Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Oct 1, 2018
    96
    So as the story unfolds, along with your map and you get into this gathering, parkouring and hunting rhythm here comes the main reason that has me rate Odyssey right up there with Origins. Next to Kassandra herself and animal taming, it’s the Naval component that really makes this Assassins Creed epic.
  2. Oct 31, 2018
    90
    Despite my few complaints, Assassin’s Creed: Odyssey truly is an incredibly entertaining game that proves Origins was no fluke. I’m back on the hype train, baby, and I can’t wait to see where the next stop is (even if I wish it’d rest at the same station for another year or two). No longer a simple stealth game, but instead a massive, detailed, sprawling roleplaying game, Odyssey just might be one of my favorite games of 2018 so far.
  3. Oct 5, 2018
    90
    Though the main story suffers because of it, Assassin's Creed Odyssey is a remarkably massive RPG held together by a web of satisfying pursuits.
  4. Oct 4, 2018
    90
    Assassin's Creed Odyssey puts the franchise back on the map as a critical darling. There's no malaka here whatsoever as it just "Greeks" of goodness. The story and characters are engaging and there are tons of activities to do. Greek culture and locations are a wonder to behold. Barring a few caveats, this has been a stellar offering for the franchise.
  5. Oct 1, 2018
    89
    Honestly, right now I feel like exploring the last corners of Greece as soon as I'm done, after writing the article...And that's always a very good sign for a game.
  6. Oct 8, 2018
    88
    Assassin's Creed Odyssey delivers a visually stunning experience on PC, thanks to 4K resolution and maxed out effects. The game is huge, with plenty of missions and characters for you to discover, a solid combat system, the return of naval battles and a compelling narrative.
  7. Oct 20, 2018
    87
    Undoubtedly, AC: Odyssey as a game has quite a few issues: bad AI, the strangulation of the player with hundreds of missions and missed opportunities on the RPG level. But it does something also very important: it includes a huge and impressive world, capturing successfully the Ancient Greece aesthetic and it manages to be truly entertaining and unimaginably addictive.
  8. 80
    Odyssey is a fantastic addition to the Assassin's Creed franchise. Plenty of action and adventure is wrapped up in a gripping story, with a plethora of choices for you to make along the way. This particular piece of history makes for a fantastic blend of war and mythology, and Ubisoft has done a brilliant job merging the two. Between the fabulous open-world exploration and the exciting game-altering decisions around every corner, I cannot recommend this title enough.
  9. Oct 5, 2018
    80
    Odyssey is a better, and certainly bigger, Assassin’s Creed game than any before it. It’s an RPG to rival the likes of The Witcher 3 with a massive historical world that is consistently and astonishingly handsome. The sheer number of moving parts can be intimidating but this is a special adventure that must be savoured.
  10. Oct 23, 2018
    75
    Usually, I let my past experiences inform the present, but with Assassin's Creed Odyssey I'm attempting desperately delink my own fatigue with the quality of the end product. At the end of the day, not everyone will feel overwhelming by another AC less than a year after Origins. Or indeed there may be plenty picking up Odyssey that have never played Origins at all. For those players, Assassin's Creed Odyssey is a feature-packed, incredibly lengthy belter, but a colossal time sink in the same breath.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Oct 4, 2018
    Assassin’s Creed: Odyssey offers a lot to do but very little to say. That’s a shame, since many of history’s greatest tales have leveraged an immense scale to weave equally impactful tales. That’s not quite the case here.
  2. If you’ve built a sufficiently nice world for me to run around in, I like just running around in it. There’s a lot of busy work, an eagle, and stabbing people brutally through the throat. Sometimes when you jump off a high thing you land in a load of hay. So, so far, Assassin’s Creed Odyssey is a very good Assassin’s Creed game. Which is what we were all expecting, wasn’t it? Except this one lets me ignore all that and roleplay as a big buff Greek neighbourhood hero. I’m alright with that.
  3. Oct 11, 2018
    There are stretches when it feels as though the player is being corralled within an area and forced to complete repetitive side quests to level up before moving on to the next area, and thus the prospect of making these periods of enforced downtime shorter feels extremely tempting, if a bit slimy.
User Score
4.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 637 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Oct 3, 2018
    2
    It's a mess. Garbage optimization on PC. What's even more ridiculous is that "professional" reviewers don't point these things out.
    They
    It's a mess. Garbage optimization on PC. What's even more ridiculous is that "professional" reviewers don't point these things out.
    They focus too much on making people believe that the story is good, while it's as bad as Origins.
    And don't even get me started on this game being called Assassin's Creed despite not being one.

    Stop supporting this b******t ports for the PC version.
    Otherwise they will continue doing so, and reviewers will continue ignoring flaws like this.
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 2, 2018
    1
    Osyddey is Origin DLC, not worth to buy on Day one, lol
    And this game is not ASSASSIN CREED, It's just a boring RPG game.
  3. Oct 2, 2018
    10
    This is may not play anything like the old games but is that such a bad thing? What you're getting here is a huge beautiful game world toThis is may not play anything like the old games but is that such a bad thing? What you're getting here is a huge beautiful game world to explore on both land and sea set in the best setting: Ancient Greece. And you get to play exactly the way you want. Choice is the biggest addition here, allowing you choose dialogue options and make decisions that affect the story, choose your own playstyle; combat or stealth, you even get to choose to play as Alexios or Kassandra who have totally different personalities. I'm glad This franchise went full RPG because though it may be as good as the witcher, it comes pretty damn close.

    One of the games of the year. 10/10.
    Full Review »