User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 293 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 36 out of 293
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 2, 2020
    10
    Даже не знаю что написать... Прошел эту игру сегодня и возможно я на эмоциях, но эта игра - шедевр. Всё здесь хорошо - сюжет, геймплей, графика. Игра не проседала ни в одном моменте, я бы даже сказал она не проседала вообще. Наверняка лучшая игра для покупки сейчас если вам не во что играть.Даже не знаю что написать... Прошел эту игру сегодня и возможно я на эмоциях, но эта игра - шедевр. Всё здесь хорошо - сюжет, геймплей, графика. Игра не проседала ни в одном моменте, я бы даже сказал она не проседала вообще. Наверняка лучшая игра для покупки сейчас если вам не во что играть.
  2. Jun 25, 2020
    10
    Although gameplay sometimes can be a little titing in pc, this game deserves a 10. This is not a game, this is art. This is a masterpiece. Thanks quantic dreams for this game. Now I will try Heavy Rain and Detroit: Become Human.
  3. Jul 27, 2020
    8
    I love the games from Quantic Dream. And even if there is not a lot of gameplay in the game. And some of the plot twists are pretty naive. But Quantic Dream makes the best interactive films.
  4. Jul 15, 2020
    10
    At first, sorry for my bad English. Im trying without translator :)
    Story, soundtrack is awesome. Story is what I love in this game so much. Its one of the games when I... actually cried at some moment. Well only games when i cried at all was Unravel, Detroit, Bioshock Infinite, Journey and may be something else.
    Visual is ok for 2020, its 2013 game anyway, but i think for 2013 it was
    At first, sorry for my bad English. Im trying without translator :)
    Story, soundtrack is awesome. Story is what I love in this game so much. Its one of the games when I... actually cried at some moment. Well only games when i cried at all was Unravel, Detroit, Bioshock Infinite, Journey and may be something else.
    Visual is ok for 2020, its 2013 game anyway, but i think for 2013 it was cool graphics.
    Only thing i dont like in this game is game mode choosing (from noob to "normal" player). Tbh "normal" mode seems like hardmode bcs its QTE without hints at all (i cant explain it clearly but u can try in demo version for example). And the main problem with that is controlling Aiden. You can free control him (WASD and u can go whenever you want) only in normal mode . But in "noob" mode you are moving only from dot to dot (or from point to point. idk how to say it correctly) by mouse so its not free)
    And also the second tiny problem is letterboxing. May be for someone its huge and annoying problem. Around 40% of screen is just black only to let players feel like its film. I dont like it but im used to.
    Anyway u can patch it and remove letterboxing. I`d want to see some official patches for PC to let players remove it. They can just add the option.
    Expand
  5. Aug 9, 2020
    10
    Интересная завязка, и не менее интересная развязка, прекрасные диалоги, анимации лиц, неподдельное сопереживание персонажам.
    Игра на 10 часов, но это одно обычное прохождение.
    Много концовок, все имеют место быть. Рекомендую к покупке, Дэвиду Кейджу ставлю лайк.
    Интересная завязка, и не менее интересная развязка, прекрасные диалоги, анимации лиц, неподдельное сопереживание персонажам.
    Игра на 10 часов, но это одно обычное прохождение.
    Много концовок, все имеют место быть.
    Рекомендую к покупке, Дэвиду Кейджу ставлю лайк.
  6. Apr 6, 2022
    10
    masterpiece
    thank you David Cage it was really awesome!
    I wish there would be a sequel cuz I really love this game
  7. Aug 1, 2019
    10
    Very interesting game, excellent graphics, in a word 12/10
    Hope David will make 2 part of
  8. Aug 10, 2019
    10
    This is a truly rare gem. The story, acting, the visuals and gameplay set a new bar in the genre. Words just don't do the game justice - try it out, there's a free demo.
  9. May 11, 2020
    10
    Its either your favorite game or its decent. If you think its decent then it is still worth your money. If its your favorite game you will have memories for your lifetime. Insane game. Also because this game was made by motion capture this game has brilliant graphics, smooth movements and awesome acting from Ellen Page and Willem Dafoe. 11/10, wish I would forget this game entirely so thatIts either your favorite game or its decent. If you think its decent then it is still worth your money. If its your favorite game you will have memories for your lifetime. Insane game. Also because this game was made by motion capture this game has brilliant graphics, smooth movements and awesome acting from Ellen Page and Willem Dafoe. 11/10, wish I would forget this game entirely so that I could have this insane experience again. Expand
  10. Mar 28, 2020
    10
    the score of this game is a tremendous injustice, I do not know what goes on in the minds of these critics, the game is incredible, without a doubt it won a special place in my heart, I really hope that in the future there will be a continuation for this game!
  11. Jun 1, 2020
    10
    One of THE BEST games i've ever played.
    ...................................
  12. Nov 20, 2020
    8
    Great story and gameplay. I just want games like this. We have few games like this. This one is gives us very good experience.
  13. Aug 17, 2019
    8
    I'm always amazed by how cool real life actors look in the games. Indeed an unexpected turn for my point of view. (Defoe is amazing as always). I kinda don't understand people who don't consider it a game by saying it is just an interactive movie, but even if so ffs that what makes it a game you morons. This game in particular is made so good and professional that i only wish that moviesI'm always amazed by how cool real life actors look in the games. Indeed an unexpected turn for my point of view. (Defoe is amazing as always). I kinda don't understand people who don't consider it a game by saying it is just an interactive movie, but even if so ffs that what makes it a game you morons. This game in particular is made so good and professional that i only wish that movies would be like that. Expand
  14. Oct 31, 2020
    9
    Игра очень понравилось. Интересная сюжетная линия. Графика немного слабая. Гейплей не совсем удобный.
  15. Apr 7, 2021
    8
    намного лучше хеви рейна, мне лично история даже понравилась (а мне мало что нравится)..
  16. Jul 5, 2021
    8
    Good story despite a few of the scenes don't make sense, nice graphics, the controls are janky though. Sometimes the character is very hard to control, it bumps to the wall or refuses to turn into a different direction. The movement can be a bit faster during progressing the story imo.
  17. Apr 14, 2021
    9
    Управление оптимизировали по сравнению с heavy rain. Драматично.
    Итог: 9.776/10
  18. Sep 2, 2021
    10
    The story is so great!
    Thank you for giving me this experience.
    I'd recommend playing this game for lovers of story dominating games.
  19. Mar 6, 2020
    8
    First of all, This game was Bought and played through Epic Games.

