Assault Android Cactus Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 33 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Assault Android Cactus is a twin stick shoot 'em up with an emphasis on high pressure and stylish action. Expect screens full of enemies, buckets of bullets and high scoring combo chains! Take on the role of Cactus, an enthusiastic police android, who responds to a stranded space freighterAssault Android Cactus is a twin stick shoot 'em up with an emphasis on high pressure and stylish action. Expect screens full of enemies, buckets of bullets and high scoring combo chains! Take on the role of Cactus, an enthusiastic police android, who responds to a stranded space freighter only to discover it under siege by its... Expand

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Assault Android Cactus - Launch Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Oct 28, 2015
    90
    Assault Android Cactus kind of snuck up on me, and is easily one of my favorite shooters of the year. I'm really interested in seeing what developer Witch Beam comes up with next.
  2. Oct 7, 2015
    90
    Assault Android Cactus is a slick game that feels so good to play, feels so right in your hands with its satisfying controls, intelligent game mechanics, charming presentation, terrific levels and exciting weapon styles.
  3. Oct 21, 2015
    90
    A top notch bullet hell experience racked out with character options, unlockables, and some charming dialogue, Assault Android Cactus is a top shelf choice of any shooter addict. A lack of online co-op is unfortunate, if understandable, and the characters – while cute and expressive – may be a bit too adorable for some.
  4. Sep 23, 2015
    80
    While the story definitely missed on some untapped potential, this is a perfect benchmark that leaves the studios future one to definitely look forward to.
  5. Oct 3, 2015
    80
    Like Cactus in the opening sequence, the ultimate result of Assault Android Cactus is looking at the relentless danger, thinking "I'll take my chances with the lasers," and wading into the chaos. Reckless, gleeful, and a really hard, incredibly good time.
  6. Sep 27, 2015
    80
    AAC is a pretty interesting twin-stick shooters. If you like this genre and you're looking for the next challenge, have a look at it.
  7. 50
    Assault Android Cactus – between its twin-stick gunplay, dialogue, and ample modes – exhibits a rare polish among its peers, but the atrocious HUD, useless unlocks, and local co-op that’s actively better without friends keep Witch Beam’s debut from rivaling the genre’s titans.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Aug 11, 2016
    10
    I love this game, the characters , dialogs, weapons, Bosses, Stages , playable, addictive to pass a great time with your friends, artisticI love this game, the characters , dialogs, weapons, Bosses, Stages , playable, addictive to pass a great time with your friends, artistic designs character , and the Story, i hope the developers make a sequel of this great game ... Expand
  2. Jan 16, 2016
    10
    Easily one of the best top down shooters ever made. Assault android cactus brings fresh ideas to the gene. A must play game for anyone seekingEasily one of the best top down shooters ever made. Assault android cactus brings fresh ideas to the gene. A must play game for anyone seeking some action packed robot blasting. Expand
  3. Jan 21, 2014
    10
    Oh boy, oh boy, oh boy! Where the HECK did this little gem fall from?! I bought this game with absolutely NO expectations... I started withOh boy, oh boy, oh boy! Where the HECK did this little gem fall from?! I bought this game with absolutely NO expectations... I started with the demo to see if the game would run in S3D using Tridef Ignition. Sure enough put aside a few shadow issues, it worked!
    Go figure I'm not even a big fan of twin stick shooters - mostly because I'm a keyboard/mouse kinda guy, not able to carry the same skillset on a controller.

    Despite my shortcomings on control skill, this game is awesome. It's awesome, it's addictive, it's a blast. On your own, you'll have a lot to handle and need incredibly quick reflexes on your aim finger - often finding yourself completely surrounded with enemies all trying to rip your character's face off! It's a demanding twin stick shooter that carries with it a visual style that just makes you want to play "just another 15 minutes" over and over. It's hard to put the controller down.

    The visual styles are really a great fit. The characters are cute and the level end animations are funny. I even found Holly telling the boss "I'm here to stop you so uhm... stop it!" kinda funny... through small hints they unveil distinct character personalities. This was taking it beyond what I expected for 15$. The cherry on top.

