• Publisher: NCSOFT
  • Release Date: Sep 22, 2009
Aion Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 437 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Aion is a massively multiplayer online RPG where players ascend to divinity and fight in an epic celestial war. Wielding divine powers and the capability for true flight, players must bring salvation to their people and restore balance to a vast, beautiful world shattered by cataclysm. [NCsoft]
Buy On
  • Developer: NCSOFT
  • Genre(s): Role-Playing, Massively Multiplayer Online, Massively Multiplayer, Fantasy, Fantasy
  • # of players: Massively Multiplayer
  • Cheats: On GameFAQs
  • Rating: T
  • More Details and Credits »

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Aion - Memories of War Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 42
  2. Negative: 1 out of 42
  1. Aion is very close to being a perfect example of the current idea of how a fantasy based MMO should be implemented. I would even suggest Aion might be the climax of the typical design elements of the genre. There was room for 1 more player in fantasy based MMO’s (as long as they were a major player) and Aion has taken up that spot, and definitely pushed some competitors out of the picture by doing so.
  2. Aion is simply the best looking MMORPG out there. Also it’s fun and challenging!
  3. On its own merits, Aion is a supremely impressive MMO that should appeal to both casual and veteran players alike.
  4. 80
    The game has a high degree of armor customization. The player could have a giant fish weapon, or even have a pair of devil horns and a bright red suit. Being able to fly and attack at the same time is unique and very entertaining in Aion. Those who do not like PvP should steer clear since a large part of the story is protecting your land from the opposing faction, but PvP lovers owe it to themselves to check this game out.
  5. The Asia-themed setting is quite fresh, but not everybody's cup of tea. There is no shame in giving it a try though.
  6. AceGamez
    70
    NCSoft have produced a fine game but, in the end, it's simply too little, too late.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 167
  2. Negative: 55 out of 167
  1. JoeB
    Sep 29, 2009
    10
    Some people may feel that this MMO mimicks WoW or other MMO's but I feel it epitomizes the MMO experience. The fluid, complex combat Some people may feel that this MMO mimicks WoW or other MMO's but I feel it epitomizes the MMO experience. The fluid, complex combat along with the powerful storyline stands side by side with the breath taking graphics. The element of flight in this game is remarkable. The PvPvE aspect is unique but successfull. Overall, I think it is the best MMO so far released and I am glad to see it highly populated from the start. Expand
  2. JungS.
    Sep 27, 2009
    10
    This is an absolutely gorgeous game for a MMOrpg and one of the most addictive games you could ever get your hands on. No grinding what so This is an absolutely gorgeous game for a MMOrpg and one of the most addictive games you could ever get your hands on. No grinding what so ever. If you consider doing quests, grinding, MMO is not your game. Unless you played WoW and was influenced by how easy it is to level up. Expand
  3. TheChase
    Jan 9, 2010
    9
    If you give the game less then 5 only because its a grind you really need to play more games. Anyways Ive played aion since beta Pros: If you give the game less then 5 only because its a grind you really need to play more games. Anyways Ive played aion since beta Pros: Graphics, Sound, Large Scale organized pvp, crafting produces useful items, plenty of quests to keep you busy. pvp designated and pve designated zones. Monthly rewards for subscribing to the game. Cons: Solo PvP is unbalanced you will be useless without a group if you play certain classes. Drop rates for items are really shitty. a 20 minute boss fight with no loot is pretty annoying. pvp highly dependent on consumables, making it costly to be at your best. Instances are very very long because there are a lot of repeatable quests you do during them that u have to run out and back in for which takes about 5 minutes, when u have a group and 6 people do it there is a lot of slow down. Thats all i can think of but another thing to mention is until u get near level 50 pvp does not scale well. Even though the cons look longer i still find this one of the most enjoyable mmo's i have found in a long time, and considering this game is still pretty fresh the horizon is looking bright and im sticking around. Expand
  4. ChristopherB
    Nov 30, 2009
    7
    Graphics are very good. Gamplay is fun. There isn't much to complain about in my opinion. Most of the people here that complains about Graphics are very good. Gamplay is fun. There isn't much to complain about in my opinion. Most of the people here that complains about this game is WOW related. Saying its a ripoff and so on. Aion isn't the best game but its very fun. Expand
  5. NateS
    Oct 6, 2009
    5
    The first week with this game was terrible. The 2 day head start would always start with a 3 hour queue time during peak hours, and that The first week with this game was terrible. The 2 day head start would always start with a 3 hour queue time during peak hours, and that queue would continue through out the week. Second week I was able to play without waiting and while the experience was great, the game still just feels like other typical MMOs e.g. Kill 20 of these, pick 15 of these, find this guy then come back to me. The game is pretty polished, animations are smooth, but it feels like they didn't put any effort in creating something unique. This is apparently a PvP centered game, but most of the PvP doesn't start until around level 25, so you would have to tough it out through the boring grind from 1-25 just to see and PvP action. If you are the type to enjoy grinding and are able to handle that repetitiveness then this is probably a game for you. If you hate that type of experience then steer clear from this. This game is most likely going to end up like all the other previous MMOs before it, even though i quit World of Warcraft years ago, even i could tell that this game will not knock Blizzard off their throne. Expand
  6. RobD.
    Sep 27, 2009
    4
    The upsides: * Good looking game (environments/characters) * Flying is cool * Very well optimized, runs smoothly * "Locate" function is The upsides: * Good looking game (environments/characters) * Flying is cool * Very well optimized, runs smoothly * "Locate" function is fantastic: you don't get lost trying to find a quest NPC or region * Warping back to your bindpoint has a 20 min cooldown vs the standard 60 min. The downsides: * I don't mind the XP debt or cost of dying, but seriously, no respawn points? You respawn back at your last bindpoint, which can be super far away. * At this point, a lot of quests are sort of buggy: for example, a very early quest has you pick up wine barrels. Sometimes it won't let you pick up some, but you can others. Or, it may ask you to kill "violent worgs". So you kill some but it doesn't register: go about 2 feet further and the ones you'll encounter register, even though the zone doesn't change. * The chat system sucks. /ignore doesn't prevent people from sending you messages and you still have to see them type, even though they show up in your blocked list. * You get your wings at level 10 and then at about level 11 when you move to the next area, you can't use your wings at all. The entire zone prevents flying (you can glide but that's not nearly as fun and you have to jump off a cliff of which there aren't many). Boring. * The combat is boring. Repeat the same key sequence ad infinitum. * The story is such garbage they might as well have just abandoned it and said "just go kill 10 of these things" for every quest. Since the story is lame and the combat gets boring soon after you get your new skills, it really makes the game feel super grindy, more than most MMOs. I kept wondering when I'd be able to do the real PvP but apparently that's not until like level 20 or so. I just couldn't bring myself to keep playing for that. Got a sorc to level 16, ranger to 11, spirit master to 11, templar to 13 and none were all that fun (though the sorc was the best by far). Expand
  7. AlexC
    Sep 25, 2009
    0
    Glad I didn't stick with this and stayed with Champions Online. Played Aion in the beta and it was just a boring grind fest, Glad I didn't stick with this and stayed with Champions Online. Played Aion in the beta and it was just a boring grind fest, "westernised". Problem being, it still is post release. If you are into fantasy play this. If you are cool like me, and want to be a superhero and not a generic WoW clone, play Chapions Online. Stay away from this grind fest at all costs. They certainly wont be getting a sub out of me! Expand

See all 167 User Reviews