    I found playing this game to be very fun. The controls seem to be made for a console game, not a PC game. Considering it got released 2013 on PS3 i can't blame this on the game as this is developed as a console game. But this is a minor issue, that will not cause any major issues when playing the game. The story was
    First of all, This game was Bought and played through Epic Games.

    I found playing this game to be very fun.
    The controls seem to be made for a console game, not a PC game. Considering it got released 2013 on PS3 i can't blame this on the game as this is developed as a console game.
    But this is a minor issue, that will not cause any major issues when playing the game.
    The story was fun and interesting, And the gameplay was alright being a Console game ported to PC. I did encounter a few frame rate drops and some graphical issues, but not that often. I would recommend this game!

    "8/10 – Great.
    A very good product.
    These games leave me with something outstanding to remember them by, ideas for single-player or multiplayer, clever characters and writing, noteworthy graphics and sound, or some combination thereof. If we have complaints, there are more than enough excellent qualities to cancel them out."
    ~DeathKillerNOR~
    Expand
  20. Jul 6, 2020
    9
    Im in love with this game. I was afraid being this my first Quantic Dream game I play, and probably not the last. I fell in love with the characters and the story is great. The illussion of choice is there, 'cause nothing really affects but the last two black and white choices, but I always knew what I was into.
    I don't know If I ever played a cinematic game before but this is easily my
    Im in love with this game. I was afraid being this my first Quantic Dream game I play, and probably not the last. I fell in love with the characters and the story is great. The illussion of choice is there, 'cause nothing really affects but the last two black and white choices, but I always knew what I was into.
    I don't know If I ever played a cinematic game before but this is easily my favorite as of now (Also the motion capture is mostly good and the soundtrack is godly).
    Expand
  21. Aug 11, 2020
    10
    exept for some problems with the controls its a perfect game the story is out of this world(letterly)it made me cry like 10 times its the best game ive ever played...if u can call it a game
  22. Nov 6, 2020
    10
    101/10, побежал проходить второй раз в режиме ремикс.
  23. Jul 12, 2020
    8
    some games never get old and quantic dream's Beyond: two souls is one of them even though the game released 7 years ago.
    + narrative is great like others David Cage's games and featuring Willem Dafoe and Ellen Page makes the story even more interesting.
    + gameplay is enjoyable and Jodie-Aiden mechanisms are fun and innovative. - like Heavy Rain, controls are terrible with mouse and
    some games never get old and quantic dream's Beyond: two souls is one of them even though the game released 7 years ago.
    + narrative is great like others David Cage's games and featuring Willem Dafoe and Ellen Page makes the story even more interesting.
    + gameplay is enjoyable and Jodie-Aiden mechanisms are fun and innovative.
    - like Heavy Rain, controls are terrible with mouse and keyboard.
    - big black bars on screen are really annoying at least they could give us an option to remove it!
    Expand
  24. Sep 22, 2020
    8
    I have had high expectations for this game and I must say that it could have been better. I haven't played "Detroit: Become Human" yet but the "Heavy Rain" was better than this one. In the end, it's just an 8/10 game for me. 14hrs on record.
  25. Jun 24, 2020
    9
    Do not pay attention to the ratings of game journalists, I do not understand where such low ratings from this game???

