Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 29
  2. Negative: 1 out of 29
  1. Oct 27, 2017
    100
    Assassin’s Creed Origins manages to live up to the expectation that the preview event gave me. I dubbed it “near perfect” after that event, and the final product does not disappoint. A few pacing issues late in the story caused things to drag a little bit, and the loot system doesn’t remain intriguing after the first few hours, but finding a complaint beyond that is difficult. You can nitpick some of the graphical hiccups or complain about repetitive side quests, but even those manage to stay fun and interesting with all of the different styles of play. On a day with two other heavy hitting AAA games and an amazing TV show releasing simultaneously, your time and money are going to be precious commodities. With Game of the Year talks coming up, Assassin’s Creed Origins is a serious contender for the title in my book.
  2. Oct 26, 2017
    97
    Assassin’s Creed Origins is a breathtaking sensorial odyssey. It is the MMO I have been waiting for without the MMO part, and boy would my heart skip a beat if it were massively multiplayer online. Ubisoft has won a new superfan.
  3. Nov 6, 2017
    91
    When I heard that the Assassin’s Creed series was heading to Egypt, I was cautious. My love for the subject matter meant that I would probably scrutinize the game more than if another location in time and space was selected. But the two year wait between games has meant that a well-researched product with smooth controls, interesting quests and a gorgeous visual experience has been delivered. Assassin’s Creed Origins is clearly my new favourite in the series. And, I still have Egypt on my bucket list, but Assassin’s Creed Origins has satisfied my appetite in the meantime.
  4. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Dec 30, 2017
    90
    Ubisoft Montreal managed to make Egypt not only beautiful, but extremely atmospheric. When you’re admiring the city and a mounted patrol rushes past you, you always get that urge to step aside to avoid getting trampled, even though you know you can eviscerate them all in a blink of an eye. [Issue#225, p.32]
  5. Dec 11, 2017
    90
    This is a big win for Assassin’s Creed. Just about every aspect of the game is better from combat, to hunting (thanks to Senu), to stealth play with a sense of consequence. Top it off with the memorable yet vulnerable duo of Aya and Bayek, and this sequel managed to go back in time while taking several steps forward.
  6. 90
    Origins by no means perfect, particularly in its iffy movement systems and overreliance on the new Eagle companion. But by taking a year off a brutal annual release schedule, Ubisoft has given us a huge, polished, well-written game that successfully reworks and pushes Assassin’s Creed forward in ways I didn’t even realise were necessary. Assassin’s Creed Origins is the best the series has ever been by a long shot, and I sincerely hope it’s only onwards and upwards from here.
  7. Nov 9, 2017
    90
    For those of you who were suffering from franchise fatigue, Assassin’s Creed Origins should cure your ailment. Ubisoft’s increased development time for the game brought a gigantic open-world full of stories, exciting battles, and a loot system that have you exploring for dozens of hours.
  8. Nov 6, 2017
    90
    I could wax on about Assassin’s Creed Origins for a long time. For all its foibles it’s a staggering achievement, and most certainly the best the series has ever offered alongside Black Flag. Those who prefer the dense city networks of the original games may bounce off it a little, but for anyone even remotely interested in the prospect of The Witcher and Assassin’s Creed crossing paths, this comes highly recommended.
  9. Nov 3, 2017
    90
    Origins absolutely achieves Ubisoft’s goal of bringing back their flagship franchise with a bang. The game has very few flaws and issues, and all of these are dwarfed by the strides it has achieved on the gameplay front. Origins marries the parts of the familiar AC formula that work with a host of improvements that result in an extremely entertaining and satisfying gaming experience, backed up with a great story to boot. Assassin’s Creed is back, and it’s better than ever. Oh, and you can pet cats! GOTY 2017.
  10. Nov 1, 2017
    90
    Assassin’s Creed Origins is the best Assassin’s Creed game in years. I’m really tempted to say it’s my favorite game in the series period but it’s too soon to know for sure on that count. Hopefully this is a rebirth for the series and we’ll see further iterations and continuing in this style moving forward.
  11. Oct 26, 2017
    90
    The combat is challenging and thoughtful, and while the loot system doesn’t match up to games like Destiny 2, there are enough different weapon types and enough enemy variety to keep you swapping between weapons, catered to the situation. The RPG elements encourage challenges of their own, and even despite a handful of bugs, I desperately wanted to keep playing.
  12. Oct 26, 2017
    89
    Assassin's Creed: Origins doesn't overcome the Ubisoft formula, but perfects it for an outstanding open-world adventure.
  13. Oct 29, 2017
    88
    Assassin's Creed: Origins is the best in the series. This breathtaking recreation of Ancient Egypt is truly something to witness. With a beautiful setting, a huge open world with tons of content and side quests with more plot than you can think of, Origins will grab you the moment you step in the Animus and won't let go until you've had your fill.
  14. Oct 26, 2017
    88
    AC Origins is a strong signal for the continued existence of superb single-player games. Huge scope, great setting, exciting battles and motivating RPG-elements: Assassin's Creed is back again.
  15. Nov 3, 2017
    85
    Assassin's Creed: Origins marks a new beginning for the series as this open-world prequel successfully merges the old and new. While not perfect, the result is still a deeply satisfying Egyptian playground that will revitalize your love for a series that was starting to fall by the wayside.
  16. Nov 2, 2017
    85
    Assassin's Creed Origins keeps many of the promises made, revolutionizing some of the traditional elements of the series and giving us a solid starting point in perspective. The PC version allows you to enjoy the experience at its best, up to native 4K and 60 frames per second.
  17. Nov 5, 2017
    84
    After several years, AC: Origins is the first Assassin's Creed game that we can recommend without hesitation. It's definitely not perfect, some gameplay mechanisms have not been fully exploited, some others have remained attached to the past, but the scales are clearly positive. It is huge, addictive, entertaining and the series are now going to the right direction. Hopefully they will continue to follow up on it.
  18. Nov 1, 2017
    84
