User Score
2.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 4014 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 21, 2021
    0
    Garbage. Maps are garbage. The lack of guns are garbage. The sPeCiAlIsTs are garbage and don't belong. If you want to play this, I hope you like being spawn killed by armored balloons doing 200mph drifting for hours on end.

    I jest, I strongly recommend that you DO NOT buy this. It's barely a game at all The maps are so **** bad that on Breakthrough you spawn dead 90% of the time
    Garbage. Maps are garbage. The lack of guns are garbage. The sPeCiAlIsTs are garbage and don't belong. If you want to play this, I hope you like being spawn killed by armored balloons doing 200mph drifting for hours on end.

    I jest, I strongly recommend that you DO NOT buy this. It's barely a game at all

    The maps are so **** bad that on Breakthrough you spawn dead 90% of the time because the spawns are literally 300 meters from any cover and everyone on the map can see you because of this. They're too big and too flat. Ironically the maps you get when you play against bots are about half the size of the official server maps and are 100% better. Still **** terrible because a graphics artist intern made them and not a map designer, but a little better.

    There is just no flow to the game. The audio is garbage. Especially the voice acting and the specialists. 30 of my clones running around in a post climate change world wrought with resource and land wars and they all have dumb ass quips like it's fun to them. The tone of the game is all over the place and it is grating as **** Their dumb ass quips still persist even if you turn off all dialogue volume.

    The game is just garbage, made by people who are DICE in name only (no, this isn't even hyperbole, nobody who made a BF game are on this team anymore, they all quit after BF5)

    I give it a 2/10 or 20% because at least it turns on (0 in reality because 449 people are lying)

    The only good thing about this game is that Crowbcat will have a lot of content to rip this trash heap apart. Looking forward to his videos on Cyberpunk, New World, COD and BF.
    AAA gaming is **** dire man. I can't even refund this piece of **** because I stupidly bought it on CDKeys

    It's not even just the worst Battlefield game ever made - it may actually be one of the worst games ever made. Sure, it works as intended most of the time, but the intended version is like trashcan with arms
    Expand
  2. Nov 18, 2021
    0
    I joined meta critic to warn others of this games pitfalls. If you are running a mid to high end PC you will be plagued with issues. To be absolutely upfront I preordered the game in July. I requested a refund three days into playing the game during prerelease. The game became utterly unplayable due to the server side issues. Mirroring what everyone else is stating - no score board
    - no
    I joined meta critic to warn others of this games pitfalls. If you are running a mid to high end PC you will be plagued with issues. To be absolutely upfront I preordered the game in July. I requested a refund three days into playing the game during prerelease. The game became utterly unplayable due to the server side issues. Mirroring what everyone else is stating - no score board
    - no voice chat
    - wonky specialists that don’t do anything
    -no destruction
    - horrible lag
    - server issues
    - hit reg on weapons is garbage - glitching - low fps
    - stuttering All around a poor game. EA and Activision have recently proven they do not care about their player base and want to give us half sorry excuses of a game. Until the companies receive massive back lash which ultimately forces them to make the changes that should have been included with the game at launch.
    Expand
  3. Nov 17, 2021
    0
    I'm getting tired of rushed releases. I doubt the developers want to deal with angry people trashing their hard work because execs want to meet deadlines so they can report profits to shareholders. If you're expecting people to pay $60+ dollars, the game better be finished. I don't mean all the DLC and everything. I mean FUNCTIONAL. Just because consumers pretty much have to deal withI'm getting tired of rushed releases. I doubt the developers want to deal with angry people trashing their hard work because execs want to meet deadlines so they can report profits to shareholders. If you're expecting people to pay $60+ dollars, the game better be finished. I don't mean all the DLC and everything. I mean FUNCTIONAL. Just because consumers pretty much have to deal with your crap doesn't give you license to keep shoveling.

    There is NO WAY QA did not run into the myriad of problems PC users are running into. Assets not loading, people getting stuck in the dying state without any way to die or respawn, not being able to connect sporadically, gigantic lag spikes, poor spawn logic, completely unbalanced weapons (this isn't "minor tweaking" broken), UI glitches that keep you from switching classes, UI glitches that keep you from shooting until you die and swap your loadout, not being able to pick you loadout and be given a random loadout, etc. The list goes on and on and on. At some point, these big studios need to lose a class action that creates a legal precedent of expected level of completeness. You can tell where their heads are at considering there's a Store tab that doesn't even have anything in it. They are just putting out a "game" for the money and profit boost while they work in ways to try to milk money out of their player base.

    This game is not complete, not even close. They'll say "Oh we just need more time to work out the kinks". Great, do open betas and fix your bugs before you expect to get paid for it. Putting out a game like this is a lie. You're not putting out a game, you're QA testing for free by putting your loyal players through frustration. I hope the bad press causes investors to lose faith in the leadership at EA and boots people out. The people who pushed to have this unfinished work released don't deserve their jobs. Give it to someone who cares about the work and not the bottom line.
    Expand
  4. Nov 17, 2021
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The game is trash for the following reasons

    1. Keeps crashing my device! Not only going back to home screen! But completely overheating it and turning it off
    2. Keeps disconnecting from online play
    3. Hit box isn't consistent and is trash
    4. Voice actor's lines are more appropriate for fortnight or Roblox
    5. Gun play is trash 6. Map design isn't nice maps are too empty
    7. UI is soooo bad you can't customise anything in it as well
    8. Destruction is set back to 1094

    So many more reasons that I don't want to waist my time anymore on this game to okay it or to criticize it
    Expand
  5. Nov 14, 2021
    0
    This has nothing to do with Battlefield.

    No scoreboards.
    No classes.
    No destruction.
    No servers.
    No stats.
    No chat.
    The weapons omg. There are literally only 4 ARs. Wtf is this?
    It tries to be a mix of Warzone, Fortnite, R6 Siege, Apex and so on.

    The cringe after game lines.

    This is an unfinished, unpolished and broken game.
    Do not buy this until everything is fixed!
  6. Nov 14, 2021
    4
    Never use a pandemic as an excuse again, EA. This kind of crappy game quality has nothing to do with the pandemic.
  7. Nov 13, 2021
    3
    Things we lost in BF2042

    Scoreboard
    CLASSES
    All chat
    A server browser for the main modes
    KD
    A stat page
    more than 100fps
    Teamswitching
    Squad switching that isnt random
    Persistent community servers
    UI info like damage done to infantry/vehicles
    Voice-chat
  8. Nov 14, 2021
    2
    Ok, i love Battlefield normaly but this is NOT Battlefield anymore

    this is some kind of mix between Apex,Warzone and maybe 15% Battlefield, in a bad way. I can see already the cashgrab that will happen in some weeks... the gunplay is one of the worst i have ever seen in a FPS game. the hardware requiered for it to run in a normal framrate is a joke. i got a 3080 and a 3900x with 32gb
    Ok, i love Battlefield normaly but this is NOT Battlefield anymore

    this is some kind of mix between Apex,Warzone and maybe 15% Battlefield, in a bad way. I can see already the cashgrab that will happen in some weeks...
    the gunplay is one of the worst i have ever seen in a FPS game.
    the hardware requiered for it to run in a normal framrate is a joke. i got a 3080 and a 3900x with 32gb ram 3600mhz on a m.2 980pro and it runs so bad on 1440p that you could think my hardware is old, like 10 years old or more. Around 60-80fps, its a joke.

    bugs are everywhere, glitching thru the ground, airborne tanks, crabwalking soldiers, ground snifing soldiers running at super speed.
    the sound is terrible, you dont hear from where someone is coming. you only hear footsteps but cant say the direction. its pathetic, feels like 2006....

    this game needs months to get fixed, and if they "maybe" are able to pull a 180 with that game, i bet the game will be EOL already.

    the only "good" thing about Battlefield 2042 is Portal, and without that i would give the game 0 points. End of Blablabla

