Amnesia: The Dark Descent Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 44 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1552 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The last remaining memories fade away into darkness. Your mind is a mess and only a feeling of being hunted remains. You must escape. Awake... Amnesia: The Dark Descent, a first person survival horror. A game about immersion, discovery and living through a nightmare. An experience that willThe last remaining memories fade away into darkness. Your mind is a mess and only a feeling of being hunted remains. You must escape. Awake... Amnesia: The Dark Descent, a first person survival horror. A game about immersion, discovery and living through a nightmare. An experience that will chill you to the core. Expand
Buy Now
Buy on
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. Jan 18, 2011
    100
    It was without a doubt one of the most difficult, draining, and stressful gaming experiences I have ever had, but it's also an absolute masterpiece.
  2. Frictional made an interactive adventure that always pushes you to descend deeper and deeper towards the heart of evil, balancing the exploration of your own mind towards the point of maximum dementia with the exploration of a castle perhaps older than we are initially led to believe...
  3. PC Format
    Dec 25, 2010
    90
    This isn't a game, it's a trip into the human psyche's darker spaces. Not for the faint of heart, but horror junkies will lap it up. [Issue#246, p.107]
  4. 85
    This is one of the scariest games in recent memory.
  5. Amnesia is a little gem you don't want to miss. Unless you are too scared.
  6. PC PowerPlay
    Oct 27, 2010
    80
    The most terrifying survival horror game released in years. Buy it. What's the matter, too scared? [Dec 2010, p.58]
  7. Amnesia is an interesting games with some good ideas. Its pace is slow, its gameplay is not common and its narrative could be better, but it delivers what hardcore horror fans may be looking for. Ideal for those who love having a bad time with their PCs, and as the game itself recommends, it's better to play in a pitch black room.

See all 44 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 405
  1. Sep 17, 2010
    10
    This game is amazing...-ly frightening. The game takes advantage of all the little details of human nature not usually included in videoThis game is amazing...-ly frightening. The game takes advantage of all the little details of human nature not usually included in video games, and by combining heavy breathing with dizziness and eerie creaks, I practically became the person in the game. In fact, some times I would hear something to the left, and I would look away from the monitor myself. And more than just being creepy is the realism of the game, although some things are designed unrealistically on purpose, it just makes you feel like you're going crazy. I must admit I was scared many times, and the subtle revealing of the plot as you advance gives you more understanding of the situation, yet makes you feel even more scared. It doesn't require much puzzle-solving, but its goal is to scare me stiff, and frictional games did an excellent job of that. Expand
  2. Apr 29, 2013
    10
    Le jeux est magnifique! ses sure qu'il y avais quelque bug dans les mure mais pour un jeux fait par un petit groupe! il est ultra bon! moi jeLe jeux est magnifique! ses sure qu'il y avais quelque bug dans les mure mais pour un jeux fait par un petit groupe! il est ultra bon! moi je vous dit jouer avec sa vaux la pane! si tu aime les jeux d'horreur ses un peux jeux a jouer pour le commencement! Expand
  3. Nov 24, 2012
    10
    This game is scary as hell, but is fantastically scripted. The AI is amazing and this is the only game you can get a true fear feeling in.This game is scary as hell, but is fantastically scripted. The AI is amazing and this is the only game you can get a true fear feeling in. Excellent graphics, especially shadows. Also, it has a well written and intriguing storyline. Has some very minor bugs, which do not effect the game. I would go as far to say this is the most frightening game EVER created. Expand
  4. Aug 23, 2011
    9
    well is there anything more scary than the unknown? well if you have played this game you understand that the very thought of knowing almostwell is there anything more scary than the unknown? well if you have played this game you understand that the very thought of knowing almost nothing in a castle of monsters and traps is very chilling to the marrow of your bones... as you start out very minute sounds and shuffles give you a fright... but this game isn't just amazinf audio effects and seemingly useless doors opening by themselves. this game has scarey things that chase you they may show themselves when your looking through notes to find out why you are in a castle or trying to solve a puzzle. this is a great puzzle game not to mention with some tricky parts and some easy parts... i would like to say that the sound track is amazing, the very music makes you scared and that isn't the half of it. i had been in the morgue drilling a hole in some dead mans head to get and antidote to go down to the sewers which contain poisonous fungi. after this a monster breaks down the door i hide in a room of shallow waterand dead body piles... the monster sounds semm to be eating something i wait a minute it is still making noises... or is it gone and the sound is just a glitch or a leftover effect from the monster i peep out the door... no monster is near the broken down door. to look to my right i have to open the door completely so i do BAM! a monster is about 2 feet in front of me i run back in the room too petrified to close the door behind me i try to hide but its not use he chases me in circles through the shallow water and out the entrace through the broken down door. it attacks me once leaving me injured i limp to the exit and open the door. to my relief a loading screen i am safe. in no good consience can i give a game a ten so nine will do this game will thrill horror junkies and puzzle freaks alike great game! Expand
  5. Rem
    Mar 8, 2018
    9
    Back in 2010 Frictional Games popularized the first person horror experience with its release of Amnesia: The Dark Descent. The indie sceneBack in 2010 Frictional Games popularized the first person horror experience with its release of Amnesia: The Dark Descent. The indie scene became a bastion for horror during the lull of scary triple-A titles last generation. Amnesia: The Dark Descent is one of the main games to thank (or blame) for the resurgence in creepy, atmospheric games. Arguably one of the scariest first person horror games, Amnesia finds strength in keeping you at unease despite a few stumbles.