    Naturally, once you've beaten the main quests you can continue exploring the world, and the biggest compliment I can give Origins is that I'd much rather be playing it than writing about it. It's a got a dazzling and beautiful setting, lots of enjoyable systems for mischief and mayhem, and has just the right amount of diversions and distractions to keep you busy without ever feeling like busywork. The extra year Ubisoft took with Origins didn't result in a completely new and novel experience, but it did provide one of the best games in the Assassin's Creed series.
  19. Not only Assassin's Creed: Origins makes us feel excited about Ancient Egypt, it makes us face an unusual Assassin's Creed game with different mechanics and gameplay.
  20. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jan 2, 2018
    80
    The resurrection of the seemingly exhausted series was successful. Beautiful and enormous Egypt is complemented by the sympathetic hero Bayek and plenty of modifications to the proven formula. [Issue#280]
  21. Jan 2, 2018
    80
    This killer holiday in Egypt is definitely no boring. On the contrary, it is a pleasant excursion to the times, when the sphinx had a nose, and mysterious killers did not call themselves assassins. You cannot find a nicer version of an Ancient Egypt in any other game, and up to it it’s entertaining. A modest family story affects the whole empire at the end, and you will forgive a handful of bugs to its charismatic heroes, as well as the fact, that you have played the same pattern so many times, just in another scenery.
  22. PC PowerPlay
    Dec 1, 2017
    80
    Stealth-action reinvented as easy-to-digest open world RPG-action. [Issue#268, p.68]
  23. 80
    Assassin’s Creed: Origins is an exciting addition to the Assassin’s Creed legacy, featuring new brotherhood lore and intriguing RPG elements. Crafting and a skills tree promises character customization beyond that in previous Assassin’s Creed titles, while underwater exploration and mounted combat give you fresh ways to play and interact with enemies and an expansive map. If you like assassinating people with primitive weapons, Origins is for you.
  24. Oct 31, 2017
    80
    Ubisoft were hoping for two things when they decided to give Assassin’s Creed a gap year: they wanted to deliver a more polished experience, and they wanted us all to have time to miss shanking people in the neck in a gorgeous historical setting. They have achieved both. Assassin’s Creed as a series has had a strange evolution, but going back to the start of the story, the place where the entire Creed was formed, has breathed new life back into it. Absence really does make the heart grow, well, stabbier.
  25. Oct 26, 2017
    80
    I can't eloquently explain why I like it so much after spending most of my words rattling off negatives. I just like it. If you want to escape into the best Assassin’s Creed world in the series, this is the ticket.
  26. Dec 23, 2017
    77
    Quite a things in Origins are open to debate, but all in all, it’s a good game.
  27. Nov 1, 2017
    70
    Assassin’s Creed: Origins grew on me. That’s worth noting up top, as I upgrade this review-in-progress to full review status—it grew on me, and it’s the first entry in the series to do so. Assassin’s Creed is mostly a what-you-see-is-what-you-get type of series, and generally within a few hours you’ve seen it all. AC II, Brotherhood and Black Flag were good early on. AC III not so much. The rest somewhere in between. But Origins starts slow and finishes pretty strong. Not that I’ve radically changed my mind about the game. Much of my original review-in-progress remains as accurate 40 hours in as it did at 15. Side quests vary wildly in quality, the RPG systems need some work, the map is overlarge for the amount of content, and the combat system is better but still no real challenge. The good stuff remains true too though. It’s a technological marvel, especially on PC. The setting is incredible, spanning ancient tombs and somber Hellenic temples, verdant oases and arid deserts, thriving cities and abandoned villages, and everything in between.
  28. Oct 26, 2017
    70
    While Assassin's Creed Origins reaches great heights in this new setting, it routinely runs into issues that bog down the overall experience. Technical issues make for an inconsistent experience and its new gameplay pillars wobble under the weight of its systems.
  29. Nov 3, 2017
    40
    Why not think of Assassin’s Creed: Origins as a lovely and chill sightseer sim? It only took about forty hours of game tax to get here, but you’ve earned it.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Origins handles its creative inheritance more elegantly than some open worlders, not least because unlike, say, the first game’s Altair, its protagonist actually feels like he is of this realm rather than merely in it. And if the levelling and to-do list grate, the series has never offered a society and a landscape so worthy of close attention. The next game needs to be transformative, but this is a fine place to spend time while it gestates. [RPS Recommended]
  2. Oct 26, 2017
    Overall, besides the aforementioned lack of instant assassinations in some cases, I do have a lingering concern regarding the depth and variety of content, an important aspect of games belonging to the open world genre. Ubisoft stated that it would always be meaningful, but I still have to check whether this will actually be the case....Other than that, though, Assassin’s Creed Origins is looking great so far. Check back soon for our full review, which will also include our opinions on the story – including the modern day part, which is indeed included as you can glimpse from the screenshot above.
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2066 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Oct 31, 2017
    0
    Two DRM layers ( 3 with uplay ) and killing that game performance, so not caring about the customer. Well, whatever is the game itself seemTwo DRM layers ( 3 with uplay ) and killing that game performance, so not caring about the customer. Well, whatever is the game itself seem great, that's just a no no. Full Review »
  2. Nov 1, 2017
    0
    I started an account only to write this - PC performance is terrible. You have i5? Expect FPS drops like crazy. Because of Denuvo + VMProtectI started an account only to write this - PC performance is terrible. You have i5? Expect FPS drops like crazy. Because of Denuvo + VMProtect used on this game you need a beast of a CPU to handle this. Up to this point there is silence from UBI on the matter of performance. DRM protections won't probably get taken out of the game so... 0. You have a i5 - dont buy this game! Full Review »
  3. Oct 27, 2017
    10
    Played for a couple hours I have no issues at all, everything runs smooth for me and the game has not crashed.

