Battlefield Hardline Image
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
4.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 945 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Run your crew as detective Nick Mendoza in an episodic crime drama single player campaign or as cops and criminals in rapid Battlefield multi-player. You will be on one side of the thin blue line or the other. Assume control using new tactics to gather intelligence, obtain warrants andRun your crew as detective Nick Mendoza in an episodic crime drama single player campaign or as cops and criminals in rapid Battlefield multi-player. You will be on one side of the thin blue line or the other. Assume control using new tactics to gather intelligence, obtain warrants and takedown with non-lethal force to effectuate the arrests. Take the cash in a new battlefield playground. New maps and gadgets alter the way you play the game. Utilize grappling hooks and zip-lines to scale city buildings and fly across the city with the cheddar. No matter the strategy, teamwork is key to winning the turf war. Sate your need for speed in new action-packed modes. Hop in exotic muscle cars, sleek crotch rockets or even give your whole crew a lift in transports or armored trucks. Expand
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Battlefield Hardline - Rescue Multiplayer Trailer Gamescom 2014
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 31
  2. Negative: 1 out of 31
  1. Mar 23, 2015
    88
    Battlefield Hardline is a worthwhile entry in the series that shouldn't be passed over by fans.
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    May 13, 2015
    82
    Battlefield Hardline offers a fun single-player experience. Arresting suspects could have used some extra polish, as it's way too easy to manipulate the AI to surrender. The multiplayer mode is quite fun as well, but it suffers from lack of content and for the fact that it plays out like a stripped down version of Battlefield 4. The game's heritage aside, Battlefield Hardline is by no means a poor effort. [May 2015]
  3. Mar 16, 2015
    80
    Hardline is a Battlefield game in every sense of the word. The campaign is still not worth anything near the asking price, it has some annoyances and it’s meant to be played with friends in a squad. Just like BF: Vietnam and BF: 2142, it does not reinvent the wheel, but it does enough unique things to be called its own, and if you’re looking for chaotic multiplayer fun, you can never go wrong with Battlefield Hardline.
  4. Mar 20, 2015
    70
    Visceral have created a perfectly good functioning Battlefield game in Hardline. It shoots as good as the best of them, the car-chases are fun, and the small tweaks made to the core formula are very welcome. But a little refinement does not mask that this is a very similar game to what we bought in 2013; despite the strong efforts to make a variety of new game modes, you can’t shake the feeling of playing classic Battlefield.
  5. CD-Action
    Apr 30, 2015
    70
    It’s not your typical Battlefield, but if you don’t mind trading military uniform for a police badge, you can buy the game and enjoy long hours of fun playing cops and robbers online. The single player campaign is not worth your time. [05/2015, p.54]
  6. Hardline‘s release was smooth, and although it did feel like a modified BF4, it also plays like something novel and worthwhile all on its own.
  7. Apr 6, 2015
    40
    Hardline works best in its multiplayer portion where it abandons the pretensions of police work and storytelling. Playing Battlefield online is stepping into a sprawling tempest of gunfire with 63 other players. Here, violence has a cross-canceling effect, in which neither side is granted automatic authority and every power and ability can be questioned by the other side.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 199
  1. Mar 17, 2015
    10
    This game is just perfect. People who hate it are either paid by Activi$ion or just brain dead. This is a subtle mix of Call of Duty, Payday 2This game is just perfect. People who hate it are either paid by Activi$ion or just brain dead. This is a subtle mix of Call of Duty, Payday 2 and Battlefield. The multiplayer is like Close Quarters in BF3, which was nicely rated when it was released. The action is much more dynamic than in previous games, cause maps are smaller, not like in BF3/4 where you could camp e.g. on the mountains in Operation Firestorm map and snipe all the players walking around. The gadgets for all classes are nice, and the easter egg with sofa is just lovely :P Expand
  2. Aug 25, 2020
    9
    I loved the game ans the story. Great graphics, maybe a little different to other battlefield series but I loved it!
  3. Apr 2, 2015
    7
    after 30 hours this is my review. battlefeild is a strange series. it fails to learn its lesson from previous titles and frequently makes theafter 30 hours this is my review. battlefeild is a strange series. it fails to learn its lesson from previous titles and frequently makes the same mistakes over and over. although hardline is by far the most stable at launch , it is not currently the most stable current battlefeild game, that belongs to battlefeild 4. they failed to balance the classes at all (K10 overpowered still) and is overall not a gutsy title. but that does not make this a bad game in the slightest. the new game modes are fun and creative, the guns feel smooth and authentic, you can blast your car radio while running over other players, and you can drive a couch called the american dream. Overall not a 60$ buy unless totally sold, only 9 maps and 8 modes (less than bf4), but is worth a buy if you like battlefeild a lot. 7.5/10 Expand
  4. Jul 24, 2018
    4
    Literally unplayable single player campaign giving you a nice combo of crap FOV, eye sore and a painful headache.
  5. Mar 18, 2015
    2
    Why am I one of the only few complaining about the visuals? BF3/4 were PC gaming benchmarks that many other games strived to even get near, inWhy am I one of the only few complaining about the visuals? BF3/4 were PC gaming benchmarks that many other games strived to even get near, in terms of graphics. Play BF4 and then this, and this game looks like it came out in 2007. I know visuals aren't everything but man.... why the huge downgrade? This is a first for a BF game and a huge disappointment. It kills the atmosphere and just doesn't look like a modern game.

