User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 293 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 36 out of 293
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 14, 2019
    0
    Игра шедевр.
    Но играть не возможно на процессорах AMD FX, фризы и заедания звука каждые секунд 10.
    The game is a masterpiece.
    But it is not possible to play on AMD FX processors, friezes and jamming sound every second 10
  2. Jun 30, 2020
    4
    Супер унылая, скучная и клишированная игра, это даже игрой назвать нельзя, даже с учетом жанра, здесь цена ошибки просто нулевая, челленджа 0. Персонажи абсолютно дебильные и нереалистичные, особенно касается подростков на ДР, там такой притянутый за уши конфликт шо тупа кринж, или те же подростки, по фану избивающие бомжей. Сцена с омоном вообще рофл, когда челики будто бы впервые вСупер унылая, скучная и клишированная игра, это даже игрой назвать нельзя, даже с учетом жанра, здесь цена ошибки просто нулевая, челленджа 0. Персонажи абсолютно дебильные и нереалистичные, особенно касается подростков на ДР, там такой притянутый за уши конфликт шо тупа кринж, или те же подростки, по фану избивающие бомжей. Сцена с омоном вообще рофл, когда челики будто бы впервые в спецслужбах оказались, если увидите поймете весь абсурд той сцены. То они хотят ее убивать, то не хотят, снайпер стреляет в ноги, а потом исчезает , все действуют крайне медленно и непрофессионально, крч бред полный. В целом игра абсолютна скучная и предсказуемая, хотя деффкам подобная чушь заходит на ура. Expand
  3. Jun 19, 2020
    4
    Interesting scenario and seems good story. But this game is not belong to PC platforms. People think they play games in Consoles but they just torture themselves with those poor made game mechanics. If you want to watch a movie just watch it. Some games from that company actually not mean to be in gaming platforms. They could do better job in movie sector. Or at least these kind of gamesInteresting scenario and seems good story. But this game is not belong to PC platforms. People think they play games in Consoles but they just torture themselves with those poor made game mechanics. If you want to watch a movie just watch it. Some games from that company actually not mean to be in gaming platforms. They could do better job in movie sector. Or at least these kind of games shouldn't be released in PC platforms. Controls are pain in PC platform at least I see. It would be better to watch all episodes from streaming channels without play by yourself. I don't recommend this game. Expand
  4. Nov 3, 2020
    0
    Very very bad control.
    Selection only between 30 and 60fps. 144fps or more only possible by editing the game file.
    Annoying black bars on top and bottom, I'm playing a game here and not watching a movie or series! Graphics are ok, you could have made more effort here, because on Ultra in 1440p I don't notice any difference to my PS3. After all, nothing was done to it. For 5€ it is
    Very very bad control.
    Selection only between 30 and 60fps. 144fps or more only possible by editing the game file.
    Annoying black bars on top and bottom, I'm playing a game here and not watching a movie or series!
    Graphics are ok, you could have made more effort here, because on Ultra in 1440p I don't notice any difference to my PS3. After all, nothing was done to it.
    For 5€ it is still ok, but not more.

    [link omitted per site rules]

    Sehr sehr schlechte Steuerung.
    Auswahl nur zwischen 30 und 60fps. 144fps oder mehr nur durch bearbeitung der Spieledatei möglich.
    Nervige schwarze Balken oben und unten, ich spiele hier ein Spiel und schaue keinen Film oder Serie!!!
    Grafik ist in Ordnung, man hätte sich hier mehr Mühe geben können, denn auf Ultra in 1440p merk ich zu meiner PS3 keinen Unterschied. Wurde ja schließlich nichts dran gemacht.
    Für 5€ ist es noch in Ordnung, mehr aber auch nicht.
    Expand
  5. Mar 23, 2021
    1
    I created a metacritic account just for this game, i played it, and my god.
    Okay, it looks good for the time it came out, i don't really care for the graphics but credit where credit is due.
    Now for the story : awful. It's boring, unispired and downright ridiculous for some parts. The characters are stupid and unlikeable, expecially Jodie, the "twist" thing at the end is obvious, and one
    I created a metacritic account just for this game, i played it, and my god.
    Okay, it looks good for the time it came out, i don't really care for the graphics but credit where credit is due.
    Now for the story : awful. It's boring, unispired and downright ridiculous for some parts. The characters are stupid and unlikeable, expecially Jodie, the "twist" thing at the end is obvious, and one part of the game can be considered "filler" and is probably the worst chapter in the whole game.
    The only enjoyment i got from it is thanks to the friend i was playing the game with, and we were making fun of everything.
    It's not a good game, it's not smart, it's not emotional, it's nothing. I only got it cause it was in a bundle and even then i still feel like i got scammed. I do not recommend this game unless you're planning to mock it with a friend. I'm puzzled by the overwhelming number of good reviews, it's probably one of the worst game i've ever played cause it's so boring.
    Expand
  6. Apr 11, 2021
    0
    This game looks incredible. This game has some really compelling story moments. It's a shame that there is literally nothing else good about it.

    The gameplay is point-and-click updated with janky controls that don't work half the time. Seriously, this game is completely unplayable on mouse+keyboard, and playing on controller isn't much better. The game is basically just a "choose your
    This game looks incredible. This game has some really compelling story moments. It's a shame that there is literally nothing else good about it.

