Back 4 Blood Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
4.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 338 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: From the creators and development team behind the critically acclaimed, co-op phenomenon Left 4 Dead. Back 4 Blood is designed from the ground-up as an original, premium title and marries the best of what made the co-op zombie shooter so successful with new features and state-of-the-art technology.

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Back 4 Blood - Official Cinematic Launch Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Oct 13, 2021
    90
    Thanks to the AI Director, incredible atmosphere and great pacing, Back 4 Blood is a triumphant return for Turtle Rock.
  2. Oct 12, 2021
    85
    Back 4 Blood is a fun blend of the classic Left 4 Dead template with a reasonable inclusion of modern traits. The basic zombie shooting brings forth just as many memorable and chaotic moments as the developer's original series, and the game absolutely sings in multiplayer, but the solo experience remains engaging for those who only get along with bots. The modern touches add some depth that doesn't detract from what makes this kind of game so fun in the first place. The steps to increase replayability accomplish that without feeling forced. Despite a few minor issues here and there, Back 4 Blood is a solid debut, and those who wanted some progress in the genre are going to find it in buckets here.
  3. Oct 12, 2021
    80
    Back 4 Blood isn't Left 4 Dead, and it doesn't even try to be it, doing away with the classics' straightforward campaign in favor of a more modern experience that rewards progression and offers plenty of replayability. The excellent map and mission design, the huge variety of builds made possible by the card system, and satisfying gameplay make the game by Turtle Rock Studios the one to get for those who have a team of friends ready to take on hordes of undead, but those who are looking to play the game solo would do better to look elsewhere, as Back 4 Blood doesn't offer much for those not too keen on teamwork.
  4. Oct 13, 2021
    80
    In spite of its shortcomings, though, Back 4 Blood is already starting to feel like it could very well become my go-to zombie shooter whenever I just want to have a fun, social experience with friends. Despite how saturated the zombie game market has become, Back 4 Blood cuts through all the noise and delivers a solid co-op shooter that oozes charm and prioritizes fun with friends over everything else.
  5. Nov 1, 2021
    80
    On the whole, I really like B4B. I’d like to see the difficulty spikes addressed and some expanded PvP choices, both of which I think can and will be pretty easily added and fixed. I’m also hoping that more people start playing it, as most of the runs I’ve joined have at least one BOT in it and is often nothing but BOTs (and when I’m playing with nothing but BOTs, why do I have to wait for online server space to play it?). The BOTs are competent shooters, and use their player advantages pretty well, but have zero ability with regards to the additional level objectives – they won’t plant explosives or carry supplies, and they tend to hang near you, which is good from a survival perspective, but doesn’t help in finding weapon and healing caches. But for a team that plays well together, and I’m hoping to get my crew to move over from L4D, it’s a fine zombie run and gun.
  6. Oct 10, 2021
    75
    Back 4 Blood is another great multiplayer zombie game, but some serious balance issues force it to stumble out of the gate.
  7. Nov 30, 2021
    50
    Do you want to massacre undead hordes? Go ahead - but the technical issues and design problems are much scarier than any old zombie.

See all 48 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 165
  2. Negative: 88 out of 165
  1. Oct 9, 2021
    10
    I was waiting for a game like this for years, a old school genre pioneered by the same team with Left 4 Dead but with some improvements inI was waiting for a game like this for years, a old school genre pioneered by the same team with Left 4 Dead but with some improvements in 2021, the cards system really adds to the replay ability and its fun to mess around like creating a Left 4 Dead no aiming and sprinting deck.

    Levels have good variations for launch, can't wait to see more!

    Microtransactions beign only cosmetics its something to love while beign able to unlock more stuff by playing too!

    Expectations met, i just love it and cant get enough of it!

    Back to slaying ridden i go!
    Expand
  2. Oct 8, 2021
    9
    So all in all, it may not be Left 4 Dead and while there are things missing, in the end however, Back 4 Blood is a very good game that isSo all in all, it may not be Left 4 Dead and while there are things missing, in the end however, Back 4 Blood is a very good game that is worth the time to play and recommend. Expand
  3. May 3, 2022
    7
    Le gunplay est vraiment le fun. J'aime le feel des guns dans ce jeu de gun. Malheureusement, le multiplayer ne semble pas vraiment top notchLe gunplay est vraiment le fun. J'aime le feel des guns dans ce jeu de gun. Malheureusement, le multiplayer ne semble pas vraiment top notch et la fin laisse a désiré. Expand
  4. Oct 22, 2021
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is **** .... I'm really sorry but there is no balance , like at ALL, AI is sucking the greatest PP you can imagine like there is a window with broken glass in chapter three ( don't remember exact lol ) and bots are trying to jump in it and stuck there . But not everything is bad . There is good shooting , weapons feel really nice . Can say nothing about story . GG Expand
  5. Oct 17, 2021
    2
    This game is really bad.

    The story is ridiculous, the characters have absolutely zero personality, the dialogues are very bad (including
    This game is really bad.

    The story is ridiculous, the characters have absolutely zero personality, the dialogues are very bad (including the farting jokes). I also think that a lot of their sentences are often the same at the same moment. Presumably to explain what you will have to do, even if it fails do to that most of the time. For example, why do the military does not trust the cleaners, which is what he says at the beginning of Act 2 I think (he was very clear about the fact they they should earn his trust), I don't know (and I don't care).

    The objectives are not interesting,and the same objectives are reused several times in the game, and they are not well explained. They are also bugged, i encountered a game breaking bug in Act 2 when I destroyed the three nests which blocked the progression, including the final bug one, but the game considered that I only destroyed one. Restarting the level did not fix this, I thing I should have quit and restarted the game.

    The objectives are also often totally disconnected from the flow of the game, leading to the player have absolutely zero engagement to do them (except that he must, or he can not continue the level). The characters are 100% engaged, but not the player.

    The Director seems to still be bugged since the Beta. And his way to give challenge is to put several specials of the same type (and make them much more resistant to bullets). Their only tactics is to go to the players in a straight line (from afar if its outside).

    There are a LOT of invisible walls everywhere, some of them are of a special type which don't prevent to cross this invisible line but lead to the immediate death of the player.
    Expand
  6. Nov 21, 2021
    0
    have friends or don't play our games -turtle rock studios terrible game, broken special spawns dumb as **** AI and the worst offence nohave friends or don't play our games -turtle rock studios terrible game, broken special spawns dumb as **** AI and the worst offence no singleplayer like are you braindead? game was made to fail from the start itll be dead within a year Expand
  7. Oct 12, 2021
    0
    No PVP Campaign which made the previously developed Left 4 Dead game so great. No idea why this decision was made, but it was a poor one.

See all 165 User Reviews