    Players awake in a castle in the 1800s, their memory wiped due to the titular malady. Amnesia begins a slow, steady burn toward the first frightening monster reveal – a tortured beast that cannot be killed directly. You play as Daniel, a man with the sole task of killing the baron of the castle, the reason why comes together as you venture further into the castles depths. Amnesia’s story is told primarily through notes and diaries scattered about with a sprinkle of environmental cues. It’s a dark, extremely twisted tale that continuously peaks your curiosity as you continue to uncover the more morbid details. It’s backed by solid voice acting and the story displays a Lovecraftian vibe for those into that sort of mythos. The only major gripe I have for the story is that the endings fall well short of expectations. It’s anti-climactic and fairly unsatisfying to say the least because of the lack of payoff.

    Amnesia’s lasting legacy is due to its oppressive atmosphere and truly effective horror elements. The influence of Lovecraft is etched into every corner and the fact that it’s so consistently dark and foreboding speaks to the commitment of the developers. Gameplay centers around Daniel traversing through the castle as he attempts to reach his supposed target. Only thing is, he must maintain his sanity, solve environmental puzzles, and conserve his resources all while being pursued by grotesque monstrosities known as the Gatherers. Forget about fighting them as this game places an emphasis on Daniel not being a willing combatant, he must either flee or hide. The focus on flight over fight only amplifies the omnipresent sense of dread. Not being able to battle the abominations stalking you might be infuriating in other games, but Frictional handles it with unsettling elegance. This is due to the various setpieces and how wonderfully setup they are. Dead ends paired with chase sequences kept my adrenaline booming without even seeing my pursuer once. One major gripe I have regarding such encounters is that the enemies become predictable and easy to exploit, often diminishing what would otherwise be terrifying moments, but these moments are rare. Daniel’s sanity meter must also be balanced as he will begin to suffer hallucinations and attract the attention should he spend too much time in the darkness. Advancing through the game is the only method to regain your wits, which creates a feedback loop that pulls you ever forward rather than encouraging the meticulous scavenging behavior that is a hallmark of so many other horror games. His use of resources such as lamp oil and tinder boxes become more valuable than bullets in other games. It’s this balancing act that never becomes too forgiving or punishing that makes Amnesia a fantastic survival horror game. The various puzzles you encounter never ask of you to solve a riddle, instead forcing you to think outside the box about your surroundings. They aren’t brain tickling, but are solid enough to stop you in your tracks and think throughout the game’s well paced 7 to 8 hours.

    Visually, Amnesia has very average looking components, but it’s supremely effective use of light and darkness coupled with its commitment to its aesthetic of a foreboding 19th Century European castle propels it’s lauded atmosphere even further. The sound design follows this same excellent quality from the ambient noises to environmental reactions. It keeps you on edge throughout and its accompanying music serve the setpieces very well. Much of Amnesia’s horror is a result of its pitch perfect audio design and I couldn’t be more glad for that.

    This indie project is an expertly crafted tale of horror and discovery that uses its interactive nature to enthrall players as deeply as any tale in videogames. Amnesia is barely a game in the traditional sense, leaving the nearly two decades of horror gaming tradition since Alone in the Dark by the wayside and forging its own twisted path. It’s ending and predictability of encounters marr some of its more stellar moments, but many games as of today still try to recapture its same horror brilliance since.
    Expand
  6. Feb 26, 2020
    8
    Best horror game out there, build up is great and game elements add to the admosfer, it can get really spooky if you play in the dark. OnlyBest horror game out there, build up is great and game elements add to the admosfer, it can get really spooky if you play in the dark. Only minus is bad graphics and sometime other gameplay elements can get a bit dull. Expand
  7. Apr 24, 2017
    0
    most overrated game ive ever played. this game sucks. gameplay consists of walking around dark rooms and halls of crappy graphics. Whilemost overrated game ive ever played. this game sucks. gameplay consists of walking around dark rooms and halls of crappy graphics. While sporadically hiding from crap you can't kill. Expand

See all 405 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.