Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Apr 4, 2019
    100
    A gem among logic games. An original concept developed by hundreds of incredibly imaginative levels has the potential to entertain for a long time. [Issue#294]
  2. Edge Magazine
    Apr 25, 2019
    90
    One of the most distinctive, exciting and fully realised puzzle games we've played in years. [Issue#332, p.122]
  3. Apr 5, 2019
    90
    It only took about 15 minutes for me to realize that Baba Is You truly is an extraordinary game. Its concept as well as its mechanics are refreshing and nigh perfect. Within the first level, the game teaches you how to play it without having to use even one explicit tutorial-line. And it only goes uphill from there. Sure, not every puzzle is impeccable, and I did manage to get stuck on some, but the overall joy I felt - if one of my solutions actually worked - outweighed all of that. If you’re a fan of puzzle-games, you should definitely check out Baba Is You.
  4. Mar 19, 2019
    90
    Baba Is You is one of the best puzzle games of the year.
  5. Mar 15, 2019
    90
    Baba is You manages to take the familiar idea of nudging blocks and solving puzzles in a fresh direction. Brilliant.
  6. Mar 24, 2019
    85
    Baba Is You is a real UFO in the puzzle games genre, and brings with him a wind of freshness. Despite its sober graphics, it unveileds all its depth thanks to its mechanics. A true unique experience.
  7. Apr 15, 2019
    80
    A must for anyone appreciate experimentalism in the videogame field.
  8. Mar 24, 2019
    70
    Baba is You is among the most seriously arduous games of its kind I’ve played, and when its rules are clear and its instructions legible, it’s gratifying in a way only hardcore suffering can be.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Baba Is You is immediately completely superb, a puzzle game where you literally rewrite the rules as you play.
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 31
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 31
  3. Negative: 5 out of 31
  1. Mar 18, 2019
    10
    Baba is You
    Puzzle is Fun
    Art is Cute
    Music is Calm
    Thinking is Great

    BEST PUZZLE GAME
  2. Apr 10, 2019
    8
    Baba is You.
    Is
    Good

    Brain is Work.
    Music is Where ?
    Puzzle is fun and hard.
  3. May 16, 2019
    10
    This game is excellent, I'm about a hundred puzzles and maybe fifteen hours in and it's still really fresh. Other than one situation where IThis game is excellent, I'm about a hundred puzzles and maybe fifteen hours in and it's still really fresh. Other than one situation where I accidentally spoiled myself on a solution, I've been playing 100% blind.

    It's a mind-bending take on sliding block puzzles, which I enjoy to start with. I haven't played The Witness yet (though I plan to sometime), but similarly to that the game doesn't explain much to you about the world--except through what the rule blocks spell out for you, literally. These blocks are also pushable, of course, and have their own simple syntax you need to learn to redefine how things work. ("Baba Is You" is a good example of a working rule!)

    Much of the game is figuring out these written and unwritten rules, which often means simultaneously relying on and dispelling your presumptions about how typical games of this type work. This is quite manageable though because the levels are usually super small. New mechanics are introduced regularly and old ones exploited cleverly.

    I've been skipping puzzles I couldn't solve, to the point where recently there was a point where I couldn't unlock any more puzzles without solving one. But Baba Is You is one of those games where you get so familiarized with the rules that you can play it in your head, and it's fun to come back to a puzzle later after having thought of a solution mid-day.

    tl;dr i'd recommend this game, it's a classic in the making. I'd give it a 20/10 but since metacritic only allows 10 as the highest score, I gave it a 10.
    Full Review »