Assassin's Creed II Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1865 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Assassin's Creed II is the product of over two years of intensive development by the original creative team behind the Assassin's Creed brand. In a vast open world environment, the game invites players to incarnate Ezio, a privileged young noble in Renaissance Italy who's been betrayed byAssassin's Creed II is the product of over two years of intensive development by the original creative team behind the Assassin's Creed brand. In a vast open world environment, the game invites players to incarnate Ezio, a privileged young noble in Renaissance Italy who's been betrayed by the rival ruling families of Italy. Ezio's subsequent quest for vengeance plunges players into an epic story that offers more variety in missions, surprising and engaging new gameplay elements, diverse weapons and a profound character progression that appeal to fans of the original Assassin's Creed as well as entice players new to the brand. [Ubisoft] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Uplay PC - Launch Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Assassin’s Creed II is a gem, a truly masterpiece also on PC. Developing a new economic system, and bringing more attention to combats, notoriety and context-script, Ubisoft achieves an awesome and epic experience. This sequel is far better than the first one.
  2. Despite the foolish DRM and six months after the consoles release, Assassin's Creed 2 is still an incredible adventure with a deep and rich world, an engaging story and loads of contents.
  3. PC Format
    90
    A worthy sequel with all the parkour fun and swashbuckling joy of the original, and a bunch more game for your money. [Apr 2010, p.88]
  4. That’s how a sequel should be done. There’s a better story and a much more charming hero. Even the few flaws of the game can’t hurt the great overall impression.
  5. PC Gamer UK
    86
    Tactile, bloody and substantial. One of gaming's most exciting open worlds - but only when you're online. [Apr 2010, p.96]
  6. Assassin's Creed II is a great romp through the past and a present that lingers on the precipice of becoming bleak and controlled.
  7. PC PowerPlay
    50
    A combination of DRM and instability ruins what should be an excellent game. Pick this up on console. [Apr 2010, p.58]

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 167
  1. Apr 15, 2018
    10
    There is something about this game that makes it my favorite game ever.

    The overall feeling is amazing. It is extremely atmospheric. The
    There is something about this game that makes it my favorite game ever.

    The overall feeling is amazing. It is extremely atmospheric.
    The mechanics like climbing are very enjoyable and a big step up from the first entry to the series a few years earlier.
    The cinematics and story development keep you attached to the game and there is not even a single moment of boredom. The temperament of the protagonist keeps you entertained in a positive way.

    Even when you open the map to check your position and orientate yourself, every little sound gives you a feeling of mystery.

    It's been many years now since the game's release and still as a tribute this is a clear 10.
    Expand
  2. Jun 16, 2012
    10
    The story is very well-written. I can't expect more about the story. Graphic is great. Environment is great. The game is quite short, i hopeThe story is very well-written. I can't expect more about the story. Graphic is great. Environment is great. The game is quite short, i hope it was longer. However, i had a lot of fun during the 20hrs gameplay. I enjoy the story so much. Battle is pretty good. I finished this game twice because i just like it so much. I think i could finish it for the third time because it is just soooo good. I'm not getting money for writing this. Expand
  3. Matt
    Jun 13, 2010
    10
    I am rating this purely on the game itself, not the Ubisoft DRM (which i didn't need to worry about because i cracked the game[shhh tell I am rating this purely on the game itself, not the Ubisoft DRM (which i didn't need to worry about because i cracked the game[shhh tell no one!]). The graphics, beautiful. The Free running, excellent, some tweaks made to improve it, and endless fun to be had. The story, FANTASTIC, and WAY better than Assassins creed 1. There is more to do, and a wider, more diverse range of directions to go, so it is not the same things over and over again. And the events that are taking place interest you and draw you in. The Combat system remains largely unchanged, but larger scale of enemy difficulties makes for some more challenging and often more enjoyable fights. And I love the cash aspect of this game. Instead of just having a sword and a dagger, the ability to buy and upgrade weapons, to save for the next one, is great! Plus the ability to upgrade the Villa (Sort of home town) in order to gain more revenue is good as. So, based purely on playing the game itself, i give it a 10. I give Ubisoft a 0 for trying their hardest to lose as many customers as they can, but admittedly they've put out a damn good game. I will add that this is an obvious console port, with the menu better controllable with keys, as well as the game telling you to press the "hand" key rather than the shift key (the HUD has an Xbox button style diamond like in Assassins Creed 1, with images corresponding to each button on an Xbox controller). Once you get past this, and the keys become muscle memory, you will have no more issues with it. I would give it 9.5/10 but there's no such option so I'm rounding up. Expand
  4. Feb 6, 2019
    9
    Biggest jump in the series is right between the first and second title. It introduces us to charismatic Ezio de Auditore loved by so manyBiggest jump in the series is right between the first and second title. It introduces us to charismatic Ezio de Auditore loved by so many fans. Pretty long and great game, giving it 9/10 because Brotherhood with its story was more memorable for me. Expand
  5. Nov 28, 2016
    8
    Assassins Creed 2 is everything you would expect from a sequel. Takes best elements of it's predecessor and builds on it a great game.

