Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. CD-Action
    Jul 4, 2015
    90
    With backtracking done the way it should be done, properly balanced difficulty level and great level design Axiom Verge is the best love letter to Samus in years. [07/2015, p.70]
  2. Games Master UK
    May 24, 2015
    88
    Retro done right. [June 2015, p.63]
  3. Jun 2, 2015
    85
    Axiom Verge is an excellent tribute to the first 2D Metroid games. With an enormous map, constant supply of new skills, and a breadth of secret locations this game is a must for anyone that searches for the next good metroidvania game.
  4. May 19, 2015
    85
    A nearly top notch homage to one of the best sci-fi 2D action adventures of all time, the classic Metroid saga.
  5. May 13, 2015
    85
    A massive, challenging retro-flavoured shooter that takes the Metroid formula and runs with it. Old school, but with a modern edge.
  6. Jun 10, 2015
    80
    Axiom Verge is an action- and exploration sidescroller that pays homage to the classic 2D Metroid-games. Being a one-man project, the scope and presentation is very impressive. Only a few issues with the pacing and mechanics keep Axiom Verge away from the very top scores.
  7. May 20, 2015
    80
    A homage to retro classics is one thing but having gameplay that’s both challenging and fun makes Axiom Verge special. If you grew up in that era, you’d be a fool to miss out on this and if you’re new to the genre, I can’t think of a better entry.
  8. May 13, 2015
    80
    Axiom Verge is a great game that will scratch the itch for anyone scorned by Nintendo’s failure to give Samus a needed and deserved shot in the arm.
  9. May 17, 2015
    75
    Everything in Axiom Verge works well, but fans of metroidvania games are probably familiar with better examples of the genre. Still, Axiom Verge does not disappoint and delivers an experience worth playing.
  10. Sep 25, 2015
    70
    Honest and robust platformer with an interesting story, which is gracefully bowing to its old-times ancestors. It has the potential to entertain you, but the repulsive appearance does not help it at all.
  11. May 15, 2015
    62
    Compare this to Ori and the very conservative interpretation feels old-fashioned. It shows some cool gadgets, though, while the weaponry and abilities are well connected to the exploration. But nonetheless this is “too” retro for me.

Awards & Rankings

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 89 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 89
  2. Negative: 13 out of 89
  1. May 19, 2015
    10
    This is pure retro gaming ecstasy. Responsive fluid controls, a wide variety of creatures, worlds and music. It's a game for the adults whoThis is pure retro gaming ecstasy. Responsive fluid controls, a wide variety of creatures, worlds and music. It's a game for the adults who grew up playing these games. It has evolved and matured into something new and interesting, but feels nostalgic and comforting. It's like a love letter to the past with some new edginess. Full Review »
  2. Dec 24, 2018
    9
    A one man masterpiece of a metroidvania game. Retro vibes with modern touches.
  3. Sep 30, 2017
    9
    Simply put: just short of greatness.... And I have 2 guesses why - one superficial and one more substantial. The first there is the graphics -Simply put: just short of greatness.... And I have 2 guesses why - one superficial and one more substantial. The first there is the graphics - I am aware that they are made just by one person, but I am just talking about the end result. While they are not in the way and they do the job just fine, they fail to really convey the atmosphere of the game's world. Next - the story. I tried to pay attention but at some point I didn't care anymore. It all sounded like a blah blah and nonsensical. I think the story is there, but it demands too much from the player, instead of just being simple and accessible and leave the supposed plot-twists for later on.

    Ok, now that we have those 2 things out of the way, I was quite entertained playing the game through-out. Nice, tight mechanics, a lot of exploration, good amount of backtracking, secret placed that can be find (not extremely hard) and fun bosses, also not too hard (the way I like them). In addition: interesting weapon ideas, varied enemies with specific tactics needed; good game length; interesting soundtrack.

    Overall: highly recommended for all metroid-like game fans out there.
    Full Review »