    If you are a fan of twinstick shooters you should already own this title. If you aren't much for twinstick like me, do still consider this title. I did not regret my purchase.
    Expand
  4. Dec 23, 2021
    9
    One of my favourite games even though I am not an avid fan of score attack or twin stick shooters.

    + Great feeling combat - high lethality
    One of my favourite games even though I am not an avid fan of score attack or twin stick shooters.

    + Great feeling combat - high lethality in both ways with a way to reliably dodge damage.
    + Simple moveset with hidden depth - move, aim, shoot and dodge+switch weapon. Tying the two last actions into one input introduces a fair bit of hidden depth, as you need to make sure you can afford losing access to your current weapon and stopping your attacks for a moment, since either could end up with you either dropping your combo or getting knocked down
    + A clever battery mechanic allows for a coop experience where no player is left behind. Players can get knocked down, but never killed - the failure state is only triggered when the battery, shared by all players, depletes. The battery level decreases over time, but can be replenished with an item that drops when you kill an enemy, but only after you've killed enough robots since the last recharge.
    + Fantastic enemy designs with meaningful synergies and a lot of variety.
    + Good (though not the best) level design with a lot of replayability thanks to leaderboards and a grade system that tracks your performance with each indifidual character separately, which motivates those who don't care about leaderboards and incentivises you to master all characters.
    + A lot of characters with totally different playstyles
    + A combo system that introduces depth into prioritising targets - dealing damage doesn't keep up the combo, only kills do, and you need to manage the crowd in a way that allows you to quickly kill a small or damaged enemy when the next target is too far, behind an obstacle or has too much health to be killed as quickly as the timer neccessitates.
    + Fantastic optimisation
    + 4 player local coop
    + Great bonus modifiers

    - Some levels have visuals that make enemies difficult to see
    - One really bad level
    - Slightly floaty keyboard controls (mouse is fine)
    - No mapping tools
    Expand
  5. Oct 8, 2015
    8
    This twin shooter is very, fun really engaging and quite challenging, the character design is well achieved and the sound effects and musicThis twin shooter is very, fun really engaging and quite challenging, the character design is well achieved and the sound effects and music are top notch. Expand
  6. Nov 12, 2016
    8
    I got Assault Android Cactus with the latest humble bundle, so rather cheap. However this isn't to say that I wouldn't pay RRP for it givenI got Assault Android Cactus with the latest humble bundle, so rather cheap. However this isn't to say that I wouldn't pay RRP for it given the chance now.

    The main campaign is about 3 hours along, and extremely exciting. The difficulty curve in this game is just about the right area, and it gets progressively challenging, with the final 3 / 4 levels giving you the anger which would make you want to rip your hair out. Naturally when you complete it you get a massive sense of achievement just from the final 2 levels alone.

    For the campaign, it is around 3 hours. There isn't much narrative to look into here, just a standard 2 stick shooter arcade game. Due to the mechanics in the game being solid, the lack of narrative does not harm whatsoever. The characters are only in the game to add some charm, there is nothing there to make you attached to them, you could have made this game with rather primitive shapes and I would still be giving it the same positive review I am now.

    The soundtrack can feel repetitive in places, but each zone has its own different style of music.

    The game does have a lot to offer when it comes to the replayability scale, it offers you new characters as you play throughout, all of which with their own unique pro's, con's and playstyles, you could do a run through with each character. After the main campaign you also unlock boss mode, there is a variety of game modes and collectables to keep you going, if you enjoy the game enough.

    For me, the 3 hours I spent in campaign were very refreshing after taking a back seat with games recently, and due to having a job, the 3 hours is good for now, and I'm happy with being able to pick up this game in the future.

    If you like a challenge, and good gameplay with some difficulty, definitely a must have. Would give it a solid 8/10.
    Expand
  7. Jan 15, 2016
    0
    keybinding are not redefinable........it's unacceptable in this time and age.........learn to properly program an user interface......................

See all 9 User Reviews