Battlefield: Play4Free Image
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 200 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Battlefield Play4Free is a next-generation online multiplayer FPS combining the very best of the Battlefield series.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Battlefield: Play4Free - Oman Map Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Oct 20, 2011
    90
    Very atmospheric first person shooter you can enjoy the best in small doses. Hardly anything to criticize because it is free and promises long-term entertainment. [Issue#204]
  2. Oct 20, 2011
    75
    Overall, we liked Battlefield Play4Free. The formula of quick, full-on combat makes this a game you can pick up and play when you have a spare 15 minutes or so.
  3. Oct 20, 2011
    75
    A decent core game despite its stripped down status.
  4. Oct 20, 2011
    70
    Even with some technical problems, a quite serious problem with cheaters and some connection issues, there is potential in Battlefield Play4Free, which offers a great relationship quality-price -that is, a very decent shooter for no money at all, which is a pretty good deal.
  5. Games Master UK
    Oct 20, 2011
    70
    Sink in some moolah or you'll struggle. [July 2011, p.93]
  6. Oct 20, 2011
    60
    It all leaves me wondering why, at this point, anyone would choose to spend money on Play4Free when they could essentially get a larger, more complete game for just a few bucks more than the minimum Battlefunds purchase price.
  7. Oct 20, 2011
    50
    After the first few hours, "free" becomes an illusion and the gameplay gets monotonous.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 110
  2. Negative: 99 out of 110
  1. Jun 25, 2013
    10
    I love this game. It's incredibly fun and somewhat difficult, but all-in-all an awesome game. But, you have to buy funds, which is a B*TCHI love this game. It's incredibly fun and somewhat difficult, but all-in-all an awesome game. But, you have to buy funds, which is a B*TCH because without them, you can pretty much do nothing. Expand
  2. Jul 26, 2014
    4
    Now, I know this game pissed off a bunch of players who've stuck with it since the beginning, but I'm here to talk about the experience shouldNow, I know this game pissed off a bunch of players who've stuck with it since the beginning, but I'm here to talk about the experience should you start playing JUST NOW (which is probably why you're here in the first place, right?)

    Alright, I'm not going to lie: this game is pay to win. With "permanent" weapon unlocks taking a minimum of 17500 credits to buy, and the better ones taking up to 90000, the system basically shoves the need to buy premium currency (BattleFunds) straight up your arse. Add to the fact that there are insane, utterly OP boosters up for grabs for the right amount of Funds, and you have a game where every newbie gets steamrolled from the moment they spawn in. Coupled with the arduous leveling system, taking hours and hours of playing time to level up, and you'll get frustrated pretty quick.

    The class system of BFP4F is also quite convoluted and annoying. You cannot switch loadouts or classes during a match, and thus must exit the server in order to change your weapons, apparel, or class. Also, you start with two free soldier slots and must buy extra slots (with *sigh* BattleFunds) in order to have all four classes on one account. This can be easily remedied by creating multiple accounts, however.

    All this being said, there are good things to say about this game as well. First of all, the gameplay is quite fast-paced and realistic, leaving you aching for the respawn timer to count down and soaring with glee after every kill. The graphics are pretty nice if your computer can handle them, which is always a plus. Lastly, the physics and playstyle of the game do require a certain amount of learning and skill, no matter whether you hold a level 1 or 30 weapon in your hands.

    My verdict? BFP4F is worth a try, but don't expect to be able to fully enjoy the game without paying through the nose in $$$
    Expand
  3. Dec 27, 2011
    0
    Don't even bother try this crap, after half a year of paying money , my purchases have gone to lost because i quote "balancing the game".Don'tDon't even bother try this crap, after half a year of paying money , my purchases have gone to lost because i quote "balancing the game".Don't try this game if you care about your money! Expand
  4. Jan 31, 2012
    0
    Was OK till 20th of December - when they swapped our paid guns with some toys - just to force us to rent upgrades so those weapons would beWas OK till 20th of December - when they swapped our paid guns with some toys - just to force us to rent upgrades so those weapons would be just as good as they were.

    permanent good weapon turned into ****
    expensive rental system to bring your old weapon back

    Fxxx You EAsy.
    Expand
  5. Dec 22, 2011
    0
    Not a really big gamer, so I don't know if this is industry standard activity, but I can tell you this: I purchased, with real money, weaponsNot a really big gamer, so I don't know if this is industry standard activity, but I can tell you this: I purchased, with real money, weapons that were described as "elite" and would "last forever". My weapon is no longer "elite" and the weapon I purchased certainly didn't "last forever".

    The game was good [still is, basically] but the company itself, EA, seems to me to be dishonest, and that's putting it mildly. Do NOT spend real money at battlefield play4free. You can't trust them or what they say.
    Expand
  6. Dec 23, 2011
    0
    The game is unplayable since the last greed update. Paying players haven been stolen their precious items without any valuable replacement.The game is unplayable since the last greed update. Paying players haven been stolen their precious items without any valuable replacement. You can try to get a refund trough EA Live Chat or http://battlefield.play4free.com/en/help/inquire . DON'T LET THE CORPORATE GREED TAKE OVER CHRISTMAS! DON'T PLAY - DON'T PAY! Expand
  7. Dec 26, 2011
    0
    Having played Battlefield Play4free since the first week of open beta testing I can safely say that this game has slowly but surely goneHaving played Battlefield Play4free since the first week of open beta testing I can safely say that this game has slowly but surely gone downhill over the past months with paid content and gear being nerfed (holosight AUG anyone) and nerfed (tier 3 recon ammunition expertise anyone) and then boosted for even more money (lololololololol I haz mortar strikez >9000/1 KDR trolololo I am 1337) until the final straw on December 20th where they literally removed weapons which users had paid for and replaced them with inferior equipment despite having said in a previous update (weapon customization on December 1st) they would not remove the "legacy" attachments. Expand

See all 110 User Reviews