User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 118 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 118
  2. Negative: 33 out of 118

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DouglasC.
    Jan 2, 2009
    9
    I love this game, it's a real challenge unlike some other FPS i have played. Clever AI and a cool Sci-Fi storyline make this a must have in my opinion. Graphics could be better and the sound isn't earth shattering but the gameplay is great fun.
  2. AceS.
    Jul 8, 2009
    10
    A game that is getting bad reviews soley based on where it came from. Why is it if a game is not a AAA title made by 100+ men teams it automatically will get a C at best. Its time someone steps up and says something about the many reviewing houses that have lost the love of games and only love what advertises the best. We're too scared of original and new IP and only want to give A game that is getting bad reviews soley based on where it came from. Why is it if a game is not a AAA title made by 100+ men teams it automatically will get a C at best. Its time someone steps up and says something about the many reviewing houses that have lost the love of games and only love what advertises the best. We're too scared of original and new IP and only want to give good "grades" to those games already established, even if they're not very good. PLEASE support game studios that are just about making games...not money. Expand
  3. MarkoV.
    Jun 5, 2007
    9
    Best FPS I have played in a while. No crazy monsters or ghost, just real sci-fi... like half-life 2. The story is also great. The game is not at all difficult (as many suggests in some reviews). I have played it in NORMAL mode and had no problems. I would give it a 10 but because of the shortness (I have finished it in less then 10 hours) it deserves a 9. I hope there will be a sequel!!! Best FPS I have played in a while. No crazy monsters or ghost, just real sci-fi... like half-life 2. The story is also great. The game is not at all difficult (as many suggests in some reviews). I have played it in NORMAL mode and had no problems. I would give it a 10 but because of the shortness (I have finished it in less then 10 hours) it deserves a 9. I hope there will be a sequel!!! Oh..one more thing. I must admit I have a low-end gaming machine (XP 3000, 9800SE, 1G RAM) but the game runs perfect even with all options enabled! I don't know how they did that... just awesome! Expand
  4. MichaelU.
    Mar 2, 2008
    9
    A really good game. You have to think a lot and use tactics, because the enemies are very powerful. You can't just run and gun, you have think. I also like how there wasn't any dumb monsters, just humans and robots. The game is a little on the short side, and there is no multiplayer (shame), but don't forget that you're only paying about $20 for this game. In A really good game. You have to think a lot and use tactics, because the enemies are very powerful. You can't just run and gun, you have think. I also like how there wasn't any dumb monsters, just humans and robots. The game is a little on the short side, and there is no multiplayer (shame), but don't forget that you're only paying about $20 for this game. In conclusion, great game, but loses a point for the mediocre voice acting and strange ending. Expand
  5. JamesW.
    Dec 11, 2007
    9
    Very strong story with believable characters. The space ship/planet mining facility setting is tired but the great graphics and the characters make it playable - one more time. The voice acting is good and I liked the hero portrayed as being a greying and long-in-the-tooth cynic. At a price of only $20 (on Steam) the game is a real value. I will keep my eye out for another offering from Very strong story with believable characters. The space ship/planet mining facility setting is tired but the great graphics and the characters make it playable - one more time. The voice acting is good and I liked the hero portrayed as being a greying and long-in-the-tooth cynic. At a price of only $20 (on Steam) the game is a real value. I will keep my eye out for another offering from Black Element. Expand
  6. FrankieM.
    Dec 21, 2007
    9
    Good graphics great story line.
  7. Sacred_flame101
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    my god this was such a great game i enjoyed it a hell of a lot the story was quite good there was a nice array of weaponry and it is just a great game. people who rated it low probably just suck at fps games this is one of the best i have played. do yourself a favor and play this game
  8. JeffN.
    Aug 21, 2008
    8
    I really enjoyed this game and think the others are too critical. The acting is not bad at all, the characters are interesting and the story is pretty good. I am not an FPS noob, having played virtually every major one since the original Wolfenstein and Doom. I really like the fact that combat isn't "run and gun" like so many shooters. It takes thought and planning. I had to save I really enjoyed this game and think the others are too critical. The acting is not bad at all, the characters are interesting and the story is pretty good. I am not an FPS noob, having played virtually every major one since the original Wolfenstein and Doom. I really like the fact that combat isn't "run and gun" like so many shooters. It takes thought and planning. I had to save often, and many times had to re-do a room or fight sequence that I just got killed in. The graphics and sound are very nice. The weapons are typical shooter fare, but I like the addition of the flame thrower... very cool. The game also takes a nice piece from F.E.A.R. with bullet time, but you need to reload it with Hubbardium (like finding med kits), so you get used to using it more strategically. I also really liked the hacking feature. Overall it is a great game, especially for the $20 value! Nothing earth shattering, but what it tries to do it does very well. Expand
  9. Aug 29, 2011
    8
    You know , I'm a Hong Kong Player , I feel this game is absolutely fantastic ! I like the most is the OSTs of this game --- Alpha Prime , their atmosphere is really really exciting and rhythmic !
  10. Sep 6, 2014
    8
    This isn't 60 dollar title.. if you can grab it for 5 bucks and like shooters then I would recommend it.
    Standard fare.. HL2 Doom etc. run and gun with decent graphics. not a long game but again.. its a lot for the price.. I wasn't expecting Mass Effect 3
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 19
  2. Negative: 2 out of 19
  1. PC Format
    69
    Pretty but tedious, Alpha Prime is a solid but supremely derivative shooter that's more often a chore than a pleasure. [June 2007, p.60]
  2. PC Zone UK
    58
    Alpha Prime, with a passable storyline and passable gameplay, is a little passable anomaly. [July 2007, p.77]
  3. PC Gamer UK
    60
    A pretty shell for a game that's pretty lacking. Not much fun. [Aug 2007, p.92]