Amnesia: Rebirth Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 54 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 211 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: You can't let out a breath. The creature is only inches away. Its sole purpose - to feed off your terror. And so you crouch in the dark, trying to stop the fear rising, trying to silence what lies within you. "I know you. I know what you're capable of." In Amnesia: Rebirth, you are TasiYou can't let out a breath. The creature is only inches away. Its sole purpose - to feed off your terror. And so you crouch in the dark, trying to stop the fear rising, trying to silence what lies within you. "I know you. I know what you're capable of." In Amnesia: Rebirth, you are Tasi Trianon, waking up deep in the desert of Algeria. Days have passed. Where have you been? What did you do? Where are the others? Retrace your journey, pull together the fragments of your shattered past; it is your only chance to survive the pitiless horror that threatens to devour you.

    "Do not allow yourself anger, do not allow yourself to fear."

    Time is against you. Step into Tasi's shoes and guide her through her personal terror and pain. While you struggle to make your way through a desolate landscape, you must also struggle with your own hopes, fears, and bitter regrets. And still you must continue, step by step, knowing that if you fail you will lose everything.

    * First-person narrative horror experience
    * Explore environments and uncover their histories.
    * Overcome puzzles that stand in your way.
    * Carefully manage your limited resources, both physical and mental.
    * Encounter horrific creatures and use your wits and understanding of the world to escape them.
    Expand

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Amnesia: Rebirth - Official Release Date Reveal Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. Oct 19, 2020
    91
    A brilliant tale of terror, even if the ride is a little old and clunky.
  2. Oct 19, 2020
    90
    Amnesia: Rebirth is definitely both better and worse than SOMA. In an attempt to blend the best of Amnesia: The Dark Descent and SOMA something went inevitably missing, nevertheless Frictional Games is back with one of the greatest survival horror games in so many aspects.
  3. Oct 26, 2020
    85
    Amnesia: Rebirth is an excellent example of how to build tension, and the vulnerability Tasi feels throughout never gets any easier. There are great puzzles and a well-written story that keeps you gripped until the end.
  4. Oct 19, 2020
    80
    Amnesia: Rebirth beautifully tackles the battle between light and darkness, not just thematically but mechanically too. The areas where it clicks strike an excellent balance of problem solving and pure adrenaline, even if some of the later sections drag due to uninteresting puzzles and infrequent ghoul tussles. But with a consistently engaging story throughout, Rebirth still stands as one of the most thrilling survival horror games in recent memory – one that is anything but forgettable.
  5. Oct 26, 2020
    80
    Despite some boring locales and an over-reliance on the darkness just for the sake of it, Amnesia: Rebirth is an excellent horror game with some fun puzzles, well-written characters, and genuinely terrifying moments.
  6. Oct 19, 2020
    80
    Though its scares don't reach the heights of the original, Amnesia: Rebirth remains a must-play horror game for delivering a story more akin to a brilliant novel.
  7. Oct 27, 2020
    50
    With a tighter script and more polish, this could've been a fantastic game that paralleled the trauma of child loss to the evil enterprise of colonial expansion. Instead, it's one that insincerely mines trauma from a colonizer's perspective... then asks you to do a half-hearted physics puzzle.