    The gameplay is point-and-click updated with janky controls that don't work half the time. Seriously, this game is completely unplayable on mouse+keyboard, and playing on controller isn't much better. The game is basically just a "choose your own adventure" story since most of the scenes aren't fail-able in any meaningful way, meaning that the only way to lose them is by choice. The writing on it's own isn't much better, there are some very compelling characters and situations, but for every great moment or concept there's a scene that totally breaks any sort of immersion by having a major character say something stupid.

    From a design perspective, choosing to put a "choices matter" game into a disconnected timeline was an awful idea, since you're explicitly shown that your decisions CAN'T matter, you end up in the same place regardless. There was one scene in particular where they were trying to make it a big deal about "oh no, will she die?" but it's totally undercut by the fact that the prologue happens after it in-universe. And yes, they did add a new chronological mode to view the story but it doesn't actually change anything in terms of your choices not mattering and the prologue is still shown first.
    Expand
  7. Aug 21, 2021
    0
    as movie - 10/10
    as game - 0/10
    ...........................................
  8. Jun 27, 2020
    0
    I am so disappointed how linear it is. You just can't make your decision and most of the time you must do reactions as developers thought you would like to do. If not there's no choice...
  9. Dec 3, 2020
    2
    -8: Readjusted because while indeed being all it could have been, it's still quite terrible

    A very thoughtful, slow and immensely powerful testament to the question "Why does David Cage not make movies?". Because Hollywood learned from Uwe Böll. He will never get better. He will never not turn fantastic production values and great ideas into something that leaves you in the kind of
    -8: Readjusted because while indeed being all it could have been, it's still quite terrible

    A very thoughtful, slow and immensely powerful testament to the question "Why does David Cage not make movies?". Because Hollywood learned from Uwe Böll. He will never get better. He will never not turn fantastic production values and great ideas into something that leaves you in the kind of angry coma that only David Cage can bring about.

    It controls like a video recorder, only that you have to press the buttons very long or very fast. If you do that enough, for many hours, you will have watched a student project short film stretched over 25 hours and filled with branching narratives with great twists like a character telling you that he told you so, instead of saying that you told him so.

    There is unfortunately no fast forward button, and thanks to digital distribution you will never have the satisfaction to take this bird, open the window and let it fly.

    Watch it falling, tumbling, have that impactful crunch when it hits the street. Listen to the sound of breaking plastic when a car drives over it. Watch the wind slowly spread the tape. Uninstalling and refunding it just doesn't give you the same pleasure.
    Expand
  10. Jun 21, 2020
    4
    Really bad history, very cliche, poor characters work. Your decisions doesn't affect the game at all, just small scenes and that's all. You can kill everyone in a bar, you can put a house full of teenager on fire, nothing will affect the story. The interactive is very basic and really almost made the game look more like a movie than a game, it's the opposite that even the own previousReally bad history, very cliche, poor characters work. Your decisions doesn't affect the game at all, just small scenes and that's all. You can kill everyone in a bar, you can put a house full of teenager on fire, nothing will affect the story. The interactive is very basic and really almost made the game look more like a movie than a game, it's the opposite that even the own previous game, Heavy Rain, did pretty nice. The things you have to do with Aiden is repetitive and gets annoying at some point. i was really in a "poker face" playing it almost all of the playthrough.

    The good points it's have a really great acting, Ellen Page and Willem Dafoe were great, also the facial animations and the graphics still pretty nice in this version. The story got some good moments but, in a nutshell, very cliche and predictable.
    Expand
  11. Aug 9, 2020
    4
    This is not interesting story without your REAL Decisions. So it's the worst Cage's game.
    Final is not interesting, QTE is boring. Detroit is much much much better. Don't buy this game, you'll loase your money and time
  12. Nov 24, 2020
    4
    I really enjoyed Heavy Rain so i was like i gotta give this a try and oh boy it was a complete waste of time. In a game like this which offers no fun and engaging gameplay you at least expect the story to be good but beyond's story lacks any direction. There are sections of this game who contribute almost nothing to the story and can be deleted entirely for example Navajo chapter. TheI really enjoyed Heavy Rain so i was like i gotta give this a try and oh boy it was a complete waste of time. In a game like this which offers no fun and engaging gameplay you at least expect the story to be good but beyond's story lacks any direction. There are sections of this game who contribute almost nothing to the story and can be deleted entirely for example Navajo chapter. The characters are poorly written and forgettable. Overall i wouldn't recommend this to anyone. Expand
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Apr 30, 2020
    80
    The PC version of Beyond: Two Souls remains impressive despite its age, with a great cast, solid story but oversimplified gameplay. Despite its shortcomings, the PC port is the best version of the game by far, with support for 4K and ultrawide monitors, as well as 60 fps. This is best way to experience the game if you haven’t played it yet.
  2. Aug 29, 2019
    80
    A new opportunity to discover (or rediscover) a fairly entertaining title.
  3. Aug 12, 2019
    85
    Beyond Two Souls is at last available on PC, and with a more recent release than Heavy Rain, it looks gorgeous with 4K and 60 FPS. If you haven't yet finished the game on consoles, or haven't tried it yet, go for the PC version.