    This is a VERY emotional game, mystical, many touching moments and wonderful acting. As for me, this game is better than Heavy Rain. This game will leave unforgettable emotions in your soul. Yes, there are drawbacks in the game, but there are many more advantages.
    Do not pay attention to the ratings of game journalists, I do not understand where such low ratings from this game???

    This is a VERY emotional game, mystical, many touching moments and wonderful acting. As for me, this game is better than Heavy Rain.

    This game will leave unforgettable emotions in your soul.

    Yes, there are drawbacks in the game, but there are many more advantages. From the first notes you will also like music that PERFECTLY complements this game.

    Buy this game and maybe someday there will be a sequel.
    P.S. If this is your first time playing, select the “original”.
    Expand
  26. Jul 8, 2020
    9
    Одна из тех проектов, не столь большого количества, передавших хрошее повествование сюжетной линии главного героя. Игра очень затянула, и даже в 2020 графика и механики в игре меня поразили своей утонченностью и проработкой. Сюжет тянет к себе и имеет хорошие кульминационные моменты, но иногда встречаються дешёвенькие сценки , которые даже скорее не смешат, а держат вас в нейтралитете иОдна из тех проектов, не столь большого количества, передавших хрошее повествование сюжетной линии главного героя. Игра очень затянула, и даже в 2020 графика и механики в игре меня поразили своей утонченностью и проработкой. Сюжет тянет к себе и имеет хорошие кульминационные моменты, но иногда встречаються дешёвенькие сценки , которые даже скорее не смешат, а держат вас в нейтралитете и всячески пытавшись вас напугать или сопереживать, но увы у них это порой не выходит. А в уелом 9/10, очень качественный проект! Промашки есть везде, а здесь их мизерно мало, исключительно проработка и удовольствие от геймплэя! Expand
  27. Jun 25, 2020
    8
    I played at pc with keyboard controls were bad
    They could have done a much better job with controls but I get it.It was designed to be a PlayStation game
    They could give more explanation with controls game tutorial started after 3-4 hour They could explain choices better some choices have no explanation it makes you not understand what you choosing but they are not many Overall expect
    I played at pc with keyboard controls were bad
    They could have done a much better job with controls but I get it.It was designed to be a PlayStation game
    They could give more explanation with controls game tutorial started after 3-4 hour
    They could explain choices better some choices have no explanation it makes you not understand what you choosing but they are not many
    Overall expect controls it was a good experience.I would recommend it to my friends
    Expand
  28. Aug 27, 2020
    8
    RECENSIONE (ITALIAN):
    Ho giocato a Beyond Two Souls su PC, non molto tempo dopo rispetto ad Heavy Rain. Nonostante la critica abbia valutato piuttosto male questo gioco, lo ritengo invece superiore al predecessore sotto molti punti di vista.
    AUDIO E GRAFICA: Come già detto l'ho giocato su PC, quindi alla massima qualità possibile. L'audio è eccezionale, sia come colonna sonora che
    RECENSIONE (ITALIAN):
    Ho giocato a Beyond Two Souls su PC, non molto tempo dopo rispetto ad Heavy Rain. Nonostante la critica abbia valutato piuttosto male questo gioco, lo ritengo invece superiore al predecessore sotto molti punti di vista.

