Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1723 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The year is 1715. Pirates rule the waters of the Caribbean and have established a lawless Republic. Among these outlaws is a lethal young captain named Edward Kenway. His notorious exploits earn the respect of legends like Blackbeard, but draw him into an ancient war that may destroyThe year is 1715. Pirates rule the waters of the Caribbean and have established a lawless Republic. Among these outlaws is a lethal young captain named Edward Kenway. His notorious exploits earn the respect of legends like Blackbeard, but draw him into an ancient war that may destroy everything the pirates have built for themselves. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag - Horizon E3 2013 Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Nov 27, 2013
    90
    There are refinements still to be made but Black Flag is a stunning return to form worthy of any gamer’s time.
  2. PC PowerPlay
    Dec 30, 2013
    90
    Makes up for the failings of AC3, delivering a fantastic, engaging open world experience. [Jan 2014, p.78]
  3. Jan 16, 2014
    90
    Fans that were bummed out by Assassin’s Creed III will most likely find Black Flag to be a welcoming return to what they love about the series, with a great story, amazingly crafted world and smart additions to the sailing that make it a refreshing part of the Assassin’s Creed formula.
  4. Dec 19, 2013
    87
    At the end of a generation, Ubisoft gives us a new and great chapter of Assassin's Creed. Black Flag, despite some congenital defects works great, focusing on the exploration and a free roaming component refreshed for the most.
  5. Nov 24, 2013
    80
    Like its winsome protagonist, Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag is fixated on pursuing the riches of high-seas piracy and seems reluctant to be drawn into convoluted Templar plots. The most self-aware Assassin’s Creed title to date, and one that makes the most of some aging mechanics.
  6. Nov 19, 2013
    80
    The game looks absolutely beautiful, is jam packed with things to do, and as ever, the combat is a joy to fiddle with.
  7. Mar 5, 2014
    60
    Ironically enough for a game which centers around the concept of genetic ancestry, however, it continually lets itself down by refusing to break away from its own tired and worn-out heritage,

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 59 out of 316
  1. Nov 19, 2013
    10
    The Assassin Creed Franchise has had its up and downs, but ACV is absolutely an up. This game is extremely fun and I recommend it to anyoneThe Assassin Creed Franchise has had its up and downs, but ACV is absolutely an up. This game is extremely fun and I recommend it to anyone who enjoyed the previous games. The ship combat has improved and the graphics are beautiful. This game is probably my favorite in the franchise so far. Expand
  2. Apr 16, 2018
    10
    This game is for me on par with the AC Revelations game. It is a 9,5 which rounds up to a 10.

    It took the mechanics of AC III, used them
    This game is for me on par with the AC Revelations game. It is a 9,5 which rounds up to a 10.

    It took the mechanics of AC III, used them well and also provided a very exotic setting, freedom of exploration and memorable story development and cinematics. And energetic music too.

    Is is a great long-lasting taste when looking back at this game.
    Expand
  3. Dec 24, 2013
    9
    The Assassin's Creed series has had a hard time during the last few years, the first few games with Ezio and Altaïr were a huge success and aThe Assassin's Creed series has had a hard time during the last few years, the first few games with Ezio and Altaïr were a huge success and a really fun, enjoyable experience. But during the last few years the experience has become less enjoyable due to a poor story and bugs and glitches. But this is a great kickstart to a brand new series of amazing and enjoyable new Assassin's Creed games. I recommend Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag to anyone who is a fan of the Assassin's Creed series or pirates. This is also a great game for those who wish to get into the Assassin's Creed series because this is truly a new standard Ubisoft has set for their games. Expand
  4. Nov 26, 2013
    8
    This is my favorite Assassin's Creed game since Brotherhood. The game takes some of the mechanics from Assassin's Creed 3 (which I hated) andThis is my favorite Assassin's Creed game since Brotherhood. The game takes some of the mechanics from Assassin's Creed 3 (which I hated) and improves them slightly, but the atmosphere and story this time around is much better and really sucks you in. While the series still suffers from boring filler missions, the games mechanics make them fun enough. In my opinion, the game really shines during the naval battles and pirate ship everything. Going from land to sea is seamless and easy, and your pirate crew sets the mood perfectly by cheering for the captain (you). They sing shanties while sailing to really bring the mood home. When you engage in battle, it is completely dynamic and increases immersion. When you can board an enemy ship, everything feels very dynamic which makes the experience feel authentic and makes you feel like you really accomplished something cool. After every battle you feel like a badass.

    The same can't really be said for the land fights though. The series has been making the stealth portions easier and easier, and the laughable ease of Assassin's Creed 3 remains fully intact. At least this time around, most of the bushes you hide in actually conceal you. You can still run right into an enemies face, then jump into a bush and they will act like they were "just seeing things", which is mood killing. If you played AC3, you know all about the land combat.