    The
    Assassins Creed 2 is everything you would expect from a sequel. Takes best elements of it's predecessor and builds on it a great game.

    The game follows a story of Ezio Auditore - a character I found extremely annoying at first but learned to like by the end of a game. This time the story is set in renaissance era of Italy with action taking in a couple of Italian towns like Florence, Venice, Tuscany.

    Ezio is introduced a s reckless playboy character until both his father and brother are hanged for treason. Only then Ezio learns that his father was an assassin and begin his journey into the ranks of assassins. The story this time is a bit more linear than in the original Assassin's Creed but there is no lack of side activities to torment the completionists. Same as previously we follow the modern-time story of Desmond who re-lives the life of Ezio. And as previously the time spent outside the animus feels like totally necessary.

    Mechanics wise this game improves on original game in almost every aspect. Drops the tedious repetitive missions in favour of more catered story driven missions this time. Crowd blending has been vastly improved making it more natural than previously. Notoriety has been introduced which can be removed by bribes or taking down wanted poster. It is really fun trying to navigate through a town having highest notoriety with guards alerted to your presence if you're not careful enough. Combat was also refined giving a wider array of moves.

    Graphics hold up till this day - although you can tell the age when you're outside the town and it feels a bit empty. Inside cities however there's nothing to be picky about. The designs gives a good feel for the time period. The cities are well designed and fun to travel through either by foot or taking the rooftops.

    Overall a big improvement to the original one and a really fun game that still holds up very well. Definitiely worth playing.
    Expand
  6. Dec 13, 2012
    7
    Would've been great if they cut down on the recycling of areas and timeline leaps. More of Desmond and more present day non-combatWould've been great if they cut down on the recycling of areas and timeline leaps. More of Desmond and more present day non-combat storytelling would've helped to break things up. Overall though it's a lot better than the original. Requiescat in pace. Expand
  7. SteveT.
    Apr 25, 2010
    0
    I need to vent. Honestly, I don't know how good the game is because there always seems to be connection problems. Constantly, to the I need to vent. Honestly, I don't know how good the game is because there always seems to be connection problems. Constantly, to the point where it's just pure frustration and the game is unplayable. The forums were no help whatsoever...believe me I tried everything. Before buying the game I had read some articles on this new DRM method but am not technically inclined enough to have judged its stability. You just expect that the manufacturer wouldn't implement something that didn't work well. So now hindsight is 20/20 and it's truly mind-boggling how someone at Ubisoft could think this was a good idea. I've spent $1000s of dollars on games over the years and wouldn't know where to start pirating a game. I just like to whip out the VISA card and start playing. But this is way, way over the edge. I'm out $60 and that's ok since I learned a valuable lesson...if the name Ubisoft ever shows up in Steam or on a retailer's shelf, I won't even look at it. No way, no how and I'll make sure that everyone I know that plays games is aware of the issue too. Expand

See all 167 User Reviews