Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    Feb 13, 2014
    82
    A model Kickstarter project, delivering exactly what it promised, on time. And on top of that, it is a fine, turn based strategy game in the classic mold to boot. Maybe even a bit too classic: more originality in design of the world and mechanics would have only improved things. AI does fine on the small scale tactics and punishes the player for the careless positioning of single units, but at the larger scale it feels like overwhelming numbers and scripting of the missions are what the player is fighting against. [Jan 2014]
  2. GameStar
    Oct 31, 2013
    82
    I have waited 19 years for a worthy successor to Battle Isle 2 and it was worth it. Well animated units, simple to understand, tricky to master, challenging AI. The presentation could be better though.
  3. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Dec 28, 2013
    80
    If you’re a fan of the Battle Isle series, you’ll love this solid, turn-based, story-infused strategy game. They’re still hard to come by. [Issue#237]
  4. Dec 2, 2013
    80
    Overall, Battle Worlds: Kronos is a really robust strategy game.
  5. Nov 14, 2013
    80
    Battle Worlds: Kronos offers a strategically tough and challenging experience. The turn-based tactical battles are demanding but also motivate to test out new strategies. Although the user-interface could be a bit more polished and some battles can be quite frustrating if you realize that your strategy doesn't work out, next to no other game will offer such deep tactical possibilities.
  6. Nov 8, 2013
    77
    It is content rich and delivers a solid turn based strategy experience with gorgeous battles. Story and presentation are not the strengths of these battle worlds.
  7. Nov 14, 2013
    75
    Even though Battle Worlds: Kronos is certainly lacking in presentation, its turn-based gameplay easily stands the test of time. Not really easy to understand and difficult to master it is only a game for experienced players and those who are willing to learn through failure.
  8. Jan 2, 2014
    70
    Battle Worlds: Kronos is a tactical strategy game that borrows from classics such as Battle Isle and Panzer General. Missions take long and demand your complete devotion, which makes the game fun but slow at certain times.
  9. Nov 28, 2013
    70
    Solid, entertaining, and as a whole a top-notch turn-based strategy game that's not only great to play but even to look at. Just if it was a bit smarter now and then, and if it wasn't trying to present both its shallow universe and its story background as something amazing.
  10. Nov 28, 2013
    65
    Even though we appreciate the attempt to bring new life to the turn-based strategy genre, Battle Worlds: Kronos has proven not the be the best way to do it. A true fan would still be able to get a lot of fun out of this game, but the predictive A.I. and boring missions won't attract any new players.
  11. Nov 18, 2013
    65
    Battle Worlds: Kronos delivers an "old school" strategic experience, packed with lots of missions and game modes, but it's also very hard to approach.
  12. PC PowerPlay
    Feb 24, 2014
    60
    A solid strategic base brought low by cheap AI and some shonky net code. [March 2014, p.56]
  13. Dec 30, 2013
    60
    Battle Worlds: Kronos is a game with its heart in the right place, but it’s difficult to enjoy. Attractive presentation and intriguing strategic elements are present, but the hours of campaign gameplay are largely fluffed by an extreme level of difficulty – and that’s thanks to a ridiculous number of enemies in lieu of smart AI.
  14. Nov 15, 2013
    60
    Battle Worlds: Kronos is a very classic but effective turn based strategy game. The concept requires thinking and AI gives trouble. Too bad that the realization comes from another era, and the art direction is so uninspired.
  15. Nov 18, 2013
    59
    The worst thing is that the campaign missions are simply boring. The weak AI spends most of the time waiting until you get close to its units, while scripted events often put you at an unfair disadvantage for the sake of creating drama.
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 72 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 72
  2. Negative: 17 out of 72
  1. Nov 5, 2013
    7
    Two days in:

    It's a quality game. Watching the developer video really connected with me. I feel gameplay in modern titles has suffered, as
    Two days in:

    It's a quality game. Watching the developer video really connected with me. I feel gameplay in modern titles has suffered, as more efforts end up going into graphics and animations with your typical release. That being said, Battle Worlds still has pretty cool artwork and watching things explode is always a pleasure when in the game. Cutscene videos have extremely good quality, and almost dwarf the in game graphics by comparison.

    Where Kronos seems to shine most, is in the gameplay. The wide variety of units, and depth came to me as a surprise. From what I've seen, the tactical capacity, and room for creative strategic ideas is enormous. As a chess player, this was great to see for me.

    It's an engaging game, and requires a lot of planning, thinking, and concentration. The UI is very streamlined, and makes the complexity of the game easy to interface with (think Civ 5).

    For being turn based, command transitions are very smooth, and almost make it feel real time. Honest to the advertising, it does seem well optimized.

    Overall, the game plays like a modernized, more action packed model of Alpha Centauri, spliced with Advanced Wars. I will keep the rating updated as I continue to play. So far, very impressive. I'm having a lot of fun with it. Still haven't tried multiplayer.
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 12, 2013
    3
    I was really looking forward to this game. But after playing it, it's hard to be anything but let down. The game lacks the depth of even aI was really looking forward to this game. But after playing it, it's hard to be anything but let down. The game lacks the depth of even a casual TBS. No terrain modifiers or no defensive bonuses. The game is entirely balanced in favor of the attacker. Compounding this issue is the movement and action system. For a given move command, you can move once, regardless of the distance. This forces the player to move to the maximum distance to scout positions, and be unable to retreat when contact is made. And because all units can move as far as they can see in one turn, this means the enemy is almost always the one to attack first. The AI is mediocre at best. They do very little outside of rush you as soon as you're spotted.

    Also, the game is missing a traditional skirmish mode. So there are no scenarios against the AI that are played on a level field. Instead, all scenarios against the AI rely on giving the AI copious amounts of reinforcements to zerg at the player, which is the only way to offer a challenge (and it is, though not very interesting..).

    I rated this a 3 because while the gameplay is not enjoyable, it's at least stable and playable.. which is something. But I'm afraid a few patches won't be enough to fix its faults. The core gameplay needs an overhaul.
    Full Review »
  3. Jan 11, 2014
    10
    This is the game all of us Battle Isle Fans waited for a long time now: a tactical turn-based strategy game, not simple but not an absoluteThis is the game all of us Battle Isle Fans waited for a long time now: a tactical turn-based strategy game, not simple but not an absolute pro-gamer game, and good game mechanics combined with nice and functional graphics. What makes it more perfect is the continued support and patching and a lot of listening to their supporters and fans: there will be soon versions on iOS and tablets, and a addon with new units and more campaign missions for free cause of the kickstarter campaign.

    I cant understand why those guys below me are voting that bad... for me its one of the best TB strategy game of 2013 and a long long expected successor of my good old battle isle 3.
    I love it :-)

    Pro:
    - Nice graphics, good game mechanics, simple but getting harder and more difficult with each mission.

    Con:
    - perhaps those quite simple text-boxes for the Story telling, but he - i wanna play a game and not watch a movie... and the story is only secondary for an tactical turn-based strategy game imho.
    Full Review »