    This game is great solely because of the pirate theme and what they have done with naval battles. It feels like it is being tacked onto the Assassin's Creed brand in order to boost sales when it should have been a fresh new IP that could take full advantage of the amazing ideas introduced. The game gets an 8 from me because the pirate aspects truly hold the game up that much.
    Expand
  5. Nov 30, 2013
    8
    Easily the best iteration on the series in a while.
    Why?
    Because it features the least "assassin" gameplay of all entries in the series.
    Easily the best iteration on the series in a while.
    Why?
    Because it features the least "assassin" gameplay of all entries in the series.
    Its no surprise that the AC gameplay formula has grown incredibly stale and the Naval battles provide an incredibly addicting way to break up that tedium.
    On top of that the game looks absolutely gorgeous with 4k textures and fantastic water design. This also makes the game fairly demanding, so dont walk in expecting a smooth experience on a middle to low end system, this is Ubisoft we're talking about, theyre not exactly the optimization experts (Worth noting, there is NO triple buffering. Use RadeonPro or the Nvidia alternative for a MUCH MUCH MUCH smoother framerate. Seriously Ubisoft, what the hell).
    Of course this is all from the perspective of someone who sat out the past 2 iterations in the series. If youve been an avid fan than from what I understand theres not much new in the gameplay department to keep you hooked. The melee combat once again proves to be bewilderingly easy as well, with the counter button being the quintessential win button.
    The story however is far more engaging than the usual assassin tripe of old games. Pirates make for far more entertaining and unusual scenarios than any other backdrop from the previous games, and I dare say I actually cared about seeing the story through to the end.
    The same can not be said for the new abstergo segments though, as the "Assassins creed" part of the story once again proves to be the worst part of the assassins creed series. If only it was never included in the first place...

    tl;dr:
    Pirates GOOD!
    Abstergo BAD!
    Graphics GOOD!
    Optimization BAD!
    Naval combat/exploration GOOD!
    Assassin gameplay Meh....

    Final recommendation: If you haven't played the last one or two its a good place to jump back in. Hopefully they'll spice up the combat in the next iteration.
    Expand
  6. Feb 9, 2014
    6
    Very beautiful graphics, extremely beautiful world. This is one of the best pirate's game ever, PIRATE'S not assassins unfortunately. NowVery beautiful graphics, extremely beautiful world. This is one of the best pirate's game ever, PIRATE'S not assassins unfortunately. Now don't get me wrong, the game was hell of a fun, but none of that comes the storyline and the titles: Assassin's creed. I'm a hardcore fan of ac and I expected something huge and awesome from black flag. As in awesome I ment a strong storyline. Unfortunately, it wasn't a strong story based game whereas all of the other ac's (exept ac 3), they had strong gameplay and storyline. If it was named a pirate name game, I would've considered it as something awesome but I really like the Assassin's Creed name and why it's named so. Now if it would've been an online game where you could battle ships, then it would be awesome. But now I lost hope on them making an actual assassin's creed game. Expand
  7. Feb 3, 2014
    0
    assassins creed 4 is an amazing game and a grand improvement over AC3. the map is just huge, one of the bigger games i have ever seen.theassassins creed 4 is an amazing game and a grand improvement over AC3. the map is just huge, one of the bigger games i have ever seen.the story is great. it isnt a heavy or too serious story, though it does have its great moments. the story is fun and interesting, and is supported by greatly written cast of characters. the characters are interesting and greatly help the plot. overall i enjoyed the story it was written good and was fun.
    the gameplay is mostly fun. the games stealth system is greatly improved over AC3, but it still needs tweaking and it isnt as good as its supposed to be. the game has a lot of stealth, and the system just doesnt feel built for it sometimes. still some stealth missions are fun. the combat system is great. its fun and cool and the fighting animations are great. animations in general are top notch! from climbing to running the games animations are amazing. the graphics are also amazing, and its one of the best looking games ive seen. the engine isnt as powerfull as cryengine, but the game is so well made that it still looks spectacular. the sea, sunsets, citys and jungles all look amazing. jungles in particular have tons of detail, and the lighting there is great. the game in general is extremely detailed, much more than other games. given that this game is also so huge, there was a lot of effort built into it. naval combat is also great and fun. boarding ships does get repetetive though. even so its still fun. the draw distance is also spectacular. weather effects are, again, some of the best ive seen, especially the waves. the music in the game is mostly good and fits the game. when your crew starts singing its also pretty fun. the parkour system is overall great. you do stumble to your death for no reason some times, but overall it works pretty good. parkour on your boat is a bit annoying. underwater segments are also great and cool.
    EXPLORATION is a huge part of the game, and it is done masterfully. you allways want to find new locations and explore. finding collectibles in the game is also fun. in most games i dont care about collectibles, but in AC4 they are done really good. tailing missions and evesdrop missions are still in the game, and theyre annoying as ever.

    overall this game is amazing and i cant praise it more. exploration is really fun, the design is great and the story is good. this is the ultimate pirate game. i highly recomend it!!!!!!!!
    Expand

See all 316 User Reviews