Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Apr 12, 2017
    92
    Battle Brothers immersed me more than what you would expect from “just” a turn-based tactical RPG. I love its artistic approach, its mechanics to every last bit, and of course its unforgiving difficulty curve. I would not have it any other way. In this reviewer's humble opinion, this is easily the leading candidate for indie game of 2017.
  2. Jun 12, 2017
    85
    Combat can often devolve into a straight-line slugfest at times, and at other times terrain can make avenues of approach somewhat unclear and adjacencies a little hard to pinpoint. But for the vast majority of the time, the feeling of leading a desperate crew of die-hard sellswords is captured better in Battle Brothers than in pretty much any other game I've played. A surprise hit.
  3. May 26, 2017
    85
    Αn unforgiving and difficult to master Turn-based strategy RPG set in a low fantasy universe, that rewards the persistent and patient player. A perpetual battle for survival and the constant need for adapting new gameplay tactics is only held back by the total randomness in many aspects of the game. This randomness is at the same time charming and repulsive.
  4. Apr 10, 2017
    84
    Battle Brothers needs more text to fully bring its world to live, but if you like turn-based battles and open worlds, this game is as good as it gets.
  5. Apr 4, 2017
    84
    Don’t let some clunky inventories scare you off from this excellent strategy RPG.
  6. Apr 17, 2017
    82
    Battle Brothers knows what it is and doesn't try to be more than it should be, and that makes it so much better than other titles that strive for an epic or storied feel. What's accomplished here is a solid, honest package of thrills and strategic depth, though not oppressively so. In truth, the world can get monotonous and drags at times, but I also found myself losing track of time on several occasions as I told myself, "Just one more job." I dabbled in Veteran a bit before writing this review and couldn't get back into it — I just couldn't find the heart to jump right back in after I had developed such an incredible group of fighters who I got to know by name. One day I will likely pick the banner back up and I may just fall on the battlefield twenty hours in. And that's okay.
  7. Aug 25, 2017
    80
    An addictive turn-based strategy lets you manage a group of mercenaries. Occasionally it is hard and demanding, but it is a nice and unusual game for the fans of the genre.
  8. Apr 17, 2017
    80
    Battle Brothers may not be a game that I think about months from now, but in the moment I'm thoroughly enjoying myself. It's a break from the fast paced games constantly bombarding me. If that sounds like something that would be up your alley, then don’t hesitate and start building up a mercenary band for an adventure to call your own.
  9. May 25, 2017
    78
    Thrilling strategy game with motivating RPG gameplay, but also with a lot of random elements which may not be for everyone.
  10. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Apr 25, 2017
    78
    Even the easiest difficulty presents a considerable challenge, since winning a fight in Battle Brothers isn’t the be-all and end-all, it’s equally important to keep your mercs alive and well. [Issue#219, p.90]
  11. Apr 10, 2017
    65
    While the visuals are sub-par at best, Battle Brothers is an interesting turn based tactics beast with a multi-faceted battle system but also serious balancing issues.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 117 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 117
  2. Negative: 14 out of 117
  1. Apr 2, 2017
    10
    One of the best indie titles released in recent years. Considering it was made by a very tiny studio the game is really quite good. It wasOne of the best indie titles released in recent years. Considering it was made by a very tiny studio the game is really quite good. It was heavily influenced by Mount & Blade, X-COM and the Jagged Alliance series. It has a randomly generated open world, great music, and a very charming 2D art style with an incredible amount of detail on the models.

    It has a deep tactical level of play and you need to be able to react quickly to the changing tides of battle. Like with Darkest Dungeon, not every fight can be won and RNG is RNG. Sometimes you need to run away to save yourself. I guess some people can't handle that aspect of the game, just like some people can't handle Darkest Dungeon or the X-COM series.

    The game has over a 92% positive review score on Steam. Don't allow some people who are sour that they can't spam "X" to win at the game and upset that they actually have to do some tactical thinking keep you from giving a great indie game a try.
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 11, 2017
    10
    A fantastic strategical experience, one of the best indie games released in the last decade. The possibilities for expansions and more contentA fantastic strategical experience, one of the best indie games released in the last decade. The possibilities for expansions and more content are endless.
    Excellent tactical combat and a lot of resource management/company management. Definitely recommended to anyone that is into tactical turn based strategy games.
    Not recommended for people with no patience
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 31, 2017
    8
    A very good game but not for casual gamers. You need to think really carefully what you do with your heroes and what weapon you choose againstA very good game but not for casual gamers. You need to think really carefully what you do with your heroes and what weapon you choose against a specific enemy. Nowadays, there are hardly any games like this one - games that demand from player to use his brain and not to just randomly hit keys like in AAA titles and spam an enemy to death. It won't work in here so any average triple A game fan might get lost in here.

    What I think is the best in the game is difficulty curve, which makes it real and competitive through all the gameplay. You can't just create immortal team of super-hero characters with legendary weapons all -around that hack and slash through everything. Every man in your team is a living being that can get killed just like any other man if you get a little too careless in a dangerous situation. This aspect of the game makes many fights puzzles where you have to think what to do; wheather to make a spear wall formation against dire wolves or take strategic advatnage of terrain and place your soldiers on grass tiles in a swampy area just to make the enemy come there and ... get stuck swamp.

    Economy is also nicely done as it gives you some options to earn money; you can either sell loot from defeated foes; trade certain goods in specific areas for bigger profit or get quest rewards. Generally, if you think you will have no economic problems in here.

    If you like to use brain in games and think of fights like of puzzles and you are looking for a virtual challenge then this game is for you.
    Full Review »