    AUDIO E GRAFICA:
    Come già detto l'ho giocato su PC, quindi alla massima qualità possibile.
    L'audio è eccezionale, sia come colonna sonora che come doppiaggio (anche in italiano e piuttosto valido, nonostante sia mixato non benissimo).

    Anche il comparto grafico è buono, ma ha diversi difetti evitabili secondo me.
    Come in Heavy Rain mancano un po' di ombre che renderebbero più credibile la scena (soprattutto quelle sotto i personaggi, che a volte sembrano volare).

    Altro problema piuttosto grave sono i tagli e passaggi tra le scene, a volte fatti davvero male al punto di creare situazioni non realistiche e "sospendere l'illusione".
    A volte ci sono anche piccoli "freeze" nei punti in cui ci potrebbero essere biforcazioni della storia.

    Infine, se i volti e le loro animazioni sono davvero ottimi (grazie al motion capture) devo anche far notare come a volte le espressioni ritornino di colpo neutre sul finire delle cut scene, rompendo anche in questo caso la magia.

    GAMEPLAY:
    Il gameplay base non è molto diverso dal precedente titolo di Quantic Dream, così come da molti altri giochi del genere.

    La telecamera è spesso ferma e decentrata, per creare inquadrature cinematografiche, ma questo porta ad avere pochissima precisione nei movimenti (anche a causa di controlli poco responsivi). A differenza di Heavy Rain inoltre non è possibile alternare la telecamera tra due posizioni, rendendo l'esplorazione di certi ambienti piuttosto difficoltosa.
    Non sono gestiti molto bene neanche i movimenti che utilizzano mezzi di trasporto, di qualunque tipo siano, perchè questi sembrano volare.

    Se il movimento è molto classico, con i difetti che comporta, le fasi di azione invece sono state abbastanza rinnovate.
    In Heavy Rain molte azioni erano legate ad uno specifico movimento dell'analogico. Qui invece tutto è indicato da puntini e dovremo solo puntare l'analogico in quella direzione per eseguire l'azione. Si perde un po' l'immersione ma è molto più comodo.
    Rinnovati anche alcuni quick time events, che sfruttano delle scene rallentate per farti decidere in che direzione spostare Jodie, senza comandi a schermo. La trovo una buona idea perchè rende un po' meno guidato il gioco.

    Inoltre gestito davvero bene Aiden, lo spirito controllato dalla protagonista, con molte abilità e la possibilità di passare da un personaggio all'altro in qualunque momento. Ho letto che alla difficoltà più bassa questo sia semplificato nei controlli, per cui consiglio di giocare alla difficoltà maggiore per avere il movimento libero (e non ho trovato difficile alcuna sezione del gioco).

    Un altro difetto è che, a differenza del precedente titolo della software house, non si può morire e quindi ogni situazione pericolosa è vissuta troppo con leggerezza.

    STORIA:
    Heavy Rain aveva una storia convincente ma con anche alcune incongruenze e situazioni non spiegate (e non spiegabili).

    La trama di Beyond secondo me parte da premesse nettamente migliori e ho adorato il fatto che sia raccontata in ordine non cronologico (anche se è possibile scegliere che questo non sia fatto).
    Ho trovato però debole e un po' confuso il finale, con alcune situazioni non molto credibili e una ricerca esagerata della spettacolarizzazione delle scene.

    Per il resto la storia l'ho trovata abbastanza coerente, sono pochi i punti in cui qualcosa non mi tornava (ad un primo sguardo per lo meno).

    Infine vorrei parlare dei personaggi. A parte la presenza di due attori famosi come Ellen Page e Willem Dafoe, ogni personaggio risulta abbastanza ben caratterizzato e approfondito, salvo uno che risulta un po' anonimo per la sua rilevanza ai fini della trama.

    In conclusione, secondo me Beyond Two Souls non è mediocre come viene descritto. Ha dei difetti ma per quanto dura (circa 10 ore per finirlo una volta) e per l'empatia che è in grado di creare la storia, penso che debba essere provato dagli amanti del genere.
    Non mi sento di consigliarlo a chiunque ma appunto più per lo stile di gioco che per la sua qualità, penso anzi che magari potrebbe essere apprezzato anche dai non videogiocatori.