See all 56 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 66
  2. Negative: 15 out of 66
  1. Oct 21, 2020
    10
    Great to see that Frictional still has it in them to make a game which lives up to the first one. The improvements taken from SOMA are evidentGreat to see that Frictional still has it in them to make a game which lives up to the first one. The improvements taken from SOMA are evident and the immersion is better than in any of their games. FG's choice of a female protagonist works very well with the story, and in fact adds the much needed emotional element which I thought was lacking in Amnesia The Dark Descent. The voice acting by Alix Wilton Regan is top notch and I can't emphasize this enough because to replace a silent protagonist from the first game with a speaking one is a risky move and Alix nails the part. I recommend that all survival horror fans give this one a go. Show your support for Frictional Games; they deserve every bit of it. Expand
  2. Nov 7, 2020
    10
    Simply a wonderful game. I believe this game is absolutely much superior to The Dark Descent and the developers made an awesome job to keepSimply a wonderful game. I believe this game is absolutely much superior to The Dark Descent and the developers made an awesome job to keep the horror really good but also improved a ton with an innovating, heart-breaking, fantastic story to the game. The main character is a really interesting character and I really resonated with them. Not all of the game's moment were super scary but they always had some sort of tension, or a mystery, or the anticipation to see what is going to happen next, also not knowing what is your surroundings or what has happened. I got really surprised by this game's reviews, because I personally think this game really deserves a 10/10 in my book. I don't think I even have to describe the visuals, they are truly fantastic even at low settings and some places simply by their atmosphere keeps you at edge. I really recommend this game. However, if you are the type of person who's not very interested in story/lore, this game won't have such a good view to you as it was with me, since it focuses a lot at that. Even then, you will get a lot of scares, I feel. Expand
  3. Oct 25, 2020
    9
    One of the best horror games i played this year , good story , good voice acting but there is room for improvement in na futer DLC.
  4. Dec 6, 2020
    7
    Game focuses on the narrative more than the actual horror. Plot is intriguing but however at the end nothing is really explained nor do theGame focuses on the narrative more than the actual horror. Plot is intriguing but however at the end nothing is really explained nor do the characters ever ponder to understand the events in the narrative or basically why any of these things are happening to them. Any new lore introduced was introduced through notes instead of in real time or in the narrative which makes the game feel like it didn't introduce anything new. Most of the characters are quite forgettable and other than the plot holes in the narrative and the clearly rushed endings they also went easy on the horror elements the whole game which sucked but the amazing soundtrack will still get u scared. Only Tasie is well written and maybe salim too but that's it and some plot twists are made predictable by the beginning. Expand
  5. Oct 23, 2020
    6
    Too scripted
    Not enough horror gameplay/too much walking sim
    All characters are uninteresting Main character breaks all immersion by
    Too scripted
    Not enough horror gameplay/too much walking sim
    All characters are uninteresting
    Main character breaks all immersion by talking too much

    Not horrible, but forgettable
    Expand
  6. May 3, 2022
    5
    As a fan of Frictional's previous games, I was expecting something great after the brilliant SOMA. Sadly, Rebirth falls back on the lamestAs a fan of Frictional's previous games, I was expecting something great after the brilliant SOMA. Sadly, Rebirth falls back on the lamest horror cliches: walking through endless dark hallways, enemies that are basically zombies, spooky images popping out of nowhere. The puzzles are very mundane and uninteresting. The main gameplay mechanic is collecting matches to activate light fixtures, so the protagonist doesn't get too "scared." But unlike real life, you can't use a light source that's already burning to light other light sources. There's also a lantern but it runs out of oil so quickly and its light is dimmer than a single lit match. So it quickly feels very silly and contrived. The game looks immersive, and the voice acting is great. It's just so monotonous to actually play. Expand
  7. Apr 23, 2022
    0
    I refuse to think this one as part of the Amnesia series. The story is much less ambiguous and it is agenda driven. But the worst offence isI refuse to think this one as part of the Amnesia series. The story is much less ambiguous and it is agenda driven. But the worst offence is that it's not scary at all, the forgettable gender swapped protagonist constantly talks not giving you a single moment for the feeling of isolation. The developer also tries to break stereotypes by creating more absurd stereotypes. None of the characters felt real or relatable and at times they were outright insufferable. There is no chemistry between the protagonist and her husband. They made him so insecure that she needs to keep reassuring him she loves him the way he is so many times.

    Also some of the mechanics didn't make sense at all: She can only carry 10 matches and she can't pick up any of the candles or torches cause they are superglued to the ground. Everything else you can pick and throw around no matter how heavy. There are almost as many letters left around as Gone Home, they should have found more diverse ways to convey the story. I also found a letter that was written in German, I speak German so it's not a problem for me, but what will the other people do? google translate? Don't even start with how she starts to melt if she stays under the sun for five seconds and starts going crazy if she stays in the dark for more than five seconds...

    As for the graphics, they are out of date even for 2020, and game is locked at 60 fps maximum where 144hz monitors are the basic for gaming these days. , The cinematics are images with voice over which is lazy or cheap in my opinion.
    Expand

See all 66 User Reviews