    Gameplay wise this is just OK. Not incredible or innovative. It feels more like CS or CoD than Battlefield, big time. That Battlefield feel is barely there. I understand this is a spin-off, but it doesn't have that epic all-out war feel. It just feels like very quick skirmishes between police and robbers. There is a ton of camping, too.... a ton. People just wait by a road with an RPG in Hotwire and they get instakills way too easily. Netcode problems are still rampant: I had 4 trades in my first hour of play and I died behind cover twice, as well. Vehicle physics improved by about 3%--yeah, hardly anything, really. Vehicle movement and physics are still unrealistic and poor.

    Campaign isn't too bad. The story is very cliche, but it's occasionally funny. Visuals still suffer in campaign.

    Hardline brings some new things to the table (modes, etc), but overall it lacks a Battlefield-feel and a comprehensive sense of quality and fun. I'm not sure Battlefield is Visceral's cup of tea.
    Expand
  6. Aug 22, 2015
    1
    This game will soon be unplayable. The browser plugin is being phased out by all browsers and no updates in sight. Chrome isn't supported,This game will soon be unplayable. The browser plugin is being phased out by all browsers and no updates in sight. Chrome isn't supported, Firefox isn't supported, Microsoft Edge isn't supported, if you are on Windows 10, only Internet Explore will work, but its just a matter of time before MS drop support for that old browser. I have hated the browser plugin launcher since BF3 and now people know why. EA do not own all these browsers and as they drop they plugin supports or alters them, EA is left pissing in the wind.

    if you use any form of sli or crossfire, the game have a memory leak that will crash your game 5 min into playing. Google BFH Directx error sli and you will see plenty people having that problem. I run 2x 660 in sli and without sli I can barely run the game at the lowest settings. with sli I can run ultra settings 100 fps but only for about 5 min because of the memory leak.

    "You are running windows 10, its your own fault" - people might say. And yes I do. And play GTA V, The Witcher 3, most blizzard games and countless other steam games, all with the same system and OS. All running ultra settings, from Full HD to 4K/Ultra HD (use Samsungs cheap 4k monitor). SLI works for all the other games. 3 crashes in the Witcher 3 after 100 hours of gameplay. GTA V have a few more crashes, due to network

    I bought this game yesterday, waiting for EA/Dice to work out its flaws. I am such an idiot.
    You know what they say "EA fool me 34 times ... " Not again. My last BF game was BF3. Skipped BF4 because of its problems but was missing BF so I got this one. Well time for me to accept BF is a failed and milked to the max franchise, same as Dragon Age and I will be holding out on Mass Effect till I can pirate it(have both franchises legally on my origin account). I already payed for it with this 1 hour played overpriced garbage that I can not refund due to 3rd party seller..
    Expand
  7. Oct 12, 2017
    0
    $120 Dollars to play this sounds like EA is desperate for money even then the game is more of a disappointment its just a reskin of BF4 with$120 Dollars to play this sounds like EA is desperate for money even then the game is more of a disappointment its just a reskin of BF4 with cops and robbers campaign is cheesy with COD style set pieces and broken unbalanced multiplayer and an empty one at that Expand

See all 199 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2015

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2015 Image
    Published: January 14, 2015
    We look at the coming year's most noteworthy planned releases, from new properties like No Man's Sky and Evolve to highly anticipated sequels such as Batman: Arkham Knight, Halo 5, Uncharted 4, The Witcher 3, and a new Legend of Zelda release.