Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Oct 9, 2019
    100
    It’s a captivating experience full of enchanting adventure from start to finish. When people buy a headset with the idea of visiting strange, beautiful, and rich new worlds full of exciting things they can only do in VR, this is the type of game they’re imagining.
  2. Oct 24, 2019
    95
    Finally, there is a true triple-A experience for virtual reality. Asgard's Wrath combines things we saw in small VR games and turns it into a groundbreaking experience. The standard for good VR games has been raised forever.
  3. Oct 12, 2019
    95
    Asgard's Wrath is one of the greatest titles produced since the birth of VR gaming, perhaps the most ambitious ever. Even its models are over the top - the last God of War is clearly quoted - but Sanzaru's game manages to build its strong personality with challenge and taste for discovery, using our double dimension - divine and terrestrial - to stage a VR show never seen before for graphical and playable details.
  4. Oct 10, 2019
    94
    Asgard’s Wrath is a fantastic action-adventure RPG that can stand with the best of them on consoles and PC, but the fact that it’s meticulously crafted for VR means it sits in a league of its own. Asgard’s Wrath represents something VR enthusiasts have been waiting for for years now: the first absolute must-play virtual reality game that feels fully fleshed-out rather than a glorified tech demo. Its beautiful world, excellent combat, great interface, and straightforward but detailed story come together to form something spectacular.
  5. Dec 9, 2019
    90
    Quotation forthcoming.
  6. Dec 5, 2019
    90
    Asgard's Wrath is THE Action RPG that every VR enthusiast was waiting for. Sanzaru delivers a true AAA experience and maybe the best VR game ever!
  7. Oct 18, 2019
    90
    At last, a real VR RPG, rich in content, with neat and detailed graphics, and which has nothing to be ashamed of when compared to the best non-VR AAA RPGs. We are dazzled by this epic journey, albeit the long loading times and poor collision management. Although they end up being repetitive, the dynamic battles require a true gratifying effort without triggering motion sickness. Asgard's Wrath has become the new reference for VR-RPG, and it would be shame to miss it.
  8. Oct 12, 2019
    90
    Powerful, violent and colossal, the work of Sanzaru Games is the perfect translation of the epic in VR format: an action gdr not to be missed by all owners of the Rift viewer, in which we will experience first hand the glory of the Norse myth, wrapped in a inextinguishable flow of wonder. And that's why Asgard's Wrath deserves to sit in the halls of Valhalla, where the greatest games ever made for virtual reality live.
  9. Dec 9, 2019
    89
    One of the best VR experiences so far.
  10. Oct 11, 2019
    88
    Asgard's Wrath is the new reference in Virtual Reality.
  11. Oct 9, 2019
    88
    Asgard's Wrath may not offer the richest melee combat experience out there, but this epic Norse saga serves up a truly competent RPG that's not only strong in the visual department but is also packed with a full set of VR-native controls, something that's been so far missing in ported RPGs. There may be some wonkiness when it comes to object interaction, but the charming set pieces and excellent character design lend a level of immersion to this truly feature-length game that's hard to beat.
  12. Oct 18, 2019
    87
    Asgard’s Wrath is a competent, vast, visually stunning and challenging action RPG for VR. It could use some finetuning in terms of partner AI and the control options for looting, though.
  13. Oct 14, 2019
    87
    Although there are some edges to be smoothed, Asgard's Wrath is among the longest and most satisfying VR experiences you can live today with Oculus Rift.
  14. Nov 18, 2019
    80
    Quotation forthcoming.
  15. Oct 15, 2019
    80
    An impressively ambitious attempt to make a VR-only action game that is both a visual spectacle and a highly enjoyable role-player, full of imaginative ideas.
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 80 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 80
  2. Negative: 10 out of 80
  1. Oct 10, 2019
    10
    VR Action RPG at its finest. One of the first games that gets sword play right in VR (parrying and blocking). It's not completely physicsVR Action RPG at its finest. One of the first games that gets sword play right in VR (parrying and blocking). It's not completely physics based combat (like B&S), but unlike the pure physics based games the sword play in Asgard's Wrath is challenging. The textures used are very detailed, just looking around and exploring the game world is fun! I'm only 7 hours in and I've only played a small fraction of the content. Asgard's Wrath offers a lot, but is it fun to play ? Heck ya it is ! I've been waiting years for a VR game like this, there's just so much quality here.

    TLDR - want a FUN high budget made for VR action RPG that promises 30+ hours of gameplay ? Then Asgard's Wrath is your game !
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 15, 2019
    6
    Cant believe the scores this game is getting, This is NOT how you make a VR game its has so little interactions that could only be possible inCant believe the scores this game is getting, This is NOT how you make a VR game its has so little interactions that could only be possible in vr, the combat is laughable like seriously, Feels like you have a wall as a sword and the same with the shield, you can block attacks even if your shield is way off because the hitboxes are crap, Story is pretty meh, movement is slow. but i cant get past the horrible combat. feels like a 2016 game. Full Review »
  3. Oct 11, 2019
    6
    Flat game with a VR perspective and very rudimentary VR mechanics. This might be cool for your first or second VR experience (when the "oooFlat game with a VR perspective and very rudimentary VR mechanics. This might be cool for your first or second VR experience (when the "ooo stereoscopy" thing is novel enough to overwhelm all of VR's current issues) but stuff like this will leave people thinking VR is a gimmick. When we're this early on in VR tech, you need to actually take advantage of VR if you want people to use it for more than a few months.

    I trudged through it just so I could give it a fair review but otherwise I would not want to tolerate VR for this. So I'm not too harsh on it I'll rate it as a flat game: As a flat game this would be 6/10.
    Full Review »