDeep systems, great sound and graphics, interesting factions and units, lots of customization options, and engaging combat. If you enjoy the setting, Age of Wonders series, or 4X in general, it’d be hard not to recommend this game. Expand
  4. Aug 17, 2019
    8
    just finished the campaign (played first part with one race, then part 1 and 2 with another one). i have mixed feelings. firstly i wasjust finished the campaign (played first part with one race, then part 1 and 2 with another one). i have mixed feelings. firstly i was surprised it was already over, i thought it was just the beginning of the story, and it turned out it was already the end. very disappointed (or disillusioned) with that. i guess there will be dlcs... but the fact that you can finish the main campaign playing through, i'm not even sure now, 4 missions is laughable. though the game is certainly engaging, it feels like a fast food meal, i.e. everything is pretty generic and shallow, all the systems, research tree etc. combat, with many interlinked systems, is probably the best part. in terms of the "empire building" part, there is really little substance to it, you have sectors, you research upgrades to sector types, terrain types or terrain features and build them. there's also a few buildings. that's it. every city will eventually build everything, because there's little to build. hard to say anything about the ai, i was playing on beginner and was able to finish the game with little interaction with the ai. even when i started the winning countdown for the technology win, the ai didn't seem to react (at all in the first case, in the second case it has send two armies of 2-3 stacks that i was able to repeal quite easily, even though i was alone and had several commanders against me). not sure if this was due to the beginner level, but i was able to win even though i wasn't the best "civ" in anything according to the ingame rankings, and explored only like 1/4 of the map. there are many combat mods and you can tailor your units to your needs, but since most of them are situational (as different units/races have different strenghts/vulnerabilities), i ended up with using basic +accuracy +defense most of the time anyway. as for the gfx, it's ok. so is music, nothing spectacular (though i feel like i've heard one track/melody already in mass effect, i wonder if that was intentional...). at the beginning it's really hard to "read the map", it's possible to get used to, but it's still hard to discern features. in the final campaigns i was also constantly spammed each turn with msgs from hostile commanders that they despise me, not sure what was the point of that as this was clear from turn 2 - i guess this will be fixed. overall, it's a decent mcmeal, will probably get better with dlcs, but if you're looking for a deep strategy game, look somewhere else, this one is pretty "casual". all that said, i liked it and would probably be still playing the campaign if the campaign wasn't a joke consisting of 2 missions. Expand
  5. Aug 8, 2019
    5
    I have spent many years playing Civilization and this looked similar so I thought I'd take a look. Suffice to say this is nothing likeI have spent many years playing Civilization and this looked similar so I thought I'd take a look. Suffice to say this is nothing like Civilization. I could not figure out what I was supposed to do and even when I could it was not clear why I was doing it.

    The interface was far too busy with too much going on. I definite sense of sensory overload and worse still no real tutorial just a talking head spouting far too much information to actually be meaningful.

    I also got the sense that you had little control over how decisions are made and a lot of it is controlled by the AI.

    I'll persist a little longer but so far not very satisfying. Indeed quite frustrating. I suspect this may be refund territory.
    Expand
  6. Aug 26, 2019
    4
    This game was a disappointment. Critic reviews seemed to say that it was great despite some minor shortcomings. I do not agree. In fact,This game was a disappointment. Critic reviews seemed to say that it was great despite some minor shortcomings. I do not agree. In fact, none of the aspects of the game are done well and, it being a hybrid of a few genres, is a stark reminder that it cannot hope to come close to any distinct genre in depth or quality.

    The combat is boring; this game is by no means XCOM-like beyond superficial details. There is little skill involved and the AI seems to use cheap tactics. The incremental upgrades lack any impressive oomph. The locales are rather generic and get old after a couple of hours.

    The campaign is boring, the writing is bad, and the acting is worse. Not enough background is given to induce caring about the protagonists.

    Though this game bears a resemblance to the latest Civ games, there is no visual indication of sector improvement and the improvements are generic and limited.

    I can imagine someone enjoying this game for more than a couple of hours but, given how many choices there are this year, this seems like a "don't buy".
    Expand
  7. Sep 7, 2019
    0
    The game is not what supposed to be.

    Is turn-based strategy as when you start your own Scenario you only have 150 Turns to make a victory.
    The game is not what supposed to be.

    Is turn-based strategy as when you start your own Scenario you only have 150 Turns to make a victory. The options are few, only 4 RACES. ONLY 4 and 4 NPC's. The technology tree is extremely thin. By 70 turns you already finished 70% of tech tree without many improvements of even fun.

    I've played 23 hours trying to find some FUN in it.

    It adds NOTHING new to the game. You could play a lot more fun 4X games then this one.

    Considering also the PRICE TAG that is HUGE vs. the LOW QUALITY OF THE GAME. Is not worth it.

    It's real value would be 19.95$ at max. This was an abuse by producers because they used the name: "Age of Wonders".

    My advice? DO NOT BUY IT. The developers are doing lame updates , no NEW units , no NEW races and extremely boring game and action in it.
    Expand

See all 24 User Reviews