    2/10 Pathetic
    Expand
  9. Nov 13, 2021
    2
    Way too many bugs in the game. Is this the **** you sacrificed BF5 for??? Seriously??? I can't move my crosshair vertically in the game once, and some others like can't change the lens. In addition, did the designers even play their game?? Did they ever try to run without any vehicle in such a big map? People keep wasting time running between objections just because you guys didn't putWay too many bugs in the game. Is this the **** you sacrificed BF5 for??? Seriously??? I can't move my crosshair vertically in the game once, and some others like can't change the lens. In addition, did the designers even play their game?? Did they ever try to run without any vehicle in such a big map? People keep wasting time running between objections just because you guys didn't put enough vehicles in the game! Expand
  10. Nov 13, 2021
    4
    I am kind of shocked at how bad this game is. No score board, like 4 guns per class, lackluster specialist who remove the sense of true customization, bad servers, unresponsive controls, sometimes can't revive teammates for no reason at all, some of the worst gunplay in modern gaming. This game was not ready for release at all. Also why is there armor in this game? It needs to go. Lastly,I am kind of shocked at how bad this game is. No score board, like 4 guns per class, lackluster specialist who remove the sense of true customization, bad servers, unresponsive controls, sometimes can't revive teammates for no reason at all, some of the worst gunplay in modern gaming. This game was not ready for release at all. Also why is there armor in this game? It needs to go. Lastly, the sound effects are the worst in BF history. Literal tanks right on you and you won't hear them. Overall 4/10. Needs a big update. Expand
  11. Nov 13, 2021
    5
    No scoreboard??? Really??? Just not to hurt someone feelings??? WTF The world is going to ****
  12. Nov 14, 2021
    3
    Pretty much all concerns everyone had were true: the specialist system makes no sense and defeats any cohesion that may have existed, making every single soldier on the battlefield play and build their class solely for themselves. The UI is absolutely atrocious and doesn't build on any UI customization from the previous games, from the awful tiny minimap to flag markers not disappearingPretty much all concerns everyone had were true: the specialist system makes no sense and defeats any cohesion that may have existed, making every single soldier on the battlefield play and build their class solely for themselves. The UI is absolutely atrocious and doesn't build on any UI customization from the previous games, from the awful tiny minimap to flag markers not disappearing while aiming and covering up enemies to the fact that the only way to identify enemies is by a color of a dot over their head, which leads to laughable situations where players run past their enemies thinking they're friends, and a remarkable amount of friendly fire. The gameplay is stiff and controls unresponsive, the gunplay is awful and the (admittedly, not all will agree) terrible weapon accuracy/bloom system is so much worse than in any game before. Graphically impressive, but ruined by vaseline TAA you can't turn off, and terrible framerate on a 9900k + 3080ti. The sound design is very good, but once again marred by some of the worst directional sound I've heard in a videogame, with a range of bugs from hearing footsteps of someone 300 meters away like they're directly behind you to not hearing tank cannon shots right next to you. Increase in player counts is a great idea in theory, but ruined by both the developers (completely unfitting map design) and the players themselves (the match turns into two blobs of 64 players running between capture points, with the only gunfights really happening when they meet or when helicopters come into play). Adding AI to multiplayer matches is an absolutely baffling idea, and the half-braindead artificial teammates make each match look even more like a bunch of headless chickens running around an open field. Map design, while absolutely gorgeous to look at, is atrocious for gameplay, with huge open areas where infantry is practically useless, while snipers and vehicles have a field day. Portal as it is is woefully lacking in content (much like the rest of the game), and the server browser won't even tell you the rules of any of the bazillion servers beyond tags like "custom points" or "changed movement". Protagonist specialists don't shut up, other specialists scream from both sides of the trenches in all kinds of languages throwing me off. The guns are laughably low quality, from attachments misaligned with the gun itself to 7.62 firearms using 5.56 suppressors to animations being incorrect for the specific firearm (see the bolt on the ACR during firing or the preparation/initial spawn animation on the AK74U), DESPITE BEING CORRECT IN THE PREVIOUS GAMES. I downloaded it genuinely hoping it'd be great despite the terrible beta and baffling design decisions, but I just couldn't bring myself to like it. Maybe in a year or so when portal receives enough content and the game goes 50% off I'll give it another shot, as I really want to like this game. The whole experience feels like it was build from scratch by someone who was described what Battlefield should feel like, but all they played is other popular modern shooters. Very glad my favorite Battlefield 4 servers are still full to tide me over until this game gets good, if it ever gets to that point. Expand
  13. Nov 16, 2021
    6
    "We ArE aHeAd Of ScHeDuLe" - DICE

    1. No content: small list of weapons, 22 primaries, 3 sidearms, only 2 launchers. Both feel like abilities, not stand alone polished weapons 2. Pathetic customization: ~10 skins for every weapon, only 4 slots for attachments, some of them have similar stats, ~customization of vehicles is EQUAL to the 8 y.o. game and EVEN WORSE, for example, there is no
    "We ArE aHeAd Of ScHeDuLe" - DICE

    1. No content: small list of weapons, 22 primaries, 3 sidearms, only 2 launchers. Both feel like abilities, not stand alone polished weapons
    2. Pathetic customization: ~10 skins for every weapon, only 4 slots for attachments, some of them have similar stats, ~customization of vehicles is EQUAL to the 8 y.o. game and EVEN WORSE, for example, there is no TV rocket on assault heli.
    3. Poor performance on high-end PCs: my rig is 5800x and 6900xt 16gb of b-die ram and I'm getting 70-110fps on medium with huge drops)
    4. Specialists gadgets don't contribute to teamplay, just takes the slot, thats' why being an engineer means you can carry additionally only a torch or landmine or launcher. Also the design and voice lines of specialists are cringy.
    5. Absolutely disgusting UI/UX (really counter-intuitive management of customization, weapon tuning etc althought overall visual style is practical and minimalistic), unusable commo-rose, which fire mode am I using? Why Sundance's grenade is shown like the incoming flak rocket, although it damages 70% less. Why do I cant make objective markers and other UI elements more transparent?
    6. All the problems they had in bfV are repeated: tearing camera, collisions, disproportion inside buildings, insensibility of weapon impact, what's wrong with c4/c5/dynamite throwing in every bf game? Meanwhile they managed to lose all good things: smart UI, variety of vehicles, vehicles tuning, towing, classes, destruction, leaning. After every spawn your character inspects a weapon (in comparison in mw19 it inspects only at the begging of the match) that takes some time and if you spawned in front of enemy you dont have time to kill him due to this animation
    7. Lack of competitiveness and balls: no scoreboard, no KD/SPM stat tracking, no chat, no insults, can't switсh team, can't switch squad, can't speak with squadmates even in Haha-zone, no spectator's mode. But you had a lot of time to work on and announce a non-binary character to placate some, huh?
    8. Bloom aka bullet spread. I know DICE is not IW and nobody was waiting the best shooting experince but implementing mechanics from 8-10 y.o. games (that weren't the best idea even back in the days) is a complete misstep. Moreover this random spread is even worse than it was in beta and previous games
    9. Season one is already delayed
    10. Bugs and errors are the least important thing as Im sure they will be fixed someday but still: invisible teamtag (both sides share the same list of specialists, so you can't really distinguish a friendly player w/o it), omitting animations of nade throwing, infinite reinforcement points and impossibility to spawn, to die, to ADS, to revive a teammate that died near the wall, awful hitreg (seems like the bloom was increased form beta to hide this), bugged reload notification, octogonal sun glare on Caspian border, broken fov, broken zooming on snipers and many many more. And Im not talking about kernel things like BSODs, crashes, mouse input lag etc. There are also a lot of things you don't understand are they bugs or features, like this aforementioned bloom or inability to invite the fifth player to party. Accidentally I had noticed the review of this guy https://www.metacritic.com/user/rosstergut and he is surprised that there are no wall running. Well, there is actually a hovercar which is able to climb

    I can clearly see how much work was done by concept designers who were resposible for overall visual style, music, the idea of proxy wars during global ecologic crysis, and I understand what this game could be, how ambitious it was initially, but everything went wrong. I believe, after 6 years of ambiguous installments in questionable settings, this one is the last nail to coffin lid. Thx to EA, DICE and pathetic attempts to please anyone rather than BF core audience
    Expand
  14. Nov 13, 2021
    10
    the game give me 10 fps with my 1050ti!!! exceeded expectations so halal mode!
  15. Nov 16, 2021
    2
    I have not much to add to the amount of criticism that's already written. Everything and more of it is true. This should never have been released in its current state. It's too late for me, but hopefully someone else will see this: Do not buy this game in its current state! If you still can, rerquest a refund. It looks gorgeous, yes, but the gameplay is really bad in its current state. ItsI have not much to add to the amount of criticism that's already written. Everything and more of it is true. This should never have been released in its current state. It's too late for me, but hopefully someone else will see this: Do not buy this game in its current state! If you still can, rerquest a refund. It looks gorgeous, yes, but the gameplay is really bad in its current state. Its only saving grace is Portal, and even there the issues from the main game are present. It's great to see the old classics remastered in the new engine and everything looks gorgeous again, but only pretty does not make a game good. Expand
  16. Nov 16, 2021
    0
    Biggest Disappointment this year. Been following the series for a long time and was really looking forward to this game. Please do not trow your money on this game.
  17. Nov 19, 2021
    3
    This game is meant to sell, not play. They invested all of their efforts into things like pointless weather effects and completely unnecessary scale so they could use them as selling points instead of investing in gameplay. And because of that ridiculous scale, they decided to throw in as many vehicle as possible without thinking of balancing them, Again to use the spectacle as a sellingThis game is meant to sell, not play. They invested all of their efforts into things like pointless weather effects and completely unnecessary scale so they could use them as selling points instead of investing in gameplay. And because of that ridiculous scale, they decided to throw in as many vehicle as possible without thinking of balancing them, Again to use the spectacle as a selling point.

    They swapped classes, a battlefield staple, for specialists because they would be easier to monetize. They got rid of so many great details and gameplay additions from old battlefields, so they could focus on making the game more sellable, not playable.

    They practically got rid of all sense of community by getting rid of voip, scoreboards, clans, and all chat.

    And not to mention how absolutely horrible the performance it. I am fortunate enough to have a pretty solid pc, (10900k, 3080) i get constant stutters ranging from 50 to 90 fps on settings meant for performance. I cant imagine how they expect people who have been getting screwed over by scalpers from getting components to play this game.

    The ONLY redeemable thing about this game is portal. It offers a great nostalgia trip and has a lot of potential. Unfortunately since people went straight to abusing it which i have no clue how dice didn't see that coming, its basically impossible to level up with right now.

    I could honestly go on but i think the part that is the most disappointing thing about all of this is that this game was labeled as "a love letter to fans" before it was even revealed, yet here they are ignoring feedback on what fans want.
    Expand
  18. Nov 16, 2021
    0
    Totally disappointed with this game, I come from the previous games, and this release was a total downgrade compared to the last 2 games, several mechanics were removed, this game is more like a mobile game than a pc game, the sound of steps are artificial, interface is a mess, no server list, random bullet deviation was put on weapons, weapon accessory system totally broken, ugly andTotally disappointed with this game, I come from the previous games, and this release was a total downgrade compared to the last 2 games, several mechanics were removed, this game is more like a mobile game than a pc game, the sound of steps are artificial, interface is a mess, no server list, random bullet deviation was put on weapons, weapon accessory system totally broken, ugly and heavy graphics, horrible performance, removed platoon system, no way to increase the minimap, removed the level patents, now it's just numbers. the characters are without charisma and cringes, a lot of stalling to start a game, you must go through at least 5 totally unnecessary animations before you actually start playing. I could stand here listing a bunch of other **** they put up. I don't recommend this trash bucket to anyone. EA and DICE in this ****ty release = lack of respect for their community, lovers and old players. Expand
  19. Nov 17, 2021
    0
    Really disappointed with this entry! Battlefield 2042 is such a major setback compare to BFV and all other BF games. Clearly this game was made in the sole intent to make money through Micro-transactions. Melee in 3rd person? MW and Apex much?! “Specialist” completely ruins the vibes. I think back to BF1. The audio, the atmosphere, the gunplay! The maps! It had it all. And team play! WasReally disappointed with this entry! Battlefield 2042 is such a major setback compare to BFV and all other BF games. Clearly this game was made in the sole intent to make money through Micro-transactions. Melee in 3rd person? MW and Apex much?! “Specialist” completely ruins the vibes. I think back to BF1. The audio, the atmosphere, the gunplay! The maps! It had it all. And team play! Was great. Even tho BFV had it set of problems. The game mechanics were on point! Ex. Crawling on your back! Rolling on the ground when jumping from heights! Medics distance (so you know how far one is) some examples. Heck! Even BF hardline had a feature that BFV implemented. The mechanic where you no longer had to wait for certain roles to provide you with ammo, health. Just simply approach them and take what you need. And this entry here (2042) for some odd reason took all that away. Don’t get me started on the 2042 bugs, glitches and hit boxes and much more. Just get triggered thinking about them. Portal was their saving grace. But as of now they took away the XP and ranking up system within this mode cause people abused the system ( Farming) So now there is no point to play portal after like 3 games. Honestly, if you are reading this and haven’t bought the game and are fan of the pervious BF entries. No need to rush to purchase this game. Until hopefully they fix it. Anyways after three years in development, with numerous of staff and studios. I’m just really disappointed with this entry. Expand
  20. Nov 18, 2021
    0
    Unfinished game that feels like they rushed it out but still needed a year or two in the oven. The major bugs during the early access literally made the game unplayable. For 3 days in a row i boot it up just to crtl+alt+f4 when i can't even hold my gun scoped in during fights, even when i hold right click it goes in and out repeatedly.
    But ultimately even so, IF performance was perfect,
    Unfinished game that feels like they rushed it out but still needed a year or two in the oven. The major bugs during the early access literally made the game unplayable. For 3 days in a row i boot it up just to crtl+alt+f4 when i can't even hold my gun scoped in during fights, even when i hold right click it goes in and out repeatedly.
    But ultimately even so, IF performance was perfect, the maps are huge and 128 players is cool on paper but because of this design decision the maps are ALL completely empty, devoid of cover, there is practically NO destruction and there is no levelutions anymore.
    There are barely any guns, operators are happy go lucky but the lore is dark and gritty, barely any skins or unlockables. This makes me think they intend on charging us for it all in the near future since they want this to be a live service game.
    I don't expect DICE to fix these issues any time soon.
    I cannot recommend this to anyone in it's current state. Maybe in a year IF they actually fix the game's lack of content.
    And for good measure, here's a list of ALL missing features compared to previous Battlefield games. This is NOT a "Love letter to fans".

    No single-player story (I could forgive if the base game actually had good content and lore but i see NO story or lore in the game)
    No standard server browser
    Fewer standardized game modes (Can't even play TDM or smaller scale modes without relying on community servers. Really?)
    Fewer base game maps than any other title (even including portal the map count is only 13)
    No persistent lobbies
    Fewer in-game assignments (none outside of cosmetic unlocks)
    No class system
    Less character customization options (than BF5)
    No profile progress/stats page in the menu
    No battle log/stats tracker for other players
    No global leader boards
    No end of round assignment progress screen
    No dog tags (they still sort of exist I guess?)
    No custom emblems
    Fewer achievements
    No medals
    A LOT Less destruction
    No map altering levolution
    No permanent community servers (would be useful for clans and events)
    Fewer guns (even including all the portal guns, BF4 still had more at launch)
    Fewer infantry gadgets
    No manual leaning
    No diving while swimming
    No high wall vaulting
    No crouch sprinting
    No backwards prone
    No explosion knockback
    No rolling after falling from heights
    No ammo or health pickup off teammates
    No scope zeroing
    No thermal optics
    No indirect fire gadgets
    Less anti-tank launchers
    No lock-on launchers (The M5 works with the SOFLAM but that requires 2 people)
    No AP mines/claymores
    No static weapon emplacements
    No fortification building
    No resupply stations
    No suppression mechanic (This one I don't mind but I'm including everything)
    Fewer vehicle types (and separate vehicle progression per faction even though they are functionally identical... why???)
    No squad wipe scoring
    No player damage points
    No vehicle damage points
    No vehicle kill assist points No headshot bonus No long-range kill bonus No assist counts as kill bonus No squad objective play bonus Oversimplified teamplay scoring (i.e. healing a teammate always gives you +5xp rather than the amount of health you give)
    Expand
  21. Nov 17, 2021
    0
    No serverbrowser for main game
    No Hardcore in maingame
    No scoreboard
    No classes
    No All Chat
    Muffled sounds
    Laggy servers
    Cringy gadgets that belong in Apex, not BF
  22. Nov 16, 2021
    3
    Joguei as 10 horas disponibilizadas pela EA, e bom, consegui me divertir bastante nessas 10 horas, mas eu quero dizer que o jogo não vale o preço que está sendo vendido, o som do jogo é muito computadorizado, diferente do BF3 onde dava para saber qual arma atirava mesmo em meio a diferentes tipos de som, não da pra ver o KD, não da pra escolher o pelotão, o jogo praticamente não temJoguei as 10 horas disponibilizadas pela EA, e bom, consegui me divertir bastante nessas 10 horas, mas eu quero dizer que o jogo não vale o preço que está sendo vendido, o som do jogo é muito computadorizado, diferente do BF3 onde dava para saber qual arma atirava mesmo em meio a diferentes tipos de som, não da pra ver o KD, não da pra escolher o pelotão, o jogo praticamente não tem nenhuma destruição, não da pra ver os status da partida, tem pouquissimas armas. Enfim, o jogo tem uma premissa ótima, creio que com o tempo a DICE vai consertar todos esses problemas, mas meu conselho hoje é : Não compre, aguarde mais alguns meses ! Expand
  23. Nov 17, 2021
    1
    This is game is a "goodbye" to Battlefield. Not only are so many core features missing that were in all previous Battlefield games, that are part of what makes this series great but also it's riddled with bugs and it has the worst performance of any game I can even remember. I have a 3080 Ti, newest drivers, 32 GB of ddr4 3200 RAM and an i7 8086K and it runs like ass regardless ofThis is game is a "goodbye" to Battlefield. Not only are so many core features missing that were in all previous Battlefield games, that are part of what makes this series great but also it's riddled with bugs and it has the worst performance of any game I can even remember. I have a 3080 Ti, newest drivers, 32 GB of ddr4 3200 RAM and an i7 8086K and it runs like ass regardless of graphical settings including resolution. Simple things like gunplay are terrible. If I didn't know better I'd have thought this was a cheap chinese knock off of the Battlefield series. I'm severely disappointed by the decisions that were made and the state this game is on release. Maps are also pretty boring and bland, it's mostly open fields of grass, dirt or sand with some containers somewhere. There are barely any weapons despite them having implemented the old ones for Portal. I will not review Portal because that's just old content ported to the new engine. Specialists imo are ok, but the cringe voice lines and forcing you to hear out the top 3 players voice lines ruins the actual dark feel of this game's scenario. I thought Cyberpunk would be a wake up call but apparently it acts as the leading example now. The contrast to a game like Forza Horizon 5 which is full of improvements, passion and good optimization is as high as on an OLED screen, infinite! I can not believe any high rating from critics, they either got payed off, have absolutely no standards or they generally have an agreement with publishers to only give good reviews. 1 year later and another disappointment. Expand
  24. Nov 17, 2021
    0
    Controls are rubbish, marking enemies is near impossible, the time it takes you to use the marking system. weapons you have to unlock all and all attachments which by my reckoning would take 10 hours per gun maybe more, move ability is weird like on a boat or some weird moon with dodgy gravity , every time yourespawn it does a animation with your gun so yoi can't see down site even thoControls are rubbish, marking enemies is near impossible, the time it takes you to use the marking system. weapons you have to unlock all and all attachments which by my reckoning would take 10 hours per gun maybe more, move ability is weird like on a boat or some weird moon with dodgy gravity , every time yourespawn it does a animation with your gun so yoi can't see down site even tho it will plank you in middle of a fight , Multi player like 16v 16 you might as well play any cod from 2010 would be better, the maps are beautiful and huuuugge , but that's it. I'd rate it a 1 for maps. Server are the worst ever all any spams in chat is servers ate terrible.
    Already aim bots on it with PC you won't get a gam with it off and you have to reboot it ever few games or you won't get a game too.
    : I take my 1 back.
    [Team work is non existent , nobody talks nobody marks as its to hard
    Expand
  25. Nov 18, 2021
    0
    Going back to the roots? This game does everything that hasn't to do with "going back to the roots" all marketing hype, unstable, underdeveloped game. Such a pitty that this has become the new normal, you should be ashamed. This game pretends to be this big thing but its hollow on the inside. When you take a look and compare yourself to Bad company 2 or BF3 you should be ashamed cause theGoing back to the roots? This game does everything that hasn't to do with "going back to the roots" all marketing hype, unstable, underdeveloped game. Such a pitty that this has become the new normal, you should be ashamed. This game pretends to be this big thing but its hollow on the inside. When you take a look and compare yourself to Bad company 2 or BF3 you should be ashamed cause the quality isn't on pair. Ps: The real ratings are from the user's don't look at what companies tell you.

    Extra sources: https://www.reddit.com/r/battlefield2042/comments/qsv5te/2042_is_a_terrible_breakaway_from_the_core_of/?utm_medium=android_app&utm_source=share
    Expand
  26. Nov 19, 2021
    0
    Just No, negative, never, declining, disapproval, dissatisfaction, refusal, red light, red flag, dis allowance, non acceptable.. 2 hours of game play, already refunded.
  27. Nov 19, 2021
    0
    The stupid game worse than a piece of sh*t ! No scorebored,No stats,No classes,No Servers lists,Failed innovation,unless interface,Complex UI,Low performance and More bugs...

    This game is unfiniahed .unpolished and broken game
  28. Nov 22, 2021
    2
    I've been a Battlefield fan for years, but this year they have taken Battlefield out of the game.

    Instead they are chasing recent trends in a desperate attempt to profit off microtransactions. CoD and Siege are making billions from cosmetics why can't we get in on the action. So they added Operators which completely destroy the class system we all love. Now we have 100s of the same
    I've been a Battlefield fan for years, but this year they have taken Battlefield out of the game.

    Instead they are chasing recent trends in a desperate attempt to profit off microtransactions.
    CoD and Siege are making billions from cosmetics why can't we get in on the action.
    So they added Operators which completely destroy the class system we all love.
    Now we have 100s of the same person running around and I can't tell who my teammates are.

    Teamwork is gone since nobody has a role anymore. Snipers running around with rocket launchers. I've got no idea who is doing what anymore. Even have a hard time figuring out where I am on the map. It's just a confusing mess.

    As a mostly infantry player there are way too many vehicles. Hovercrafts are everywhere just running me over and gunning me down. Meanwhile the maps are so open there is no cover for me anywhere. Some capture points are so poorly designed that they are impossible to capture. One was on a roof with only 4 little elevators to get on top. Waiting up there are 3 hovercrafts and dozens of infantry already firing as soon as the door opens. It's a damn death trap.

    Back to the Operators I did not find the abilities very useful and did not use them most of the time.
    The lame quips they make at the end of the round makes me hate them even more.
    They have designations as assault, recon, ect. but that's meaningless since they can use everything.
    I don't even like the way most of them look. Only use the ones who look like normal soldiers.
    Feel like they are only a detriment to the game and a unnecessary addition.

    This no longer feels like Battlefield to me. They have removed the soul of what makes these games different from the competitors. Might as well just play Call of Duty. If you are a old fan of the series this will disappoint you.
    Save your money.
    Expand
  29. Nov 16, 2021
    0
    Not even Battlefield V was this bad.

    - The mouse controls are horrible and don't even work for me at all. - 50 FPS with a RTX 3090 on 4k resolution WITH DLSS turned to ultra. - DLSS does not work. - Very small amount of weapons - Very few customization options. - Portal is okay-ish when it works. - No classes only specialists - No scoreboard - No chat - Very little to no
    Not even Battlefield V was this bad.

    - The mouse controls are horrible and don't even work for me at all.
    - 50 FPS with a RTX 3090 on 4k resolution WITH DLSS turned to ultra.
    - DLSS does not work.
    - Very small amount of weapons
    - Very few customization options.
    - Portal is okay-ish when it works.
    - No classes only specialists
    - No scoreboard
    - No chat
    - Very little to no destruction
    - Maps are way too large and feel dead.
    - No stats
    - No server browser for All-out Warfare
    - Hazard Zone becomes very boring after 2 rounds
    - The game has so fcking many bugs.

    Very unfinished, unpolished and broken game.
    Do not buy this.
    Expand
  30. Nov 16, 2021
    1
    Performance horrible,Aiming **** many bugs......the badest release in my 20 Years Gamingcarreer
  31. Nov 16, 2021
    1
    Negative emotions. I have been playing BATTLEFIELD since Bad Company 2. I am actively playing BF4. I can say that a huge minus to the game is that there is no TV missile for the helicopter, there is no ATGM missile for the helicopter, there is no BMP (LAV, BTR) for the 2042 branch of the game. The turret of ground vehicles makes a turn extremely slowly; even in the modern world, tanks areNegative emotions. I have been playing BATTLEFIELD since Bad Company 2. I am actively playing BF4. I can say that a huge minus to the game is that there is no TV missile for the helicopter, there is no ATGM missile for the helicopter, there is no BMP (LAV, BTR) for the 2042 branch of the game. The turret of ground vehicles makes a turn extremely slowly; even in the modern world, tanks are more maneuverable. It is better to completely cut the tanks out of the game than to leave them like that. There is no thermal imager in technology either. The game has much fewer features beyond content than the old BF4 Expand
  32. Nov 17, 2021
    0
    As a battlefield veteran who has owned every single game and played every game to the end this has been a complete loss of $60. Unbalanced, unpolished, unfinished. 2 years of waiting for a cash grab with no real value. Guns are imbalanced. Assault rifles at range are useless while 9mm weapons strike harder than ARs. My bullet groupings are tightly packed yet half my shots dissappear intoAs a battlefield veteran who has owned every single game and played every game to the end this has been a complete loss of $60. Unbalanced, unpolished, unfinished. 2 years of waiting for a cash grab with no real value. Guns are imbalanced. Assault rifles at range are useless while 9mm weapons strike harder than ARs. My bullet groupings are tightly packed yet half my shots dissappear into the ether when I fire at an enemy. Even at close range the gunplay is a pain and inconsistent. The PP29 needs a hard need and the AR needs some more love. The bugs and graphical glitches are worth another 2 pages. Even after witnessing the launch of BF3 and 4 this has been a complete disappointment. If they don't fix it by the 19th then I am afraid I'll go back to Modern Warfare which was a much better experience ( and it was my first COD game) Expand
  33. Nov 22, 2021
    0
    How can the same developer make a game that looks, plays, and sounds worse than Battlefield 4 which was released 8 years ago, or even Battlefield 3? This is complete garbage stay away from it, I'm glad I didn't pay the full price for this POS.
  34. Nov 25, 2021
    2
    No classes. No scoreboard. Bugs. Game created for future cash grab.
    -AND REMEMBER WHEN DICE/EA SAID THIS:
    "...you have two choices: either accept it or don’t buy the game."
    -"Ok sure, challenge accepted."

    Just re-release BF4 with updated graphics.
  35. Nov 18, 2021
    3
    BF2042 base game is death on arrival only fanboys and fortnite/apex will like it.

    Specialists destroy all sense of realism they are just the most soul-less generic action movie character possible, half of them are just garbage and the rest are OP, main game is just a Clone war. Hazard Zone death on arrival boring and incentive to replay, you should just have copied Apex here and do
    BF2042 base game is death on arrival only fanboys and fortnite/apex will like it.

    Specialists destroy all sense of realism they are just the most soul-less generic action movie character possible, half of them are just garbage and the rest are OP, main game is just a Clone war.

    Hazard Zone death on arrival boring and incentive to replay, you should just have copied Apex here and do BR 3, squads of 3 and a ring, here specialists make all the sense of the world.

    Portal is the only good thing (that's why I'm giving a 3, 23% of Portal and 10% for the maps except Hourglass that is complete crap)

    Portal is great we can at least have the option to remove freaking specialists, but it needs more content, more weapons, things to unlock. dedicated servers, the game is full of idiots farming XP (like that ever cared in a BF game) the few good servers are hard to get in cause the game just have a hard time letting you get inside a game.

    Other aspects:

    Sound is a sad disappointment, clear downgrade from previous titles.
    Playing with friends is almost impossible.
    Can't switch to an specific squad.
    No scoreboard
    No spectator mode
    Full screen map is pretty much useless at this point is missing so many information
    HUD in vehicle is useless missing missile projection ect
    No general chat
    Outros are just cringe stupid pure garbage
    In Hourglass and possibly other maps crashing a JET to a building do absolutely nothing
    Did you guys even test this game?

    DICE just copy and paste BF3/BF4 with new graphics, weapons and vehicles, nobody asked for specialists.
    Expand
  36. Nov 22, 2021
    0
    This game has lost its identity and can not be fixed by a simple patch.

    -No squad system, almost Impossible to play with friends and not possible to create squads. -No class system, and consequently lack of teamplay -No destruction -Too big and empty maps/ bad level design -No scoreboard /stats -No dedicated servers /server browser -No team switching -Lack of gun customisation I did not
    This game has lost its identity and can not be fixed by a simple patch.

    -No squad system, almost Impossible to play with friends and not possible to create squads.
    -No class system, and consequently lack of teamplay
    -No destruction
    -Too big and empty maps/ bad level design
    -No scoreboard /stats
    -No dedicated servers /server browser
    -No team switching
    -Lack of gun customisation

    I did not care about the bugs in the beginning, as a veteran I know by experience every BF game need a few weeks to be fixed, but this release has many game reking bugs and should have been delay a few months.. Its an unfinished product. It is Just and empty shell of a Battlefield game, and Portal mode does not completely save it...because of the lack of core functionality I just listed..and much more
    -
    Expand
  37. Nov 16, 2021
    0
    For me on a 1080 the base game is unplayable. Upon dying my character just goes prone instead of dying. I see characters jump left and right when i ADS. Sometimes the animations of my character play in slowmotion. And the list keeps on going. Weird thing is. On portal the gameplay and fps is good and i can play the game on high. The basecame i play on low and i still cannot shoot someone.For me on a 1080 the base game is unplayable. Upon dying my character just goes prone instead of dying. I see characters jump left and right when i ADS. Sometimes the animations of my character play in slowmotion. And the list keeps on going. Weird thing is. On portal the gameplay and fps is good and i can play the game on high. The basecame i play on low and i still cannot shoot someone.

    When sprinting and stopping my character shimmies a bit as if the player model is trying to settle into the position it is standing compared to the netcode position...

    This game is weird as **** to play. The beta had more bugs. But was running much smoother for me.
    Expand
  38. Nov 16, 2021
    0
    This game is so bad. Do not buy it! Cancel your EA subscription. Cancel your pre order. Its not worth it. Terrible buggy soulless piece of sh*t game. They will never learn. Even if they fix all the bugs the game has so many missing features. The BF2042 content is garbage aswell. Dont buy.
  39. Nov 16, 2021
    0
    If it was an indie game or a game from a company that "enters" the shooter market now, it would be a nice try. After Battlefield 1 and Battlefield V, with Call of Duty as a rival and with a brand called Battlefield you don't release these:
    1) 25-100 fps on 1080-2k on 2080Ti
    2) 4 ARs / 4 SMGs / 2 LMGs / 3 Marksmans / 3 Snipers 3) 10 low design quality characters (female ones are worst
    If it was an indie game or a game from a company that "enters" the shooter market now, it would be a nice try. After Battlefield 1 and Battlefield V, with Call of Duty as a rival and with a brand called Battlefield you don't release these:
    1) 25-100 fps on 1080-2k on 2080Ti
    2) 4 ARs / 4 SMGs / 2 LMGs / 3 Marksmans / 3 Snipers
    3) 10 low design quality characters (female ones are worst even from "Rogue", 3 of the make ones are either Granpas or Barbie's boyfriends....)
    4) Huge maps that servers cannot support (FPS drops, de-syncs, Stutterings.... )
    5) Confused Roles
    6) UI/UX design from 1986.....
    7) No Scoreboard.....
    8) Rubberbanding
    9) no VOIP....

    Devs & Managers please...
    Seriously consider a career change.
    Shepherds are needed worldwide. Get back to what you were good.
    Expand
  40. Nov 16, 2021
    2
    Battlefield used to be a sandbox of roles you could play in the battle. Why they decided to become more like CoD is beyond me.
  41. Nov 18, 2021
    0
    I had fun, but this is a bad copy of the COD formula. it is not a battlefield. (4/10)
  42. Nov 19, 2021
    4
    Empty husk of a game. No character or personality anywhere, a safe and sterile game, with less of everything than before (except empty landscapes). Uninspired gameplay that borrows heavily on most popular franchises of last five years, and lacking on things that used to differentiate it from other games.

    Now the only thing this games does compared to other shooters, is 128 player
    Empty husk of a game. No character or personality anywhere, a safe and sterile game, with less of everything than before (except empty landscapes). Uninspired gameplay that borrows heavily on most popular franchises of last five years, and lacking on things that used to differentiate it from other games.

    Now the only thing this games does compared to other shooters, is 128 player servers. They doubled the player count, but made the maps five times bigger, making most of it empty.

    Others have given way more detailed answers on why and what. Money and monetisation.

    You should not buy this game. You should not encourage anyone to buy this.

    If all of gaming truly becomes a dripfest of mediocre content that old men in suits only look as a way to generate unbelievable amounts of cash, I don't think games are for me anymore...
    Expand
  43. Nov 23, 2021
    0
    You people have got to learn this fact: Your favorite developers are no more. They are shells of what they use to be. They no longer value talent, skill, vision, and work ethic. They hire for the company picture. They promote for social credit. They care about virtue signaling. Not actual virtue. They manipulate and rape their customers. This game is just more proof of it. Play the oldYou people have got to learn this fact: Your favorite developers are no more. They are shells of what they use to be. They no longer value talent, skill, vision, and work ethic. They hire for the company picture. They promote for social credit. They care about virtue signaling. Not actual virtue. They manipulate and rape their customers. This game is just more proof of it. Play the old games. Play the true indie games. Stop giving these lazy, and I do mean **** lazy, people your money. Expand
  44. Nov 21, 2021
    0
    EA, has slowly been chipping away at the complexity of Dice’s Battlefield franchise for years now with the hope of attracting the widest possible audience so little kids can just run around with no strategy plus no skills getting random kills like chickens with their heads cut off. EA, congratulations you did it.
  45. Nov 24, 2021
    0
    After bf4 the games went downhill, removing features. Maps are too large, and only thing that is good is the portal mode with just copy pasted old content that has stuff removed. So there is no point playing this instead of the old beter games. Seems this is a game they didnt want to hurt peoples feelings, and it turns out everyone hated it.
  46. Nov 18, 2021
    1
    Очень разачерован исполнение и качеством игры. Отвратительное отношение к паклонекам игры.
  47. Nov 19, 2021
    2
    I normally do not give bad reviews. If a game is bad, I simply do not write a review. EA, you are showing your worst side here. This game is too expensive for the content it has. Very few maps, weapons, vehicles, game modes. What the hell is all this? After the huge disappointment with CoD Vanguard I was craving for a "Modern Warfare" shooter and I thought maybe 2042 was it, given theI normally do not give bad reviews. If a game is bad, I simply do not write a review. EA, you are showing your worst side here. This game is too expensive for the content it has. Very few maps, weapons, vehicles, game modes. What the hell is all this? After the huge disappointment with CoD Vanguard I was craving for a "Modern Warfare" shooter and I thought maybe 2042 was it, given the modern era.

    Wit this game I feel like I paid a lot and I am not getting what I paid for. It's like a rip off. Literally. And if I want the game to have a decent amount of content then I have to pay more for seasons and expansions. In short: EA being EA. I'm so happy they lost the Star Wars license.

    Never do this again EA. Never ever. This game runs badly on my RTX2070 with 32GB ram and i7 10th gen. I can't run it at more than 50-60fps on 1440p. What the hell is this? The graphics look so bad that I truly do not understand how my GPU can't run this at 144fps.

    This game needed 1 more year in development of simply fire the entire studio. Pandemic is never an excuse to deliver this garbage.

    What an incredibly bad game. I'm only giving it a 2 because of some interesting ideas like changing weapon attachments on the go and drones (controls barely work).

    This game needs MANY UPDATES AND FIXES AND CONTENT.

    DO NOT BUY!
    Expand
  48. Nov 21, 2021
    1
    The games a complete dumpster fire, don't buy this trash. Lacking in any substance, optimisation and detail, what the game brings to the table is lackluster and just unacceptable. Missing most key components of what a makes a battlefield game fun and unique. DoA.
  49. Nov 22, 2021
    0
    EA just wants to steal your money and run. Guarantee EA will drop support early as they did with BFV. Your better off playing the old BF games.
    Hackerfield!!
    so many are using paid hacks.
    Removing the scoreboard and Kill Death Ratio was the best thing EA has done as hackers can't get any joy.
  50. Nov 19, 2021
    0
    Absolute dumpster fire and an Insult to every BF-Veteran. Even worse than BF5. DONT BUY!
  51. Nov 21, 2021
    0
    Honestly, as a lifelong fan of the series, I knew it was going to be bad. You can just look at the specialist to figure that out. They want to make the Warzone money from selling skins, but here's the difference Warzone is a free game that makes money with microtransactions, BF2042 retails at $69.99. F**K EA!
  52. Nov 21, 2021
    1
    Dice/EA - you should be ashamed. I'm honestly amazed that you managed to release a game in this state. This isn't a Battlefield game - they have removed pretty much every aspect that us fans of the series expected and enjoyed in previous installments. Gun selection and customization is a joke. We don't even have a server list, can't voice chat, don't have classes, no scoreboard. ItDice/EA - you should be ashamed. I'm honestly amazed that you managed to release a game in this state. This isn't a Battlefield game - they have removed pretty much every aspect that us fans of the series expected and enjoyed in previous installments. Gun selection and customization is a joke. We don't even have a server list, can't voice chat, don't have classes, no scoreboard. It feels like they changed what this game was trying to be 10 times during development and this is what we have. The game has so many issues on top of everything I've said, its insane.