    VOTO: 8.5/10
    Expand
  29. Dec 8, 2020
    9
    The game is awesome because it has a great story mixed with alot of alternate choices. It's pretty simple and easy when it comes to gameplay but that doesnt bother me when it comes to games like this.
  30. Jul 9, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. 2013 ,for me ,beyond is best game ..,.,.,..,...,.,.,.,..., .,..,..,.,.,.,..,.,. Expand
  31. Jul 4, 2020
    10
    One of the best games I've ever played. Heart touching story and great characters. Enjoyed every bit of this masterpiece.
  32. Jul 3, 2021
    9
    Love it, amazing game but it is lacking a tiny bit in almost every aspect. Every aspect of the game is 9/10 except story which is for me personally 10/10.
  33. Oct 10, 2020
    10
    best games of 2013(ps3),2015(ps4) and 2018(pc) ı love jodie aiden and ****

    story:10/10
  34. Oct 19, 2021
    9
    Очень хорошая игра. Концовка дико эмоциональная. Эта игра стоила того, чтобы её ждать. =)
  35. Dec 19, 2020
    10
    Oynayış tarzı, hikaye anlatımı ve farklı bir oynayış seçeneği ile harika bir deneyimdi. Bittikten sonra keşke daha fazlası olsaydı dedirten bir yapım, tebrik ederim.
  36. Apr 7, 2022
    8
    My truthful honorable incorruptible conclusive rating of this considered game: 8.
  37. Jul 3, 2021
    10
    This game is basically like an interactive movie but very different like it is it's own kind of game but it has the awesome storytelling movies have and the great interactivity that games have and the story is amazing as most David Cage games are and the graphics hold up even today if you haven't tried this game or are thinking about getting it please don't expect a normal game where youThis game is basically like an interactive movie but very different like it is it's own kind of game but it has the awesome storytelling movies have and the great interactivity that games have and the story is amazing as most David Cage games are and the graphics hold up even today if you haven't tried this game or are thinking about getting it please don't expect a normal game where you do stuff but do it differently or something like that, think of it like a telltale game like The Walking Dead but a deeper story and a lot of character development but like i said it isn't The Walking Dead it is Beyond Two Souls and it is it's own kind of game and the acting in it is amazing the game has amazing actors and actresses like Willem Dafoe and Ellen Page. Expand
  38. Dec 31, 2021
    9
    There were some parts of the story that I did not understand, I think it was related to me, but every minute of the game took me away. the game is really good as fps, the graphics are very good, it got exactly 9 points from me. The reason for breaking 1 point is that I can't understand some parts of the story :(
  39. Nov 24, 2021
    10
    This game is a masterpiece. One of those games, where you just start playing and you completely sink in. Narrative is amazing, music, characters, story ... Such a gem. HIGHLY recommend.
  40. Apr 4, 2022
    8
    Игра очень хорошая, сюжет интересный, персонажи хорошие и запоминающиеся, но бесит одно: нет порядка сюжета(на по версии, на PlayStation почему то есть, а на пк не завезли), то есть сначала идёт сцена где Джоди маленькая, потом взрослая, потом бомжиха, потом вообще финал игры, а потом снова к началу(не так конечно все плохо, но все же)Игра очень хорошая, сюжет интересный, персонажи хорошие и запоминающиеся, но бесит одно: нет порядка сюжета(на по версии, на PlayStation почему то есть, а на пк не завезли), то есть сначала идёт сцена где Джоди маленькая, потом взрослая, потом бомжиха, потом вообще финал игры, а потом снова к началу(не так конечно все плохо, но все же)
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Apr 30, 2020
    80
    The PC version of Beyond: Two Souls remains impressive despite its age, with a great cast, solid story but oversimplified gameplay. Despite its shortcomings, the PC port is the best version of the game by far, with support for 4K and ultrawide monitors, as well as 60 fps. This is best way to experience the game if you haven’t played it yet.
  2. Aug 29, 2019
    80
    A new opportunity to discover (or rediscover) a fairly entertaining title.
  3. Aug 12, 2019
    85
    Beyond Two Souls is at last available on PC, and with a more recent release than Heavy Rain, it looks gorgeous with 4K and 60 FPS. If you haven't yet finished the game on consoles, or haven't tried it yet, go for the PC version.