Batman: The Enemy Within - The Telltale Series Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 50 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In this latest chapter from the award-winning studio behind Batman - The Telltale Series, both Bruce Wayne and Batman will be forced into precarious new roles. The Riddler has returned to terrorize Gotham City, but his gruesome puzzles merely foreshadow an even greater crisis.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Telltale Games - Summer 2017 Update
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Games Master UK
    May 18, 2018
    90
    After a rocky few years, this is Telltale back on top form, with one of our new favourite Batman stories in any medium. [June 2018, p.85]
  2. Apr 18, 2018
    90
    Batman: The Enemy Within is a real treat for all the Caped Crusader fans out there: the second season of Telltale's Batman offers a great reimagining of the Joker's origins, meaningful choices that truly affect the plot, and the usual, well written and intense storyline. Definitely, a must have.
  3. Apr 5, 2018
    87
    Batman: The Enemy Within is an excellent Telltale Games title in story and execution, but probably won't change the hearts or minds of players who want more choice efficacy in their adventure games.
  4. Jun 3, 2018
    75
    With Batman: The Enemy Within, Telltale Games performs no miracles but delivers an epic adventure full of twists and turns, of schemes and colorful characters.
  5. Apr 16, 2018
    73
    Although it improves the result of the first season, Telltale still has work ahead with the license of one of the most iconic characters of DC and their own vision and history.
  6. Mar 30, 2018
    71
    Despite interesting choices that alter events, Batman: The Enemy Within is not quite a stellar experience. Watching Joker come alive as he interacts with Bruce is alluring and the finale is impressive, but the second season squanders the best features of the original season and has the same problems as Telltale’s other recent efforts.
  7. CD-Action
    Jul 6, 2018
    60
    The Enemy Within is less unpleasant than Guardians of the Galaxy or Minecraft: Story Mode in the same way catching a cold is less unpleasant than getting a full-blown flu. [06/2018, p.48]

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Nov 14, 2017
    10
    I liked it a lot until now. The story feels good, if you want a continued story to the first season. The feature, where relationships alter,I liked it a lot until now. The story feels good, if you want a continued story to the first season. The feature, where relationships alter, when you make a decision is also a step forward. Of course the story is still pretty much happening, no matter what you chose, but its a damn good story till now (Episode 2) Expand
  2. Aug 26, 2018
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. After Arkham's amazing Joker voiced by Mark Hamill I thought no other video game could top that one, but damn if Telltale didn't do an outstanding job with this one. What a wonderful take on this character, so different and unique from any other version I've ever seen and offering a completely new perspective.

    This game is a thrilling ride from start to finish. Amazing voice acting, great story pacing, tension, build up, lovable characters, character development, very satisfying action... everything is masterfully done! I love the new twist on the Batman world, presenting everything we know in a different light, but staying hardcore true to the Batman spirit.

    The slow descent of John Doe into madness and his inevitable transformation from your best bud to the Joker while you're helpless to stop it was the best thing about this game. By the end of the season Telltale literally had me in love with him.

    Take my 10!
    Expand
  3. Feb 19, 2018
    9
    I'm really enjoying this game (in Episode 3 at the moment). The story is great, and there is a real sense that your decisions affect what isI'm really enjoying this game (in Episode 3 at the moment). The story is great, and there is a real sense that your decisions affect what is going on. The choice of moves throughout the fights is a great addition. Expand
  4. May 5, 2018
    8
    Marginal but still noticeable improvement over 1st season in terms of story, but a hell of an improvement in terms of performance, the way howMarginal but still noticeable improvement over 1st season in terms of story, but a hell of an improvement in terms of performance, the way how badly first season ran quite negatively impacted my overall experience, so im delighted Telltale got their tool together.

    In Enemy Within whats most that stands out is the interplay between you as Bruce Wayne/Batman and John Doe/Joker, great and clever writing from Telltale ready made this a unique Joker origin story and offered many morally challenging yet satisfying choices on how you want to forge your relationships with John. It was also fun interacting with supporting cast, guessing with whom you should align, support and work together and what kind of secret agendas they might have. It was really interesting to shape the choices based on those factors. One perhaps annoying bit was that there were few, yet annoying plot holes, for me mainly concerning Catwoman, i dont usualy cry about plot holes but here since Catwoman's my favorite side character, it did do my head in a bit.

    And speaking of choices, just like in Guardians of the Galaxy, it feels Telltale have again made them feel even more impactful, even if it would be an illusion, its bloody well done and you can feel them as the story tends to branch out in several different ways.

    Overall its another great effort from Telltale, hoping for season 3 in near future.
    Expand
  5. Mar 28, 2018
    7
    Batman: The Enemy Within may not be as good as the first season, but it was a pretty fun experience packaged with exciting action and anBatman: The Enemy Within may not be as good as the first season, but it was a pretty fun experience packaged with exciting action and an engaging story -- only if some parts were presented a bit more clearer and the ending didn't wrap up as lazily as it did. Expand
  6. Dec 18, 2018
    7
    The Enemy Within is the perfect refinement of the already excellent story of the previous season.
    The twists of plot, the new personalities
    The Enemy Within is the perfect refinement of the already excellent story of the previous season.
    The twists of plot, the new personalities (and possibilities), the advances in the history... Absolutely perfect.
    The Joker of this Batman installment deserves to be remembered by every Batman fan.

    The gameplay, as in the previous season, the moments when we control Bruce Wayne are remarkable.
    The moments in which we control Batman, although they are still executed in a simplified way (QTEs), have been improved a bit thanks to the addition of "timely decisions", making a bit more friendly one of the sections that most pale of the set by far.
    While there are still anecdotal decisions, I have noticed changes based on my decisions. Bravo for that.
    Expand
  7. May 27, 2018
    3
    First one was great, this one was painful. The story is boring and disastrous from start to finish. A few good moments but it's not long untilFirst one was great, this one was painful. The story is boring and disastrous from start to finish. A few good moments but it's not long until you just want to get it over with. Don't waste your time, especially if you liked the first. Expand

See all 11 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings