Battlefield 4 Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 52 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 3478 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Battlefield 4 is a military blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more whileBattlefield 4 is a military blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more while playing to your strengths and carving your own path to victory. Beyond its hallmark multiplayer, Battlefield 4 features an intense, dramatic character-driven campaign that starts with the evacuation of American VIPs from Shanghai and follows your squad's struggle to find its way home. Change the landscape in real-time with interactive environments that react to your every move. Dominate land, air and sea with all-new, intense water-based vehicular combat. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. Oct 28, 2013
    95
    From the levelouted maps to commander mode to the new squad mechanics, Battlefield 4 is a top-to-bottom improved multiplayer experience over Battlefield 3. And Battlefield 3 was damn good, so that’s saying a lot.
  2. Oct 29, 2013
    90
    It's hard to make a judgment on Battlefield 4 because of the large gap of quality between the campaign and the multiplayer mode. Both are absolutely beautiful, but the former has nothing else... Fortunately, a Battlefield game is made to play with some other players. Maps are huge and well-balanced, the "Levolution" feature is kind of cool and vehicles make the experience really enjoyable. If you play alone, forget Battlefield 4. If not, go for it.
  3. Nov 21, 2013
    90
    BF4 gives continuity to what was achieved in the previous chapter, but there is still a long way to go until it reaches the desired quality. Recall that initially BF3 was not what we have today, a game improved to the max with all the updates introduced over two years.
  4. Oct 29, 2013
    85
    Battlefield 4 is an excellent multiplayer game that makes the most of its ambitions, proving once again that destruction is a valuable strategic addition to competitive combat, which reaches its full potential with two killer Commanders are bringing out the best in their squads. On the other hand, its single-player campaign is a disappointing.
  5. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Nov 25, 2013
    80
    In spite of technical shortcomings, Battlefield 4 is a solid continuation of the series and its core content - the multiplayer game - will last you for a long time. [Issue#236]
  6. Nov 3, 2013
    80
    With new game modes, an enhanced interface, evolving maps, and greatly improved small-scale battles, Battlefield 4 continues the franchise’s trend of setting the standard for the squad-based multiplayer shooter.
  7. Nov 6, 2013
    50
    Another day, another PC launch riddled with bugs and issues. Battlefield 4 is a perfectly decent game with a crashing client, crashing servers, and a whole host of issues that cause lag, disconnections, graphic and sound glitches, and plenty more. When they get fixed it's easily worth a purchase; right now, it's a frustrating experience.

See all 52 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    Game looks to be same as BF3 but in gameplay wise it is very different. you cant just sprint and then shoot. there is noticeable lag whenGame looks to be same as BF3 but in gameplay wise it is very different. you cant just sprint and then shoot. there is noticeable lag when sprint (not bad). Guns mechanics seem to be better. Now you cant snipe guys with a controlled AR rifle. You now actually need a scope to engage at longer range. Now guns just dont lose accuracy after some only 3 bullets. you can fire longer burst. Suppression blur is removed. there is only a gun sway when you are suppressed without any accuracy hit and blur. guns and vehicles are more open to customization like you have more accessory slots for weapons and vehicles. Map design is very good. there are no choke points so far. you can always come back in game with alot of flanking ways. Expand
  2. Nov 30, 2013
    10
    This is a great game! However, there are minor issues (though so byflo and BF3) which I think in the near future and tweak the game will beThis is a great game! However, there are minor issues (though so byflo and BF3) which I think in the near future and tweak the game will be the best for the next couple of years! Good luck DICE Expand
  3. Jul 7, 2014
    9
    The Battlefield franchise has it's ups and downs. In this case, for Battlefield 4 has sure pleased me. Battlefield 4 is a "First PersonThe Battlefield franchise has it's ups and downs. In this case, for Battlefield 4 has sure pleased me. Battlefield 4 is a "First Person Shooter (FPS)" and is FILLED with action and pure excitement. I have played this game for around 200 hours and I must say that it is a well-balanced game, but does contain bugs.

    When this game first launched in it's Beta, it had uncountable problems. Network issues, game issues, absolutely terrible service, and overall a bad experience. Now although DICE, the developers of Battlefield 4, has fixed most of these issues after the initial release of the product, it still contains issues to this day.