    My Rig CPU: AMD FX-8350
    Played for a couple hours I have no issues at all, everything runs smooth for me and the game has not crashed.

    My Rig
    CPU: AMD FX-8350 Black Edition Clocked 4.2Ghz 8 Core
    RAM: 12GB Ram
    GPU: Nvidia GTX 1050 TI SC 4GB GDDR5
    SSD Drive OS + Hybrid Secondary Drives For Installed Games

    Visuals are amazing using the autoconfigured preset which was high for everything getting 50-65 FPS on high settings even during combat. Using Uplay client to play the game not steam version. Uplay client built games just run better on Uplay and steam users always complain about more bugs on the steam version.

    I love that you get flashback missions not just cutscenes when something big happens like killing a high-rank enemy, giving you a backstory to the point of why your taking down this high rank masked one etc. the map is quite big bigger than any AC universe and if you wanna 100% this game then it will take you some time.

    Struggling a little with combat I'm so used to countering then killing like all the other AC games if you think the combat is simple compared to the other games your in for a little surprise!

    YES! there is a Helix credit system, so for people who don't have time to grind can buy in-game currency to spend and some weapons can be unlocked via Uplay credits which are free to earn via your Uplay account anyway. I personally don't buy in-game content at all and only believe that if micro-transactions are on multiplayer games it is unfair.... for single player games the only things you buy with your real money for in-game currency..... if you even want to buy them only affects your personal experience for campaign, not like GTA Online, Battlefield, Battlefront 1 & 2 Loot Packs etc etc so for single player content i don't mind but I personally don't buy content from any game I play!

    Apart from that 10/10 definately an upgrade for syndicate and the bugged monster Unity!

    Would recommend.
    Full Review »