    If anyone play tested this for 5 minutes they would have definitely known there were MAJOR issues.... Dump an entire mag into someone from 10 feet away and not even getting a hit marker. I got revived and was invincible for the rest of the match. Clipping through the map NUMEROUS times while in a vehicle. I can go on and on and on.

    As someone looking for a new Battlefield game set in modern times, wow. I'm very disappointed. How you could strip everything that made Battlefield what it is, blows my mind. No campaign so the entire team focused on the multiplayer and this is what we get? You obviously are very out of touch with what the fans want. Sigh.
    Expand
  53. Nov 16, 2021
    0
    Been a BF fan for many years, and this is really hard for me to say as I do not like saying bad things about BF I play daily and love the franchise....but....BF 2042 is absolutely horrible.

    1. Full of bugs 2. The specialists are horrible 3. Gameplay does not feel like BF, it feels like COD 4. Weapon selection is horrible, so few to pick from 5. Weapon upgrade system is non-intuitive
    Been a BF fan for many years, and this is really hard for me to say as I do not like saying bad things about BF I play daily and love the franchise....but....BF 2042 is absolutely horrible.

    1. Full of bugs
    2. The specialists are horrible
    3. Gameplay does not feel like BF, it feels like COD
    4. Weapon selection is horrible, so few to pick from
    5. Weapon upgrade system is non-intuitive and horrible
    6. This game feels like a rip off of COD war zone
    7. It seems like this game was made to try to entice younger COD players to come over to BF
    8. Dice had the audacity to charge players more money in order to get gold members an early release (1 week) in an unfinished game. So basically we payed in order to help QA their game. it is insane.

    The game simply is horrible, I asked for a refund and got one. If this is what BF will be like in the future, I think it will have a dismal future.
    Expand
  54. Nov 16, 2021
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. No scoreboard, no dogtags, generic stereotypes, no story and horrible voiceacting, stupid spawnsystem, bugs: not able to exit vehicle, not able to be revived. List goes on. Its the worst bf game Ive played and I started with bf1945. A mix of bf, R6S and fortnight. Expand
  55. Nov 16, 2021
    1
    It's just not very good... Just remake BF4 with nicer GFX, add a couple of the 2042 maps, without touching the gameplay and that's a winner. This is COD mixed with BF V, it's a carcrash, sadly!
  56. Nov 16, 2021
    1
    Major disappointment! It doesn't feel like Battlefield at all. The portal mode is pointless, has been since launch. Once they let you earn xp again it might be the only redeeming feature of this game. Seems like every time I play, I get put in a game, run for 5 minutes then the game ends, so yeah, not enjoyable. Buss galore, do not see how this was a finished game.
  57. Nov 16, 2021
    0
    2 weapons (pp 29 / svk),
    serveur lag,
    hitbox ghost,
    player ghost,
    game optimization ****
    no stats,
    vehicle mastergodkiller

    this game is a **** right now, wait for buy!
  58. Nov 16, 2021
    0
    What a joke, beyond disappointed. Do not buy unless some major changes are made.
  59. Nov 21, 2021
    3
    What exactly were four studios doing for the past three years? No campaign? Only 7 maps in the core experience? (The rest are just remakes in Portal which is dead right now because they disabled XP.) Only 22 weapons? Only four assault rifles? Only two LMGs?! Some of the maps are also horribly designed. Especially Kaleidoscope which has these stupid golden colored gazebo things on one ofWhat exactly were four studios doing for the past three years? No campaign? Only 7 maps in the core experience? (The rest are just remakes in Portal which is dead right now because they disabled XP.) Only 22 weapons? Only four assault rifles? Only two LMGs?! Some of the maps are also horribly designed. Especially Kaleidoscope which has these stupid golden colored gazebo things on one of the points that people can get on top of and they're indestructible and you can't shoot through them even though there's holes! So if the helicopter guys aren't doing their job then the enemy team can easily capture the point that way. This is the most unfinished, broken, and unbalanced Battlefield game I've ever played Expand
  60. Nov 25, 2021
    3
    Maps feel so empty between the points, no tdm in fps game is very very bad, vechicles are overpowered a lot matched to that big big flat empty spaces where infantry have absolute zero chance to defend is very wrong. Shooting On controller feels like hammering down the nail using a screwdriver ,one of the worst controlls i have ever experienced in the games .. 3out of 10 skipping the bugs
  61. Nov 23, 2021
    3
    in first i thinking they are just kidding, but after a wile just realized no. this game is real mess
  62. Nov 16, 2021
    0
    это не батла каторую я знаю а галимая колда, одно мыло , управление авиатехникой просто ужал, стрельба из оружия как в гребаной колде балистики нету, танк стреляет по врагам как из хлопушки-(урона нет) , боты портят всю игру респавнясь у тебя за спиной и убивая ноускопом с 3 км.разрушеения это вообщее отдельнафя тема его нет. Спустя полтора часа игры нервы не выдержали веернул этот шлак имэто не батла каторую я знаю а галимая колда, одно мыло , управление авиатехникой просто ужал, стрельба из оружия как в гребаной колде балистики нету, танк стреляет по врагам как из хлопушки-(урона нет) , боты портят всю игру респавнясь у тебя за спиной и убивая ноускопом с 3 км.разрушеения это вообщее отдельнафя тема его нет. Спустя полтора часа игры нервы не выдержали веернул этот шлак им обратно невозможно играть лучше пойду в 5 батлу в лгбт немецких негров пострееляю) . Expand
  63. Nov 16, 2021
    0
    This game look like Modern Fortnite, instead of Battlefield. This is an unfinished, unpolished and broken game.
    Do not buy this until everything is fixed!
  64. Nov 16, 2021
    0
    Just over all a disappointment, no I'm not talking about all the game breaking bugs. I'm talking the lack of basic content that was included in all previous battlefields. The want you to pay 60 to 100usd on a game that's not finished and lacks in so many areas and they tell you we'll fix it later on just pay us now.
  65. Nov 16, 2021
    0
    oh boy this game disappoints me more than finding cookies in a cookie jar when expecting it to be a sewing kit.

    Started my first match by getting absolutely destroyed by helicopters a second after the match started. -Helicopter power still there No scoreboard and a poor game performance aswell as rubberbanding. UI is still awful The lack of destruction makes for a sad face Main
    oh boy this game disappoints me more than finding cookies in a cookie jar when expecting it to be a sewing kit.

    Started my first match by getting absolutely destroyed by helicopters a second after the match started.
    -Helicopter power still there

    No scoreboard and a poor game performance aswell as rubberbanding.
    UI is still awful
    The lack of destruction makes for a sad face
    Main menu is horrible
    Gotta say it again, the specialists are still the worst thing to happen with battlefield
    The lock-on range for the rocket launchers are disappointingly short.
    Disappointing gamemodes, Portal is filled with terrible options as of yet aswell as xp servers. Might be good once someone makes a server that's actually good, didn't like that the feel of BF2042 carries over to the Old game servers. Kind of kills my memories of BF3 and BC2.

    They did fix some stuff by the time the game launched but they are still like 2 years away from the game being remotely worth any money. Even a 1€ gamepass would make me want a refund.
    Expand
  66. Nov 16, 2021
    1
    The game is still so broken, game decides bugs and more spoil the game fun. Is it so difficult to publish a finish game these days?
  67. Nov 16, 2021
    0
    Battlefiled 2042 (X)
    Bugfiled 2042 (O)

    Any shortcomings in beta testing have not improved.
    Thanks DICE and EA, what a disaster
  68. Dec 3, 2021
    0
    Game is simply not ready and optimized, people said it during beta and now, I think DICE should take care more about the quality of product since everything has issues.
  69. Nov 17, 2021
    0
    The bloom in this game is over the top. 9/10 gunfights are pure luck no skill as you have your enemy in the centre of your sight and still miss your whole mag at a 15m distance. Not to mention the lack of guns and overall content in the game. I am badly trying my best to enjoy the little content there is in this game but I can’t due to the worst gunplay I have even witnessed in a game. TheThe bloom in this game is over the top. 9/10 gunfights are pure luck no skill as you have your enemy in the centre of your sight and still miss your whole mag at a 15m distance. Not to mention the lack of guns and overall content in the game. I am badly trying my best to enjoy the little content there is in this game but I can’t due to the worst gunplay I have even witnessed in a game. The only thing keeping me from a refund is that these issues can be patched as they aren’t the core of the game If you have played any game before this, you will be disappointed. Expand
  70. Nov 17, 2021
    0
    this game is a TOTAL joke.
    character run like they are too heavy ( maybe carrying a big stone), nothing to compare with running in BF1.
    i hope you like running on these too big maps. every maps and games feel like you are on omaha beach during WW2. You got shot frmo everywhere. no fun at all. enemies can kill you with 2 bullets at 300ft but you can t kill one at 30ft with a full mag.
    this game is a TOTAL joke.
    character run like they are too heavy ( maybe carrying a big stone), nothing to compare with running in BF1.
    i hope you like running on these too big maps.
    every maps and games feel like you are on omaha beach during WW2. You got shot frmo everywhere. no fun at all.
    enemies can kill you with 2 bullets at 300ft but you can t kill one at 30ft with a full mag.
    i dont even argue about the sniping rifle..
    grenade from soldiers and choppers do as much damages as throwing a stone on tanks.