    DICE is constantly trying to improve, but doesn't allow room for that to happen. Recently, in the upcoming game "Battlefield: Hardline," a new developer team "Visceral" has teamed up with DICE and took control of the new product. They initialized an 'Open Beta' for the game and I got a chance to play it. It is going to be a great game and there were not many bugs, but I will save that review for another time. While DICE is a great team, Visceral beats DICE at least in the support department because they were really open to criticism and suggestions, which DICE is coming shy of.

    So while this game has it's ups and downs, I think it does deserve more attention as they are always improving it. I'd suggest it to a friend.
    Expand
  4. Jan 6, 2014
    5
    Battlefield 4 has two very different sides to it, the multiplayer and the singleplayer. The single player makes me question "why am I playingBattlefield 4 has two very different sides to it, the multiplayer and the singleplayer. The single player makes me question "why am I playing this when I could be having way more fun ripping my toe nail off with a block of Lego." However, the multiplayer is a bucket of fun, especially playing in a squad with friends, but you will need a powerful rig or the game will look like a 5 year old drew a few pictures and is showing you them on ms PowerPoint. Expand
  5. Dec 23, 2013
    3
    Fun game. But this game should not even be released yet. To many bugs, glitches and connection problems. Of all the servers you can proballyFun game. But this game should not even be released yet. To many bugs, glitches and connection problems. Of all the servers you can probally only join about half and on some of those you lose connection without any reason. Don't buy this game until the glitches and bugs are fixed. Expand
  6. Apr 3, 2014
    1
    Again, we can see a lot of bias coming from critics. How is it that the fans give it an average score of 6, but reviewers like IGN andAgain, we can see a lot of bias coming from critics. How is it that the fans give it an average score of 6, but reviewers like IGN and Machinima give it an 8 or 9? Well, the answer is money, that's the bottom line. Machinima stands to make a great deal of money on sponsored youtube channels that show BF4 gameplay (notice BF4 doesn't have nearly the amount of content creators as BF3...why do you think that is?)

    EA DICE buys millions in adspace from IGN, so it's no surprise their review is entirely irrelevant and biased.

    So, here's a completely unbiased review from an actual Battlefield fan - one who has owned every single iteration of the franchise to-date:

    The is probably the worst launch of a AAA title I have ever seen. It is entirely unconscionable that the game was shipped in such a broken state. The bugs range from unusual to game-breaking, and you don't have to look very far at all to find them. While BF3 felt rushed with its short development schedule, huge list of features that were never fully realized - not to mention promises that were never delivered, it is nothing compared to the state of BF4.

    Several developers have anonymously stated that although they knew the game had not passed QA (what we used to call bugtesting), they went ahead and shipped the game anyway.

    Whatever happened to finishing a project before you sold it. EA / DICE has gone over the line with this game, they've sold half a product with a promise to fix the rest later. A promise only delivered after a huge backlash against their broken game. I have since abandoned it, and I would caution anyone who values their money to avoid this title. Premium is a joke, as the DLC maps are - unsurprisingly - unfinished. Jets that can't take off on the runways, areas of the maps where models do not clip properly, MAJOR netcode issues, major vehicle unbalances...the list goes on and on.

    Also, as has been mentioned elsewhere, the developers have added in RUSH only as an afterthought. The maps are so poorly balanced as to make some of these maps unplayable. It's clear that whoever is in charge at EA/DICE is just directing the team to create as much content as possible, spend no time proofreading their code or testing it, and pushing these broken, half-products to market as quickly as possible.

    Like I said, I have owned every other game in the series prior to this point, and I am MASSIVELY disappointed. So much so that I have abandoned my favourite series, fool me once, shame on you, I won't be around to see how much worse the next Battlefield is.
    Expand
  7. Feb 4, 2016
    0
    This is the worst and more unstable game I have ever played. After years of updates, there is only one thing that's sure: new patch = newThis is the worst and more unstable game I have ever played. After years of updates, there is only one thing that's sure: new patch = new crashes.
    Then, game play and physics are crap I am not buying any DICE game or EA ever again.
    Good job!
    Expand

See all 983 User Reviews