Amnesia: A Machine for Pigs PC

Amnesia: A Machine for Pigs Image
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 59 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 823 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Amnesia: A Machine for Pigs is an upcoming survival horror video game developed by thechineseroom and produced by Frictional Games. The game is an indirect sequel to Amnesia: The Dark Descent, which was developed and produced by Frictional Games.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 59
  2. Negative: 1 out of 59
  1. Sep 10, 2013
    91
    Amnesia: A Machine for Pigs is a well-oiled horror mechanism. It's a great sequel that will be loved by the old and new players.
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    Oct 5, 2013
    84
    Amnesia: A Machine For Pigs has its faults as a game, but as an experience it can’t be faulted. [Oct 2013]
  3. Sep 9, 2013
    80
    Scary as hell, but not so much like its predecessor The Dark Descent - considered one of the scariest games ever made -, this Machine for Pigs is truly a terrifying Lovecraftian tale of Victorian and industrial horror, with unthinkable machines, mad doctors and more, but with some wrong design decisions.
  4. Sep 9, 2013
    70
    It is a definite step back from The Dark Descent, but even several steps back makes this better than almost any other horror game released in the past decade.
  5. Dec 12, 2013
    70
    A Machine for Pigs is a well made and impressive game with a thorough thematic design and atmosphere. As a horror game it is rather spartan yet brilliant in that it let’s your brain conjure most of its horrors. Unfortunately it comes with a rather numbing effect that makes later parts of the game feel more formulaic and not as scary.
  6. Sep 11, 2013
    70
    Amnesia: A Machine For Pigs is a pretty good game, with a well written story, good voice acting, an atmospheric musical score, suitably varied and eerie environments, and quite a few stomach churning and downright creepy moments. It never gets boring or frustrating, and there are no passages in particular that qualify as less than enjoyable. Unfortunately, though, it’s just not that scary. And that’s quite the let down for a horror game.
  7. Sep 11, 2013
    37
    A Machine for Pigs takes Amnesia's formula and shows us how to screw it up. The idea had huge potential, but it's squandered on what frankly is a cheap and uninvolving game. This was an extremely disappointing experience.

See all 59 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 313
  1. Sep 10, 2013
    10
    Amnesia: A Machine for Pigs is definitely not the same game as The Dark Descent. It's quite different. It's got fewer jump scares and it's notAmnesia: A Machine for Pigs is definitely not the same game as The Dark Descent. It's quite different. It's got fewer jump scares and it's not as splatter-horror-y as some fans might have wished. But boy, that overwhelming, thick sense of dread that comes with every step down into the unholy machine. Not to mention the brillant soundtrack by Jessica Curry (do yourselves a favour and buy it) and the brillant writing by Dan Pinchbeck. I guess it takes a bit of effort to actually get involved into the story (similar to Dear Esther) but you'll probably get one of the most literary experiences in video games to date. Expand
  2. Sep 20, 2013
    9
    Part of the problem with most horror game reviews are simply they are rushed through just to get the review finished with. Put on yourPart of the problem with most horror game reviews are simply they are rushed through just to get the review finished with. Put on your headphones, isolate yourself from other people, turn off all of the lights, and play A Machine for Pigs. After playing this game in that kind of isolation, as it should be played, (who would want to watch a horror movie or play a horror game in broad daylight anyways?) what I got from this game was a constant feeling of dreadful anxiety.

    A Machine for Pigs is different in the sense of mechanics from The Dark Descent, but it terrified me more than the original title. The sequel takes a step further in atmospheric horror, giving you a horrible dread throughout the entire game. This is where it improves from the original. The previous Amnesia had its pockets where you felt like you overcame a situation and had an opportunity to breathe and relax for a bit. In A Machine for Pigs, you are constantly under an awfully frightening Victorian inspired atmosphere. The writing is incredibly dark and twisted, and the level design is superb. Plummeting further into the dreadful machine had me yelling out loud and screaming; the eerie machinery and loud noises is something that will always be a terrifying mechanism to use, which brings me to my next point, the music.

    The music and general sound in this game is by far the best out of anything that I have heard out of a horror themed creation period. A large portion of the game I spent yelling for the loud, sudden noises to stop, in which most cases they did not. This is scary as hell, and so is this game's suddenly deathly quietness in some cases, where the sound of pressure is filled inside your head, making it feel like you can't breathe.