    I HAVEN T PLAYED A GAME LIKE THIS **** SINCE SOLDIER OF FORTUNE PAYBACK.
    Good jobs DEVS, you made me feels like i was in the early 2000's.
    Expand
  71. Nov 18, 2021
    0
    Acabaram com a franquia que mais amava
  72. Nov 17, 2021
    1
    This is truly heartbreaking as a lifelong BF fan. The game has been released in a sorry, sorry state. Buggy, server performance issues, computer performance issues, horrible gunplay. ("ItS In EaRLy AcCeSs" is not a valid excuse, charging people over $100 to beta test your game for you is nothing but a scummy move.) The game has been stripped of many things that make it a battlefield title,This is truly heartbreaking as a lifelong BF fan. The game has been released in a sorry, sorry state. Buggy, server performance issues, computer performance issues, horrible gunplay. ("ItS In EaRLy AcCeSs" is not a valid excuse, charging people over $100 to beta test your game for you is nothing but a scummy move.) The game has been stripped of many things that make it a battlefield title, no scoreboard or score system whatsoever. No rewards for doing anything. No meaningful class system. No incentive to team play. Specialists ruin the BF experience, it has become a meta-bound hero shooter, wont be long til everyone runs the same 2 Ops and guns.

    Maps are huge, empty and just.. lacklustre. We were promised the biggest and best BF experience, but its far , far from that. Almost 0 destruction or interesting map elements. Nobody wants to have to run a marathon for a fight, die due to weapon bloom and repeat. Its insulting how out of touch Dice truly are. How far they have fallen.

    Its very clear this game was a BR experience with Portal and AoW added at the last minute.

    Positives -
    Portal is a cool idea, crossplay support is cool.
    Game CAN look nice, but we gotta play on the lowest settings even on new hard-ware to get anykind of acceptable performance.

    Avoid this game like the plague.
    Expand
  73. Nov 18, 2021
    1
    Extremamente mal optimizado!!!!
    Mesmo meu pc tendo requerimentos acima dos recomendados, e jogo fica com uma média de 35....60 fps, tudo no low em fullhd!
    Rídiculo!
  74. Nov 17, 2021
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I usually am very understanding of a new title hitting the scene (the tight timelines, devs under pressure, whole nine) so I’ve learned to never expect perfection when it comes to a new release. That being said, my experience has cycled between utter disappointment and borderline disgust at the quality and polish of this game. Let’s just start with the good. The graphics are phenomenal and photorealistic at times. The on-the-fly attachment swap is a welcome change and keep the battles interesting. Lastly the Portal is a neat idea that brings a few titles back to light and is a nice addition. With all that being said, here we go into the cons. Firstly, gunplay is questionable at best, criminal at its worst. It feels like 5 steps back after defining the standard for projectile shots. The “operators” as most of the community will call them only feels like a sad attempt at trying to combine siege and COD only to fail in both departments. In a genre full of superhero’s with crazy powers and gear, battlefield made it feel empowering to be a regular soldier, medic, sniper, and support. Last of all is the overwhelming feeling of it being incomplete upon early access (I weigh this the least but thought it should be mentioned). I was really hoping for more and felt only let down by this new addition. Cmon Battlefield, you’re better than this. Expand
  75. Nov 17, 2021
    2
    DICE сука где разрушения? Где статистика? Бляди, где Battlefield?
  76. Nov 17, 2021
    0
    Yep, this game is a mess. DhjshsjsjjjznsjssnsnbshsbsbbsbsbsbnsnsnsnnsnsnbsShhshshhshsbsbsjbshsbsbbshsbsbbs
  77. Nov 17, 2021
    0
    been playing since BF2, this game is an incredible disappointment, buyer beware do NOT buy
  78. Nov 17, 2021
    0
    Cash cow, knock off, chase trending, lacking direction, lacking identity, unfinished, unpolished, live service, un cared for. Sigh... you can describe this joke of a Battlefield game in many ways, but none of them are "faithful to the Battlefield franchise" . You are better off buying any of the older titles.
  79. Nov 17, 2021
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Game is not worth 60 bucks, less weapons, less maps, still critical bugs like hit reg and lots of little bugs. This makes even the smallest firefights very annoying, you should not buy this game as of yet. It was overhyped.

    + graphics
    + big maps
    - bugs
    - less features
    - not like an next gen game
    - definitely not worth 60 bucks in my opinion, maybe 40 will do.
    Expand
  80. Nov 17, 2021
    0
    This is the worst battlefield ever. It has many bugs, bad graphics, **** performance, worst gun play and many more..
  81. Nov 18, 2021
    0
    Same problems as battlefield V, the modes are focused on pile-on killfests, team work can be ignored, the character movement feels floaty and fast, and the weapon customization is simple and easy to understand. All of these criticisms could actually be seen as positives, depending on what you want out of an FPS game. But here’s the thing: They don’t belong in Battlefield.
  82. Nov 18, 2021
    0
    A rainbow six style battlefield? No class but some imba agent? I think DICE deserve this lowest score in battlefield family
  83. Nov 18, 2021
    0
    High End rig with insanly bad performance. I9 / 3080ti OC drops to 20 fps and getting so many micro stutter. Drivers are up to date and all avaible fixes are applied. Missing Features are already mentioned here. Dont buy until they fix the performance.
  84. Nov 18, 2021
    0
    Tout est foiré sur ce jeu.
    Pas de chat "all", on peut pas voir les scores. On peut pas voir qui dans votre escouade joue comme une merde. On peut pas insulter les types d'en faces. On peut pas balancer EZ. Pas de chat all sur un BF c'est une honte, on est adulte, on a pas besoin de n'avoir qu'une liste de choix de message préprogrammer positifs comme sur les jeux de faibles sur smartphone
    Tout est foiré sur ce jeu.
    Pas de chat "all", on peut pas voir les scores. On peut pas voir qui dans votre escouade joue comme une merde. On peut pas insulter les types d'en faces. On peut pas balancer EZ. Pas de chat all sur un BF c'est une honte, on est adulte, on a pas besoin de n'avoir qu'une liste de choix de message préprogrammer positifs comme sur les jeux de faibles sur smartphone pour nous protéger de la haine.
    L'hovercraft va vous mettre la misère, il doit y en avoir 10 sur la carte constamment, enjoy. Trop de véhicules, vraiment trop de véhicules trop tanky. Les spécialistes c'est une blague, donné une identité à notre perso ça fait juste en sorte qu'on se rend compte qu'on joue la guerre des clones. Les skins sont pourris. Les serveurs c'est une blagues, à mon avis ce sont les vieux de BF1942 qu'on a dépoussiéré c'est pas possible. 75 balles pour jouer le jour de la sortie et c'est de la merde (oui le jour de la sortie le early access c'est juste une méthode de fdp pour nous faire cracher 15 balles en plus à nous les fans boys).
    J'ai une RTX 2060 qui crache ses poumons en qualité moyen/élevé Même Geforce Expérience voulait pas reconnaître ce jeu tellement c'est de la merde j'ai du appelé un huissier pour le forcer me donner le panneau d'optimisation s'il vous plaît.
    Les armes putain on est tous au PP-29 le reste ça vaut rien c'est de la merde. Faut m'expliquer pourquoi j'ai payé 75 balles pour souffrir je veux retrouver le système de modification à la BF3 et pas toujours retourner dans le lobby pour modifier mon équipement omg mais c'est de la merde Comment on a pu en arriver à ce point. Pas de chat les mecs, j'en reviens toujours pas que j'peux pas balancer EZ bordel , rien que pour ça ça vaut -200. La musique c'est un gosse sur fivver qui l'a fait pour 5 balles c'est une honte.
    Expand
  85. Nov 18, 2021
    1
    All the interesting things about BF1 and BF5 no longer exist. The maps are too big and the fights are messy it makes no sense ... It's a Battlefront without the 3rd person ...
  86. Nov 18, 2021
    0
    This game is so buggy. The devs should be ashamed of releasing such hot garbage. The game comes out tomorrow and these are the bugs I've personally experienced.

    Randomly cannot change weapon from knife Can't Respawn at all Repeatedly locked getting into and out of vehicles over and over Choose load out (Assault) Start with a sniper. The PPwhatever will two shot you no matter where
    This game is so buggy. The devs should be ashamed of releasing such hot garbage. The game comes out tomorrow and these are the bugs I've personally experienced.

    Randomly cannot change weapon from knife
    Can't Respawn at all
    Repeatedly locked getting into and out of vehicles over and over
    Choose load out (Assault) Start with a sniper.

    The PPwhatever will two shot you no matter where you are hit. Everytime.
    All of these bugs where experienced within the first two hours.

    The fact that they think this game is finished and ready for release speaks volumes about the values this company believes in. Which is just profit.
    Expand
  87. Nov 19, 2021
    1
    Apexfield of Duty! The pursuit of fashion trends has turned the game into an unfinished garbage dump. It's a mixture of **** with **** give it back to us BF!!!!
  88. Nov 19, 2021
    0
    Completely missed the mark… went all COD and sold its soul to great a money grab EA dog S*** game. OTT UI that’s convoluted to accommodate a generation that has no knowledge of Battlefield games. BF204Sh*t is not a battlefield game. It is a overhyped product to generate profit. Third person takedowns, cod like sprinting… god damn specialists and the roles of medic, assault mean nothing.Completely missed the mark… went all COD and sold its soul to great a money grab EA dog S*** game. OTT UI that’s convoluted to accommodate a generation that has no knowledge of Battlefield games. BF204Sh*t is not a battlefield game. It is a overhyped product to generate profit. Third person takedowns, cod like sprinting… god damn specialists and the roles of medic, assault mean nothing. Come on. Who the hell thought this was a good idea, who sanctioned this. It’s a flop, it’s a disappointment and it’s a waste of money. Thanks for ruining an amazing franchise. Tw*ts. Expand
  89. Nov 22, 2021
    0
    BF2042 is dead on arrival, only fanboys and pre-order simps will like it. another EA screw up.
  90. Nov 23, 2021
    0
    This game does not deserve to live under the Battlefield umbrella..

    Cringe operators and 0 feel, I would be happier if they closed it down for 6 months and made another game out of this without this **** **** they have covered the game in.
  91. Nov 23, 2021
    0
    Battlefield Chernobyl should've been the name of the game, this game has nothing that makes it feel like a Battlefield, simply nothing.
  92. Nov 22, 2021
    0
    22 guns
    no scoreboards
    no stats
    bugs
    only team chat
    f***ing specialist
    cant switch teams
    random spray
    BulIshet unlocking system
    music hurts your ears and the UI rape your eyes
    constant crash with 3070 and latest driver
    Fallout76 Cyberpunk2077 and now battlefield 2042 taught me one thing: never pre-order a game with big numbers in its name
  93. Nov 22, 2021
    0
    Worst game of the series, absolutely baffling.

    - Awful and super quiet sound, a complete disrespect to it's predecessor Battlefield 3
    - No UI scaling, looks like complete garbage on 4K systems
    - No scoreboards
    - No classes
    - No destruction
    - No servers
    - No stats
    - No chat
  94. Nov 23, 2021
    3
    Just 1 for the graphics, 1 for being a fan of franchise and 3 as it has potential and can be fun at times. Generally Dice placed a big s**t on franchise, their past experience and fans. They wanted to have some cod/bf hybrid and failed. It's like this crappy battlefield mode from call of duty. Those two games had it's niches and should be left like that. I have a theory that shareholdersJust 1 for the graphics, 1 for being a fan of franchise and 3 as it has potential and can be fun at times. Generally Dice placed a big s**t on franchise, their past experience and fans. They wanted to have some cod/bf hybrid and failed. It's like this crappy battlefield mode from call of duty. Those two games had it's niches and should be left like that. I have a theory that shareholders wanted cod so they made this. I did not play hazard (I do not like battle royale) and I am not interested in Portal despite that it's a great game addon. Battlefield at it's core was always conquest. This should be priority.
    - crash after playing couple of hours
    - sound.. oh boy sound is ruined. I can't count how many times I was killed by vechicle next to me, or when I heard footsteps 4 stories above me. I tested Razer Spatial and Dolby Surround. It makes no difference.
    - no gamescore board
    - no server browser, you press play and you are randomly dropped to server. Last night i was thrown to same map couple of times in a row
    - terrible optimization (I remember discussion on chat where regardless of PC most players were hovering at 70 fps) with 3070, 32gb 3200mhz ram and 5600x at low/med settings on 1440 p I hover around 100 that drops below 50
    - invisible wars all over the place
    - getting stuck in textures
    - you can paradrop vechicles. The problem is that you can have a tank on a roof. Like why nobody has thought it's a crap idea.
    - complete lack of balance
    - all maps are for vechicles, there is not enough spots to concentrate infantry without getting killed by vechicles. At times its a running simulator just to get killed by vecicle at the end.
    - over half of servers run with one op weapon yet it's not locked (they locked in past some gadget's yet they won't lock pp). Generally it has almost no recoil, bullet spread, damage drop on range and high cap magazne. Noob tube like auto shotgun with frag ammo.
    - generally weapons that you unlock further are just weapons with same statistics but with ammo that gives more dmg (which can be unlocked in first weapons too, they have just opposite orders of unlock)
    - op hovercrafts. Need 3 RPGs almost same as tanks, canhave TOW missile/grenade launcher or minigun. Furthermore they can climb walls. Seen hovercrafts climbing skyscrapers..
    - bolte tank. Low profile, fastest, need 3 RPGs to kill, bulletproof except small windows. Can have mines/rockets/repair with smoke for driver and 30 mm cannon for passenger that works with overhearing mechanics and completely decimate infantry. Sounds op? Not for Dice. On some maps there can be 9 per team. Unplayable.
    - one side has a vtol air transport which can change engines and fly away like a plane on other team we have heavy chopper that does not have such ability. Like who designed this?
    - as in cod, silencer wins. Otherwise with this number of players when you shoot you are a lighted beacon on map.
    - specialists (like is it warzone). This was not needed and introdused another layer of balancing. Who would have thought that a guy with grapling hook will go where players should not be able to go generally? Or a specialist that has xray (like wallhack) or a specialist that gives armor completelty throwing weapon dmg stats out of the window
    - roseta menu is a square and clunky
    - ordering attacks or defend objectives is almost impossible without using rosetta. With those 2 issues combined almost nobody gives orders.
    - choppers. Little bird can kill a tank with ease. Just circling and hammering with 30mm not even using anti tank missiles.
    - little bird can eat even 3 67mm tank shells from wildcat tank and fly away/kill you.
    - generally ppl rarely shoot choppers with aa missiles. They drop chaff and run away. Before you lock it's gone. Heal and come back. Pilot just need to be patient. So when on pilot side it looks like a nightmare, in reality pilots will live and hammer down infantry/tanks when players will be out AA ammo/killed.
    - lock time on AA is so long that you propably will get killed before you lock.
    - everyone run with Proximy nades and both teams always know where is enemy
    - when you prone you move like with a seizure in some cases
    - aiming from some vechicles is impossible as crosshair is shacking without a reason
    - submachine guns are better than ar. Just hose with bulletsenemy preventing them from shooting (due to suppression bullets do not go where you aim)
    - when you disable vechicle part you just see part disabled (which? Yo uwill not know it's like an arcade game)
    - for some reason sometimes you loose your weapon loadout so you spawn without unlocks and have to reset it again
    - graphical glitches like floating windows after destroing a building
    - stll character models protrude walls as in every past installment. So you can shoot players leg sticking out of wal and kill him.
    I reached 5000 characters and still have list of issues.. 5000 characters is not enough to describe how bad this game is now.
    Expand
  95. Nov 23, 2021
    0
    As a huge Battlefield fan - I am very disappointed. This is not Battlefield.
  96. R_g
    Nov 23, 2021
    0
    Worst battlefield! Never place pre-order of EA games, or they will make similar games all the time!!!
  97. Nov 23, 2021
    1
    We want bf4.5 and we get a kid game
    No scoreboards.
    No classes.
    No destruction.
    No servers.
    No stats.
    No chat.
  98. Nov 23, 2021
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Gameplay not BF Call of games. Teamplay is not here Games not fun for buy this BF!!! BF3 the best of the best Expand
  99. Nov 23, 2021
    1
    This game sucks. I'm done with the Battlefield franchise for good. I'm never coming back. I got my refund and it's done. I hate you ea, I hate you dice. I'm finished. I'll never buy another Battlefield game again. You should quit while your ahead. I can't take anymore of your ****
  100. Nov 23, 2021
    3
    После такого ужаса я даже вернулся в BF4. Ничего лучше от этих ребят сейчас нет и думаю, что вряд ли будет! Шуму игра, конечно, наделала, но играть в нее вряд ли кто-то потом будет! В 4 все еще высокий онлайн, особенно после этого провала игроков навалило!После такого ужаса я даже вернулся в BF4. Ничего лучше от этих ребят сейчас нет и думаю, что вряд ли будет! Шуму игра, конечно, наделала, но играть в нее вряд ли кто-то потом будет! В 4 все еще высокий онлайн, особенно после этого провала игроков навалило!
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 67 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 67
  2. Negative: 9 out of 67
  1. Dec 3, 2021
    40
    Evidently, Battlefield 2042 was not ahead of schedule. The game greatly suffers from an incapacity to fundamentally understand what makes Battlefield a Battlefield game. EA and DICE failed to understand the assignment: this game is not what long time Battlefield veterans want to play.
  2. Dec 3, 2021
    65
    I can say that the decision to switch classes for specialists has met with a metric crapton of criticism on the interwebs, and in that I’m in agreement with the masses – thus far, about 20 hours in, all the specialists play the same to me, though I think most people will gravitate towards either the wingsuit or the grappling hook as being the most fun to play with. I suspect more content is coming – at least more maps, but hopefully more modes, and maybe some AI opponents for single player opportunities – in which case this game may grow into something good (but you’ll have to buy the year one pass to get it). But as it stands, at the price it stands at, I can’t recommend it.
  3. Dec 2, 2021
    87
    Battlefield 2042 surprised me more than it disappointed me. Some of the attempts are not successful and the bugs and balance are a bit unbearable, but the unpredictable battlefield, the mode full of memories, coupled with this hell of war and time and space, still make me fascinated.