    In conclusion, anyone who wants something to stay absolutely the same is not going to be happy. Amnesia: A Machine for Pigs is a game that changes from its predecessor and actually works and improves on the original. Sure there there are no tinderboxes, no sanity, and no lantern oil, but it is a more story driven horror title. A Machine for Pigs shows that copying and pasting game mechanics from its previous title is not needed to be an even scarier game.

    This game took me just under six hours to beat with myself taking my time and immersing myself completely, which is a good amount of gameplay for a $20 game. Yes, this is a different experience, and in my opinion, a much more frightening one.
    Expand
  3. Oct 27, 2013
    8
    This game is better and worst than The Dark Descent.
    The story it's very good but hard to understand,but no accidentally,the creators made
    This game is better and worst than The Dark Descent.
    The story it's very good but hard to understand,but no accidentally,the creators made the story be spelled in some lately parts,and in the other they concentrate on game play.
    The scare factor is made by the atmosphere and the monsters that appear at some times.
    I personally didn't like that they limited what you can hold,so you can tell this game is for no brain-ers,because it simply tells you that you can use that but not that.
    The ending was a bit obscure and mysterious,and i didn't understand everything.
    I don't think someone will waste his time with a custom story,because it's no inventory,no sanity and no oil,the notes are too long and some of them are useless.
    But cool game if you like puzzle adventure with a bit of horror.
    Expand
  4. Sep 10, 2013
    5
    A machine for pigs does have entertainment value. I played the game from end to end (all 3.5 hours of it) and it was interesting to makeA machine for pigs does have entertainment value. I played the game from end to end (all 3.5 hours of it) and it was interesting to make guesses as to what's actually going on and getting more and more clues.

    However, that about sums up the game. You can leave your light on from start to finish if you wish and there's no inventory. The scare factor is 0/10 (the game features about 4 or 5 enemy encounters, but they're just anthropomorphic pigs with bad pathfinding, so when one appears in front of you, you lead them in a circle and continue (which is one of the problems: the game is almost entirely a linear walk through rooms, it never locks you in the dark with something scary or such). All puzzles are object fetching (reaching their highpoint when you have to fetch two things instead of one).

    I don't regret this buy, but it is more of a playable fan-fiction story inspired by Amnesia than anything else. "The Dark Descent" was much smarter about how it tried to invoke fear (eg. the water chase, the wine cellar, the vivisection room) and it had clever puzzles. Frictional Games should have taken this game from "The Chinese Room" in its current state and then built their own scares and puzzles into it because what I see could have been an excellent foundation for a real Amnesia 2.
    Expand
  5. Sep 10, 2013
    4
    Goddamit, this is something that i really enjoyed... Not really, the first Amnesia was pretty good, it was sandboxy game (picking up almostGoddamit, this is something that i really enjoyed... Not really, the first Amnesia was pretty good, it was sandboxy game (picking up almost every object) with nice gameplay tinderboxes, sanity and such. That what it became is horrible and doesn't feel like original Amnesia. I am highly disappointed, and thinking that i wanted to buy this... Expand
  6. Sep 21, 2013
    3
    This game took very little effort and time, so little time in fact that I can't imagine paying more than 10$ Let alone 20$.

    -1 Not nearly
    This game took very little effort and time, so little time in fact that I can't imagine paying more than 10$ Let alone 20$.

    -1 Not nearly scary as the first, not as grim or dark its literally lit everywhere
    -1 Way short less than 4 hours of game play and I finished it just a moment ago in 2 hours 30 minutes
    -1 No threats, I died once on purpose, that was all
    -1 Puzzles not puzzling at all, everything you need is located right next to you and journal tells you how
    -1 Very confusing story and as you progress it gets boring and some of it makes no sense
    -1 Ending, climax of the story was weak, very very weak and predictable
    -1 No inventory, no combining, no oil no limited resources
    +1 Awesome voice acting
    +1 Amazing sound track
    +1 Bacon! Couple of throwbacks to the first game

    As a fan of Frictional's Penumbra series and Amnesia the lacking of puzzles and the shortness makes this less of a game an more of a mod on the old engine. You can't interact with 90% of the boxes and items like you could in the first and the paths are all straight forward.
    Expand
  7. Nov 6, 2014
    0
    Horrible game. Boring story, just walking around, not scary at all. Great graphics, but that is not the important part. I hoped that i wasHorrible game. Boring story, just walking around, not scary at all. Great graphics, but that is not the important part. I hoped that i was near the end when i played this game, so i runned through everything that is "scary*.

    I was very disappointed.
    Expand

See all 313 User Reviews